Monday, April 28th, 2014

Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set
Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set

Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set ($49.00 for 10 x 0.04 oz.) includes ten shades ranging from yellow to brown to basic black and pops of green and blue. I’m a huge fan of Sephora’s Contour Eye Pencils for multiple reasons, but first and foremost, they perform well. While they typically don’t last the full twelve-hours as boasted, they do last anywhere from eight to ten hours, have good color payoff, don’t tug or pull at the lash line, and come in at under $10 a pop and have a variety of shades to choose from. I already reviewed five of the ten shades in the set, but the set also contains two shades (Tropical Dancefloor and Capipirinha Dreamin’) that aren’t currently available in the permanent range, so I knew I had to scoop this up!

Romantic Comedy is described as a “flashy pink.” It’s a medium, cool-toned pink with a glittery finish. I reviewed this previously here, but to recap: it had decent pigmentation in a single stroke and lasted well for ten hours on me. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Tropical Dancefloor is a brightened, gold and copper-shimmered tangerine orange. It had good pigmentation in a single stroke but was buildable in two layers to opaque color. It wore well for almost ten hours on my lower lash line. I didn’t see this in the permanent range, so for now, it is exclusive to the set. Chanel Vegas Gold (LE, $28.00) is lighter, more golden. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Banana Split is described as “yellow.” It’s a brightened, light-medium yellow with a matte finish. I reviewed this previously here, but to erecap: good color payoff, wears ten hours. MAC Primary Yellow is the closest I could think of.

Caipirinha Dreamin’ is a flashy pop of yellow-toned green. It had so-so pigmentation in one pass, and it was buildable to mostly opaque color coverage, but it had a waxier texture so it wasn’t as creamy or as opaque as other shades. This shade lasted for eight and a half hours on me. I didn’t see this in the permanent range, so for now, it is exclusive to the set. NARS Puerta del Sol (LE, $24.00) is darker. Sephora Collection Indulge Yourself (22) (P, $9.00) is darker. Urban Decay Freak (P, $19.00) is lighter. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Summer Cruise is described as a “turquoise.” It’s a bright, medium blue with a pearly sheen. I reviewed this previously here, but to recap: it had so-so pigmentation in a single stroke and lasted well for nine and a half hours on me. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Eccentric Diva is described as a “purple.” It’s a medium-dark, cool-toned purple with a pearly sheen. It had semi-opaque color payoff in a single stroke, and it was buildable to slightly more opaque color, but it never was that opaque. The color wore well for eight and a half hours on me. Tarina Tarantino Amethyst Android (P, $15.00) is cooler-toned. NARS Blue Dahlia (LE, $24.00) is less shimmery. Buxom Door’s Unlocked (P, $17.00) is similar. Laura Mercier Violet (P, $24.00) is less shimmery. Urban Decay Ransom (LE, $19.00) is very similar. NARS St. Marks Place (P, $24.00) is cooler-toned, less shimmery. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Tiramisu is described as a “brown.” It’s a medium-dark, subtly warm-toned brown with a matte finish. It had good color payoff in one pass, and it was lightly creamy and applied evenly. This shade wore well for almost ten hours on my lower lash line. Tarina Tarantino Puppeteer (P, $15.00) and Tarina Tarantino Locket Book (P, $15.00) are more shimmery. Laura Mercier Espresso (P, $24.00) is redder in tone. Kat Von D Immortal Love (P, $10.00) and Make Up For Ever #25L (P, $19.00) are similar. Urban Decay Whiskey (P, $19.00) is warmer. MAC Stubborn Brown (P, $16.00) is slightly darker. MAC Duck (P, $16.00) is a touch warmer. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Cookie Crunch is described as a “golden brown.” It’s a medium-dark, gold and bronze-shimmered brown with warm undertones. It had good color coverage in one stroke, and the color lasted for almost ten hours on my lower lash line. Buxom Come Over (P, $17.00) is darker. Urban Decay Smog (P, $19.00) is warmer. Urban Decay Scorch (P, $19.00) is lighter. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Blonde Ambition is described as a “beige.” It’s a champagne beige with a pearly sheen. I reviewed this previously here, but to recap: it had good pigmentation in a single stroke and lasted well for nine hours on me. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Black Lace is described as a “black.” It’s a rich, deep black with a mostly matte finish. I reviewed this previously here, but to recap: it had good pigmentation in a single stroke and lasted well for nine hours on me. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Samba

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Romantic Comedy (35)

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Tropical Dancefloor

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set
Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set

Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set
Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set

Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set
Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set

Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set
Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set

Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set
Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set

Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set
Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set

Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set
Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set

Sephora Romantic Comedy Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Romantic Comedy Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Romantic Comedy Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Romantic Comedy Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Romantic Comedy Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Romantic Comedy Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Tropical Dancefloor Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Tropical Dancefloor Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Tropical Dancefloor Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Tropical Dancefloor Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Tropical Dancefloor Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Tropical Dancefloor Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Banana Split Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Banana Split Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Banana Split Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Banana Split Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Banana Split Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Banana Split Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Caipirinha Dreamin' Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Caipirinha Dreamin’ Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Caipirinha Dreamin' Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Caipirinha Dreamin’ Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Caipirinha Dreamin' Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Caipirinha Dreamin’ Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Summer Cruise Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Summer Cruise Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Summer Cruise Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Summer Cruise Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Summer Cruise Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Summer Cruise Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Eccentric Diva Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Eccentric Diva Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Eccentric Diva Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Eccentric Diva Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Eccentric Diva Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Eccentric Diva Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Tiramisu Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Tiramisu Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Tiramisu Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Tiramisu Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Tiramisu Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Tiramisu Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Cookie Crunch Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Cookie Crunch Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Cookie Crunch Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Cookie Crunch Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Cookie Crunch Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Cookie Crunch Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Blonde Ambition Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Blonde Ambition Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Blonde Ambition Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Blonde Ambition Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Blonde Ambition Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Blonde Ambition Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Black Lace Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Black Lace Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Black Lace Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Black Lace Contour Eye Pencil

Sephora Black Lace Contour Eye Pencil
Sephora Black Lace Contour Eye Pencil

The Dupe List: Romantic Comedy (35)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Tropical Dancefloor

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Caipirinha Dreamin'

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Leave a Reply

Share your latest blog post when you comment by Registering or Logging In!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of new posts by E-Mail.

56 thoughts on “Sephora 10 Shades of Samba Eyeliner Set Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. So many pretty colours!
    Rikki Recently Posted: Makeup Looks for the Week #1

  2. Carrie

    I love how many brights there are in the set! I really don’t need another 10 eyeliners, but playing with these convinced me to give the line a try for myself! I don’t think I like them as much as my staples, but at half the price, I don’t mind the slight decrease in performance.

  3. Good deal! The one with your hand.. That sealed the deal. ;) Truly not so bad a gift and decently lovely. Nice review again! <3

  4. I’ve been eyeing this…thanks for the review! I still can’t decide but I’m really considering it…lovely!

  5. That green one is gorgeous, it’s what I wanted UD Freak to be! I really hope it is added to the permanent range as I don’t see myself buying the whole set just for that one color. The others are either similar to shades I already have, or colors I wouldn’t wear.

  6. I rought this set during chic week sale and I am really glad i did! Its a steal for the price! perfect mix of colors & neutrals! :-)
    Vineetha Recently Posted: MAC Proenza Schouler Collection Blush Ombres Review, Swatches

  7. I hope they add Tropical Dancefloor to the permanent range! I don’t wear eyeliner on a regular basis, so the set isn’t worth it for me – but I would buy this one if it was sold separately.

  8. Oh this is a FUN set! Fun to give as a gift, but probably just as fun to get or just buy for yourself :-)

  9. Jenny Cupcakes

    Oh no, dat yellow DX

    I would consider this if I didn’t the UD Eyeliner Vault during their 20% off sale a couple months ago.

  10. Avatar of Jenn Jenn

    I’ve been waiting for this review!!! I’m so glad it was a good one. I can’t wait til these come in. These colors are an instant mood brightener!

  11. There are too many colours in this set that I wouldn’t wear but I can vouch for how terrific these pencils (well, the 4 or 5 I own) are. Honestly, it’s amazing how great they are for such an economical price. And the shades that Sephora offers – just such wonderfulness!

  12. Oh, gosh – I never realized how beautiful Eccentric Diva is. It reminds me of UD’s Omen eyeshadow (from the 15th Anniversary palette) with that interesting duochrome/reflective finish (I don’t quite know how to describe it!). I’m going to have to get that one for sure.

  13. Eccentric Diva is the only one that caught my eye so to speak or pun! I might get one of the dupes instead.
    Erin Recently Posted: Low & Mid Heeled Summer Sandals

  14. chromdot

    They look fabulous! Do you know if they are waterline safe?

      • chromdot

        How do you determine if eyeliner is waterline safe? Is is safe otherwise stated by the producer?

        • Reader Mariella noted that some of the pencils say they’re not safe – but usually the manufacturer will say something in the description. Rule of thumb, so-to-speak, is anything with shimmer/glitter will not be waterline safe.

        • Okay, I just bought Eccentric Diva today and I’ve not even opened it yet but I’m looking on the side of the pencil. Nothing about waterline safety/not safe BUT it does say “Contains carmine as a colour additive” if that means anything to anyone. I’m going to take a closer look at the others I’ve bought from Sephora to see if they say anything because I was sure I’d read a warning on one of them. OKAY – GOT IT NOW!!!! The Shimmer ones don’t carry any warning (the Shimmers I have are Surfer Babe and Eccentric Diva). HOWEVER the Glitter ones – Diving in Malaysia, Tango Nights and Galaxy Girl- all carry the warning “Ne pas mettre a l’interieur de l’oeil/Do not put inside the eye”. So I guess the Matte and Shimmer ones are safe to use (but there’s that “carmine” listing) but the glitter ones, not. Would be so helpful if this info was right on the site, which I don’t think even tells you the finish of the pencils (though I could be wrong…it has been known to happen ;)

          • I know they use carmine in reds, purples, etc., and some people are sensitive to it (and vegans avoid it), so that might be why that specific warning is on there, though it is interesting that it is there as well, lol.

            Thanks, Mariella!

          • chromdot

            than you a lot!!!!

    • There is very tiny writing on the sides of the pencils that I have (all are glitter ones and so they say they’re not safe for the waterline but the print is SO small). It would be really helpful if Sephora made this info available on their site (and also the finishes…matte? glitter? – some of the names suggest they might be glitter but other than that, there is very little information).

  15. Avatar of Lisa Lisa

    Part of me still wants these even though most pencil liners don’t last for me (including UD). And I really would only wear the brights as an occasional accent color.

  16. Wow, this is a really great set of colours if you’ve been looking to try out some brights! I’m impressed by the payoff from Banana Split, and Tropical Dancefloor and Eccentric Diva are pretty :-)
    Sylirael Recently Posted: The Peachy Keen Rogue, And Other Wordplay: Clinique Cheek Pop Blush in 02 Peach Pop

  17. I just cant pick one here I want all of these .. the whole set!! .. :P
    Banana Split and Dancefloor are the stars here.. :)

  18. Such pretty colors! I’m more of a neutral liner person and I really like the look of Cookie Crunch! I think Sephora does an eye shadow also with the same name/shade.
    Ankita Recently Posted: A Day with Shiseido in Tokyo | Discovering Za

  19. Sara

    I really wish Caprihana Dreamin wasn’t exclusive to the set! I really want that color and I’d prefer to buy it for $10 than shell out the $19 for UD Freak. I’ve been trying to find a cheaper drug store or Ulta dupe, but so far no luck :(

  20. This looks promising! There are so many fun colours there that would be great to work into a spring look for a pop of colour! :)

  21. Kali

    I just picked this based on your review, and omg I love it. So, so pigmented and pretty and creamy. I have no idea what I’ll use the yellow for, but I’m sure I’ll find a way. Thanks Christine!

  22. Avatar of Quinctia Quinctia

    I love how bright Banana Split is, and I wear tons of bright colors all the time, but I just could never see myself wearing yellow eyeliner. I don’t know why…I own more than one hot pink eyeliner, haha!