Saturday, January 18th, 2014

NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette

NARS Eyeshadow ($79.00 for 15 x 0.03 oz. or 0.45 oz.) includes fifteen eyeshadows. NARS’ eyeshadows are supposed to be “highly pigmented, longwearing, and crease resistant” while the “color glides on smoothly, evenly, and blends effortlessly.” Some of the issues I had with this palette are issues that I have found to occur with several NARS eyeshadows I’ve tried in the past. There are some NARS eyeshadows I absolutely love, but there are a lot that leave me wanting more. In general, if you always use an eyeshadow primer, then this palette is workable, but if you don’t, some of the shades have trouble adhering to dry skin–if you have slightly oily lids, then that should help the powders stick better as well. The texture of the eyeshadows in the palette are all a little harder/firmer than corresponding singles/duos (I don’t have them all, but comparing to the ones I did have in their original single/duo form, it held true). Wear varied between seven and nine hours, depending on the shade. All of the eyeshadows are from existing singles or duos (and all of them are currently available, I believe, though a couple are considered Vintage, and one is limited edition), so if you only love one or two, you might consider buying them individually.

In regards to value, NARS eyeshadow singles are $24.00/0.07 oz. or $342.86/oz., while duos are $34.00/0.14 oz. or $242.86/oz. The palette is $175.56/oz., so you will get more product for less money when you purchase them together. I think if you love more than five or six shades, then the palette is probably the way to go. 0.03 oz. is plenty of eyeshadow to last you a good while, and if there are any you really use up all the time, most are available permanently. To clarify, the #1/#2 or I/II is to indicate left/right side of a duo.

This palette appears to be fully sold out online at this time, though it was supposed to be exclusively available through NARS’ e-commerce website beginning January 15th with February 1st as the launch date for department/specialty stores. Nordstrom did release it early (January 13th), but it went “unavailable” shortly after–whether it sold out or if they took it down until February 1st, I don’t know. So while sold out for now, there should be other retailers/stores that you can purchase from closer to February 1st, but if it’s really something on your wish list, you might trying calling your local store/counter and asking if they have it available for sale.

All About Eve #1 is described as a “flesh-toned neutral.” It’s a muted, yellowed beige with a soft, frosted finish and warm undertones. It had nice color payoff, though it’s close enough to my skin tone that it might not look that way, but I can assure you that it was opaque. It applied smoothly and evenly to the lid. Tarina Tarantino Delightful #4 (P) is similar. Chanel Quadrille #2 (LE) is lighter. Too Faced Cheers! (LE) is less beige. Maybelline Barely Brazen (P, $6.99) is warmer, darker. MAC Jest (P, $15.00) is similar. MAC Naked (P, $21.00) is slightly warmer. MAC Naked Lunch (P, $15.00) is warmer. See comparison swatches.

Madrague #2 is described as a “matte caramel.” It’s a medium brown with warm, yellowed undertones and a matte finish. The texture was somewhat stiff to work with, so the color payoff wasn’t fully opaque. Scraping off the top layer helped a little bit going forward. This shade showed signs of creasing after seven and a half hours. Makeup Geek Latte (P, $5.99) is darker, less yellow. Makeup Geek Frappe (P, $5.99) is slightly shimmery and less yellow-toned. Makeup Geek Creme Brulee (P, $5.99) is warmer, less brown. Chanel Charming #2 (LE) is darker. Too Faced Chocolate Milk (LE) is slightly darker. Bobbi Brown Frappe (LE, $29.00) is lighter. LORAC Taupe (P) is darker. MAC Brownluxe #2 (P) is shimmery. theBalm Allegro (P, $16.00) is slightly darker. Inglot #342 (P, $6.00) is darker. See comparison swatches.

Fez is described as a “velvety cocoa.” It’s a warm-toned, coppery-bronze with a frosted finish. This was the best eyeshadow in the palette; incredibly pigmented, very soft and buttery. It wore well for nine hours. Charlotte Tilbury Golden Quartz (P) is a cream product, darker. Clarins The Essentials #7 (LE) is slightly darker. Chanel Charming #3 (LE) is similar. MAC Her Cocoa #3 (LE, $15.00) is lighter. Urban Decay Ambush (LE, $18.00) is browner. MAC Divine Decadence (P, $15.00) is similar. Too Faced Gangsta (LE) is more golden. Milani Intermix (P, $6.99) is slightly browner. See comparison swatches.

Bali is described as a “neutral.” It’s a dark brown with cool undertones and a matte finish. This eyeshadow just wouldn’t adhere to bare skin well; on my arm, I could pack it on (tried it with fingertips, brushes, and sponge-tip applicators), but it would sheer away to nothing. When I later worked with it on the lid, it adhered better (my eyelid is less dry compared to my arm), but it was a little stiff when blending. Over NARS’ primer, it did just fine, though. The texture was really soft (can be a little powdery), and it is incredibly pigmented in the sense that a lot of product gets on the brush just lightly tapping it on the surface of the powder–it just doesn’t stick to bare skin well. Compared to the permanent single of this, it is less pigmented and doesn’t bind as well. It was hard to rate this one, because technically, pigmentation was fine except it didn’t stick, which is more of a general quality (maybe a texture) issue. Tarina Tarantino Delightful #5 (P) is not quite as matte. Too Faced Dark Chocolate (LE) is darker. bareMinerals Boardroom (LE) is darker. Kat Von D Wolf (P) is warmer. Urban Decay Secret Service (P, $18.00) is is similar. Urban Decay Faint (P, $18.00) is lighter, warmer. MAC Cross-Cultural (LE, $15.00) is warmer. MAC Charcoal Brown (P, $15.00) is similar. Inglot #363 (P, $6.00) is slightly plummy. Bobbi Brown Hot Stone (LE, $29.00) is cooler-toned. See comparison swatches.

Coconut Grove is described as a “deep brown infused with reflections.” It’s a deep brown with a matte finish. It might say “infused with reflections,” but I didn’t see any sparkle when applied! I had all the same issues with this as I did with Bali, though this one wasn’t as powdery and did adhere better–so same issues but not as severe. Laura Mercier Espresso (LE, $23.00) is redder in tone. Chanel Charming #4 (LE) is lighter. Too Faced Dark Chocolate (LE) is slightly lighter. Tom Ford Beauty She Wolf #1 (LE) has a redder tone. bareMinerals Boardroom (LE) is similar. theBalm Matt Ramirez (LE, $16.00) isn’t quite as dark, warmer. MAC Midnight Flurry (LE, $15.00) is cooler-toned. MAC Dance in the Dark (P, $15.00) is cooler-toned. MAC Showstopper (LE, $15.00) is similar. MAC Embark (P, $15.00) is similar. bareMinerals Foreshadow (P) is cooler-toned. Inglot #329 (P, $6.00) is slightly warmer. See comparison swatches.

Madrague #1 is described as a “matte cream.” It’s a pale, yellow-toned beige with a matte finish. It’s another shade that matches my skin tone, so it may not look like it’s as pigmented as it really is–but it was nicely pigmented, soft and blendable, and easy to use. bareMinerals Velvet Nude (LE, $14.00) is similar. Wet ‘n’ Wild Hard Being the It Girl #3 (LE, $2.29) is a touch lighter. Disney by Sephora Ali Ababwa (LE) isn’t as warm-toned. Urban Decay Foxy (P, $18.00) is slightly yellower in tone. See comparison swatches.

Nepal is described as a “soft sheer rose.” It’s a soft, peachy brown with a warm undertone and a frosted finish. It had fairly good color payoff, and the texture was soft and applied smoothly overall. Too Faced Marzipan (P) is similar. bareMinerals Ball Gown (LE) is lighter. LORAC Light Bronze (P) is warmer. See comparison swatches.

Ashes to Ashes is described as a “shimmery violet based brown.” It’s a medium brown with a frosted sheen and subtle warm undertones. The texture was stiffer, and the color didn’t go on as strongly as it looked in the pan–it also looked a lot more golden swatched than it does in the pan. MAC Crushed Clove (P, $15.00) is warmer. Too Faced Jingle All the Way Eyeshadow #4 (LE) is more golden. Sleek MakeUP Court in Cannes (LE, $9.99) is more golden. bareMinerals Schmooze (LE) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Brousse #2 is described as a “black violet.” It’s a muted, smoky purple with warm undertones and a satin finish. It was a drier, stiffer color to work with, and the pigmentation reflected that with semi-opaque color payoff. This one creased on me after eight hours of wear. Makeup Geek Drama Queen (P, $5.99) is slightly brighter. Illamasqua Queen of the Night (LE) is also similar. See comparison swatches.

Mekong is described as an “espresso infused with shimmer.” It’s a deepened brown with subtle warm undertones and gold sparkle and shimmer over a matte finish. It had good color payoff, and the texture was soft and fairly blendable. Despite its more matte finish, it adhered a lot better to bare skin than Bali or Coconut Grove! MAC Midnight Hour (LE, $15.00) is more matte. MAC Beluga (LE, $15.00) is darker. Chanel Mystere #1 (LE) is darker. Disney by Sephora Cinders (LE) is also darker. Dior Night Golds #3 (LE) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Bellissima #1 is described as a “shimmering beige with subtle glitter.” It’s a pale, peach-tinged beige with sparkle. It had fairly good color payoff, and the texture was soft and blendable–a smidgen powdery. There are so many similar beiges to this, though not as many that have the sparkles — see comparison swatches.

Lhasa is described as a “lavender grey.” It’s a purpled taupe with a frosted finish and cool undertones. It had fairly good color payoff, but the texture was stiffer than it is with the permanent single–and the color payoff isn’t as good. It is buildable, so I think you can get comparable color to the single, but Lhasa is a really lovely eyeshadow as a single and less stellar here. Guerlain Les Tendres #4 (LE) is less shimmery. Bobbi Brown Smokey Grey (LE, $21.00) is darker. Urban Decay Darkside (P, $18.00) is brighter. MAC Graphic Style (LE, $15.00) is cooler-toned. MAC Hypnotizing (LE, $15.00) is more frosted. See comparison swatches.

Bad Behaviour is described as a “deep pewter.” It’s a dark gray with a teal shimmer and frosted sheen. It had good color payoff, and the texture was mostly soft and smooth, but it was different than the single that was released over the holidays. The texture is completely different–firm versus incredibly soft and almost pliant–and the color of the palette shade leans very teal with a stronger sheen, whereas the single looks grayer. Makeup Geek Galaxy (P, $5.99) is grayer. Dior Golden Snow #5 (LE) is less frosted. MAC Nighttrain (LE, $15.00) is grayer, darker. See comparison swatches.

Dogon #2 is described as a “charcoal.” It’s a blackened navy with very fine navy shimmer over a matte base. It had so-so pigmentation, and the texture was a little stiff (definitely not as soft as Bali/Coconut Grove). bareMinerals Black Leather (LE, $14.00) is blacker. Anna Sui Diamond Blue (LE) is similar. Wet ‘n’ Wild I Don’t Do Camouflage #2 (LE, $2.29) is bluer. Inglot #389 (P, $6.00) is lighter, bluer. See comparison swatches.

Pandora #2 is described as a “matte black.” It’s a deep, dark matte black with neutral undertones. This had similar issues as the ones I experienced with Bali and Coconut Grove–it just doesn’t stick that well to bare skin, even though it is seemingly quite pigmented as plenty of product gets onto the brush, it just sheers away quickly. As it is a more basic color, there are a lot of similar shades — see comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

NARSissist Eye

B

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

All About Eve #1

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Madrague #2

B-

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

8/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette

NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette

NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette

NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette

NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette

NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette

NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette
NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette

NARS All About Eve #1 Eyeshadow
NARS All About Eve #1 Eyeshadow

NARS All About Eve #1 Eyeshadow
NARS All About Eve #1 Eyeshadow

NARS Madrague #2 Eyeshadow
NARS Madrague #2 Eyeshadow

NARS Madrague #2 Eyeshadow
NARS Madrague #2 Eyeshadow

NARS Fez Eyeshadow
NARS Fez Eyeshadow

NARS Fez Eyeshadow
NARS Fez Eyeshadow

NARS Bali Eyeshadow
NARS Bali Eyeshadow

NARS Bali Eyeshadow
NARS Bali Eyeshadow

NARS Coconut Grove Eyeshadow
NARS Coconut Grove Eyeshadow

NARS Coconut Grove Eyeshadow
NARS Coconut Grove Eyeshadow

NARS Madrague #1 Eyeshadow
NARS Madrague #1 Eyeshadow

NARS Madrague #1 Eyeshadow
NARS Madrague #1 Eyeshadow

NARS Nepal Eyeshadow
NARS Nepal Eyeshadow

NARS Nepal Eyeshadow
NARS Nepal Eyeshadow

NARS Ashes to Ashes Eyeshadow
NARS Ashes to Ashes Eyeshadow

NARS Ashes to Ashes Eyeshadow
NARS Ashes to Ashes Eyeshadow

NARS Brousse #2 Eyeshadow
NARS Brousse #2 Eyeshadow

NARS Brousse #2 Eyeshadow
NARS Brousse #2 Eyeshadow

NARS Mekong Eyeshadow
NARS Mekong Eyeshadow

NARS Mekong Eyeshadow
NARS Mekong Eyeshadow

NARS Bellissima #1 Eyeshadow
NARS Bellissima #1 Eyeshadow

NARS Bellissima #1 Eyeshadow
NARS Bellissima #1 Eyeshadow

NARS Lhasa Eyeshadow
NARS Lhasa Eyeshadow

NARS Lhasa Eyeshadow
NARS Lhasa Eyeshadow

NARS Bad Behaviour Eyeshadow
NARS Bad Behaviour Eyeshadow

NARS Bad Behaviour Eyeshadow
NARS Bad Behaviour Eyeshadow

NARS Dogon #2 Eyeshadow
NARS Dogon #2 Eyeshadow

NARS Dogon #2 Eyeshadow
NARS Dogon #2 Eyeshadow

NARS Pandora #2 Eyeshadow
NARS Pandora #2 Eyeshadow

NARS Pandora #2 Eyeshadow
NARS Pandora #2 Eyeshadow

NARS Eyeshadow
NARS Eyeshadow: Nepal (inner lid), Lhasa (middle of lid), Brousse #2 (outer lid/crease),
Madrague #1 (brow bone)

NARS Eyeshadow
NARS Eyeshadow: Nepal (inner lid), Lhasa (middle of lid), Brousse #2 (outer lid/crease),
Madrague #1 (brow bone)

NARS Eyeshadow
NARS Eyeshadow: Madrague #2 (inner lid), Ashes to Ashes (middle of lid), Bali (outer lid),
Coconut Grove (crease), Madrague #1 (brow bone)

NARS Eyeshadow
NARS Eyeshadow: Madrague #2 (inner lid), Ashes to Ashes (middle of lid), Bali (outer lid),
Coconut Grove (crease), Madrague #1 (brow bone)

NARS Eyeshadow
NARS Eyeshadow: Marague #2 (inner lid), Bali (middle of lid), Coconut Grove (outer lid/crease),
Madrague #1 (brow bone)

NARS Eyeshadow
NARS Eyeshadow: Marague #2 (inner lid), Bali (middle of lid), Coconut Grove (outer lid/crease),
Madrague #1 (brow bone)

The Dupe List: All About Eve #1

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Madrague #2

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Fez

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

109 thoughts on “NARS NARSissist Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. I bought this palette on the 14th (?) when it went up on the website early! I loveeee it!

  2. I was looking forward to this, but I think I’m over the neutral palettes for a while. Between the Nakeds, this, the new Mac palettes, the Chocolate Bar palette and more that I’m probably forgetting, I think I’m ready for some colours already!

    Thanks for the swatches!

  3. I have a number of the shades from this palette separately and I’d say that most of them look more pigmented and smoother than the swatches from the palette. There are several more shades in this palette that have been on my wish list for a while, but I think I’ll stick to buying the regular versions.
    Kate Recently Posted: well lit :: of makeup and maquiladoras

    • Lhasa and Bad Behaviour were the two that for sure felt different and applied differently than their singles; Bali and Coconut Grove felt similar in texture but ultimately weren’t quite the same (less adhesive/didn’t bind as well).

  4. NGL

    Seeing RAVE reviews from other bloggers however looking at their swatches you can tell the quality is not as great as the praise being given. I always consult your website before purchasing an expensive item. Thank you for your honesty.

  5. i’m disappointed for a few reasons. first i already own a few of the shades, second the shades are not the same quality as the singles (don’t understand why?) and there aren’t any real new shades in this palette. definite pass for me which makes me sad cause i love nars!!!

    • I don’t know if it’s the way they’re pressed into smaller pans perhaps? For some reason, I keep thinking that maybe they’re pressed with too much pressure, lol!

    • Cheryl, I wondered the same – why is it that the quality can’t be the same as with the singles. I appreciate Christine’s attempt to answer but, honestly, you would think these companies would be able to have some “consistency in the consistency and performance of their products no matter what size packaging. I don’t know that I buy the idea that there’s a significant difference in pressing into smaller vs larger pans. If that were the case, all the shadows would be of worse quality and they’re not all worse than the fuller sizes.

      • Oh, I agree with you, Mariella! All I could think was maybe with so many, they go through a bulk process of pressing all with the same pressure and then when they’re run individually, the manufacturing process is more tailored? Because that’s one thing I’ve noticed in general when a shadow performs better on its own vs. in a palette is that the palette version is usually firmer/stiffer/drier. But you’re absolutely right that it doesn’t happen to all shades! There are even some occasions where the palette version out-performs the original!

        Also, I don’t even know if they adjust pressure by shade… I would imagine it’s more often by formula? but I don’t know either way (not even the slightest idea).

        • I’m taking a stab at guessing, it could be a batch problem, it could be that the formula of a batch of colours goes wrong, the proportions, etc, and that causes these issues. Perhaps the palettes go through a different manufacturer or manufacturing process altogether, causing the inconsistency.
          impekkable Recently Posted: Aroma Magic Face washes for all skin types

        • Emily

          I have had the same thought about too much pressure. I have the And God Created Woman palette and all of the colors, with the exception of the shimmers, were much more stiff at first than they would have been in a single/duo. Coconut Grove was the worst. The texture has gotten much better the more I’ve used them and loosened things up.

        • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Kat Kat

          I always thought it was because the eyeshadow in a palette is cheaper per ounce.

  6. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Azreen Azzy

    SO disappointed by this rating – prematurely ordered it!! kicking myself for not waiting for your review… ugh.

  7. Even though I rarely wear anything else other than neutrals I feel this palette doesn’t have anything extra I don’t already own. It’s a nice palette and I would consider it if I didn’t have already so many other neutral palettes.

  8. Fez is my favorite! The others are a bit bland to me. Great review Christine!
    Kiara Recently Posted: Spring 2014 Makeup Trends

  9. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Alla Alla

    So glad I checked your review before buying this! I was going to buy it because, well, it’s NARS and I love their eyeshadows. However, between the three nakeds, the Lorac pro, and the chocolate bar palette, this would only have been worth it for me if the shadows were of superior quality. So thank you for saving me money and disappointment! :)

  10. The colours are pretty but looking at the swatches and the price tag, I’m gonna have to pass.
    Rikki Recently Posted: REVIEW: Urban Decay NAKED3

  11. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Kristina Kristina

    It bugs me that every blogger under the sun received a press sample and NARS sold out within a day. If they are going to market the palette to such an extent then at least provide enough stock for its consumer base.

    • It will also be released at additional retailers both in-stores and online between now and February 1st. It took over two days to sell out – which is longer than a lot of coveted MAC products!

  12. I’m so glad with this blogpost! At first sight the palette looked really good (just like the new 15x warm toned Mac palette), but after seeing the swatches I’d rather go for the Too Faced chocolate palette.

  13. I wish this would have came out sooner! I have tons of neutral shadows and I honestly don’t need anymore. This is a really pretty palette though!
    fancie Recently Posted: Milani Sangria Color Statement Lipstick Review

  14. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Veronica Veronica

    Ah, shame about the quality of some of the matte shades. If the lighter shades didn’t pull so warm, I’d consider it anyway, as it contains several I like, but as it is, I think I’d just be duping different shades in my collection.

  15. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Kristina Kris

    I have been eyeing a few Nars shades for a while (Lhasa, Coconut Grove, Mekong) but I am not a fan of singles, so when I saw this I thought it was going to be the Second Coming. Considering your review, I wouldn’t buy it, really, except I always use NARS eye primer and I have really oily lids. I’m torn, because I want to cave even knowing the quality may not be 100% there!

    • Coconut Grove performs a LOT better over primer, and I did specifically try it with NARS’ primer. It adheres a lot better, so it’s less powdery and doesn’t sheer out instantly. Lhasa is buildable to the single version without a primer, so primer would help it some, but it can “get there” so-to-speak even without–just takes more product.

      Can you return if you hate it? If you can, then you might try it :)

      • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Kristina Kris

        Can’t return used makeup here in the UK. I caved and ordered it online, but now I’m second-guessing myself. Like you mentioned, Christine, some shades will just take more work. It’s just so portable and the colours are just right: a nice mix of warm and cool tones! the Naked palettes are a bit one-toned in comparison.

        Thank you so much for your review, and I can now make sure I take the proper precautions when I try and use this!

        • No problem, Kris! I know some use primer religiously and others rarely do. It never occurred to me to NOT use primer until I started reading all the descriptions and realized the majority tout their eyeshadows as 100% amazing on their own. Even more surprising, though, was that a lot of them really do last 7-9 hours quite intact (on me) without a primer. So as long as you use a primer and know what you’re in for, hopefully you’ll be happier than your (newly adjusted) expectations have you at.

          • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

            @Kris I’ve never tried a NARS palette, but with some of the mattes (singles & duos), they start off a bit stiff, and afterba while, they soften a bit. Hopefully, that’ll be the case here!

            • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Kristina Kris

              @xamyx: This makes a case for continued use, even with a difficult start! I am now excited again for this palette: I know to use primer and to keep at it until the eyeshadows soften, hopefully.

  16. Marcella

    What neutral palette would you recommend? I was considering lorac pro, naked 2 and narsissist, but it seems like the quality wasn’t as good as I expected. I already own stila in the light. Thanks!

  17. Nazih

    Thank you so much for your honest review, Christine! I’m so glad I waited for you review before purchasing.

  18. Christine, maybe I’m rationalizing (because i love Nars and I really want this palette to be good), but I always use a primer, my lids are not dry (more like normal) and Nars shadows usually perform extremely well on me, do you think Dogon, Brousse and Coconut Grove (shades I really want) might behave well on me?

    It’s just that this palette would solve a lot of my problems, like drooling over Nars eyeshadows on Amazon, searching for a workable cool leaning palette for me, paying substantially more for the whole collection, storage space. Am I wishful thinking?

    • As long as you always use a primer, you should be OK, and you shouldn’t run into pigmentation issues with a shade like Coconut Grove. Dogon will need a little patience, and Brousse should look a little more amplified with a primer.

      Can you return it if you don’t love it? If you love NARS and normally have good luck with them (I wouldn’t say I have great luck with NARS’ eyeshadows – some I love but they’re more hit/miss for me), it might still be worth trying for you :)

  19. I just clicked on your website by ‘accident.’ You do the best reviews! I was looking for more ‘neutral’ palette and I think this is it!
    Thank you!

  20. Gina

    I was thinking to get this one or MAC cool neutral one, was torn between those two. However, after read your review, I probably will pass both. I actually don’t have any NARs or MAC powder eyeshadow, planed to get the palette to test water, now I am thinking maybe I should start with the single ones.

  21. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Meg Meg

    Fingers crossed that I’m happy with this when I get it lol! In case anyone is looking for it, the Lord & Taylor website still has it in stock! I thought I was out of luck, because it looked like it was sold out on the NARS site and Nordstrom. I googled to find out every store that sells NARS in hopes of finding it somewhere else, and boom – Lord & Taylor. I didn’t even know they carried makeup as I’ve never been to an actual Lord & Taylor store hahaha the more you know!
    Meg Recently Posted: Kat Von D Esperanza Palette

  22. I need this palette, it’s so pretty!

  23. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of turquoise turquoise

    i dont know Christine, but your lattest look seems not well blended like usual.. maybe it’s because the shades quality or what?

    • I mentioned some of the shades were difficult to blend in the review above! These were the ones I showed in looks specifically to show how they ended up looking due to dryness/stiffness and poor blendability. Coconut Grove was difficult to blend in particular, which is why I tried using it so many times to see if it was just a fluke!

  24. There are some lovely shades here, but the pigmentation seems a bit disappointing. Maybe it’s my neutral palette fatigue ;-) Bring on the summer colour explosion! ( hopefully!)
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Quiz! Consider Your Reputation…Which Dungeon-Dweller are You?

  25. Last week I went to Nordstroms in search of the new Nars purple /gold Kauai eyeshadow duo that got a A+ rating. They didn’t have that one yet but showed me this palette and I wasn’t impressed. Still you did some nice looks with it.

  26. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

    I have all the singles & duos in this palette, and have no issues with any of them. If NARS can’t get thesenparticular shadows to work in this palette, I’m very hesitant to even look at future palettes. I’m particularly shocked by Madrague; as a duo, it is quite smooth & buttery, and my one of my favorite duos, ever. I use primer more often than not, but with Madrgue, it’s my go-to on days I don’t have the time to bother.

    • The left side of Madrague in this was easy to work with, but the caramel-y side was very different!

      • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

        I’ve experienced some dryness with some of the darker mattes, ie Bali, Bemgali, Coconut Grove, but after a few uses they tend to perform smoothly. For some reason, though, the lighter colors seem to have a different texture from the start.

  27. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Bee Bee

    I’m so tempted by this but I’ve already got enough neutral eyeshadows to last me several lifetimes.
    Bee Recently Posted: Skinfood Egg White Pore Mask review

  28. Annika

    The lighter colours are lovely but the darke matte shadows look extremely dry

  29. Bit disappointing that this didn’t rate higher :( I have a lot of neutral eyeshadows already, so I’m hoping Nars will bring out a colourful palette eventually (fingers crossed)! I live in Australia and prices are always dramatically higher for Nars (recently a lot of the other brands reduced their prices but Nars is one of the three or four that haven’t), so this palette will be at least $150 here. So yeah, will definitely be skipping!

  30. This is a nice palette and I think it’s one of those things that would make a really nice gift. But for me, since I already own loads of eye shadows, it doesn’t make me feel like I need to rush out and buy it.

  31. Bella

    Do you think that if I have the And God Created the Woman Palette, the Ride Up to the Moon Palette, the Fairy Kiss palette and sundry duos and singles I still need this? No, wait, don’t answer that….

  32. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Cat Cat

    I was thinking this looked awesome from the pictures, but after your review I’m not quite sure I need to spend the money on it.

  33. I was really tempted to try this because a) I haven’t tried anything from NARS before and b) it’s WEIRDLY cheap on the EU site (like, €49). Butttt between poorly performing shades (including the one I’ve been eyeing as a single for ages (Lhasa)) and the fact that I have a million neutral palettes as it is… I’m not sure it’s worth it. Sigh. I might have to bite the bullet and just buy Lhasa as a single.
    Nicole Isabella Recently Posted: Rosewood Sentimental Woodwick Candle by Engels Kerzen

  34. Great detail review. I already purchased the nars palette. I luv the few singles i have which are mekong,persia,and galapagos and i love them so purchasing the palette i was thinking it was a great deal. I hope i like it. I always wear primers or bases so i should be ok.first nars palette

  35. I think this will be a big hit. I noticed they have a color from the Madrague duo – my review of that duo remains one of my most viewed posts, even though it’s from the first month or so I started my blog. People really love NARS and neutral shadows, I think it the bottom line. This is the first palette in a while I’ve been really, really tempted by. It does look very similar to the color scheme of the original Naked.

  36. Wow, thank you for an incredibly thorough review! I am sure I would not use all of these colors so the duo’s may be best for me!

  37. I love this, I have been looking everywhere for a versatile eye shadow palette and this looks like the one for me. Although the price is a bit of a turn off as it is £55 in the UK and only available on the NARS website. I am hoping someone will gift it to me for my birthday.

  38. Leah

    I purchased this from the NARS website the day it came out (it’s due to arrive on Wednesday) and now, seeing these swatches, I really feel like I’m going to be disappointed. I see it stated on their website that they don’t allow returns on palettes. This is ridiculous for something that’s so expensive. I really, really hope that I end up liking it because that’s going to be such a letdown if I can’t even get my money back.

  39. Nicole

    My heart skipped a beat when i first saw images of this palette floating around. I’ve been lusting after nars shadows for such a long time now. I absolutely love palette forms of shadows so this was supposed to be perfect! I did get the god created women palette and returned it. So diappointing that I swore off nars shadows if that’s what they were like. Could not see the hype. And like you’ve said, maybe it’s the palette form that jeopardizes their quality. I want this so bad!!! Why can’t the quality be like the nars singles that everyone raves about!? I’m turned off by singles and really, I have so many palettes, but this was supposed to be perfect since it was nars and all….So bummed! Yet, so grateful for your honest reviews!

    • Hey Nicole!

      My guess is if you had trouble with that one… probably won’t love this one. I’ve definitely heard readers rave about that palette, but I have also had readers like you who were disappointed enough to return it!

  40. essie

    Hi Christine!
    I am kind of on a makeup diet, I am trying to keep it simpler because I am travelling a lot and I dont need that much of makeup other than the ones I am using anyways.
    I keep saying my mac palettes are the best, because I can take any number of eyeshadows with me any time and I can replace them when they are finished. There is this neutral pallette rave going on with every brand. I have been resisting for long.
    I have my eye on naked basics or this one, because I find matte/satin eyeshadows more sophisticated. What do you think should I skip Narssistic? Or should I stick to my makeup diet:)

    P.S. I am so impressed by how you manage to reply all the comments written here, unlike other bloggers who don’t even have 1/100th of your number of followers! You are lovely!

    • LOL! Makeup diet! I don’t know if I’ve heard it put quite that way before ;)

      I don’t personally love this palette, and I probably wouldn’t (again, personally!) settle for the quality here for the price tag, but saying that, if you really use primer every day and have good experiences with NARS’ eyeshadows, you might really like it still.

      Have you thought about just picking up 4-6 neutrals from MAC instead? You already love your MAC palettes, and this way, you can switch and add as you please – so you’ll get just what you need/want.

      I try! Thank you for noticing :)

  41. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Cristina de la Rosa Cristina

    After reading so many bad reviews I was on the fence about purchasing this palette, but as it is a NARS limited edition palette, I thought I should go for it and in the case I didn’t like it I always could do a blog sale (as I live in Spain the return policy is not the same as in the US, you cannot return a product once used).
    I bought it at the NARS EU website a week ago, just as they put it for sale, I was so happy I finally could grab one of them, as appeared as out of stock after just an hour. By midday they had it again for sale, and it went again out of stock, this situation repeated all the weekend.

    Since then my money is retained in my bank account, but no news from NARS since the order confirmation mail. I belong to a large FB group and I know of some girls who ordered after me that has received their palettes, and many others are in the same situation as me. NARS is not answering our mails, so one of us phoned NARS in Paris, and they offered her (only her) a free eyeshadow duo and two free samples as a compensation. I feel outraged, because people who ordered after me have their palette, and they don’t even bother to answer my mails. Customer care of NARS Europe sucks.

    • Really sorry to hear you’ve been having so much trouble with getting your palette, Cristina! :( You might try NARS on their Facebook!

      • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Cristina de la Rosa Cristina

        Thanks for your advice!! We’ve already been trying to get this situation solved by all means, so we have posted some messages regarding this issue on their FB, but they only gave us an email address there, as if we’ve not written them previously!! Long story short: We have no palettes, no money and no answer from NARS. :S

  42. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Hawley Holly

    It is up on Sephora’s website NOW!

  43. i wanted to love this as i can never get enough neutral pallets. Sadly i felt like the texture was a bit dry and some of the shadows went on blotchy and they skipped. Also the price point was a bit high in comparison of the current eyeshadow pallets. I would do Urbandecays naked or Toofaced chocolate bar over this.

  44. Nars is my favourite makeup brand’s packaging. It’s too bad this eyeshadow palatte isn’t living up to their typical standards. It would be the perfect perfect palatte in colour variation, packaging, and finishes, otherwise, for me.

  45. Astrild

    Love this palette but I don’t really need another neutral one. Too many neutrals and I only have two eyes!!!

  46. Firstly I have to agree about the quality of the texture some reviewers are saying about this palette. I own a few shades in the signets (ashes to ashes, nepal, lhasa, bali) and they are completely difference in texture from these mini’s from the Nars-issist palette.

    I purchased this palette to see if I’d like any other Nars eyeshadows since it’s really a love-hate relationship I feel and hear. I love shades such as blondie, sophia, baby girl, ashes to ashes, the regular sized bali and had success with them, but a lot of the lighter shades I personally don’t like. They are chalky and crumpy in texture. Don’t spread nicely and the color is not true to tune from palette even with the use of primers. It could be just me though. I’m very fair skinned, but I have had better results with other brands on lighter shades.

    I have used the palette twice, gonna give it one more chance. Right now I can say I’m not impressed with it especially another reason is the price. I believe urban decay naked palettes are way better in quality and price.

    This palette is just not as great as it seems and hoped for.

    But the shades above that I’ve listed are awesome. I use blondie the most, 5 days a week. They are all very blendible, smooth, chic and adjustable for any retire.

  47. Loren

    I reaalllly want this. But here in Canada the palette is 89 dollars which brings it up to a whopping 100.57 (!) after tax. I’d have to be crazy to actually order it… and after getting the Laura Mercier Artist Palette for Eyes 2 for Christmas and barely touching it since then (whats wrong with me?), not sure I should trick myself into justifying this one.

  48. Bella

    I actually couldn’t resist buying this when it came out again on 1 Feb. I own all of the shadows except Bad Behaviour either as singles, doubles or in other palettes.
    While I do agree that the pigmentation in the palette is not as intense as in the originals, I am very happy to have all my favourites in one palette for rushed mornings and travel. I am also able to make exactly the same looks on my eyes as I am able to with the original shadows. In fact, for my hooded eyes and amateurish-though-enthusiastic skills, the palette is easier! the eyeshadows are soft and easy to blend on the eye and I always use shadows over Nars smudgeproof primer (the originals too.)
    I shall go easy on the palette since I want to save it for my frequent work trips, and for really special occasions I shall choose to use the originals, but I don’t think that anyone who loves these shades will be sorry to have purchased them. I know the palette is no longer available but should anyone have the option of still acquiring it, i just wanted to put this out there,