Saturday, April 5th, 2014

NARS Lipgloss – Triple X, Striptease, Greek Holiday, Giza, Sweet Dreams
NARS Lipgloss – Triple X, Striptease, Greek Holiday, Giza, Sweet Dreams

NARS Lipgloss ($26.00 for 0.18 fl. oz.) has been reformulated, and the new formulation will launch on April 15th with 30 permanent shades–seven are new and permanent, 23 are shades that were available in the previous formula. NARS says the new formula is supposed to have “longer, more comfortable wear,” while being hydrating and smoothing with a “silky texture.” In regards to pigmentation, it sounds like a variety: “for a full range of effects, from sheer shine to bold luster.” Several shades have descriptions that include “sheer,” so I’m really trying to glean from the descriptions the intended opacity, but I warn you now that some of the ones described as “sheer” aren’t really sheer, some that don’t have “sheer” as part of the description are sheer.

So far, my experience with formula (I’m about halfway through testing the range) is that pigmentation varies from sheer to opaque with plenty of shades falling somewhere in-between, while the texture is thin, somewhat tacky (some shades are more or less sticky, and they develop more tackiness as they wear on). It’s a very comfortable formula to wear, and it is moderately hydrating. The wear varies as wildly as the pigmentation does with some shades lasting as short as two hours and others lasting almost five hours. It’s not a long-wear formula, though, so keep that in mind. With some of the more sparkly shades, I could feel the grit of the sparkle, though it was not overly rough, just noticeable, due to the thinner consistency.

With respect to the previous formula, the new formula is definitely thinner, less tacky (if the previous formula was an eight on the stickiness scale, these vary between five and six), and none of the thirty shades were scented (and no plastic, crayon, etc. scent, which some of the older glosses had–my experience was some had this problem, others were unscented). I didn’t detect any taste while wearing them. I also found these to be more hydrating on the whole and generally more comfortable to wear. The pigmentation seems higher on the older glosses, but I don’t have all the original shades to compare. I will have side-by-side swatches of the few I have from the previous formula against the new shades soon.

Triple X is described as a “clear, super-shiny, ultra-wet gloss.” It’s a high-shine, clear gloss with a thin consistency and no shimmer. There’s not a lot to say about this, as it is colorless just as intended, so this would be a way to add the high-shine finish of a gloss to your favorite lip color without altering the actual color of it. On its own, the glossiness and feel of the gloss lasted for three hours on me.

Striptease is described as a “candlelight nude.” It’s a light, creamy peach with gold shimmer. It had semi-sheer color coverage, which applied somewhat evenly but had room for improvement. The thinner consistency kept it from settling too noticeably into lip lines. It lasted three hours on me. Divergent Supreme Ritual (LE) is lighter. NARS Bimini (P, $26.00) is more shimmery, less warm-toned. YSL Nude Carat (No. 20) (P, $32.00) is cooler-toned. MAC Summer Sweetheart (LE, $15.00) is less shimmery, pinker. MAC Double Happiness (LE, $20.00) is warmer. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Greek Holiday is described as a “sparkling pink sand.” It’s a light-medium, golden peach with gold sparkle. It had sheer color payoff and introduced warmth, slightly darkened my natural lip color, but primarily added shine and sparkle. It wore well for three hours. MAC Revved Up (LE, $20.00) is less shimmery, less glossy. Urban Decay Freestyle (P, $20.00) has finer shimmer, slightly darker. Revlon Peach (P, $7.49) is similar. MAC Sublime Shine (LE, $20.00) is warmer. MAC Satin Slip (LE, $20.00) is a touch lighter. MAC Imperial Light (LE, $20.00) is warmer. Hourglass Verse (P, $28.00) is less warm-toned. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Giza is described as a “sheer nectar.” It’s a medium, slightly muted, peachy-orange with a creamy, glossy finish. It had semi-sheer color payoff, which meant that the natural lip color influenced the outcome of the gloss–on me, that meant that some of the orange was lost and the gloss looked more like a pinky-peach. It wore well for four hours. MAC Ray of Sunshine (P, $22.00) is darker, warmer. MAC Lovingly Yours (P, $22.00) is lighter, pinker. MAC Cheerful (P, $22.00) is darker, warmer. MAC Be Nice (P, $22.00) is pinker, less warm-toned. Bobbi Brown Nectar (LE, $24.00) is much lighter, cooler-toned. Urban Decay Rule34 (P, $20.00) is sheerer. MAC Persistent Peach (P, $19.50) is lighter, more opaque. MAC Everlasting Nude (LE, $19.50) is darker. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Sweet Dreams is described as a “pink grapefruit with sugary shimmer.” It’s a muted, pinky-beige base with champagne shimmer and fine sparkle. This shade is very “lip-colored,” so it doesn’t really add a lot of visible color since it blends in with the natural lip coloro. What is visible is mostly sparkle/shimmer, but I would still describe this as sheer. It lasted for two and a half hours. MAC Revved Up (LE, $20.00) MAC Nectarsweet (LE, $20.00) bareMinerals Dazzler (LE, $18.00) is less shimmery. Chanel French Toffee (83) (LE, $27.00) is slightly warmer. MAC Soft Serenade (LE, $15.00) is warmer. Hourglass Verse (P, $28.00) is warmer. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

P
product

Triple X

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Striptease

B-

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Greek Holiday

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

7.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

NARS Triple X Lipgloss
NARS Triple X Lipgloss

NARS Triple X Lipgloss
NARS Triple X Lipgloss

NARS Triple X Lipgloss
NARS Triple X Lipgloss

NARS Triple X Lipgloss
NARS Triple X Lipgloss

NARS Triple X Lipgloss
NARS Triple X Lipgloss

NARS Triple X Lipgloss
NARS Triple X Lipgloss

NARS Striptease Lipgloss
NARS Striptease Lipgloss

NARS Striptease Lipgloss
NARS Striptease Lipgloss

NARS Striptease Lipgloss
NARS Striptease Lipgloss

NARS Striptease Lipgloss
NARS Striptease Lipgloss

NARS Striptease Lipgloss
NARS Striptease Lipgloss

NARS Striptease Lipgloss
NARS Striptease Lipgloss

NARS Greek Holiday Lipgloss
NARS Greek Holiday Lipgloss

NARS Greek Holiday Lipgloss
NARS Greek Holiday Lipgloss

NARS Greek Holiday Lipgloss
NARS Greek Holiday Lipgloss

NARS Greek Holiday Lipgloss
NARS Greek Holiday Lipgloss

NARS Greek Holiday Lipgloss
NARS Greek Holiday Lipgloss

NARS Greek Holiday Lipgloss
NARS Greek Holiday Lipgloss

NARS Giza Lipgloss
NARS Giza Lipgloss

NARS Giza Lipgloss
NARS Giza Lipgloss

NARS Giza Lipgloss
NARS Giza Lipgloss

NARS Giza Lipgloss
NARS Giza Lipgloss

NARS Giza Lipgloss
NARS Giza Lipgloss

NARS Giza Lipgloss
NARS Giza Lipgloss

NARS Sweet Dreams Lipgloss
NARS Sweet Dreams Lipgloss

NARS Sweet Dreams Lipgloss
NARS Sweet Dreams Lipgloss

NARS Sweet Dreams Lipgloss
NARS Sweet Dreams Lipgloss

NARS Sweet Dreams Lipgloss
NARS Sweet Dreams Lipgloss

NARS Sweet Dreams Lipgloss
NARS Sweet Dreams Lipgloss

NARS Sweet Dreams Lipgloss
NARS Sweet Dreams Lipgloss

The Makeup Look

On face: Guerlain Parure de Lumiere Foundation, Guerlain Les Voilettes Loose Powder, NARS Hot Sand Illuminator. On eyes: NARS Baalbek Eye Paint.

The Dupe List: Striptease

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Greek Holiday

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Giza

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

50 thoughts on “NARS Triple X, Striptease, Greek Fantasy, Giza, Sweet Dreams Lipglosses Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amanda Amanda

    Looks like you have photos of triple x where striptease is supposed to be, unless striptease is extremely sheer!

  2. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Carrie Carrie

    I was really hoping the new formula meant that they wouldn’t be so darn sticky any more but now that I know it’s still a sticky formula I’ll pass.

    • There’s definitely a noticeable tackiness to most of the shades! A couple of the cream ones seem to be a little less tacky than some, but none are what I’d call non-sticky!

  3. I do wish they would have added a light fragrance. But as long as they don’t smell like plastic and aren’t as sticky I’m all for it!
    fancie Recently Posted: Lancome Violette Coquette Rouge In Love Lipstick Review

  4. Giza looks like a great, neutral gloss to have on hand.

  5. I love Sweet Dreams!

  6. Hm, I think I’ll pass on all of them. None of the shades interest me.
    Rikki Recently Posted: spring time spending ban.

  7. Giza is so pretty on you! Must say that they are a little disappointing overall. Oh well.

  8. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Clare Clare

    This set is too sheer for me, especially at this price! Greek Holiday is so disappointing, since I was hoping to find a gloss like Revlon Sunset Peach but with more color. I’ll stick to Revlon’s Colorburst line for now, since they’re non-sticky and way less expensive. Still keeping my fingers crossed for some of the darker/brighter Nars glosses!

  9. I want all of these lip glosses.

  10. jdm

    What did they do to my beloved Striptease?!?!

    I’m so upset, that was one of my HG nude lipglosses!

    T____T

  11. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Lily Kelley Lily

    Giza looks like a color I might want to try. Love those peachy-orange neutral tones.

  12. Its a bitt too bad that the old formula was more opaque. Im very finnicky and particular with my lip glosses and i’ve always been interested in the nars glosses. Guess ill have to stock up before they reformulatw
    Elana Recently Posted: Spring Trends- Dewy Glow

  13. Let

    I kinda like how Giza looks. For the price (and also per fl. oz.) though, I’d rather get one of the MAC Mineralize Glass dupes…

  14. So, these don’t smell like Grandma’s lipsticks?! YAAAAY! I’ve wanted to try Nars lipglosses for so long, but that smell…it gives me migraines. I wonder if the permanent line is getting a change.

  15. Greek Holiday and Sweet Dreams are pretty for the sparkle in them (I’m a total sucker for sparkles, as you know!), but I’m a bit sad that Giza didn’t float my boat – the Giza Plateau is a wonderful place, with a very distinct colour to the sand, and I would have loved is if the gloss had reflected that! :-P
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Raiding the Dream Hoard: Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Whimsical and Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in Shameless

  16. Too sheer for me but shades are wow! :)

  17. Ylona

    The last 2 look pretty on you !

    But i’m going to pass the Nars, cause this month my heart goes to Dior <3. I wasnt that into Dior's products that much before, but this SS Dior just released such amazing products, and it just eclipsed anything else for me !
    It's sad for my wallet ! But i'm going to splurge on 2 Fluid sticks : Magique and Frisson, and 2 new gel nail polishes : Wonderland and Tra-la-la, (and i'm feeling i "NEED" more, Monalisette, Rieuse Fluid sticks, Bonheur, Front Row, Incognito Gel nail polishes, etc…). I'm going to take the Dior DreamSkin also. Some people dont like the concept of adding make up to skin care, but when i tried it, it make me feel i dont need foundation anymore! I love it ! It's just going to be perfect for everyday and especially the summer days when i want as less things on my skin as possible.
    Cant wait to see your reviews about them !

    Xoxo

  18. Not liking any from this batch though Giza looks nice on you!
    Ankita Recently Posted: Tokyo Photo Diary (Vol.1) : Hibiya Park

  19. I think Giza looks best but all in all too streaky and sheer!
    Erin Recently Posted: New Spring Plus Size Fashion

  20. Giza is a lovely shade but not if it will show up on me.. :)

  21. Tam

    Your facial makeup is just gorgeous! I would love to achieve this look for everyday or for date night! I like it because it’s simple, clean and so attractive. Because I have an affinity for lipstick, this look is the perfect showcase for lips. Do you have a tutorial for this? Regardless, I will be experimenting regularly until I achieve this look.

    • Hey Tam!

      No tutorial, but I mix a little of the illuminator with the liquid foundation, then apply with a brush (I alternate between Tom Ford’s Foundation Brush and Real Technique’s, the latter is way cheaper). Set with a more mattifying, but translucent powder, and you’re good to go.

      • Emily

        What foundation do you have on here? It looks so freaking flawless

        • here you go!

          THE MAKEUP LOOK
          On face: Guerlain Parure de Lumiere Foundation, Guerlain Les Voilettes Loose Powder, NARS Hot Sand Illuminator. On eyes: NARS Baalbek Eye Paint.