Monday, December 2nd, 2013

Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color

Today, I have three more shades from Maybelline’s Color Elixir Lip Color ($8.99 for 0.17 fl. oz.) range. It’s a new and permanent formula introduced this winter, and it’s supposed to have rich color payoff with a plush feel, hydration, and high-gloss shine. Some shades are nice, others apply somewhat streakily, as the consistency is more medium to medium-thick. Sometimes, if you press your lips together, you can see a “line” appear where the color has moved and bunched up. The gloss is non-sticky when first applied, but it does develop a slight tackiness while worn–it never becomes really sticky, though. It has a sweet, creme brulee scent and a perfume-y taste. I notice the taste more with the brighter and darker shades than the lighter ones. They are moderately moisturizing.

Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color ($8.99 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is a warm-toned, orange-based medium red with a creamy, glossy finish. It’s nearly opaque (there’s just a hint of translucency), and the consistency is medium-weight and applies evenly. It wears for five hours on me. Revlon Fire (P, $7.49) is similar. NARS Wonder (LE, $25.00) is more orange, more muted. NARS Hollywoodlawn (LE, $26.00) is slightly more muted. Chanel Exces (P, $32.00) is less opaque–the colors are very similar but Maybelline’s is better with respect to performance. See comparison swatches.

Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color ($8.99 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is a pinky-plum with a creamy, glossy finish. It had mostly opaque color coverage with some of the natural lip color coming through. It applied evenly for the most part, but there were some areas where you could see the color was somewhat streaky. I would apply less rather than more, as this was a color that tended to bunch up if you pressed or moved your lips together too much. It lasted for four hours on me. L’Oreal Florid Pink (LE, $7.99) is brighter. Edward Bess First Kiss (P, $30.00) is lighter. Tom Ford Beauty Sugar Pink (P, $45.00) is more muted. Urban Decay Lovechild (P, $19.00) is a bit pinker, less glossy. Urban Decay Flushed (P, $19.00) is more muted, more mauve. MAC Viva Glam Nicki (LE, $15.00) is lighter. MAC Curvaceous (LE, $15.00) is cooler-toned. Chanel Insolence (P, $32.00) is similar but sheerer. See comparison swatches.

Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color ($8.99 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is a cool-toned, reddened berry with faint fuchsia shimmer. It had semi-opaque color coverage, and as you might have guessed, it doesn’t apply flawlessly. There is some settling into lip lines, but it has a somewhat splotchy appearance on the lips. It’s not the worst I’ve encountered, but it’s not as opaque as Maybelline would have you believe and can be a high maintenance color to wear. On me, it wore for four and a half hours. MAC Lust for Life (LE, $15.00) is more shimmery. Chanel Crushed Cherry (P, $29.50) is redder. NARS Penny Arcade (LE, $26.00) is pinker, lighter, less shimmery. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

P
product

Signature Scarlet (020)

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Mauve Mystique (025)

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Caviar Couture (050)

C+

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

7.5/10

Texture

7/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

3.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Signature Scarlet (020) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Caviar Couture (050) Color Elixir Lip Color

The Dupe List: Signature Scarlet (020)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Mauve Mystique (025)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Caviar Couture (050)

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

38 thoughts on “Maybelline Signature Scarlet, Mauve Mystique, Couture Color Elixir Lipglosses Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Danielle

    The first two are gorgeous, Christine! Thanks for reviewing these.

  2. Oh my!! All 3 shade are unique and beautiful!! ^_^

  3. interesting how tricky that last color is. i would never buy it based on the tube, but swatched and on the lips it looks beautiful.

  4. Avatar of Catriona Aubri

    I hate to sound nitpicky, but I just wondered what the missing word was here:
    “Chanel Exces (P, $32.00) is less opaque–the colors are very similar but Maybelline’s with respect to performance”

  5. Avatar of Gabriella bella

    One wonders why they’d put glitter/shimmer in the last one, would look beautiful without! :)

  6. Avatar of Clio Clio

    I bought caviar couture because I LOVED how it looked in the bottle. I’m so disappointed with how it turned out on the lips. I don’t think I’ll ever wear it, to be honest. Quite sad.

  7. I think our skin tones play a huge role in how these colors show up. I have Signature Scarlet and I think it’s red with pink undertones when I wear it. :) But after looking at your photos, I agree, on you it has some orange in there! It’s funny how the same lip color will looking completely different on different people!
    - Michelle

  8. Loving the last one, but it’s more expensive than what I’m willing to pay for a drugstore product.

  9. Kat

    How would you compare the color of the Mauve Mystique gloss to MAC Syrup lipstick?

  10. Avatar of Catherine Kat Bat

    I bought the Caviar Couture color and it actually applied wonderfully! Im in love with it (when its not so windy, my hair is very long and goes everywhere including touching my lips). Maybe you didnt get a new/fresh one? I mean it is more of a sheer dark color but when I apply it to my lips and i press my lips together it doesnt get any weird lines or anything. I also dont put on a lot, one dip into the tube is usually enough. I also reeaaalllly love the brush applicator thing its so different than anything else Ive tried. Thanks for the review! I might get the red next :)

  11. Avatar of Brittany Brittany

    I wonder if you could duplicate Crushed Cherry by layering some sort of hot pink or neon red lip liner underneath Caviar Couture.

  12. I don’t even like red gloss but that first color is gorgeous! Makes your lips look amazing! I’m actually tempted to try it lol
    fancie Recently Posted: Nighttime Made Simple with Philosophy Purity Wipes

  13. Debbie

    I love this stuff. There’s so many colours!

  14. Okay, if Signature Scarlet performs better than Chanel Exces then I most definitely need it. You can never have too many red lip products. NEVER. :P

  15. Signature Scarlet reminds me of a lipgloss version of Lady Danger but a little bit more coraly. Really liking the mauve lipgloss too!
    Kiara Recently Posted: Brown Smokey Eyeshadow Tutorial!

  16. Kat Neal

    Hi Christine! Just wondering- is Mauve Mystique at all similar to the color of MAC Syrup? Syrup is my mom’s HG lip color and if I got her a gloss to match she would be be SO happy.

  17. Avatar of Vanessa Vanessa

    These look cute… but sound like trouble. Thanks for reviewing!

  18. That red is gorgeous! Gonna pick this one up.

  19. Avatar of Emi Emi

    I like these a lot – they feel very comfortable and balm-like to me, rather than gloss-like. I definitely find that they work best applied very thinly though – it avoids the creating lines issue, at least for me.
    Emi Recently Posted: New Wet n Wild 5-Pan Palettes: Swatches & Quick Review

  20. Caviar Couture is a very pretty shade….

  21. These look stunning on u! Just wish they didn’t bleed soo much!
    Lisha Recently Posted: Tutorial: Pink & Bronze Party Eyemakeup

  22. Jamie

    I heard such great things about these but when I bought them, the scent of them made me nauseous!! Way too strong and perfume-y for something that sits right under your nose.

  23. Picked up Caviar Couture – much more plum than berry on me with no hint of fuchsia. As a sheer plum gloss it’s workable, but that smell/taste . . . !

  24. Jlyn

    I purchased the Caviar Couture and it wasn’t bad at all.
    I made sure to get a gloss that hadn’t been opened in the store already.
    The color was a little streaky but nothing umbearable and I used a brown kind of lip liner with it and it lasted for at least 4 hours before I had to reapply.
    I did have to use more of a dab & swipe application method but the color pay off was worth the extra effort.