Sunday, March 23rd, 2014

NARS Gienah Contour Blush
NARS Gienah Contour Blush

NARS Gienah Contour Blush ($42.00 for 0.28 oz.) features a highlight and contour shade, and they’re supposed to add “natural-looking dimension for the face with a lightweight luminous finish.” ┬áThis is the third and final option in the new Contour Blush range, and it’s the darkest of the three, and though any skin tone can wear it, this duo is one that will show up on medium-dark and darker complexions more so than the other two. On fairer skin tones, the highlight shade could be used as a contour or as a subtle bronzer. The finish is far closer to matte than luminous or satin for both shades, and depending on your skin tone and skin type, the more matte highlighter might not read very illuminating on the skin. The contrast on my skin tone did seem to give a slight illuminating effect without the shimmer or sheen, though. Both shades wore well for eight hours on my skin before beginning to fade.

The Highlight shade is a medium-dark, neutral-to-warm-toned brown with a mostly matte finish. The finish almost seemed satiny when built up, but it was still mostly matte. The texture was soft, blendable, and finely-milled. It seemed to take a layer or two before it was a softer powder, as the very top layer was a little drier than what was underneath. NARS Paloma Contour (P) is a smidgen lighter.Chanel Accent (84) (LE, $43.00) is rosier, more shimmery. Kevyn Aucoin Natura (P) is more shimmery, a touch lighter. NARS Madly (P, $29.00) is more shimmery, a little warmer. NARS Douceur (P, $29.00) is cooler-toned, lighter. MAC Harmony (P, $21.00) is a smidgen lighter, warmer. Burberry Earthy (P, $42.00) is a bit darker, more satiny. Bobbi Brown Bahama (LE, $38.00) is more shimmery, slightly rosy. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Contour shade is dark, warm-toned brown with a satin-matte finish. It had more buildable color coverage, and like the other shade, it seemed to get a little softer and more pigmented after I swirled my brush across the uppermost layer of the powder. It was blendable on the skin and sat well–didn’t look powdery at all. MAC Exotic Ember (LE, $25.00) is more shimmery. MAC Richly Honed (LE, $20.00) is a cream product, darker. See comparison swatches view dupes.

The Glossover

P
palette

Gienah

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Gienah Highlight

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Gienah Contour

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

NARS Gienah Contour Blush
NARS Gienah Contour Blush

NARS Gienah Contour Blush
NARS Gienah Contour Blush

NARS Gienah Contour Blush
NARS Gienah Contour Blush

NARS Gienah Contour Blush
NARS Gienah Contour Blush

NARS Gienah Contour Blush
NARS Gienah Contour Blush

NARS Gienah Contour Blush
NARS Gienah Contour Blush

NARS Gienah Contour Blush
NARS Gienah Contour Blush

NARS Gienah Contour Blush
NARS Gienah Contour Blush

NARS Gienah Contour Blush
NARS Gienah Contour Blush

The Makeup Look

On face: Guerlain Parure de Lumiere Foundation, Guerlain Les Voilettes Loose Powder. On lips: Chanel Tocade Glossimer. On eyes:: Sephora + Pantone Luminizer.

The Dupe List: Gienah Highlight

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Gienah Contour

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

35 thoughts on “NARS Gienah Contour Blush Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Linda

    Hello,

    I have been reviewing all 3 contour shades to see which one will work better for me and I still can’t figure it out! I am an NC 20/25, what would you prefer?

    Thank you so much for your help and all these amazing reviews.

  2. This looks so pretty! The highlight is meh but the contour looks like it may be deep enough for a nice subtle contour for me
    fancie Recently Posted: Tarte Elite LipSurgence Lip Tint Review

  3. Which do you think is better for NC42 skin, this one or Paloma?? :)
    Daniel Recently Posted: person: help me i desperatley need a ladder so i can save my cat thats stuck up the tree

  4. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Audrey Audrey

    Thanks for the review. Looking forward to trying this.

  5. Ooh, you look so finely sculpted in your pictures! :-D

    This one’s definitely too deep for me, but I like the effect on you. Wish I could contour like that!
    Sylirael Recently Posted: The Search for The Holy (Foundation) Grail Part 1: YSL Top Secrets BB Creme in Clear / Fair

  6. That’s my favorite shade of the three of them on you
    Judith Recently Posted: BareMinerals ready eyeshadow 8.0 palette in The power neutrals

  7. I love this one on you Christine!! :D

  8. Brian aka Roulette

    Ok, this absolutely incredible on you….wayyyyyy more natural than I thought it would. Paloma was good but this is better. Perfect bronzing-slash-contour.

  9. Looks nice on you, way too dark for me though ;)

  10. Oh, I like this one more. I guess I should wait to see them all! :P
    Shipra Recently Posted: Neutrogena Body Oil (Light Sesame Formula) Review

  11. I didn’t think of using the highlight shade as a more subtle contour shade! Brilliant idea! Although now I can’t pass up this shade anymore due to the infamous Temptalia curse (where you end up wanting anything and everything). :P

    • Haha! Yes, I think for “more bang for your buck,” Gienah is a double contour – subtle and darker if you have medium skin or darker. I don’t dig the “highlight” concept of these – too close to my skin tone, I guess!

      • The only bone I’d pick with using Gienah as a double contour is the fact that the lighter shade is much smaller than the darker one, while I personally would use the lighter shade a lot more.

        • True! I think you’d have to assess whether you’d NEVER use the darker shade, once in a blue moon, etc. If you would use the darker shade often enough, then Gienah is probably the better duo… if you would never use it, then you might as well go Paloma and have the larger contour pan and never use the highlighter!

          • I agree! If anything, the highlighter in Paloma would still be useful for browbone shade or something, and you don’t usually need much for that (certainly less than contouring.

            I personally like my contour to be subtle, but I do sometimes use a darker shade on top for added depth, which is why Gienah makes little sense to be used as double-contour for me as far as product size goes. But if you’re someone with light to medium skin who likes dramatic contouring but like the option to go subtle every now and then, then Gienah would probably be the better option.

  12. Christine, you are looking especially beautiful in these photos…you are absolutely glowing!

  13. I know contour is not part of your daily grind (lol!) but You look amazing, Christine! Do you feel that the contour here is the closest to NARS’ Casino?

  14. I really like how it looks on you. It’s great probably when you have a tan!

  15. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

    I think I’ll stick with Zen or Ninotchka, but I still plan to play with these a bit in-store. I’m curious about how these will look if mixed together, and if I’ll have to buy 2 duos, LOL! I was hoping for a powder version of St. Bart’s Multiple, but…