Tuesday, May 21st, 2013

Sephora Surfin' USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Surfin’ USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow

Sephora Surfin’ USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow ($13.00 for 0.07 oz.) is described as an “azure blue shimmer.” It’s a bright, medium blue with a hint of yellow that gives it an aqua/teal leaning (but it’s more blue than it is teal). It has a pearly sheen. Shades like Inglot #322, Inglot #371, MAC Electric Eel, and NARS Mad, Mad World #1 are all a bit bluer and matte, so the finish makes them rather different in practice. Make Up For Ever #118 is lighter. Make Up For Ever #83 is slightly greener-tinted and has a golden shimmer. MAC Parrot is darker. Sugarpill Afterparty is bluer, darker. Urban Decay Peace is lighter. Urban Decay Clash is also bluer (and a cream product). NARS South Pacific #1 is lighter. See comparison swatches here.

Applied damp, Surfin’ USA had good color payoff and went on smoothly but wasn’t quite as vibrant as when applied damp; then, it became even smoother, bolder, and fully pigmented. The texture is soft, buttery, and blendable on the lid. I had no trouble with it wearing all day long without fading or creasing (no primer) either. It’s definitely one of the best shades I’ve come across in Sephora’s Colorful range. This shade did lightly stain my skin after wearing it all day long.

Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow ($13.00 for 0.07 oz.) is described as a “petrol blue shimmer.” It’s a smoky, bluish-teal with a frosted finish. Urban Decay Junkie is a couple of shades lighter. Urban Decay Hijack is grayer, lighter. MAC Prussian is matte and bluer. MAC Rain Drop is lighter. Sugarpill Magpie is more frosted, so it appears slightly lighter, but it is the closest shade to Midnight Swim. See comparison swatches here.

The color payoff was the same whether applied dry or damp, but the finish changed from satiny to pearly–it’s more shimmery and reflective when applied damp. Both applications resulted in smooth, even color, and it was easy to blend out on the lid. Midnight Swim had a lovely soft, silky-smooth texture that made it easy to work with and yielded fantastic pigmentation. It lasted ten hours without creasing or fading when I tested it (no primer).

The Glossover

P
product

Surfin' USA (14)

A
The texture is soft, buttery, and blendable on the lid. I had no trouble with it wearing all day long without fading or creasing (no primer) either. It's definitely one of the best shades I've come across in Sephora's Colorful range.

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Midnight Swim (16)

A
Midnight Swim had a lovely soft, silky-smooth texture that made it easy to work with and yielded fantastic pigmentation. It lasted ten hours without creasing or fading when I tested it (no primer).

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

10/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

Sephora Surfin' USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Surfin’ USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow

Sephora Surfin' USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Surfin’ USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow

Sephora Surfin' USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Surfin’ USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow

Sephora Surfin' USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Surfin’ USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow

Sephora Surfin' USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Surfin’ USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow

Sephora Surfin' USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Surfin’ USA (14) Colorful Eyeshadow

Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow

Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow

Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow

Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow

Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow

Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow
Sephora Midnight Swim (16) Colorful Eyeshadow

The Dupe List: Surfin' USA (14)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Midnight Swim (16)

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

11 thoughts on “Sephora Surfin’ USA and Midnight Swim Colorful Eyeshadow Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. They are both gorgeous, but Midnight Swim is giving me heart palpitations.. darker blues are amazing on hazel eyes. This baby just went on my wishlist!

  2. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Vee vee

    Christine, will you be reviewing Sephora’s new Waterproof Contour Eye Pencil range?
    http://www.sephora.com/waterproof-contour-eye-pencil-P377784
    The colours look really interesting and (IMO) Sephora’s waterproof pencils have a good formula.

  3. Wow I actually really like Midnight Swim! I love the names of these – they make me ready for Summer.

  4. They’re both gorgeous! I bet they look amazing together in a look.

  5. But you can buy Mac pro eyeshadow for $12. Whats the motivation to care about Sephora’s shadows.

  6. Midnight Swim is beautiful. I just Mac’s Plumage 2 weeks ago…is Midnight Swim a frosty version of Plumage?

  7. Surfin USA… cute name. Midnight Swim is really gorgeous.

  8. Oh my gosh, I 100% need Surfin’ USA — I’m a sucker for such blue eye shadows!