Thursday, January 9th, 2014

Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color

For spring, Maybelline’s added ten shades of “nude” that range from the very, very palest beige to muted mauves to deep plums. I greatly appreciate that Maybelline considered the spectrum of skin tones when they thought about flesh-colored lipsticks, because what’s “nude” for one skin tone isn’t going to be nude for everyone. I’m working my way through them, and these are the first three I tested (I’ve been testing them in numerical order, just in case you’re waiting for a particular shade to be reviewed). The consistency is creamy, lightly emollient with noticeable slip, and is lightly to moderately hydrating. The wear time depends on the shade (specified below).

Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color ($7.49 for 0.15 oz.) is a very light beige with a pink tint and satin finish. It had semi-opaque color coverage, and it had one of the more unforgiving applications of the shades released in this collection. It tended to catch and emphasize any dryness or imperfections on the lips, so it is imperative to exfoliating prior applyling to this. It is also difficult to keep it in place and looking even, as the color tended to bunch up on itself and leave lines. I patted a lot of the color into place with my fingertip, and you can see lines from my fingerprints! This shade wore well for three hours on me. MAC Pret-a-Pretty (LE, $16.00) is pinker. MAC Ruffian Naked (LE, $16.00) is slightly grayer. MAC Myth (P, $16.00) is similar. MAC Innocence Beware (LE, $16.00) is darker, pinker. MAC Fleshpot (P, $16.00) less pink. See comparison swatches.

Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color ($7.49 for 0.15 oz.) is a light-medium peach with a smidgen of rosiness to its tone and satin finish. It had semi-opaque pigmentation when applied to the lips, and like Bare All, it wasn’t the most forgiving of textures/finishes. The color wore well for three hours on me. Tom Ford Beauty Blush Nude (P, $49.00) is pinker. MAC Luxe Natural (P, $22.00) is warmer. MAC Innocence Beware (LE, $16.00) is slightly pinker. MAC Crème d’Nude (P, $16.00) is slightly warmer. Buxom Nudist (P, $21.00) is very similar. See comparison swatches.

Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color ($7.49 for 0.15 oz.) is a light-medium peachy beige with neutral-to-warm undertones and a satin finish. It had mostly opaque color with slight translucency. The texture was more forgiving on the lips, but I did have some issues with getting it to stay in place and look even, as the consistency is just thick enough with enough slip that can bunch up. Nude Lust lasted three and a half hours on me. MAC Luxe Natural (P, $22.00) is similar. MAC Crème d’Nude (P, $16.00) is lighter. Giorgio Armani #111 (P, $32.00) is shimmery. Bobbi Brown Uber Beige (P, $24.00) is pinker. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

P
product

Bare All (910)

B-

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Blushing Beige (915)

B-

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Nude Lust (920)

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Bare All (910) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Blushing Beige (915) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color

Maybelline Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color
Maybelline Nude Lust (920) ColorSensational Lip Color

The Dupe List: Bare All (910)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Blushing Beige (915)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Nude Lust (920)

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

91 thoughts on “Maybelline Bare All, Blushing Beige, Nude Lust ColorSensational Lip Color Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. That first lipstick makes it look like you’ve been out in that snowstorm you ‘mericans have for too long.

  2. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Emi Emi

    I’m glad you’re swatching these, I am very interested but can’t figure out which shades would work well on me. Definitely looking forward to seeing the darker shades.
    Emi Recently Posted: L’oreal Colour Riche Extraordinaire Lip Color Swatches & Quick Review

  3. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Lucina Lucina

    You look so beautiful, Christine!

  4. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Angela Angela

    I am so glad you are reviewing and swatching these for us, thank you!!
    Can’t wait to see the last half of the line; those are going to be more for our skintone and look so pretty!! :-)

  5. Sarah

    Do these have a smell? Ive had to return maybelline lipsticks before because of the overwhelming plastic-y, artificial scent.

  6. I like that they made so many shades of nude, but I think I’ll have to pass. I’m more of a red lipstick girl anyway.

  7. Wow these really are nude haha. I love this range of lipsticks, but I prefer something with more color for myself.

  8. Pretty colors in the tube, I’m sure they’re great on some people but I know for me I’d just look dead if I tried to wear these
    Catherine Recently Posted: VEGAN CUTS Beauty Box Review

  9. All three just look too “dead” to me. Not colours I would buy for myself.
    Rikki Recently Posted: Teen Wolf 3B Lydia Martin “Anchors” Makeup Tutorial | closed captioned.

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of artemis Artemis

      Well, they are made for really white skin. There are tons of dark nudes for you to choose from and not enough light ones….especially high quality ones >.<

      • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Christine Christine

        I just started venturing into the nude colors. Being a vibrant color type of person it’s a big jump, one that pleasantly surprised me. I’m just a smidge lighter than Christine so I’m looking forward to her take on some of the darker shades :)

  10. Yikes, Bare All does NOT look good :-S Blushing Beige looks a little better, but still, not a fan.

  11. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rachael Rachael

    Nude Lust looks pretty nice to me.

  12. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Angelina Angelina

    Hi Christine I love all of these on you! Which one do you think is closest to mac a perfect day? I’m trying to find a dupe for that one and blushing beige looks pretty close but I would love your opinion.

  13. I felt the same about the textures of these- they’re just bleh. Thanks for the gorgeous swatches!

  14. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of artemis Artemis

    Great that a drugstore brand finally has made some nude shades that would suit fair skin :D Darker people always have so much nudes to choose from but most look dark on me, for example. Too bad they’d look crappy on dry lips cause of the texture :/

  15. Esme

    Do you think any lipstick in this range would be a good nude for a pale, cool-toned person? Most nudes look too peachy on me.

    • Bare All is definitely not very peachy, and Nude Lust is beige without strong peach tone to it, so maybe those.

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Veronica Veronica

      I’m fair and cool-toned (NW10), and while Bare All wasn’t exactly super warm, it definitely wasn’t entirely cool-toned on me. I prefer NARS Madere as my go-to intense nude.

  16. YES! So excited to see you reviewing these before I pick them up!

    I hope I didn’t skim over it and end up wasting your time for repeating information, but is the scent/taste similar to the Maybelline Vivids? I love the Vivids, but I’m not familiar with Maybelline’s other lip products so I’m not sure if the scent of the Vivids is something that is just baked into all their lip products.

    • The scent is sort of like a sweet caramel, but they’re also waxy – like I can smell some of the scent, some of the base. I don’t notice the scent when applied, but I did notice it in the tube. I find that a lot of the drugstore lipsticks that are scented don’t have a scent that lasts long – like they’re totally gone in a couple of months!

  17. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rae Rae

    I’m not really feeling nude lips right now, but I have to say — I’m really glad that Maybelline is doing their collection like this, with all of the different nudes for different skintones. It seems like a more traditional approach than the L’Oreal Collection Privée nudes (you guys are just getting those now, right?), which felt more MLBB than nude to me. That said, I really loved how wearable the L’Oreal “nudes” were — here’s to hoping some of the darker Maybellines will fare better :)
    Rae Recently Posted: theNotice’s favourite products of 2013 | New Year, New Loves… but here are my favourites from the last one

  18. i saw these in the store today and almost bought one, but couldn’t decide on a color. i’ll be waiting for the rest of your reviews. even though i’m pale, i think these three would make me look like death!

  19. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Stephanie Stephanie

    I have Nude Lust, and have used it almost everyday for the past 2 weeks. I love it. For me I have found that with nude colored lipsticks you have to use a dark colored lip liner to use in conjunction with the lipstick. It’s almost like “contouring” your lips. Like your face, if you don’t contour you will just look stark and that lip liner will add dimension. So with this I use UD’s lip liner in Naked. It just looks beautiful. But I can understand that Christine just does the lipstick alone to show the color/texture/wear/etc. of the lipstick.

    • Yay! So happy to hear your loving yours, Stephanie!

      For me to wear a shade as light as some of these, I would wear really OTT eye makeup – like a BLACK smoky eye!

  20. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Veronica Veronica

    I own Bare All from this collection because I like my super-nudes and can pull them off, but like most everything else this line offers, it runs a bit warm on me so I wear it semi-opaque rather than full on, which helps offset any problems of the application. I find the cream formula a tad more comfortable than NARS Madere, but Madere remains my go-to for a really intense smokey eye because it’s definitely cooler-toned and more flattering. I really like the idea of the line and appreciate that it includes nudes for both sides of the color spectrum, but the shade range definitely runs warm-toned. My advice is that people who are very cool-toned may have to be careful if they buy some of them.

    I really like Nude Lust on you, though. I think it would be pretty with an intense smokey eye. :)

  21. Personally i love them all and think they all look great on you Christine! I will be purchasing them all this week!

  22. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Cat Cat

    Ohhh, this is exciting! I am trying to find at least one (or two) nude lipsticks for my collection and I have enjoyed the Maybelline Vivids, so I’m happy they are coming out with with some nudes too. Can’t wait to see the rest– of these I like Nude Lust. Definitely going to hunt these down!

  23. My goodness, that first shade is a challenging one in all respects! :-)

    I have yet to find a ‘nude’ lipstick that looks even remotely nice on me – but I think the last one looks nice on you, Christine!
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Treasures from Waters Deep – A Glittering Gradient with OPI Eurso Euro and Last Friday Night

  24. Only the last one seems to fit somebody…The rest ist way to pale o.O

  25. YAY! I’m so happy you’re reviewing these, thank you, thank you, thank you! I’m trying to figure out which ones I want but I really didn’t want to go through the buy, try, return process… Sadly one of the colors I possibly wanted (Truffle Tease) already sold out at my local Walgreens. The display only has two of each color, meh. Glad I saw the Nude Lust on you…It’d be too blah on me. Most of the ones I want are on the darker range so I’ll be over here all anxious and expectant!

  26. Bare All is so light! I can’t imagine someone so light that would use it really.
    Kiara Recently Posted: MAC Tempting Eyeshadow | Review and Swatch

  27. Liz

    Yikes, none of them are flattering in my opinion. I have seen swatches of some of the darker shades and some of them look okay. I’m looking forward to others in the range.

  28. Miss J

    So great to see these reviewed! I was wondering about these just the other day. I think Nude Lust looks the best, but so far I’m not feeling the urge to go purchase. Bare All is the kind of nude that just makes me unreasonably irritable to view, lol.

  29. I wish I’d seen this before I bought. I was so intrigued by the concept. One person’s opinion…they are all too brown to be called “nude”. I bought 5 and didn’t like any on me! Brown isn’t so flattering with my coloring. And, I even posted a video and got comments saying the same about the colors on me and how they looked on others (brown!). Some might love these colors. I have blue eyes, blonde hair and skin with a yellow undertone. I’d love to hear otherwise from people who felt differently.
    Such a great concept! I really wish it worked better on me!!!

  30. Kat

    I’ve been waiting with bated breath on your review of the Buffs! I swear my heart skipped a beat when I scrolled down and saw that header. It’s crazy how excited we get about makeup :)

  31. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

    True beige nudes are few & far between, so I’m glad to see these! I came across these a couple of weeks ago, but passed them over, not knowing if they would pull too peach/orange, but now I’m regretting it. At least they’re permanent! I really appreciate the swatches, and although I’ve seen a few others, yours are among the few I trust 100%, and noone else had any of the really pale shades.

    I really don’t need any more nude lipstick, but I just can’t help myself…

  32. I am so happy you are reviewing these. I saw the display at CVS today and was thinking about picking a couple up, but wasn’t sure which ones to go with. I think these three look a little too light for me, so I’m glad I waited. Can’t wait for the rest of the reviews! Your swatches help so much. Thanks, Christine!

  33. shufen

    Probably not for me!!! I look really sick with nude lipsticks :( But thanks for the swatches :)

  34. These shades will make me look like a corpse, and I have great admiration for people who can pull them off. :)

  35. Well, I have Myth and Creme d’Nude, so I guess I wouldn’t need these even if I wanted them!

  36. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Andie auroragyps

    I’ve been looking for a good nude and Bare All might work on my super pale skin. The skin around my lips always appears to be lighter than the rest of my face, so almost any lip color I put on makes that area look odd… like I rubbed a lighter concealer over it. As for super dark colors, forget it, because I look like a Goth corpse.

  37. I actually bought Bare All today, I love it! It goes on a bit patchy so I just pat it on and layer a gloss over it and it looks great. I’m really glad I got it, it’s nearly impossible for me to find a good nude lipstick since I’m so pale.

    • What gloss did you layer over it, Alex?

      Happy to hear you found a beige for you!

      • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

        I picked up Bare All specifically to wear under glosses, but I find it works well over other nudes that were just too warm/dark. It’s not the greatest on it’s own, but I think it will get a lot of use!

  38. I’ve been creating my own “perfect nude lipstick” for my NW10/13 skin using Viva Glam II lipstick layered over Crème de Nude. Yesterday I got Nude Lust and it’s perfect! Come to find out, it is identical to my little concoction, no wonder I love it! =)

  39. Rachael

    I haven’t through all comments but bare all is also a great dupe for supremely confident sheen supremely which I seriously watched high and low for a cheaper version of the colour because of how fast I use up those type lippies. I even tried something…lol but at least I have it now.