Monday, August 12th, 2013

Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation
Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation

Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation ($48.00 for 1.0 fl. oz.) is supposed to be a gel-based formula that is “anti-aging, long-wearing” and “awakens your skin to its ideal radiance and clarity.” The coverage is supposed to be buildable from natural to full coverage, and it is supposed to have “supreme hydration.”

I tried Ivory Medium (14), which is most certainly not my shade (it appears to be the second lightest shade in the spectrum). I’ve included a photo below, but it’s a very sheer application so that most my natural skin tone can come through more and ended up having to apply loose powder (in a shade just darker than my natural skin tone) to make it presentable. Ivory Medium has a soft yellow undertone and a natural satin finish. It’s a little lighter than my forearm, which is light-medium. The very first thing you absolutely need to know is that this foundation is heavily fragranced–one of the most perfumed formulas I have tried. I don’t even remember Chanel being this scented. It smelled like stale flowers to me, but I’m not keen on floral scents (there just seemed to be something off about the scent, though), and I loathed wearing this foundation for every second because of the lingering, all-day scent.

From afar, the foundation looks fine, photographs nicely without any flashback. It has a lightly thickened liquid consistency that spreads evenly across the skin and has a wet, cool feel. It’s completely unforgiving to dry patches, though, and I thought maybe it would be more forgiving after a few hours (because this is touted as hydrating), but it just got worse. I have normal-to-dry skin, but this accentuated any dryness to the point where anyone talking to me would notice the foundation clinging to each piece of imperfect skin. Part of this seemed to be ensuring not to apply more than a light layer of product, and the best way to apply this was with a sponge (like a Beautyblender) over a brush, as most brushes seemed to give it a rather streaky finish. I was able to build to about medium coverage, but it starts to look thick and slightly caked on the skin.

It wears eight hours well, and then it starts looking faded/patchy in places (beyond just the drier areas) after ten hours of wear, so the wear-time was good. I wouldn’t say much longer than average, and I live in a dry climate (California), so I can’t say I’ve tested this under extreme conditions.

Marc Jacobs Bright Idea Remedy Concealer Pen ($39.00 for 0.08 oz.) is described as “an all-in-one eraser, brightener, and corrector.” It’s available in nine shades, and the one I tried was Bright Idea, which is a universal shade. It’s a pale pink with warm, pink undertones. It worked well to camouflage dark under eye circles and smudges (I’m wearing it on my left eye, which is on your right). The consistency is thin, not as thin as water but still quite liquid. It offers light-medium to medium coverage, and it takes a few minutes to really set in place. I would recommend applying, and then checking as you continue to do your makeup or get ready to blend the product again, because it will settle into creases as it sets. Once I’ve let it set and blended away any initial creasing, it doesn’t settle into my fine lines for the rest of the seven hours it wears well. After seven hours, the darkness seems to come back slowly but surely over the next few hours. It comes in a click-type pen, and the applicator is made out of palladium, so it is cool to the touch.

The Glossover

product

Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation

C-

I have normal-to-dry skin, but this accentuated any dryness to the point where anyone talking to me would notice the foundation clinging to each piece of imperfect skin. Part of this seemed to be ensuring not to apply more than a light layer of product, and the best way to apply this was with a sponge (like a Beautyblender) over a brush, as most brushes seemed to give it a rather streaky finish. I was able to build to about medium coverage, but it starts to look thick and slightly caked on the skin.

Product

6/10

Pigmentation

7/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

3.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
product

Remedy Concealer Pen

B-

I would recommend applying, and then checking as you continue to do your makeup or get ready to blend the product again, because it will settle into creases as it sets. Once I've let it set and blended away any initial creasing, it doesn't settle into my fine lines for the rest of the seven hours it wears well.

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation
Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation

Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation
Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation

Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation
Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation

Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation
Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation

Marc Jacobs Bright Idea Remedy Concealer Pen
Marc Jacobs Bright Idea Remedy Concealer Pen

Marc Jacobs Bright Idea Remedy Concealer Pen
Marc Jacobs Bright Idea Remedy Concealer Pen

Marc Jacobs Bright Idea Remedy Concealer Pen
Marc Jacobs Bright Idea Remedy Concealer Pen

Marc Jacobs Bright Idea Remedy Concealer Pen
Marc Jacobs Bright Idea Remedy Concealer Pen

Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation
Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation + Medium Loose Powder (Bright Idea underneath eye on your right)

Product & Review FAQ

What makeup are you wearing?

On eyes: Marc Jacobs The Mod Palette, Marc Jacobs Intro(vert) Eyeliner. On cheeks: Marc Jacobs Irresistible Blush. On lips: Marc Jacobs Seduce Me.

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

49 thoughts on “Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation & Remedy Concealer Pen Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. yellowlantern

    I don’t foresee myself running out to get this (especially because of the strong fragrance), but would you say this foundation might be more suited to people with oily skin? Or do you think this would perform poorly on that skin type as well?

    • I was thinking it might be better for oily skin types as I was testing it, since it did so poorly on my skin type (normal-to-dry), but I would worry that it is too heavy for oilier skin types. I’m also slightly concerned that since it didn’t wear extra long on me (given I am not oily), it might not last beyond average for oily skin types. Hopefully more reviews will trickle out in the next few weeks from other skin types!

  2. If this clings to dry patches, this foundation is definitely not for me. But you’re right, it did photograph nicely.

  3. Dominique

    Marc Jacobs makeup will be a huge pass for me, thank you for your review, well C- a good reason for purchasing from other high end brands !

  4. Too bad it was so drying on you :-( I wonder how it would look on my oily skin…

  5. Interesting that for a product that’s supposed to be hydrating, the foundation seems to cause so many problems for dry skin. (I’ve read other reviews that have said the same thing, which would indicate that the issue goes beyond any one person’s preferences.) I often wonder how these things get through the development process with really obvious flaws like that.

    I don’t lack for foundation options, but I was really hoping that this one would be interesting enough to try it out. I think the idea of a gel formula appealed to me. (Although, to be honest, I had an allergic reaction to Mac’s gel-formula foundation, so perhaps this was just not meant to be…)

    • Yes — totally why I was particularly frustrated with this one… if it’s hydrating, why is it so horrible on dry skin? I don’t even have truly dry skin – normal-to-dry with occasional, slight dryness on cheeks/eyes, maybe around the nose. I’m closer to normal (since it’s summer), so I couldn’t understand it at all. I kept thinking, “maybe this is for oily skin types,” but then I read the full description, and was like, “okay, maybe not…”

  6. The foundation does photograph nicely, however, If someone your age is having issues with the formula drawing attention to dry patches, then I feel absolutely zero need to give this foundation a go. Thanks for the review :D I really do not like the effect of the concealer. It reads too pink to me and I prefer the eye without it actually.

  7. pockykami

    That foundation sounds really bad. I wish companies wouldn’t add so much fragrance, it can be very irritating.

  8. Tara

    Damn, I was going to get some stuff from Sephora but I will wait to hear if my friends say the same about the foundation, have you tried other products from the line- nail polishes, lip colour? Would love to know your thoughts.

  9. helen

    Not all designers can create a good makeup line. GA and (lots of) Tom Ford cosmetics are the exceptions.

    • I have found MJB to have some great products, some good ones, and then some I didn’t care for – which is par for the course for any brand, including Giorgio Armani and TF (for me, in my experience).

  10. Elizabeth

    I actually bought the same shade as you I ended up loving it! I have not detected a smell at all but now I cant wait to go home and smell the foundation hahaha

    • What kind of skin type do you have, Elizabeth? The smell lingered allll day for me. I couldn’t not smell it. I wish I couldn’t smell it! I don’t even have a particular keen sense of smell (not a true nose in the least bit, but I CAN smell, lol!).

      • Janeen

        You know, I just got back from Sephora because I went to do the Color IQ and ended up being a Golden Deep (46) in this foundation. The lady was raving about it but all I could think about was your review, Christine. However, I let her apply it on my face since it matched well and dear lord it looked gorgeous. Almost didn’t want to wash my face tonight because of how it looked. Even my boyfriend was like “wow”, it looked flawlessly natural. I will say I only had it on for maybe 1.5 hours so I don’t know how it’ll look throughout the day. Also, I have oily skin, so that might be the difference.
        Oh, also, didn’t notice a smell at all during application or wear. I got a sample so if my opinion changes during use, I will let you know :)

        • I’m glad it’s working out better for you, Janeen! :) The biggest issue I had with it was the finish/way it clung to skin, so even though it’s supposed to be good for dehydrated skin, maybe it’s not but still works well for oilier skin types :)

  11. Veronica

    Such a shame that it emphasizes dry skin! I generally prefer my foundations sheer, so I had high hopes for this. Ah well, guess that saves my wallet some trouble. ;)

  12. Katie

    So disappointed this got a C-! Oh well, at least your reviews are honest! :)

  13. Irina

    I’m actually happy and relieved you didn’t score them higher! I’ve been wanting to try them, but couldn’t reconcile purchasing a Marc Jacobs item when I’ve been reading about his use of dog fur in certain clothing products (and I don’t even want to mention how they obtain said fur). Moral dilemma averted – thank you, Christine!

    • VickyM

      Seriously? So Marc Jacobs is Cruella De Vil?

      • Bella

        I remember the story! It was maybe like 2 or 3 years ago (I can’t remember) and what happened was there was a Marc by Marc Jacobs coat that on the tag said Faux Fur but it turns out it had some faux fur and some dog fur or something like that.

  14. Alejandra

    While these two particular products may not be the best, I’m still intrigued by Marc’s line.You are really selling that lipstick and eyeliner Christine! They look beautiful on you.

  15. Valerie C.

    I’m going to pass on these. Thanks for the reviews. I’m fair, oily, sensitive and need coverage.

  16. Amber M.

    I don’t think I’ll buy the cosmetics, but the brushes look awesome! I’ll definitely pick up the brozer brush and one of the foundation brushes to replace the Sigma crap I wasted money on!!!

  17. Danielle

    It sucks that this foundation has a heavy fragrance- I’ve heard great things about gel foundations concerning staying power, which is something I need since i live in a humid climate.

  18. em13

    I tested the foundation in store yesterday and agree with you that it emphasizes dry patches! Initially thought it did not blend because I had sunscreen on (but otherwise bare faced, no makeup), but I compared the Nars TM on the other half of my face and it blends wonderfully. I got a sample anyway to see if it works better with beautyblender.

  19. What a pity! From a distance, the foundation certainly does look nice — Really nice, even. It makes me wonder if it’s a good idea for you to include cropped or close-up shots on foundation/primer/concealer review, just so us readers can actually see the texture of the product while worn. (although that would mean extra work for you)

    • I had to use additional products – the loose powder – which dramatically altered the result (I included it for the concealer, as I disclosed I had to use a colored, loose powder to wear the foundation in photos). Normally, I don’t bother testing something that is 3-5 shades too light/dark for me, but since this is newer (and more anticipated), I wore it at home for testing of the formula, but I couldn’t take photos of it alone on my skin to share!

  20. Jalesa

    The foundation is supposed to be applied with the hand (I found that to have much better results), and possibly go over with the beautyblender for smoothing purposes if necessary.

    • I tried fingertips first, actually :) I usually apply a lot of foundations with fingertips, but I didn’t have good luck with fingertips or brushes – sponge was the only one that was decent!

      This is what was listed in the press release for the liquid foundation: “Best applied with the Face I ($48) Liquid Foundation Brush.” (Which makes sense, since they only came out with a few brushes, including that one, which Sephora has described as “Achieve the perfect canvas for your makeup ritual with The Face I, a foundation brush expertly designed with tapered bristles that blend as they brush, never leaving streaks or smudges. Designed specifically for use with Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation, this perfectly balanced brush is the first step to a flawless face.”) I don’t have the brush, but I did try using a synthetic foundation brush (similar in shape) when I used the foundation – so maybe their brush is better suited for this :)

  21. Wendy

    Wow i got a sample of this foundation tried it and loved it. No problems applying it and there was no smell.

  22. Regina

    what a disappointment.. :(

  23. Cayla29s

    I just got a sample of this and I am definitely going to test it out as soon as I can. I have combo/oily skin a bit more on the oilier side this summer. I was actually more drawn to this foundation since It was yellow based. I think I got the last 3rd darkest shade. I will let you know how it works out for me.

  24. I was so excited when this line came out!
    It so sad that its all so disappointing.

  25. Too bad it’s heavily scented! A C- rating from a luxury/high end brand is not good enough. I’ll stick with my Chanel VA foundation instead.

  26. BeckBeck

    Reading this makes me glad I couldn’t match myself in this foundation, since my biggest skin issue is dry patches and flaking. I have a little bit of a foundation addiction, but Ivory Medium seemed a hair dark for me, whereas the lightest shade (Ivory) was crazy pale.

  27. Too bad these don’t perform better. The packaging is all really really pretty and sleek

  28. The fragrance killed it for me. I got a sample from Sephora, and the color match was good. BUT WHY does it have that strong scent? I couldn’t smell my perfume over the stink of the foundation!!!!

  29. Emma

    I find it strange how a company can go through a whole development process and still end up with a sub-par product, especially when they’re putting this kind of price tag on it.

  30. I have used this for three days and haven’t had any issues with it emphasizing dryness. No uneven finish at all. I am using it sometimes with a brush (Urban Decay or Shiseido foundation brushes, not a paddle brush), sometimes with my fingers, buff slightly with a Beauty Blender and then use Chanel Les Beiges in the centre of the face in no. 20, and 30 as a bronzer on the cheeks. There is a faint smell upon first applying but nothing lasting and I am pretty sensitive to smells. And I don’t really find it disagreeable. I really like the finish and to my surprise, have had a number of compliments on how nice my skin looks since I’ve worn it. I am wondering if the issue may be inconsistency in manufacturing?

  31. Bernice

    Too bad it didn’t work for you Christine but I have to agree with your review because even in the picture I can tell it’s really dry looking on the sides of your face > <

  32. carla shibayama

    how pretty this looks…..

  33. Ashley

    I LOVE this gel foundation! I have naturally ruddy and sensitive skin. I have less than 3 pimples on my face typically, and I do not need a lot of coverage. I usually am a powder wearer (Bare Minerals), but I have noticed that the powder is not filling in the dimples on my chin (I kind of have a golf-ball chin), so I have been looking for a liquid foundation. Sephora performed the Pantone color match on me, and found my shade. I would recommend this, I am so bad at picking out foundation, I always think I am super-tan, when I am really quite pale ;). I have naturally dry skin, so a moisturizer is a must for me. $50 is a pretty steep price to pay for foundation, but 1-2 drops covers my whole face for the entire day, I anticipate the bottle lasting 3-4 months. I just used my regular foundation brush to apply it. It has buildable coverage, and it covered up all of my blemishes, and ruddy face. My face is a little clearer than it was before I started using it, too. When the employee at Sephora was doing the make-over on me, I actually had a crowd gathering around the chair I was at and three other people wanted to try it. My mother-in-law saw it on me and bought it the next day. She noted that it did not clump in the lines on her face, and she looked much younger and refreshed. I will be buying it again the second it runs out. It is definitely worth a shot.