Thursday, October 24th, 2013

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette ($48.00 for 0.72 oz.) contains eight eyeshadows inspired by flowers. Each eyeshadow contains 0.09 oz., which is almost double the size of the average full-sized eyeshadow (at 0.05 oz.). The shades can be used wet or dry, though the pigmentation is very good across all the shades, so it didn’t seem necessary to use any of these with a damp brush. Overall, the eyeshadows are soft, finely-milled, long-wearing, nicely pigmented, and easy to use. It’s been awhile since I’ve played with the brand’s eyeshadows, but testing this reminded me of just how amazing the brand’s powder products are–the texture really sells them. ¬†Even without a primer, all of the shades wore for nine full hours without creasing or fading.

Hollyhock is described as a “pearlized brown.” It’s a medium brown with a satin finish and neutral-warm undertones–there’s an almost gray overcast to the shade, but it read slightly warm on my skin tone. It had nice color payoff and the texture was soft and smooth. Too Faced Woolen Mittens (LE) is darker. Urban Decay Nevermind (LE, $18.00) is more shimmery. MAC Patina (P, $15.00) is lighter. Dior Golden Savannah #1 (LE) is warmer. Burberry Pale Nude #1 (P) is warmer, lighter. Edward Bess Cosmic Bliss #3 (P, $30.00) is more shimmery. Giorgio Armani Moonlight Beige #2 (LE) is similar. Bobbi Brown Chino (LE, $29.00) is lighter. See comparison swatches.

Trumpette is described as a “golden apricot.” It’s a brightened, light-medium orange peach with golden orange shimmer and a pearly finish. It had fantastic color payoff with an incredibly silky smooth texture. Fyrinnae Pyromantic Erotica (P, $6.80) is darker. Wet ‘n’ Wild Newport Nights #5 (LE) is more matte. Maybelline Fierce & Tangy (P, $6.99) is a cream product, more orange. MAC Chessa (LE, $15.00) is slightly darker. Chanel Pearl River #4 (LE) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Night Hopper is described as a “pearlized taupe.” It’s a medium taupe–a mix of brown and gray–with warm, reddish undertones and a pearly sheen. It had excellent pigmentation and applied smoothly and evenly. theBalm C4 (LE, $16.00) is warmer. Le Metier de Beaute Champagne Shimmer (P, $28.00) is a cream product/ CoverGirl Melted Caramel (330) (P, $4.99) is similar. CoverGirl Scorching Cocoa (355) (P, $4.99) is darker. Disney by Sephora Chateau (LE) is darker. Clinique Ample Amber (P, $16.00) is a cream product. Tom Ford Beauty Platinum (LE, $40.00) is darker, cream product. MAC Romantico (LE, $15.00) is browner. NARS Flowers 3 #3 (LE, $24.00) is similar. MAC Aurora (LE, $21.00) is browner. See comparison swatches.

Taurella is described as a “creamy vanilla.” It’s a pale white gold with a frosted, slightly metallic, sheen. It had good color payoff, and the texture was soft and easy to blend, though this shade wasn’t quite as pigmented as the other shades in the palette. theBalm C1 (LE, $16.00) is less metallic. Chanel Mystere #2 (LE) is less metallic. Disney by Sephora Charming (LE) is lighter. Disney by Sephora Sand in the Glass (LE) is similar. Make Up For Ever #101 (P, $20.00) is more golden. MAC Short Shorts (LE, $15.00) is similar. MAC Nylon (P, $15.00) is slightly yellower. Guerlain Calligraphy #1 (LE) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Secret Pond is described as a “mossy green.” It’s a light-medium, golden green with warm, yellow undertones and a frosted finish. It had great pigmentation and applied smoothly with a soft, blendable consistency. Too Faced Very Merry (LE) is darker. Urban Decay Jealous #2 (LE, $18.00) is similar. Chanel Metamorphose (44) #3 (LE) is cooler-toned. MAC Golden Olive (LE, $21.00) is darker. bareMinerals Wicked (P) is cooler-toned. Inglot #412 (P, $6.00) See comparison swatches.

Deep Dahlia is described as a “deep purple.” It’s a cool-toned, deep plum with strong purple and red tones and a satin finish. It’s actually really, really pigmented, but the texture is a little dry, so it tended to sheer out, but when I was applying it, a little goes a long, long way. bareMinerals Nightcap (P) is similar. MAC Hyperviolet (LE, $18.00) is a cream product. MAC Palace Pedigreed (LE, $15.00) is lighter. MAC Fig. 1 (P, $15.00) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Poppycock is described as a “shimmery bright purple.” It’s a medium, cool-toned purple with soft, lavender-pink tones and a soft, frosted finish. It had good color payoff, and the texture was fairly soft and smooth. theBalm A2 (LE, $16.00) is cooler-toned. Dior Lilas Mitzah (176) (P, $29.00) is similar. Urban Decay Omen (P, $18.00) is cooler-toned. Sugarpill Hysteric (P, $12.00) is more frosted. See comparison swatches.

Tiny Pansie is described as a “pearlized dusty rose.” It’s a light, pink-tinged peach with a soft, pearly sheen. It had really nice color payoff, though it is similar to my skin tone so it may look otherwise, with a soft, smooth consistency. Too Faced Whiskers on Kittens (LE) is less pearly. Too Faced Spike the Punch (LE) is less pearly. MAC Perky (P, $18.50) is a cream product. MAC Bare Minimum (LE, $15.00) is darker. bareMinerals Peace (P) is warmer. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Floriculture

A

Overall, the eyeshadows are soft, finely-milled, long-wearing, nicely pigmented, and easy to use. It's been awhile since I've played with the brand's eyeshadows, but testing this reminded me of just how amazing the brand's powder products are--the texture really sells them.

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Hollyhock

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Trumpette

A+

Product

10/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

10/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Hollyhock Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Hollyhock Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Trumpette Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Trumpette Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Night Hopper Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Night Hopper Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Taurella Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Taurella Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Secret Pond Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Secret Pond Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Deep Dahlia Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Deep Dahlia Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Poppycock Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Poppycock Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Tiny Pansie Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Tiny Pansie Eyeshadow

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Eyeshadow: Tiny Pansie (inner lid), Poppycock (middle of lid), Deep Dahlia (outer lid),
Night Hopper (crease), Taurella (brow bone); Urban Decay Tornado Eyeliner +
Tarina Tarantino Violet Storm Glitter Eyeliner

Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette
Tarina Tarantino Eyeshadow: Tiny Pansie (inner lid), Poppycock (middle of lid), Deep Dahlia (outer lid),
Night Hopper (crease), Taurella (brow bone); Urban Decay Tornado Eyeliner +
Tarina Tarantino Violet Storm Glitter Eyeliner

The Dupe List: Hollyhock

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Trumpette

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Night Hopper

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

39 thoughts on “Tarina Tarantino Floriculture Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Avatar of Cat Cat

    Between their eyeshadows, hyperliners and lipsticks, this brand is A+ in my book.

  2. Michelle

    where can you purchase this palette?

  3. So happy to see Tarina Tarantino BACK!!! The packaging isn’t a thrill – reminds me of Emerald Pretty in that it is so much larger and bulkier than it needs to be but some of these shadows – okay, almost ALL of them except the orange one – look like ones I’d really use and love. Where can this palette be purchased? When click on “where to buy”, I don’t see any stores, just the general statement about how some products might not be available, etc. Christine, do you know where this palette is available? (sorry if it’s in the review somewhere and I missed it)

  4. This palette looks great! And I really love the size – it can fit perfectly in my makeup bag.

  5. I love their eye shadows and blushes but hate the bulky packaging! It’s strange such a well made brand didn’t do well at Sephora.

  6. What a lovely palette! Deep Dahlia is a stunning shade :) A must-have in my book!

  7. Avatar of Karen Karen

    I really wish shipping want so expensive.. 80$…. For shipping…
    Love love love the colours!!

  8. Great brand and value, but 2 of the warmer colours in this palette turn me off completely. Deep Dahlia…lovely!

  9. Avatar of Veronica Veronica

    What a lovely palette. Reminds me a tad of Stila’s In the Garden palette, which runs a little darker and cooler in shades. In particular, I would think blonde and light-eyed women would look lovely in these shades. :)

  10. Avatar of Kristine Kristine

    I wish Tarina Tarantino was sold at mega walgreens! I finally went to one in SF and it was like a mini sephora! They sold the balm, gosh cosmetics, and others.

  11. Alexa Kwan

    It’s the shades I would use on a daily basis and with good quality! darn i juz check their website, the shipping fee to Hong Kong is more or less the same price as the product -.-

  12. Avatar of Malia Malia

    I bought this exact palette years ago, I mean years. It’s not new!

    • I don’t think I said it was new! :) I’ve never reviewed this palette before, and as it was recently promoted by the brand, it seemed like a good time to try it.

      • Avatar of Terri Terri

        New, old, whatever. All of her stuff is fabulous. I really miss the brand at Sephora. Those eyeliners and blushes rock my world!!!

      • Avatar of Malia Malia

        :) I didn’t mean you said that, but I was curious if they were promoting it as such. I always thought it was nice.

      • Dee

        Christine I love your blog, but sometimes you sound too defensive! :(
        It’s just makeup ladies, we’re supposed to have fun with it! Relax!
        Btw, I looove this palette, seems like a great subtle way to add color any day. Thanks for the review! :)

  13. Avatar of telle telle

    wow! love it! nice to see something new from Tarina! i won’t be purchasing however, because the cost to ship to canada is over $30…. :(

  14. Avatar of Dini Dini

    I bought this palette a long while back at Sephora and was actually using it yesterday! If I had just seen the swatches online, I may not have ordered it, thinking the colors wouldn’t suit my usual style. But I love it! Deep Dahlia is one of my favorites in this palette.

  15. Avatar of SandraJT SandraJT

    Love the texture of these! And personally, I don’t think you ever sound ‘defensive’. You’ve got to have a sh*tload more patience than I do to be dealing with everybody the way you do every day. I couldn’t do it without wanting to slap somebody silly on a daily basis :-)

  16. Avatar of SandraJT SandraJT

    Love the texture they have on the skin. Still kicking myself for not picking up anything from this brand before Sephora pulled it :-(

  17. Avatar of Ashley Ashley Sarah

    Deep Dahlia is gorgeous, the other shades are eh. But I love Deep Dahlia

  18. Ana

    They are beautiful! I bought mine at Nordstrom!!!