Sunday, January 12th, 2014

NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo
NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo

NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo ($34.00 for 0.14 oz.) is a new and permanent duo just in time for spring that features a teal and plum. While Kauai knocked my socks off, China Seas left me wanting more–pigmentation, softer, smoother textures. It’s a workable duo, and there’s no stiffness despite some of the drier consistencies, so they still blend out without a lot of work. The left side of the duo lasted almost eight hours on me, while the right side of the duo had faded noticeably by seven and a half hours.

China Seas #1 is described as an “iridescent turquoise with gold infusion.” It’s a bluish-teal with a golden sheen and frosted finish. The texture was fairly soft and smooth, but it didn’t have as much pigmentation as I expected–it was a little weak and resulted in more semi-opaque color payoff. It didn’t build up much more than what was there, but if you use it wet and really pack it on, you can get a more true-to-pan color to come forth. Makeup Geek Mermaid (P, $5.99) is very similar. Too Faced Jingle All the Way Eyeshadow #9 (LE) is greener. NARS Bavaria (P, $24.00) is surprisingly similar–perhaps a smidgen bluer. theBalm Open to Offers Olwen (LE, $16.00) is brighter, richer. MAC Rain Drop (LE, $32.50) is more metallic, darker. Inglot #413 (P, $6.00) is similar. See comparison swatches.

China Seas #2 is described as an “iridescent plum.” It’s a medium-dark, warm-toned plum with a sparkly finish that’s just slightly frosted. The texture was somewhat dry, though it didn’t feel stiff so it wasn’t difficult to apply or blend, but it is a drier texture, which resulted in a less color payoff. MAC A Medley of Mauves #3 (P, $21.00) is darker. Tom Ford Beauty Seductive Rose #4 (P) is also a bit darker. Anastasia Pink Sapphire (LE) is warmer. Makeup Geek Last Dance (P, $5.99) is darker. Makeup Geek Enchanted (P, $6.99) is slightly lighter. Sleek MakeUP A Vow in Venice (LE, $9.99) is similar. Urban Decay Last Call (P, $18.00) is more metallic. MAC Star Violet (P, $15.00) is browner. Lancome Colour du Jour (P, $19.00) is similar. Chanel Harmonie du Soir #3 (LE) is slightly lighter. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

P
palette

China Seas

B-

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

8/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

China Seas #1

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

China Seas #2

C+

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

7.5/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo
NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo

NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo
NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo

NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo
NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo

NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo
NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo

NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo
NARS China Seas #1 Eyeshadow

NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo
NARS China Seas #1 Eyeshadow

NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo
NARS China Seas #2 Eyeshadow

NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo
NARS China Seas #2 Eyeshadow

NARS Kauai Eyeshadow Duo
NARS: Kauai #1 (inner lid), China Seas #1 (middle of lid), China Seas #2 (outer lid),
Kauai #2 (crease), Khao San Road, Puerta del Sol on lower lash line

NARS Kauai Eyeshadow Duo
NARS: Kauai #1 (inner lid), China Seas #1 (middle of lid), China Seas #2 (outer lid),
Kauai #2 (crease), Khao San Road, Puerta del Sol on lower lash line

The Dupe List: China Seas #1

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: China Seas #2

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

27 thoughts on “NARS China Seas Eyeshadow Duo Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. The blue is nice! I don’t care too much for the purple.
    Rikki Recently Posted: Real Techniques Duo-Fiber Face Brush: The Best Brush For Pigmented Blush

  2. I was kind of hoping this would turn out like Kauai but I guess it’s for the best that it didn’t because NARS would just be taking over my life at this point lol. I really like the colors but I’m not a fan of sheer shadows. They’re usually more trouble than they’re worth trying to work with them
    fancie Recently Posted: Sharon & Kelly Osborne Teams Up With MAC For Summer 2014!

  3. Aw, I was hoping for more. I guess I’ll just have to skip it then.
    Jamie Recently Posted: Wantable Review: January 2014

  4. Banafshe Sharifian

    Hi Christine,
    I was bummed to see that Nordstrom has this palette but not the Kauai one. I even checked Saks but the collection isn’t out yet at Saks. Do you know if any other place has it or if Nordstrom will bring it? It’s strange that they would have one but not the other. :(

    • I would contact Nordstrom, as I don’t know why they don’t have it!

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

      NARS typically releases Spring collections on January 15, so it may be that Nordstrom just has this out early, like they sometimes do with MAC LE collections. Being as both are apparently permanent, I think they’ll eventually have both. It could also be a mistake online; I went to a Nordstrom a couple of weeks ago, and the one item I wanted most was sold out, yet listed as 3 in-stock, yet another item I wanted that said sold out *was* in-stock. Just try calling your local counter.

  5. I really like the plummy shade – it looks very much like the plum in the Cheyenne duo!
    Stephanie | theFantasia Recently Posted: Review | Real Techniques Duo Fibre Collection (Limited Edition).

  6. I’s such a shame that this palette kind of places *itself* in the shadow (no pun intended, ouch) of its sister Kauai…. :-(
    Sylirael Recently Posted: How to Make a Rogue Blush, in One Easy Step

  7. Fabulous eye look, I really like these colors together :-)

  8. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Celine Celine

    These shades really do compliment each other. You put together a beautiful look. Want this!

  9. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

    This review is a bit of a letdown after Kauai… Maybe you should have posted this one *first*, LOL! Still, the plum is gorgeous, and for some reason, not an abundant shade in my stash (although I love it). Bavaria came to mind immediately when I saw the initial swatches, so I can at least wait on picking that up for a while!

  10. this looks so beautiful in the pan…i was hoping for a stellar review.

  11. I stopped by because I thought these colors were an unusual pairing, but they really complement each other nicely.

    Monica

  12. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Georgiana Georgiana

    Is it wrong that I kind of like how pigmented they aren’t? Blue shadow has a habit of looking truly foul on me, but a slightly more sheer blue… I’m definitely drawn to this duo, even though I probably really shouldn’t be. It doesn’t help that you created an absolutely AMAZING look with it! I love the two liners together. Just beautiful! Great work as always, Christine :)

    • Nah, there’s nothing wrong with it, Georgiana! Some brands make sheer eyeshadows for people who aren’t looking for more pigmented ones. I don’t even have a problem with sheer eyeshadows *but* I expect brands to make it pretty clear that they are sheer (since they’re typically supposed to be very pigmented, or in the case of NARS’ eyeshadow formula, they are supposed to be).