Monday, March 3rd, 2014

Maybelline Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Dare to Go Nude Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

For spring, Maybelline released six limited edition shades (so says the display) of Color Tattoos in its Dare to Go Nude Collection. I’ve been trying to find these for a few weeks now, and by some miracle, I was able to find five of the shades. Unfortunately, I don’t have Stroke of Midnight (but you can see it swatched on Musings of a Muse for reference). Most of the stores I’ve visited haven’t even had displayers (empty or not), but a CVS about ten miles away did have a display that was only partially ravaged (many of the seals on lip products had been removed). It’s a real shame that these aren’t permanent, because they would be welcomed additions to the permanent range. Though in some ways, they might seem “boring” to some, they’re very core, basic shades. They reminded me a lot of Benefit’s Creaseless Cream Eyeshadow range in color selection as well as feel and finish–these all felt a little thinner than the original formula, a smidgen more emollient, but they applied and wore as well as the original shades do. As always, I’m not keen on actually wearing makeup for 24-hours, so I didn’t test any of these for a full 24-hours, but I tested all five for sixteen hours.

These are LIMITED EDITION as confirmed by Maybelline on March 4th, 2014.  Maybelline corporate confirmed that all shades released in the Dare to Go Nude Collection are limited edition with none slated to be added to the permanent range at this time.

Pure Nude (80) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow ($6.99 for 0.14. oz.) is a light, pink-tinged beige with a golden sheen. It had good, buildable color coverage that wore well for twelve hours before I noticed some “cracking” of the texture, but it was very, very subtle. After sixteen hours, it hadn’t worsened. Guerlain Les Tendres #1 (LE) is cooler-toned. NARS Mississippi Mermaid (LE, $24.00) is warmer, darker. MAC Smoked Cocoa #1 (LE, $15.00) is similar. LORAC Nude (P) is darker. MAC Phloof! (P, $15.00) is cooler-toned. Dior Fairy Golds #1 (LE) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Beige-ing Beauty (85) is a golden champagne with gold sparkle and shimmer. This one was semi-opaque at most, and it is almost better sheered out so it is a sparkling finish. I had some slight, visible fall out after ten hours of wear that gradually worsened for the next six hours, though I did not have any creasing or fading. MAC A Glimmer of Gold #1 (P, $21.00) is darker. Dior Golden Snow #2 (LE) is more glittery. MAC Until Dawn #2 (LE, $21.00) is less sparkly. Sleek MakeUP Meet in Madrid (LE, $9.99) is darker. Giorgio Armani #10 #2 (P) is similar. Urban Decay Blunt (P, $18.00) is less sparkly. L’Oreal Eternal Sunshine (P, $7.99) is yellower. Dior Night Golds #4 (LE) is less sparkly. Chanel Vision (LE, $36.00) is more glittery, darker. See comparison swatches.

Nude Compliment (90) is a subtly, cool-toned taupe-brown with a metallic finish. It seemed like the top layer, where it reflects, is more cool-toned and grayer, while the base seemed warmer, more reddish. When sheered out, it seemed slightly warm. The color payoff was really good and easily worn at opaque or sheer color. It wore well for sixteen hours without fading or creasing. theBalm #19 (P, $6.50) is cooler-toned. Makeup Geek Moondust (P, $5.99) is darker. MAC Silver Dawn (LE, $19.50) is less metallic. bareMinerals Cheers (V2) (LE) is cooler-toned. Urban Decay Shakedown (LE, $18.00) is warmer. Urban Decay Underground (DC, $18.00) is darker. Benefit No Pressure (P, $10.00) is darker. Inglot #402 (P, $6.00) is browner, darker. See comparison swatches.

Sleek & Spice (95) is a warm-toned, reddish-brown taupe with a metallic finish. In the pot, it seems too similar to Nude Compliment, but it’s a good deal warmer–the undertone really makes a difference. It had excellent, full color coverage. This shade lasted for sixteen hours without creasing or fading. Urban Decay Mugshot (P, $18.00) is slightly cooler-toned. Urban Decay Liar (P, $18.00) is lighter. Disney by Sephora Chateau (LE) is warmer. Tom Ford Beauty Platinum (LE, $40.00) is a smidgen lighter. Urban Decay Stray Dog (LE, $18.00) is darker. MAC Sable (P, $15.00) is warmer. See comparison swatches.

Caramel Cool (100) is as warm-toned, coppery orange with a frosted, metallic finish. It had good pigmentation and covered well, but it was easily blended and sheered out for a tint of color. When I tested it, the color lasted for sixteen hours without fading or creasing. Anastasia Rum Cake (LE) is darker. Urban Decay Trick (P, $18.00) is similar. Makeup Geek Vegas Lights (P, $6.99) is more orange. Marc Jacobs Beauty The Starlet #4 (P) is brighter. MAC Star Myth (LE, $15.00) is less metallic. bareMinerals Bragging Rights (LE) is more orange. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
product

Pure Nude (80)

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Beige-ing Beauty (85)

B-

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

7.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Nude Compliment (90)

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

10/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Maybelline Pure Nude (80) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Pure Nude (80) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Pure Nude (80) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Pure Nude (80) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Pure Nude (80) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Pure Nude (80) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Pure Nude (80) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Pure Nude (80) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Pure Nude (80) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Pure Nude (80) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Pure Nude (80) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Pure Nude (80), Nude Compliment (90) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Beige-ing Beauty (85) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Beige-ing Beauty (85) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Beige-ing Beauty (85) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Beige-ing Beauty (85) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Beige-ing Beauty (85) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Beige-ing Beauty (85) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Beige-ing Beauty (85) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Beige-ing Beauty (85) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Beige-ing Beauty (85) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Beige-ing Beauty (85) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Beige-ing Beauty (85) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Beige-ing Beauty (85), Caramel Cool (100), Sleek & Spice (95) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Nude Compliment (90) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Nude Compliment (90) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Nude Compliment (90) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Nude Compliment (90) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Nude Compliment (90) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Nude Compliment (90) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Nude Compliment (90) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Nude Compliment (90) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Nude Compliment (90) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Nude Compliment (90) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Sleek & Spice (95) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Sleek & Spice (95) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Sleek & Spice (95) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Sleek & Spice (95) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Sleek & Spice (95) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Sleek & Spice (95) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Sleek & Spice (95) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Sleek & Spice (95) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Sleek & Spice (95) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Sleek & Spice (95) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Caramel Cool (100) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Caramel Cool (100) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Caramel Cool (100) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Caramel Cool (100) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Caramel Cool (100) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Caramel Cool (100) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Caramel Cool (100) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Caramel Cool (100) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

Maybelline Caramel Cool (100) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow
Maybelline Caramel Cool (100) Color Tattoo Eyeshadow

The Dupe List: Pure Nude (80)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Beige-ing Beauty (85)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Nude Compliment (90)

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

115 thoughts on “Maybelline Dare to Go Nude Color Tattoo Eyeshadows Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. oh woah. The shades are stunning and perfect for everyday wear! I wish they launch these shades soon in India!
    Lisha Recently Posted: Maybelline Pink Alert lipstick POW 4 Review- The Best Coral Lipstick in India

  2. I’m happy they made some nude shade but I wish they make MATTE ones as well that are nude for primers. >_< The only one they have is tough as taupe and it look like their DC'ing that shade as it price fore clearance in stores along with the orange shade.
    Ani_BEE Recently Posted: Dare to Compare: White Bases for Eyeshadow ~ NYX Eye Shadow Base in White and MAC Chromaline Pure White

    • Wow! Tough as Taupe as discontinued?

      • Avatar of Amy xamyx

        I don’t think that’s the case. A while back, I saw Painted Purple & Pomegranate Punk 1/2 price at one Target, but full-price at another, but the second store had other shades discounted. Then, within a month, all the shades were re-stocked at both locations, and full-price. I’ve seen it at other stores, as well, but they all come back, usually with a slight price increase.

  3. The three darker shades are gorgeous! I hope they will release them in Europe. I’m a big fan of the color tatoos my favorite one are bad to the bronze and the pink gold shade (I forgot the exact name)
    Judith Recently Posted: Catrice camouflage cream review

  4. Christina D.

    I’m pretty much over drugstore makeup and stick with mid-range brands these days, but I don’t know what it is about the Maybelline Color Tattoos that are the exception and make me lose my mind. This particular collection is very good, and I have been fortunate to get all six — and back-ups! Nude compliment is perfect for a taupe lover like myself who favors cooler leaning shades. You’ve heard of crazy cat ladies? Well I feel like I’m the crazy Color Tattoo lady.

    • Glad you were able to find yours!

    • They are all owned by the same companies.. Look at Estée Lauder.. They own everything from their own brand, revlon, I believe, other stud store.. All the say to Tom Dord and La Mer.. I think we get duped.

      • Revlon and Estee Lauder are totally different companies. Estee Lauder Companies include Estee Lauder, Tom Ford, and La Mer.

        http://www.elcompanies.com/pages/our-brands.aspx

        • Alexandra Aimee

          Thanks for clearing this up Christine! I really can’t stand the makeup “truthing”. Yes, there are some great drugstore products (like these!) but it’s really not all the same stuff with different price tags. Anyone who prides themselves on being a makeup junkie should know that different products are… different. Even when two lines are part of one umbrella corporation it definitely doesn’t mean the products are identical. I’m a fashion blogger, and a similar fact in my industry is that in most cases outlet store products are made in totally different factories from lower quality materials than those sold from the name store. So, even between stores like Kate Spade and Kate Spade Outlet there is a quality gap! Let alone between totally different brands that happen to be part of one conglomerate.

  5. This collection is just amazing !!

  6. thanks for the great reviews… just a note, there’s a typo in the title :) tatoo instead of tattoo.

  7. Oh I like Nude Compliment!

  8. Emma

    They look nice but it’s too bad there aren’t any matte shades in this collection! I love the matte taupe one (it’s called Permanent Taupe here in The Netherlands) and I still hope they will make more matte ones in the future.
    Let’s see if these will be released here so I can check them out.

  9. jammee

    Christine, do you know if these will be release in Canada?

    • I have no information on these other than what was printed on the display! I’ve been trying to get more information for about two weeks now but no luck.

    • Claudia

      Jammee I asked on the Canadian Facebook page and these are going to be released here in Canada on March 11. I believe the line will be in mass drugstores only.

  10. I might have to try Nude Compliment, I just hope it won’t pull warm on me like LI Bronzed Taupe did. It looked so cool on most people and on me it really was bronze!
    Erin Recently Posted: Luxe Be A Lady Tonight: Luxe Sweatshirts For Women

  11. Yeh im going to have to buy all of these! They look great. I love the other colour tatoos but they were definitely missing some more nude shades. Don’t suppose you know when they’re coming to the uk by any chance?

  12. I’ve been on the hunt for these, too. I finally got 3 of the matte shadows in my local CVS several months after the first reviews came in. It’ll probably be the same with these. I have the matte version of the nude shade, and I wear it all the time along with the matte yellow and brown. Just love ‘em
    Allison Recently Posted: GIVEAWAY: $50 Gift Certificate to Midnight Velvet and My New Floral Satin Pumps

  13. Avatar of strangelighting A Name

    I really like the look of these! I hope they come to the UK, or at least a similar range.

  14. I recently had to toss out many of my cream eyeshadow because they had dried up, so I’ve been looking for new cream formula’s to refill my stash. I might check these out…

  15. Still can’t find these! :(

  16. If I come across Nude Compliment, I must pick it up!

  17. Ammara

    It’s sad that drugstore makeup counters get “ravaged”. In Pakistan, because we only have drugstore makeup available in stores, there are testers for each product and sales assistants at every “counter”. At least items don’t go to waste that way.

  18. That’s what I was thinking..a little boring, but Pure Nude is my favorite.

  19. Avatar of Angela Angela

    Word on the street (and from several of those who work in the beauty depts @ Rite Aid, CVS, BB&B, and Walgreens) is that these ARE permanent. They seem to be the only items in the display that don’t say Limited Edition. Nothing confirmed, though. I do hope these are permanent, though!

  20. I’m having a really hard time finding these too and I want all of them!

  21. Shelbie

    I could do without the first one, but the rest? NEED. Need them all.

  22. Avatar of Amy xamyx

    I’d rather see shades like this be part of the core line rather than some of the brighter shades, which could be rotated in seasonally. I still haven’t found any of this collection in the Los Angeles area…

  23. Avatar of Lorenati Lore

    I don’t find these color tatoo eyeshadows in ulta

  24. Avatar of Amy Amy

    These aren’t at my local stores yet but I’ll be on the lookout. I’ll have to see if Nude Compliment and/or Sleek & Spice is the right one for me. I’m still on the hunt for the perfect nude taupe e/s.
    Amy Recently Posted: Apple Spice Oatmeal

  25. I like the Nude theme for Spring, but I was hoping that they would come out with some matte shades like MAC’s Painterly PP :/ The shimmers are slightly off-putting for me!
    Stephanie | theFantasia Recently Posted: Review | Make Up For Ever HD Cream Blush.

  26. They are all nice colours!
    Rikki Recently Posted: SHOW & TELL: Sugarpill Chromalust – Smitten

  27. Avatar of Vanessa Vanessa

    So happy you are reviewing these! <3

  28. Avatar of Veronica Veronica

    Yay, you found them! Out of this collection, I grabbed Nude Compliment, so I’m glad to see it getting an A rating. It deserved it. :) The only shade I’ve seen marked as a total miss on most websites is the black cream shadow.

  29. Avatar of Michaela Michaela

    I recently just discovered my love of the color tattoo line when I picked up Barely Branded! I will probably pick some of these up, they look like good bases for the Naked 1 palette, or just to wear all over the lid when I’m feeling lazy! P.S. Inked in Pink is a perfect base for the Naked 3 palette.

  30. I’m loving the look of some of these, especially Nude Compliment and Beige-ing Beauty (though the glitter fallout issue with the latter would keep me from buying it and I’ll probably get Pure Nude instead). Can’t wait to get my hands on Nude Compliment, though. It looks a lot like Benefit Birthday Suit, which I really love.

  31. I was on a no-buy when these appeared at my Rite Aid, and I promptly broke it :-) Really like the colors and formula of these.

  32. They look absolutely fab! Hope they make it into Europe soon as well!

  33. I *wish* we’d get more of these here :-( I think we’re still on the original set (with the teal and the silver and the purple and the bronze) I would love more neutral shades to use as bases!

    Especially Pure Nude and Nude Compliment!
    Sylirael Recently Posted: The Lipstick Tag… Rogue-Style!

  34. Avatar of kellly kellly

    I was super lucky to hit Rite Aid shortly after these were put out and was able to pick up ALL the shades I wanted. I hauled them all except the black b/c I have half a thousand blacks already. These are staple colors that I will use regularly. I really wish they would make these part of their permanent line. They are classic colors but different enough from other stuff that’s out there. Really nice colors. I was really happy with my haul.

  35. Renata

    Wow! Love them! Do you have any idea if they will be released outside the US? I’m in the UK and we dontseem to get all the shades here. Not in the past anyway. :/

  36. GORGEOUS! Ahhhhhh… Nude compliment.. MUST.. Well all are gorgeous! Nice job!! Beautiful again!

  37. These look perfect, I can’t wait to try them. Thank you!

  38. ZG

    OH GOSH! THERE GOES MY CHECK AGAIN. ONE FOR ME… ONE FOR MY KIT..
    I LOVE MAYBELLINE COLOR TATTOOS.

  39. Avatar of Alison Alison

    Hellooooooooo Nude Compliment!

  40. astrild.r

    I wish these would be released in Spain, but we usually don’t have access to limited editions in the color tattoo family.

  41. These are gorgeous! I definitely think that these will be a welcome addition to the existing Color Tattoos – some of the ones we have in the UK are quite bold, and not perfect for every day wearing, but these…I could wear these all day, every day!

  42. Avatar of Catriona Aubri

    I really hope they make these permanent. The last LEs should have been, so I hope they don’t make the same mistake here. I got lucky and purchased four at the Bed Bath and Beyond and actually wish I’d bought the other two even though they looked warm for me. Thank you for reviewing them!

  43. If Maybelline were cruelty-free, I’d probably be tempted to pick some of these up. I love easy, wash of color products like this for everyday
    Catherine Recently Posted: OSMIA ORGANICS Lip Glosses: Luster, Whisper & Simmer

  44. I LOVE these and can’t find them anywhere….If someone finds out where to buy them online please let me know!

  45. ahhhh omg! I want all of these! I NEED all of these! will totally go hunt for them tomorrow, I hope they’ve hit Switzerland too!

  46. Ka Neal

    I hope you get your hands on the lipsticks and elixirs as well, I’d love to hear what you have to say about them! :)

  47. Love this collection! Now if only they would bring back the mattes, I’d be one happy girl.

    Also, the eye pictures on the last few colors are broken links!

  48. Hate Limited Editions!
    These colors are GORGEOUS!
    I want them all.

    But LE, REALLY? Such nice neutrals. Colors that will surely be a HUGE success!
    They need to put some great mattes in their permanent collection too!

  49. Avatar of Alison Alison

    Ugh, I agree with you completely, Christine! I would love it if they were to make these a part of the permanent collection – they’re such classic shades!

  50. I’m definitely buying all of these when they hit the UK! I’ve got most of the permanent collection already and adore them! I hope they change their minds, realise how popular these will be and make them permanent too.
    Autumn Leaves – UK Beauty Blog

  51. Avatar of Hima Hima

    I couldn’t find these at my Ulta, CVS, or Walgreens. :( I really wanted to get caramel cool and sleek and spice. Hopefully they’ll turn up at my stores within the next week.

    • Aww! I hope next week is lucky for you!

      • Avatar of Hima Hima

        I finally found them at one of my CVS stores! I only got caramel cool. I was going to get sleek & spice or nude compliment but they both looked similar to bad to the bronze. But I’m so excited I finally found them! :)

        • Avatar of Hima Hima

          I lied. I went to walgreens to get something else and they had a display there too so I caved and bought sleek & spice also xD.

  52. Avatar of Jianing jj

    woow! these look amazing!! caramel cool looks so nice…wonder if they’ll come to canada :(!