Sunday, December 15th, 2013

Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color

As promised, here are the final three Maybelline’s Color Elixir Lip Colors ($8.99 for 0.17 fl. oz.) that I have to review!  It’s a non-sticky (it does get a little tacky after three hours of wear), creme brulee-scented (with a somewhat perfume-y taste at times), and hydrating formula.  The color payoff, while touted as high impact, is more typically semi-opaque–noticeable but not fully opaque. You can find all of the shades I’ve reviewed here.

Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color ($8.99 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is a warm-toned, reddish-plum with a glossy finish. It had semi-sheer to semi-opaque color coverage; there was a fair amount of translucency, though the color applied evenly overall with minor settling into lip lines. It lasted for four hours and was moderately hydrating while worn. NARS Hollywoodlawn (LE, $26.00) is redder. MAC Looks Like Sin (LE, $20.00) is a bit darker, less warm-toned. See comparison swatches.

Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color ($8.99 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is a medium pink with subtle, warm undertones and a glossy finish. It had semi-opaque color coverage, but it did apply slightly unevenly. It wore well for four hours, though, and it was hydrating while worn. Maybelline Blush Essence (095) (P, $8.99) is shimmery, slightly lighter. Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) (P, $8.99) is a touch less pink, but the two are surprisingly similar. Maybelline Caramel Infused (065) (P, $8.99) is warmer. Revlon Pink Pop (P, $7.99) is brighter. MAC Next Fad (P, $19.50) is shimmery, lighter. MAC Viva Glam Nicki (LE, $15.00) is brighter, lighter. Chanel Insolence (P, $32.00) is lighter. See comparison swatches.

Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color ($8.99 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is a light-medium with pale white pearl and subtle cool undertones. It had semi-opaque color coverage, and as it was a milkier gloss, it did settle into lip lines somewhat and was difficult to apply evenly. It wore well for three hours and was lightly moisturizing during that time. MAC Picture Pink (LE, $15.00) is similar, less shimmery. Urban Decay Obsessed (P, $19.00) is less pigmented. NARS International Velvet (LE, $26.00) has no shimmer. MAC Stay Sweet (LE, $15.00) is similar. MAC Pink Fade (LE, $15.00) is cooler-toned. MAC Angel (LE, $15.00) is darker, less shimmery. MAC Bait (LE, $15.00) is more neutral. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

P
product

Intoxicating Spice (070)

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Captivating Carnation (080)

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Petal Plush (100)

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

Maybelline Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Intoxicating Spice (070) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Captivating Carnation (080) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color

Maybelline Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color
Maybelline Petal Plush (100) Color Elixir Lip Color

The Dupe List: Intoxicating Spice (070)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Captivating Carnation (080)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Petal Plush (100)

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

21 thoughts on “Maybelline Intoxicating Spice, Captivating Carnation, Petal Plush Color Elixir Lip Colors Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Hmm, most people are loving these, saying they are some of the best new lip glosses out there. Then again it seems to be people who buy only drugstore brands. I am still interested in buying a few of these.

    • I think they’re good, and if you don’t care about 100% opaque gloss, then the big thing is some apply unevenly. The wear is average, they aren’t drying (they’re slightly to moderately hydrating), non-sticky overall. They do have a perfume-y taste at times, and that can be a deal-breaker for some – that’s the biggest negative I’ve heard from people.

    • Avatar of TR TR

      As someone who purchases and judges drugstore and high end makeup equally, I love these. Sure they’re not 100% opaque, but I never (ever) expect a lipgloss to be 100% opaque. That is what lipstick is created for. But this gives me everything I want with a lipgloss. Idk where these are priced at $8.99, though! I bought mine at my local grocery for $6.49.

  2. Captivating Carnation really lives up to its name!

  3. Avatar of KRISTANNA Kristanna

    I just used two of these last night on out prima’s nutcracker performance. I used two plum shades and they mixed together well. They have more pigment than a normal gloss but it does well after a few passes. They look nice ontop of a lipstick as well. Its a nice product to try for drugstore. Id get one tho and see if you like it before committing to buy a few.

  4. Tara

    The L’Oreal Extraordinaire glosses are better in my opinion. The Elixir’s feel good. Extraordinaire was longer lasting and more pigmented for me.

  5. Avatar of Amy xamyx

    I almost exclusively go with DS lip products, and based on what I’ve seen, these have all been rather disappointing, especially based on what is being portrayed in ads. Every ad shows a highly pigmented, opaque, hogh-shine gloss, which none of these are. I don’t mind lashes being added in mascara ads, or flawless skin in foundation ads, but when it comes to “color” products, I expect them to be truly representative of the product. Also, I’ve seen these in the $10 range, and although not terribly expensive, compared to other products which are superior, and cost half, I find it a bit insulting to pay that much.

  6. I find the applicator really weird-looking…almost a bit creepy… *shudder*

  7. Avatar of Andie auroragyps

    I think I’d put Petal Plush over Captivating Carnation to get a deeper pink with some shimmer. I am on a quest to find my HG pink lippie and the combo of both might be close.

    • The only thing I’d say about layering is that it is a thicker gloss, so I’m not sure how well two together would wear – you’d have to apply just a little of each!

      • Avatar of Andie auroragyps

        Yeah. I’d probably put Captivating Carnation all over my lips, dab Petal Push over that, and smush my lips. Either that or put a nice big blob of each on the back of my hand, blend, and then apply it with a lip brush or my fingers.

        • LOL! I am amused by “big blob of each” ;) I suspect the latter would be the cleanest method, though partially wasteful, and definitely more time-consuming. Let me know if you end up trying it!

  8. Intoxicating spice and captivating carnation looks best.. These are going to be launched in India this month.. will definitely grab these two.. :)
    The formula is a bit sheer than I expected but still liked them.. :)

  9. I am loving Captivating Carnation & Intoxicating Spice!

  10. i have a couple of these. i hate the taste and smell and the brush, but i like the effect i get.