Sunday, January 12th, 2014

NARS Khao San Road Larger Than Life Eyeliner
NARS Khao San Road Larger Than Life Eyeliner

The NARS Larger Than Life Eyeliner ($24.00 for 0.02 oz.) range has two new shades releasing for spring. Khao San Road is permanent, while Puerta del Sol is limited edition.  They’re both really fun, bright pops of color that are perfect for adding oomph to any look, but I wish they were a little creamier and more pigmented.  They are buildable to varying degrees (Puerta del Sol more so than Khao San Road), and they were both long-wearing and didn’t smudge at any point (but gradually faded/thinned after eight hours).

Khao San Road is described as a “metallic aquamarine.” It’s a brightened, light-medium blue with silver sparkle. It had so-so color payoff in a single stroke and was buildable to mostly opaque color coverage. The formula is just lightly creamy, so it doesn’t smudge easily and dries and sets very quickly. It lasted for eight hours without fading or smudging on me. Sephora Collection Summer Cruise (23) (P, $9.00) is lighter. Chanel True Blue (57) (LE, $30.00) is similar. bareMinerals 4AM (LE, $15.00) is less sparkly. Tarina Tarantino Kanzashi is brighter. See comparison swatches.

Puerta del Sol is described as a “parrot green with shimmer.” It’s a grassy green with warm, yellow undertones and a frosted sheen. It is an eyeliner that really has to be layered and built-up in order to achieve more opaque color payoff. It wore well for eight hours before starting to thin. Ardency Inn Grass (P, $19.00) is warmer with no shimmer. Sephora Collection Indulge Yourself (22) (P, $9.00) is less shimmery. NARS Rue de Rivoli (P, $24.00) is much darker (included here more because it’s in the permanent range). See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

P
product

Khao San Road

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Puerta del Sol

C+

Product

7/10

Pigmentation

6.5/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

NARS Khao San Road Larger Than Life Eyeliner
NARS Khao San Road Larger Than Life Eyeliner

NARS Khao San Road Larger Than Life Eyeliner
NARS Khao San Road Larger Than Life Eyeliner

NARS Khao San Road Larger Than Life Eyeliner
NARS Khao San Road Larger Than Life Eyeliner

NARS Khao San Road Larger Than Life Eyeliner
NARS Khao San Road Larger Than Life Eyeliner

NARS Puerta del Sol Larger Than Life Eyeliner
NARS Puerta del Sol Larger Than Life Eyeliner

NARS Puerta del Sol Larger Than Life Eyeliner
NARS Puerta del Sol Larger Than Life Eyeliner

NARS Puerta del Sol Larger Than Life Eyeliner
NARS Puerta del Sol Larger Than Life Eyeliner

NARS Puerta del Sol Larger Than Life Eyeliner
NARS Puerta del Sol Larger Than Life Eyeliner

NARS Kauai Eyeshadow Duo
NARS: Kauai #1 (inner lid), China Seas #1 (middle of lid), China Seas #2 (outer lid),
Kauai #2 (crease), Khao San Road, Puerta del Sol on lower lash line

The Dupe List: Khao San Road

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Puerta del Sol

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

30 thoughts on “NARS Khao San Road & Puerta del Sol Larger Than Life Eyeliners Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Christine, where you show the ratings you used the Khao San picture for Puerta Del Sol.

  2. Gorgeous colors – exactly my type!

  3. I’m so disappointed these didn’t rate better! I really love the shades and was going to get both but am now unsure! Is it the effort required to build up color that was the problem? Reading your review that seemed to be the issue (or the biggest one).
    And, it looks like you put them both on the lower water line and slightly under the lashes. I’ve never done that? To build better color?
    Thanks for the million reviews in the past few days. No idea how you do it!
    meganlisa Recently Posted: Nars Loves Los Angeles Set Review, Swatches and Day Look

  4. Let

    How does Khao San Road compare to UD Radium liner (from holiday set 2/3 years ago, not sure if it’s permanent)? I’m guessing Khao San Road is lighter?

  5. Puerta del Sol swatch looks disappointing. Khao San Road on the other hand? I’m all over it! I wear Abbey Road like all the time and this reminds me of a happier summertime version lol. I love the color!
    fancie Recently Posted: Beauty Oils for Everyone! + Sephora Double Points Skincare Special

  6. Love the colours! *shakes fist at pigmentation issues*
    Sylirael Recently Posted: How to Make a Rogue Blush, in One Easy Step

  7. Khao San Road looks nice! More so than Puerta del Sol, which looks odd :p Not a fan of grassy greens!
    Kiara Recently Posted: Spring 2014 Makeup Trends

  8. Like I said in a previous post, that blue one looks similar to Kanzashi from Tarina Tarantino, which is nice! Not a bad grade either.
    Rikki Recently Posted: REVIEW: MAC Magnetic Nude Extra Dimension Skinfinish – Fairly Precious

  9. Jaa

    Omg, I just HAVE to get Khao San Road not just because it’s the name of one of the most famous roads in Bangkok, Thailand (where I’m from) but it’s also one of the most beautiful bright blues I’ve seen! Too bad it only gets a B but I’m buying it anyway, haha!

    Thank you so much for reviewing this, Christine! <3

  10. Let

    How does Khao San Road compare to UD Radium liner (from 2011 set) color-wise? I assume Khao San Road is slightly lighter?

  11. I’ve been to Khao San Road so that makes me want the eyeliner! It looks like a lovely colour too. I don’t have a blue shade like that anymore.

  12. Pretty shades! I can only pull off if the shades are a bit more deeper. Not pull off exactly but prefer. I am more of browns,blacks,greys,deep bues and greens type I guess! ;-) Lovely shades nevertheless :-)
    Vineetha Recently Posted: MAC Huggable Lipcolor Red Necessity Review, Swatches

  13. Although I love most things Nars, I never have any luck with their eye liners. I find they skip and are too dry, not a fan!

  14. Alexandra Aimee

    I have been dreaming about perfect tropical eyes, and this IS IT! Thank you so much for posting this.

  15. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Shannon ShannonE

    Puerta del Sol looks similar to MAC Emerald Sea, but a bit deeper and with more frost. Such a shame, because I really wanted this!

  16. Dami

    I went to sephora and played with the new colors and I loved khao San road. I’ve never used nars eyeliners before but the color is so lovely I might have to go make a purchase. I’m usually not the one to wear popping colors so the fact that it’s lightly pigmented could be a plus for me!
    Thanks for the review!! And your make up looks sooo pretty :)