Wednesday, July 24th, 2013

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette ($41.00 for 0.42 oz.) consists of three shades that can be used individually or swirled together. The texture is soft and very finely-milled–almost to the point where it can turn powdery. I recommend using your softest brush, as any brush with stiffer bristles will turn the surface quite powdery. This is especially key if you only want to use the shades individually. The beige-ish shade was the only one that had slightly sheer color payoff, while the other two shades (and then all three swirled together) had good color coverage. One shade in this palette is supposed to be a sheerer, highlighting shade, so that would account for the sheerness in the lighter beige shade here. I’ve been wearing them swirled together for six hours now, and the color is still going strong with no signs of fading. (I will update this post when I’ve wrapped up for the night!) Though there was powderiness in the pan/texture, it didn’t show up on the cheeks; the blushes were easy to blend and sat quite well on the skin without emphasizing pores.

The formula is supposed to be new, and I felt that it was after touching and playing with it. The texture is definitely denser, softer–almost creamier in a way–than NARS traditional powder blushes are. They also seemed more blendable (generally).

Realm of the Senses (Together) is a warm, pink-coral with golden shimmer and subtle golden sparkle. NARS Orgasm is lighter. MAC Simmer is slightly pinker. NARS Deep Throat is similar. NARS Amour is similar in color but is matte. See comparison swatches.

Realm of the Senses #1 is a warm-toned pink with subtle golden shimmer. NARS Orgasm is more shimmery, lighter. MAC Simmer is darker. theBalm Frat Boy is more matte. NARS Amour is darker, matte. MAC Flaming Chic is more muted, less shimmery. See comparison swatches.

Realm of the Senses #2 is a warm, reddish plum with a golden sheen. NARS Seduction is darker, more plum. NARS Lovejoy is browner, less plum. MAC Hidden Treasure is warmer, brighter. Illamasqua Allure is more matte. See comparison swatches.

Realm of the Senses #3 is a golden peach with warm, orange undertones and a frosted, champagne-gold sheen. This shade had the weakest color payoff with only semi-opaque coverage–it will be more like a highlighter for most skin tones. MAC Soft & Gentle is lighter, more champagne. MAC Bareness is darker, less shimmery. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Realm of the Senses

B+
The texture is soft and very finely-milled--almost to the point where it can turn powdery, but it doesn't look powdery applied on the skin.

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
palette

Realm of the Senses (Together)

A-

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Realm of the Senses #1

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses (Together) Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses (Together) Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses #1 Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses #1 Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses #2 Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses #2 Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses #3 Blush Palette

NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette
NARS Realm of the Senses #3 Blush Palette

The Dupe List: Realm of the Senses (Together)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Realm of the Senses #1

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Realm of the Senses #2

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Product & Review FAQ

What makeup are you wearing?

On lips: Marc Jacobs Beauty Studded Kiss Lipgloss.

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

30 thoughts on “NARS Realm of the Senses Blush Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Sold! Now, all I need to do is wait for its launch. :D I have most of the dupes mentioned, but this is too pretty to pass up. Looks gorgeous on you, Christine! :)

  2. Oooh I LOVE this. A lot more variation in the shades than I was expecting. Beautiful

  3. Avatar of Hong hong

    omg! it looks stunning on you! I told myself to stop buying make up but …. omg so temping!! ><

  4. Jessica

    I wonder if the name was inspired by the movie of the same name. They are very pretty.

  5. Banafshe Sharifian

    Christine will you be reviewing the other blush as well?

  6. Avatar of Terri Terri

    The blush looks wonderful on you Christine but that LIPGLOSS is gorgeous!!! I was afraid this new line would be something else to add to my collection and based on this photo alone, it seems likely.
    You wear color so well!!!

  7. this looks REALLY pretty!! MUST.GET.ONE!!

  8. Avatar of Adi Adi

    The colors are stunning and I love NARS’ pigmentation, but I think the shimmer/sparkle is a dealbreaker, unfortunately! :(

  9. Marina

    I really wish NARS would stop with this Orgasm looking colors. I am so sick and tired of them pushing Orgasm in every palette. Dear NARS, we are positive everyone has Orgasm by now and if they don’t have it they don’t want it. I am really starting to get annoyed…

    • Avatar of Amy xamyx

      You really have to keep a few things in mind; first, Orgasm is NARS’ “iconic” shade-it’s a shade people generally associate with the brand. Second, it’s one that many can wear in some form or function. Third, it’s a “best-seller”, which means there are those who continue to buy it, so why not stick with what sells? Finally, there are those who don’t have a massive stash of blush (or makeup, in general), and they make up a good portion of the market. If you look at NARS’ collections, and marketing strategies, you’ll see they do things quite a bit different than most mainstream brands, in that they actually rely on the product itself, and not constant LE shades by rotating new ones into the permanent lineup, while slowly phasing out older ones (imagine that; you can actually procure the products you want!). In short, NARS doesn’t have to rely on gimmicks to sell a product; the products sell themselves.

      As for those who want it already having it, believe it or not, there may be reasons they don’t. NARS is a brand I discovered well over 5 years ago, yet I bought Orgasm a couple of months ago (and I have a massive NARS stash, BTW). For me, blush is not a product I spend too much time or money on; I have a handful of shades in a range I like for myself, and I tend to stick with those. However, I wanted to try Laguna, so I picked up a mini duo, and was happy to have had that option, but if I were more into blush, I would have invested in the larger palettes. I’m not a huge fan of the shade, either, but it’s a decent one to have on-hand.

      NARS has a vast array of shades, and for those who don’t care for Orgasm still have plenty to choose from. They also don’t do “trendy”, and tend to stick with shades that allow the skin to show through in a more natural, yet flattering manner, by using tones found in actual skin, whereas other brands go with what’s “fashionable” and is designed to be more obvious (neither way is better than the other, but it’s nice to have the choice). So, “Dear NARS, keep up the good work, and continue what you’re doing. While some donvt appreciate your brand, obviously *many* of us do!”

      • Marina

        All I am saying is that Orgasm is in every single palette, almost every duo, and is pushed so much that it is a little annoying. I understand it is their number 1 selling product but what is also important is providing a variety for customers. This year alone they made another “Foreplay” palette featuring none other than the infamous Orgasm. It is a nice shade, but not the best. I wish they would get off the Orgasm crutch and realize they have much better colors in their line. Maybe feature colors like Taj Mahal or Amour every once in a while. That’s all I’m saying :-)

  10. Diana

    How come you didn’t compare them to the actual blushes they’re supposed to be? It’s pretty much orgasm, outlaw and luster. The other palette has deep throat, satellite of love and lovejoy. Also I’m not sure if this palette is intended to be swept together like you used it. Isn’t it a contour / define kinda palette? Use outlaw to define, orgasm on the apple and luster as more of a highlighter. Usually like your reviews but this doesn’t feel complete.

    • Hi Diana,

      My press release didn’t say that those were the shades, which is what I went off of :) Could you share where you heard that info so I can confirm? I’m sure readers to be thrilled to hear that their favorites are in these! I compared to the shades I felt were comparable, including to NARS’ blushes – I would disagree that these are comparable to Outlaw or Luster – and from what you’ve shared, this palette would be closer to Deep Throat, Satellite of Love, and Lovejoy, though over the other three. In this post, I compared the shade that you’re saying would be Orgasm or Deep Throat to both of those. I compared the shade that you’ve said is Lovejoy to Lovejoy. I didn’t compare the last shade to Satellite of Love or Luster, because it’s not similar. Satellite of Love (http://www.temptalia.com/nars-satellite-of-love-highlighting-blush-review-photos-swatches) is very sparkly and warmer/darker than the shade here, and Luster (http://www.temptalia.com/nars-luster-blush-review-photos-swatches) is much darker, more orange, more pigmented than the shade here.

      I applied and showed all three shades separately as well as swirled. I wore them swirled to test wear, because I only have two cheeks and so I tested both palettes (one on each cheek) as soon as they arrived (yesterday) so I could get reviews up ASAP! Otherwise, it would take me two days at least to test each palette (so four in total). I would love to help make this review more complete for you Diana, but I am not sure what I missed as I showed, reviewed, and compared each shade separately in addition to showing them applied as one, which seemed to be your issue (that I applied them together – which is just one of four ways shown in the post, not the only one). Could you let me know what you’d like to see specifically?

      Given that NARS is a brand about artistry, I don’t see why you couldn’t use them together – they’re not in individual wells, so surely it’s not totally insane to do so (and why not? You just get a fourth shade that you can use, if you desire!). :)

    • Hi Diana! I was super curious about how the blushes paired with the ones you mentioned, so I went and compared the descriptions listed for these palettes in the press release/from Sephora to the descriptions for each shade you mentioned in your original comment. Based on that, the descriptions definitely line up as follows:

      Soulshine: Orgasm (peachy pink with gold shimmer), Luster (sheer golden apricot), Outlaw (soft rose tone with golden shimmer)
      Realm of the Senses: Deep Throat (flirty sheer peach), Lovejoy (shimmering bronzed rose), and Satellite of Love (sparkling gold sand).
      Press release: Realm of the Senses (Flirty, sheer peach, shimmering bronzed rose, and sparkling gold sand.), Soulshine (Peachy pink with gold shimmer, sheer golden apricot, and soft rose tone with golden shimmer.) (See the release here: http://www.temptalia.com/nars-blush-palettes-exclusively-for-sephora-for-fall-2013)

      So hopefully that clarifies things for you as to why certain shades weren’t compared and maybe helps makes you feel differently about how complete the post is (or isn’t still). I’m also going to reach out to NARS to confirm. Thanks so much!

      • NARS has confirmed that these palettes do not feature existing shades, and specifically, the formula itself is a “new silky-textured formula blends to a smooth, even finish.” So that is the official word from NARS! :) Hope that helps!

        • Avatar of Amy xamyx

          I would like to add NARS eyeshadows are actually intended to be used alone, or mixed if one chooses (so if you buy a duo, you actually get a trio), and those are in separate pans, so it stands to reason these blushes are inteded to do the same. Also, the way the shades are laid out tells me one can use any variation of two shades, as well.

          • There’s really no reason not to mix or match your shades however one pleases, whether alone or layered (separate pans or not). It kind of takes the art out of makeup artistry to put hard and fast rules on a product. If I’m not testing something (rarely), I regularly will mix two shades together in a palette to get the right depth/tone!

            • Avatar of Amy xamyx

              I’m the same, particularly with face products (I’m a bit lazy with eye products, though, LOL), and it’s amazing what can be achieved. Although I don’t actually “mix” too often, I do quite a bit of layering, which is why it seems I’m on a neverending quest to find that one, perfect contour/highlight combo!

              I was really hoping to fall in love with this one, but it may run a bit too pink for what I’m looking for. When I saw the promo shots, I got really excited, but after seeing your swatches (which I trust completely, BTW), I’m a bit lukewarm. The shades are so perfectly coordinated, though. I’ll still take a look in-store, as my skintone may take it in a different direction.

            • They are all surprisingly warm and pink – pretty but very summery and I don’t know if they’re as applicable across skin tones. I would have loved one to be distinctly cool, the other to be warmer.

  11. Yellowlantern

    It’s pretty, but I think I’d just go for Deep Throat over this. I have never hit pan on a regularly sized blush so I really don’t need this much blush personally.

    • Avatar of Melissa Melissa C

      I actually did this today. Went into Sephora – swatched this – very pretty – but too glittery. I don’t think I would ever wear it. Swatched Deep Throat next too it – they look so similar. Got deep throat – saved $10 and will get more use out of it. However – this blush is still beautiful and for the right person is worth it.

  12. faerieevenstar

    That’s really beautiful swirled together, but I’m sure it looks like something I already have in my stash… I’ll have to check first! I’ve never bought anything from NARS though, I’m never convinced it’s really worth the money.

  13. It looks gorgeous, I love all the colors, together and individually.

  14. Avatar of Amy xamyx

    Part of me was hoping to love this, but another part is glad it’s not a “must-have”. It’s really pretty, but it’s not something I absolutely need right now. That said, if I find it available in a month or so, I may still consider it.

  15. I definitely like that this palette has a bit more variation than the other shade.

  16. Piar

    are the letters overspray?

  17. Avatar of Lauren Lauren

    I bought this the other day. Sephora had NARS MUAs doing an event and one of them pulled this for me; she did the expected blush, sculpt, highlight (with a little Abyssinia for extra lift), but then she also did my eyes with it! She put the champagne shade all over, the peachy-pink just over the ball, right in the center of the lid, then put the burnt bronzy rose/plum in the crease. It may have all gone a little too warm, but she used Koala Stylo liner, which is a dark gray, and the effect was CRAZY gorgeous. Turned my green eyes blue and people have commented every time I’ve worn it. I liked the effect of using the palette to contour/highlight/etc., but if I’m also doing my eyes with it then I just swirl the colors together and dust it on my cheeks. The eye trick made it a MUST-have.