Sunday, May 18th, 2014

Stila Canary Smudge Stick Eyeliner
Stila Canary Smudge Stick Eyeliner

Stila Smudge Stick Eyeliner ($20.00 for 0.01 oz.) is supposed to be an intensely pigmented, long-wearing, and waterproof eyeliner. It’s a twist-up eyeliner, so no sharpening is required, and in general, the formula wears eight hours on me and has a creamy, glide-on consistency makes it easy to apply. The major variable with these is pigmentation–many are nicely pigmented and easily buildable to opaque color in two layers but some are sheerer.

Stila Canary Smudge Stick Eyeliner ($20.00 for 0.01 oz.) is described as a “bright yellow.” It’s a brightened, light-medium yellow with warm undertones and a mostly matte finish. It had really good color payoff in a single pass, and the consistency was creamy and easy to apply. The color wore well for almost eight hours before starting to fade. Sephora Collection Banana Split (10) (P, $9.00) is darker. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Stila Deep Fuchsia Smudge Stick Eyeliner ($20.00 for 0.01 oz.) is a medium-dark, pinky-red with cool undertones and a satin finish. It had fairly good pigmentation in one stroke, and it was buildable to mostly opaque color. This shade wore well for eight hours on my lower lash line before it started to thin and fade. Urban Decay Woodstock (LE, $19.00) is lighter, shimmery. MAC Process Magenta (P, $16.00) is lighter, brighter, cooler-toned. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Stila Violet Smudge Stick Eyeliner ($20.00 for 0.01 oz.) is a medium-dark, pinky-purple with soft, purple shimmer. It had so-so color payoff in one stroke, and it was only buildable to semi-opaque coverage. This liner lasted for almost eight hours on me. Urban Decay Asphyxia (P, $19.00) is lighter, more shimmery. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

P
product

Canary

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Deep Fuchsia

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

10/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Violet

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

Stila Canary Smudge Stick Eyeliner
Stila Canary Smudge Stick Eyeliner

Stila Canary Smudge Stick Eyeliner
Stila Canary Smudge Stick Eyeliner

Stila Canary Smudge Stick Eyeliner
Stila Canary Smudge Stick Eyeliner

Stila Deep Fuchsia Smudge Stick Eyeliner
Stila Deep Fuchsia Smudge Stick Eyeliner

Stila Deep Fuchsia Smudge Stick Eyeliner
Stila Deep Fuchsia Smudge Stick Eyeliner

Stila Deep Fuchsia Smudge Stick Eyeliner
Stila Deep Fuchsia Smudge Stick Eyeliner

Stila Violet Smudge Stick Eyeliner
Stila Violet Smudge Stick Eyeliner

Stila Violet Smudge Stick Eyeliner
Stila Violet Smudge Stick Eyeliner

Stila Violet Smudge Stick Eyeliner
Stila Violet Smudge Stick Eyeliner

The Dupe List: Canary

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Deep Fuchsia

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Violet

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

52 thoughts on “Stila Canary, Deep Fuchsia, Violet Smudge Stick Eyeliners Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Fuchsia is quite unique. I only have two other reddish eye pencils (chanel and illamasqua) and I love them and for some reason can wear red around my eyes without looking like a major allergy sufferer. Violet, I’m a bit disappointed, but not surprised.

  2. Another great review of these Stila eyeliners. Thanks, Christine.

  3. I’m nt really into these brighter matte shades, but the Stila Smudge Stick formula is definitely a favorite! They are among the longest lasting on my waterline and nicely pigmented in just a single pass. Moray is probably my most used eyeliner, it’s the most beautiful olive toned green <3

    Btw, the last shade in your review says Ultra Marine instead of Violet.

  4. I wouldn’t how to go about using these but they look very cute!
    Divya Recently Posted: Going Organic with John Masters

  5. Oooooh… I really like the look of canary and deep fuchsia! :-D I mean, I like the look of Violet too, but purple eyeliners are not precisely something I’m short of, LOL. The other two colours, however, are not represented at all… *drools* :-D

    Quick heads up – in the review section for Violet, the title says ultramarine instead! ;-)
    Sylirael Recently Posted: No Hate Rogue! An Introspective Grey and Electric Pink Manicure with OPI and Hello Kitty

  6. I love Deep Fuchsia! And I definitely don’t have an eyeliner like it.

  7. Hmm Canary looks like it could be a lot of fun. I like that it’s more of a pastel yellow than just like a sunflower yellow.
    Miki Recently Posted: Black (and Teal) and Gold Eye Look + Drugstore Alternatives

  8. I’ve tried the yellow in person and I was surprised by how well it swatched.
    Rikki Recently Posted: Makeup Looks of the Week #2 & #3.

  9. The yellow is neat, and I’d love to see a pale creamy violet/lilac color made like this consistency shows up. That is hard to find! Christine, if you’re going to review Dior It Lash Mascara, can you please include, for those with latex allergies, that it includes latex? I’d appreciate that! :-) <3 xo! Happy Sunday!

  10. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Christina Christina Allen Page

    Heads up, you have Violet listed as Ultramarine in the description/individual review!

  11. I want Canary and Violet! They’re very unique and pretty
    fancie Recently Posted: MAC True Love’s Kiss Lipstick Review

  12. Deep Fuchsia looks great – hard to find good pink/red liners.

  13. Safyre

    Deep Fuchsia actually makes such a pretty lip color. I was in a pinch once and it made a kickass matte lipstick

  14. Sucker for fuchsia in any form n I wanttttttttt deep fuchsia nowwwww

    loved how beautiful it is looking

  15. Can I use Deep Fuchsia as a lip liner
    Erin Recently Posted: Outdoor Living Space Updates For Summer

  16. I’d love to see a look featuring these. I really like the swatches but I’d have to see them ‘in action’ to know whether they’d be a smart purchase for me or not.

  17. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Blue Nikki

    Would you recommend Canary (or any of the Smudge Stick line) for use all over the lid as a base for color or even as a standalone cream eyeshadow? I’ve been looking for a nice base to give my MUFE #2 eyeshadow more opacity and pop but I wonder if they would be a good texture used all over the eye.

    And thanks for the great review and swatches, as always! So happy you did these, I’ve been wondering about the bright Smudge Sticks for a while now. :)

    • In general, no, because they’re very small/fine, which makes for a great eyeliner, but it’s a lot less comfortable to use if you’re trying to fill in the *entire* lid, you know? I also think with only 0.01 oz. of product, I would look elsewhere for a lid color!

    • I personally wouldn’t. I have Canary and it sets really really fast. I tried to smudge it twice and it didn’t go well. I only use it for lining and it’s mostly (almost exclusively) on the waterline because it’s creamy but dries down too quickly. If you try to go over it too many times while it’s on the lid it tugs, so if you’re not an expert with your wings or flicks it can cause some struggle. I still love it because it’s incredibly pigmented and long wearing but maybe you should look at a cream eyeshadow or MAC Chromagraphic. xx

  18. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Ida Ida

    Have to try these! Canary looks like a nice brightening shade because it has that slight pastel-y feel to it :D

  19. I definitely want to try Canary, it looks like it would be a lot of un to play around with. Deep Fuchsia looks really unique, but I think it would look too nice on me, however I could see someone pulling it off well. Thanks for the great review!

  20. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Cel Cel

    I feel like I need that canary yellow in my life (we all know I don’t). Haha

  21. Canary, though! I loooove! I’m always looking at yellow and gold eyeliners because I live in Pittsburgh and attend Pirates games very regularly! Gotta have my black and yellow on– even on my eyes!
    Elyse Recently Posted: Wednesday Wants Vol. 22

  22. The last time I went to Sephora, I swatched Violet and noticed it was almost identical to another Sephora eyeliner I swatched (I didn’t note which one, but if I had to guess it’d be the Contour pencil in Purple Stilettos).

  23. Diana

    I was looking at the first picture of the Canary liner and my boyfriend asks “Why are you loonig at a banana?” Haha.
    I wonder how you would wear the Canary liner? I think it would look odd on the waterliner but as a liner..I don’t know, might work :)

  24. Yaay :) I’m so happy you’ve reviewed these and they’re in the swatch gallery. I’m a big fan of Stila products, they’re right up there with UD,Too Faced & Nars for me. Any more Stila reviews coming soon? *fingersNtoes* haha

  25. Soma

    Did you find that any of these dragged on the eyelid? I had bought the Deep Fuschia one, wanting to do a reverse cat eye with it, but it just didn’t apply to my lid as smoothly as when I swatched it on my hand.

    I’m just wondering if maybe I got a defective product or not.

    Thanks!