Monday, October 14th, 2013

Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette
Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette

Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette ($9.99 for 0.36 oz.) is one of the newer palettes released by Sleek, and it features a mix of cool and warm-toned shades ranging from neutrals to purples and burgundies. Overall, it’s a good palette, but it’s not flawless–there are a few shades that have a slightly drier feel, so the color payoff and/or blendability was lessened. Each shade wore between seven and a half and nine hours on me; with the sheerer/drier shades tending to last closer to seven. For the price point, I would still recommend it–it is a purchase I was happy with, even if it wasn’t as stellar the Sunset palette I reviewed previously.

I purchased mine through Amazon (same seller as linked), but it is also available from Sleek directly and will ship to U.S. addresses. I wanted to see how the buying experience was through Amazon’s third-party seller, as they also ship palettes that Sleek won’t ship directly to U.S. addresses. I had no issues, and it arrived about a week after I placed my order.

Pretty in Paris is a bright, light silver with a frosted, metallic finish. It had fairly good color payoff, and it’s very, very metallic so it brightens wherever it’s applied–would work well on the inner corner as a highlight. Urban Decay Revolt (LE, $18.00) is similar. Urban Decay Shellshock (LE, $18.00) is cooler-toned, darker. NARS Flowers 3 #1 (LE, $24.00) is similar. MAC Guise (LE, $21.00) is darker. MAC Extra Silver (LE, $21.00) is also darker. L’Oreal Primped & Precious (LE, $7.99) is slightly darker. Guerlain Les Aquas #4 (P) is similar. Chanel Infini (P, $28.50) is also similar. See comparison swatches.

Meet in Madrid is a medium, slightly subdued, gold with orange and yellow undertones and a frosted sheen. It had good pigmentation and applied fairly smoothly. MAC Her Cocoa #1 (LE, $15.00) is warmer. Giorgio Armani #10 #2 (P) is lighter. Urban Decay Blunt (P, $18.00) is very similar. L’Oreal Eternal Sunshine (P, $7.99) is a touch yellower. Lancome Eternal Gold (P, $24.50) is a bit yellower. Dior Night Golds #4 (LE) is similar. Dior Fairy Golds #2 (LE) is less warm-toned. Chanel Harmonie du Soir #1 (LE) is very similar. Chanel Vision (LE, $36.00) is a cream product. bareMinerals Surreal (P) is a touch yellower. See comparison swatches.

Court in Cannes is a medium, warm-toned brown with a golden sheen and frosted finish. It had nice color payoff and applied smoothly, thought it appeared lighter on than it did in the pan. Chanel Initiation (827) (LE, $36.00) is a cream product and more sparkly. Urban Decay Radar (LE, $18.00) is darker. MAC Golden Touch (LE, $15.00) is similar, less brown. Maybelline Downtown Brown (P, $6.99) is similar. bareMinerals Schmooze (LE) is less warm-toned. Edward Bess Cosmic Bliss #2 (P, $30.00) is less frosted. MAC Romantico (LE, $15.00) is darker, warmer. MAC Cactus Thorn (LE, $15.00) is similar. MAC Heavenly Bliss (LE, $15.00) is a little browner. See comparison swatches.

Lust in LA is a dark, chocolate brown with warm, reddish-orange undertones and a frosted finish. It had excellent pigmentation and applied very smoothly and evenly. theBalm B4 (LE, $16.00) is  less frosted. Marc Jacobs Beauty The Starlet #3 (P) is less metallic/frosted. Disney by Sephora Abu (LE) is darker. Urban Decay Snakebite (LE, $18.00) is a bit darker, less frosted. Chanel Topkapi #1 (LE) is slightly darker. Inglot #422 (P, $6.00) is warmer. Inglot #402 (P, $6.00) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Romance in Rome is a cool-toned, medium-dark purple with a frosted finish. The texture was on the drier side, so it had decent color payoff but wasn’t as stellar as other shades in the palette. Urban Decay Voodoo (LE, $18.00) is very similar. Too Faced Badass (LE) is bluer. Urban Decay Half Truth (LE, $18.00) is darker. NARS Marie-Galante #2 (LE, $24.00) is bluer-based. Milani Purr-fect Purple (P, $6.99) is less cool-toned. MAC Warm & Smoky (LE, $15.00) is richer. MAC Dusty Desire (LE, $32.50) is darker, richer. See comparison swatches.

Propose in Prague is a medium-dark brown with warm, reddish-orange undertones and a matte finish. It had good color payoff, but the texture wasn’t as soft as other shades in the palette, so it wasn’t as easy to work with. Kat Von D Cleopatra (P) is more orange. MAC Exposed (LE, $15.00) is browner, less red-toned. MAC Brown Script (P, $15.00) is darker. Guerlain Turandot #2 (LE) is very similar. Guerlain Les Fauves #2 (LE) is warmer. See comparison swatches.

A Vow in Venice is a medium-dark berry with warm undertones and a soft, frosted finish. It had good pigmentation and applied smoothly. Chanel Seduction #1 (LE) is a touch warmer. Urban Decay Last Call (P, $18.00) is more metallic. MAC Festive Delight (LE, $15.00) is darker, less frosted. MAC Cranberry (P, $15.00) is very similar. See comparison swatches.

Marry in Monte Carlo is a bright, medium-dark fuchsia-berry with a frosted finish. It almost has orange undertones when you sheer it out, but the color looks cooler in tone overall. It had really nice color payoff and a smooth, buttery feel. Disney by Sephora Maiden (LE) is more muted. MAC Hepcat (P, $15.00) is less frosted. MAC Stylishly Merry (LE, $21.00) is lighter. Sugarpill Magentric (P, $12.00) is a bit pinker. See comparison swatches.

Honeymoon in Hollywood is a rich, deep berry wine with a satin finish and a bit of silver sparkle and cool undertones. It had fairly good pigmentation, but the texture was a little stiffer so it doesn’t blend as easily as I’d like to see. Disney by Sephora Sha La La (LE) is sheerer, lighter. MAC Dynamic Duo 1 #2 (LE, $15.00) is less intense. MAC Palace Pedigreed (LE, $15.00) is darker, less cool-toned. Make Up For Ever #39 (P, $20.00) is more muted. See comparison swatches.

Bliss in Barcelona is a medium-dark, cool-toned violet purple with a frosted finish. It had good color payoff, and it applied evenly overall; the texture wasn’t as buttery as the best shades in the palette but wasn’t difficult to work with. Disney by Sephora Snarfblat (LE) is more muted. Disney by Sephora Sea Witch (LE) is less frosted. MAC Warm & Smoky (LE, $15.00) is cooler-toned. MAC Pink Union #2 (LE, $21.00) is brighter. MAC Parfait Amour (P, $15.00) is less frosted. MAC Dusty Desire (LE, $32.50) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Forever in Florence is a dark, burgundy with cool, red undertones and a mostly matte finish. The texture was somewhat dry, so the resulting color payoff was semi-opaque–not a total dud, but it requires some extra patience while blending. MAC Deep Damson (P, $15.00) is browner. MAC Hyperviolet (LE, $18.00) is a cream product. MAC Palace Pedigreed (LE, $15.00) is lighter. Make Up For Ever #39 (P, $20.00) is lighter. See comparison swatches.

Love in London is a medium black with a satin finish. It’s almost a light enough black that it can turn gray when used less intensely. It had good color payoff, and the texture was soft but not powdery. MAC Fashion Legend (LE, $15.00) is more matte. theBalm Guilty Gwen (P, $16.00) is similar. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Vintage Romance

B+

Overall, it's a good palette, but it's not flawless--there are a few shades that have a slightly drier feel, so the color payoff and/or blendability was lessened. Each shade wore between seven and a half and nine hours on me; with the sheerer/drier shades tending to last closer to seven. For the price point, I would still recommend it--it is a purchase I was happy with, even if it wasn't as stellar the Sunset palette I reviewed previously.

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Pretty in Paris

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Meet in Madrid

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette
Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette

Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette
Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette

Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette
Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette

Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette
Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette

Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette
Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette

Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette
Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette

Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette
Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette

Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette
Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette

Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette
Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette

Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette
Sleek Makeup Pretty in Paris Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Pretty in Paris Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Meet in Madrid Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Meet in Madrid Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Court in Cannes Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Court in Cannes Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Lust in LA Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Lust in LA Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Romance in Rome Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Romance in Rome Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Propose in Prague Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Propose in Prague Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup A Vow in Venice Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup A Vow in Venice Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Marry in Monte Carlo Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Marry in Monte Carlo Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Honeymoon in Hollywood Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Honeymoon in Hollywood Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Bliss in Barcelona Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Bliss in Barcelona Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Forever in Florence Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Forever in Florence Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Love in London Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Love in London Eyeshadow

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Eyeshadows: Meet in Madrid (inner lid), A Vow in Venice (middle of lid),
Bliss in Barcelona (outer lid), Forever in Florence (crease), Propose in Prague (crease)

Sleek Makeup Eyeshadow
Sleek Makeup Eyeshadows: Meet in Madrid (inner lid), A Vow in Venice (middle of lid),
Bliss in Barcelona (outer lid), Forever in Florence (crease), Propose in Prague (crease)

The Dupe List: Pretty in Paris

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Meet in Madrid

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Court in Cannes

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

71 thoughts on “Sleek Makeup Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Molly D

    This looks really pretty! I want to try out some Sleek blushes and eyeshadows but I’ve heard terrible reviews about ordering from the Sleek website. You said you ordered from a seller on Amazon but when I click on the link it just takes me to the main page on Amazon?

    • Hi Molly
      I live in Australia and I’ve made about 10 orders with Sleek over the last year or so and I’ve never had a problem. All my orders have arrived in about a week. The only issue I’ve had with customer service is this last week on Twitter I won a mascara but they wont / haven’t answered me so I can give them my postal details (they don’t follow me so I can private message them my details) but other than that absolutely no issues ordering via the website.
      Good luck, I adore their products :)

    • Hi Molly, I’m in California, and I’ve been ordering from Sleek for over 3 years. They have revamped the site several times since my first palettes, and here is what I have noticed change over time: When I started, the shipping fees were so high, myself and friends would have to group together to split the fees, or look out for free shipping codes in order to buy. Now, Royal Air is only about $2.50 for a single palette, and the increase is minimal as your order increases. The old site used to crap out on you as you made your way to Sage Pay, the mode of payment, so it could take literally HOURS and a lot of memorizing your order and practicing your typing speed before you could actually get the order to go through–you would get *almost* there, and suddenly, the network dumped your entire cart and logged you out. Only the most patient people could tolerate this. I know–I often had friends get frustrated on the free shipping days and give ME their money and order lists, and my entire afternoon would be wasted on 20+ attempts to get a single order pushed through.

      About a year ago, I noticed they overhauled EVERYTHING! The entire website has a different look, and all the shopping windows are much easier to navigate. This is when I noticed the price of shipping had dropped, and I started ordering single palettes at a time rather than waiting for other people to feel like joining me on a group order. I still experienced the problem of the cart dumping and getting logged out, or logging out on purpose, only to return to an empty cart when I logged back in. There was no memory of my previous cart contents like most retailers do these days. The auto-dumping of a cart in progress took a lot longer though. Like, you had to be seriously dawdling around to lose your cart contents. Still problematic, albeit occasional.

      Now, they have added the appropriate cookies to the site so you can walk away from a cart, log out, or whatever you like, and when you return in an hour, a week, 3 months… everything you left in your cart is still there, and it’s VERY easy to navigate through Sage Pay. The cheaper shipping fees continue to be a huge bonus!

      The only thing I have seen change that is disappointing is that the gorgeous Sunset Palette I bought directly from the site in 2011 is now considered on the FDA no-no list, so you have to get that one from an eBay dealer or Amazon. Not sure why… either the FDA changed a rule, or Sleek changed an ingredient. I hear the price is only about $3 higher when you buy it 3rd party, though. Other palettes such as Acid, Matte V1 and Matte V2, and I think the Sparkle palettes have always been FDA restricted, so only the Sunset Palette has had a rule change that I am aware of. It’s TOTALLY worth the extra trouble, though. This is easily in the top 3 of Best Sleek Palettes EVER, if not THE best (I am rather fond of the Me, Myself, and Eye PPQ, though!).

      They just discontinued an LE palette called Showstoppers. If you find this one in eBay, you may want to snatch that one up. It was a collection of 12 shadows consisting of the most popular color from each of 12 most popular palettes. I skipped it since I have them all except the Graphite palette, and there is a tendency to repeat colors with different names. I have a very OCD Sleek e/s palette collection, so I may cave and buy it just to stay “comprehensive” in my set.

      The blushes are VERY pigmented, and the shimmers are so shiny, they can turn metallic if you’re not careful. Rose Gold is a very nice (and affordable) dupe for NARS Orgasm, but you need a stippling brush (think MAC 188) to prevent your cheeks from turning into Disco balls. Fair skinned people should also go light-handed with colors like Flamingo, as they will lean a little cartoony if you’re not careful. ;) Otherwise, those blushes are extremely nice, so long as you know how to handle so much color. Pixie Pink is very nice, and Suede is a great neutral shade. The Eau La La lip pencils are also among the nicest lip pencils I’ve ever had. They go on as smoothly as a lipstick, have a tiny bit of tackiness like a MAC Pro Longwear, and the pigmentation is incredible! I like them better than MAC, tbh, but you have to be careful not to blast through them super fast since some of them do wear like lipstick.

      I’m going to shut up now, because I love Sleek so much, I’m starting to sound like a commercial (this is NOT my blog… this is NOT my blog… *mantra* lol). I hope the information I provided helps a little with your decision process, and also helps clear up the many rumors you’ve heard about problems in the site. It used to really suck… now it’s fantastic! Happy Shopping! :)

  2. I received this about 2 weeks ago and I love it. I think it’s my favourite iDivine so far (I have 7) really pretty, wearable colours. Mine actually came in different outer packaging, floral print with foil print branding. I do with Sleek would print the shade names on the bottom of the palette – I always lose the plastic cover!

    • I know! I don’t know why it’s not printed on the back. Or geez, even their website. I know some of the names are listed but not really in order or anything like that! I’m not even sure all the names get a mention.

      • Some of my palettes had shade names, some didn’t. I’ve also found it doesn’t state which lipsticks are matte and which aren’t – it’s so random! But it’s one of my favourite brands anyway :)

        • HAHA! I have the same problems! I have tried to save those plastic sheets, but then I get them mixed up, and eventually misplace them. I wish they put the names on the palette, too.

          The lipstick finishes used to really bother me, but they recently added that tidbit in the product description! YAY! It’s in the first sentence of the 2nd paragraph under “Product description,” so they really make you work for it:

          “Peaches & Cream is a sheen creamy light peach…”
          “Pink Freeze is a matte bright pink…”
          etc.

          That helps a lot, for me, anyway. Also a favorite for me! :D

  3. Sue

    The colors are pretty, but the ingredients (talc and petroleum) are off putting.

  4. Christina

    Ooh, very pretty palette! I love purples and plums, and this is so perfect for autumn. Thanks for posting swatches!

  5. I absolutely love this palette, definitely one of my top palettes for fall! I’m pretty sure my blog readers will be getting sick of seeing this palette, but I feel there’s so much you can do with it. The blush from the collection, Antique is nice to, even though it’s not a colour I’m usually drawn to.

  6. CeeBee

    I love this – I got mine about 3 weeks ago and I was surprised at how much I adore it, the burgundy wine shades are something I don’t have a lot of in my stash and I love how they look with gold and taupe shadows.

    • What are your favorite combos with it so far?

      • CeeBee

        Well, I’ve only used it a few times but so far my fave look was Meet in Madrid on the inner corner as a highlight, Court in Cannes (middle) and Marry in Monte Carlo (outer edge) on the lid, with Forever in Florence blended into the crease. I think I used WnW Brulee up to my brow bone to finish off, with MAC Almost Noir on the lower lash line.

        I also blended Bliss in Barcelona over the new Jordana Made To Last chunky eyeshadow pencil in Prolong Purple and it looked awesome with Pretty in Paris as an inner corner highlight!

  7. Oh yes, I like! A couple of really compelling shades in this palette for me: honeymoon in hollywood and forever in florence.

  8. Terri

    I just clicked on the link and bought this. Just when I thought I was getting a handle on myself too!!!
    I will NEVER wear all the eyeshadows I already have but I am a sucker for palettes. At least this is well priced.

  9. Colleen

    So glad to see you reviewing some Sleek makeup! I’ve heard such great things about them on YouTube over time. Hope to see some review on their blushes/blush trios.

  10. The color scheme is gorgeous! I just wish there were more mattes in the bunch.

  11. Sarah

    I just ordered this, the sunset palette, and the storm one from eBay! So excited but I’m putting myself on a ban for buying eyeshadow palettes for the rest of the year….or at least until Christmas

  12. Sara

    You know, I’ve been thinking, and after seeing this picture I definitely think there shouldn’t be a problem. I know you’ve mentioned some allergy or something that prevents you from lining your upper eye, but you put cream and powdered eyeshadow all the way down to your lash line, and you can absolutely use either to line your upper lash line (including making cat eyes, winged, whatever. The world is now your lined oyster. Hope that helps!

    • Hi Sara,

      Thank you for the thought! I haven’t tried any liquid or cream eyeliners in sometime (on my upper lash line), but I know that in the past, when I’ve tried to use an eyeliner brush to apply eyeshadow along the lash line, I still would have similar issues, which made me think it’s probably something to do with the area (I think the area between the lashes) and having anything really touching it (like an applicator or product). It basically just starts to swell and redden. When I apply my eye makeup, I don’t apply makeup right up to the lashes (when I look down severely, you can see there’s 1-2mm gap) or between the lashes. When I’ve consciously tried to get closer to the lash line, I end up having to wash everything off, because it seems to trigger this itching/scratching feeling and severe watering. My actual lid seems more durable, but if I apply eye makeup more than twice in a day in a short period, my eyelids sometimes turn red and scaly for the next day or two. I have a similar issue on two spots on my neck – if I rub or scratch at either, the area will flare up and turn a very angry red (and incredibly itchy). I imagine that the watering worsens the impact as with say a liquid eyeliner, it very much causes the eyeliner to get into the eye, and that’s exacerbated some of what I’ve seen when I used to try using liquid eyeliners.

  13. The palette looks really nice. liked so many dark colored eye shadows in this ..pinks, reds to revive that Vintage charm.. :)

  14. Honeymoon in Hollywood! Wowzers! Pretty sure at this price point, I WILL be getting this! Thank u!

  15. Rina

    Did you find that any of the reds stained?

  16. Yayyyyy!!! I ordered this right before I ordered the Sunset palette! I’m really excited about receiving both in the mail!!!!

  17. Debra Logan

    Never tried, would like to.

  18. divinem1 (Melissa)

    I love the colors, but they’re soooo metallic! Sheesh! Just a few more satins would’ve made a difference in my choice to purchase. I’m such a weakling when it comes to holiday palettes. Argh! That’s a gorgeous look on you. I love jewel tones! Thanks for the swatches/review.

  19. Nancy

    Conveniently, I’ve just moved to London for grad school. After I saw your review, I caved and bought 2 palettes that you actually haven’t reviewed (yet), which is rare for me! I got the Originals and the Ultra Mattes Dark v2. I LOVE them! The matte dark green creates a really cool colorful smokey eye!

  20. Wow I love this! There are definitely a lot of shades in here that I would wear a lot. I have been loving the Sleek Blush by 3 palettes lately. I have 4 of them!

  21. This is my current favourite eyeshadow palette for the autumn, I just love the rich combination of colours. My favourite is Honeymoon in Hollywood which I was worried might stain my skin as it’s such an intense purple, but actually I have no problems with it whatsoever. Lasts all day over a primer and comes off easily with make-up remover.

  22. Malia

    I love Forever in Florence!! And “not a Total dud” gives me hope :) the last palettes I got from sleek were the matte ones, this one looks like I’d actually wear it though. Your eye look is so pretty!

  23. A new sleek palette – hoorray!!! Though I probably will pass on this one, because I just have so many shimmery similar shades already

  24. Carmen

    These are gorgeous, Christine.

    Where are Sleek products made/manufactured? Thansk in advance!

  25. The colors sort of look like Marc Jacobs shadow palettes. Thoughts? Look for less?

  26. Ashley

    I order this palette because of your review. I’m super excited. May I ask, did yours come via us postal service, ups or fedex? I used the link you provided to order.

  27. SandraJT

    I ordered this along with several other Sleek products just a few days ago. Can’t wait for it to arrive & start playing with it. Really love the deeper shades in this palette. It’s also nice to see some less typical ‘fall’ shades in here. I didn’t have any problems ordering from their website whatsoever. Hopefully there won’t be any delivery issues, either. But I’ve yet to have any problems with Royal Mail shipping internationally. They’re far more reliable than Canada Post, that’s for damn sure.

  28. SandraJT

    Mine came in today – incredibly fast shipping from the UK. Love Royal Mail! I quite like the palette & I’m glad I bought it. I’ll be using it a lot more than my other Sleek palettes. The pinkish/purple tones are very rich looking.

    If anybody is looking for a great felt tipped liner, try Sleek’s Flick It liner. Most amazing liner of this type that I’ve tried. It doesn’t bleed, smear, flake or smudge. Even when it gets wet. I love it! So glad I ordered it!

  29. TwirlyGirly

    I ordered this palette directly from Sleek on Oct. 29th, and received it Nov. 7th. – and I live in RHode Island! I was pleasantly surprised at the speedy shipping. I probably would have received it in about the same amount of time had I ordered it from Amazon, and I paid less. A great deal all around. I’ll only buy from the Amazon sellers those palettes Sleek cannot ship to the US.

  30. TwirlyGirly

    Something’s up with Sleek.

    As I recently posted, I ordered the “Vintage Romance” palette directly from Sleek on Oct. 29th, and received it Nov. 7. At the time I placed the order, the information as to which I-Divine palettes could not be shipped to the US was in the main I-Divine palette product description.

    I returned to the Sleek website a couple of days ago with the intention of ordering a couple more palettes. I thought it odd that the list of palettes which cannot be shipped to the US no longer appeared in the product description. I clicked on the tabs at the bottom of the product page, and discovered under the “Ingredients” tab a disclaimer stating “PLEASE NOTE, THAT THIS PRODUCT IS NOT AVAILABLE IN THE USA DUE TO SHIPPING REGULATIONS. WE APOLOGISE FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE THIS MAY CAUSE.” This disclaimer appeared regardless of which palette was selected from the drop-down menu!

    I wrote to Sleek:

    Dear Sleek,

    I’m confused. I recently ordered, and received, the Sleek I-Divine “Vintage Romance” palette.

    I’ve returned to your website to purchase some additional I-Divine palettes, but something has changed. Now, ALL the palettes state “THIS PRODUCT IS NOT AVAILABLE IN THE USA”.

    What’s up with that? Previously, only a few of the palettes were restricted from shipping to the US (Acid, and I believe Ultra Mattes V1, and maybe another). I was checking that to make certain I did not order any of the “restricted” palettes. But now it seems NONE of them can be purchased by US buyers!

    Is that correct, or is something wrong with your website?

    I received a response from Sleek yesterday:

    “Due to recent changes in FDA rules and regulations, we are unable to ship certain products to the USA. As we currently comply with EU regulations this does not affect other regions of the world. We should have all our products FDA approved very soon. Our ‘Storm’ and ‘Original’ pallets are still available in the US.”

    Isn’t that weird? So, two weeks ago US buyers WERE able to purchase the “Vintage Romance” palette, but now, according to Sleek, we can’t!

    There are a couple of odd things about this, though……It does allow me to put palettes other than the “Original” and “Storm” in my cart (even after I’ve signed into my account, so it “knows” I’m in the US) and I’d be willing to bet it would let me complete the ordering and payment process.

    The other strange thing is that they are not including this information in the main product description. How many people, really, are going to click on the “Ingredients” tab and see the information about the palettes not being available to US customers?

    Since I wrote, they have updated their website so that now it does NOT have the disclaimer for either the “Original” or “Storm” palettes, but the disclaimer STILL appears on the “Ingredients” tab if you select any of the other palettes…..including “Vintage Romance”…..

    • Very weird! I just bought cosmetics from Selfridges, and it was a nightmare getting it through customs, so I wonder if someone reported or otherwise had an inspection issue recently that triggered FDA involvement with Sleek that would make them put a more aggressive disclaimer up?

      • TwirlyGirly

        I don’t know, but it’s really strange, isn’t it? I always thought certain palettes were restricted because of the neon dyes they used in some of their colors (most especially in the Acid palette), and in some of the other palettes as well. But I just don’t understand what the problem is with palettes that have more subtle, muted tones like “VIntage Romance.” Certainly there aren’t any of those neon dyes in any of the shades in that palette! The whole situation is just weird. And why is the disclaimer “buried” on the “Ingredients” tab, instead of being prominently featured in the product description as it was previously? It’s not just that the disclaimer is more aggressive, it’s that US customers are restricted to just TWO palettes now. I wonder why third party sellers are able to get away with selling these palettes through Amazon?

    • Ruca

      I noticed this weekend the disclaimer is now hidden, and only apears if you post a link to the products somewhere, like Facebook. They even allowed me to go all the way to Sage Pay checkout with an Acid palette, something that used to be prevented. I did not attempt to complete any transactions since I’m short on funds at the moment, but I suspect they might even ship the palettes, especially since some like the Sunset were approved for US delivery for a few years before being restricted recently. There are 3 palettes I want, so I may be attempting this next week if the site is still permitting us to get to or through checkout. I’m often annoyed by these FDA rules, & find the EU & CA rules to be satisfactory for me. I also know when the US passed new restrictive laws about trading FOREX with foreign banks, these banks would have an open NO US CLIENTS policy, but accepted US clients who just applied and never asked; I can’t help but wonder if the cosmetics industry in the UK is as slippery as their large banks? I wouldn’t blame them if they tried.

  31. Melissa

    I purchased this palette while I was on vacation (holiday) in London along with the matte dark and matte brights. I can’t wait to use them.

  32. Alice

    Hi :)
    What do You think, are there some reapited colours from other Sleek palettes (especially gold and violets)? I already have Storm, Bad Girl and OSS.

    Alice :)

    • Ruca

      Hi Alice! I have all the palettes you have, so I swatched out every color that remotely resembled anything in this new Vintage Romance palette, and I am shocked by the results. The only match is Court in Cannes, the 4th pan in the top row which is a dupe for the 1st pan (left) of the top row in Storm. Meet in Madrid (2nd pan in VR) is VERY similar to 4th pan in Storm, but not identical. The storm color is slightly golder. The other shades that I thought would match just don’t. Last pan on the bottom (Love in London) looks like the 2nd to last top row of Bad Girl, but it has a lot of glitter. The dark purple Bliss in Barcelona looks like Bad Girl’s 2nd to last bottom row purple, but Bad Girl’s is more pigmented. 2nd to last top row Romance in Rome looks like the 4th pan bottom row of Storm, but Storm’s is more pigmented and more shimmery. 2nd to last bottom row VR called Forever in Florence looks a lot like the last pan top row of OSS, but it’s much prettier, better pigment, and more true burgundy while the OSS dark burgundy has a lot of black in it in comparison, and is more shimmery. If those are the only 3 Sleek palettes you have, this one is totally worth getting because it is unique compared to those. If you have Me Myself & Eye, the silver looks the same, or Matte V2 has a brownish shade that looks a lot like Propose in Prague (last pan top row), but the burgundies are all unique compared to the 23 Sleek palettes I have. The 3 shimmery pans like the 2 I found dupes for are colors Sleek tends to repeat in a lot of palettes, much as the black used to be a guaranteed shade in every palette until very recently. I’m a little neurotic about my Sleek collection, and have been stockpiling these things for over 3 years. :\ HTH!