Monday, November 18th, 2013

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder
Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder ($59.00 for 0.38 oz.) is described as a “multidimensional powder [that] flatters all skin tones by diffusing light and minimizing imperfections.” There are three colors within the palette, though you could certainly use them in any combination. Practically, it’s easier to use the highlighter on its own, and then using the two more contour-hued shades together, as an average-sized blush brush doesn’t fit well into a single stripe without getting a little of what was next to it as well. The palette comes with a gold overspray, which will last a use or less, so I brushed it off entirely before swatching or using the powder. I wore the lightest shade as more of a highlighter with the less shimmery, more brown-ish shades as a blush and contour, respectively, and the highlighter seemed to fade faster than the others–at around seven hours–while the other two lasted a bit longer but not for a full eight hours. The powder is quite generously-sized, though, at 0.38 oz., but the performance could be better across the board.

Close-Up #1 is a pale, shimmering white with a subtle, cool, almost gray-ish, undertone. It had fairly good color payoff, but the texture was a little powdery, and it may be chalky against deeper complexions. I applied this to the cheekbone (with the other shades below as more of a contour), and it was very reflective, almost metallic, and did somewhat emphasize pores. Urban Decay Naked (P, $29.00) is more sparkly but the two are similar. Kevyn Aucoin Candlelight (P, $44.00) is warmer. NARS Albatross (P, $29.00) has a stronger gold sheen/cast. Chanel Lumiere Sculptee de Chanel Highlighting Powder (LE, $72.00) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Close-Up #2 is a medium brown with soft, warm tan undertones and a satin finish. It had decent to good color payoff, and the texture was soft and finely-milled and not too powdery. This will be a better fit for lighter skin tones than mine as it really disappears on my medium complexion. Too Faced Spice (LE) is darker. NARS Laguna (P, $36.00) is darker. NARS Madly (P, $29.00) is rosier, darker. MAC Sun Dipped (LE, $30.00) is darker. See comparison swatches.

Close-Up #3 is a golden, medium brown with a pale, yellow gold sheen. It had so-so pigmentation, but the texture was on the more powdery side. It’s soft, blendable, and easy-to-apply, though. Too Faced Spice (LE) is darker. MAC Gold Go Lightly (LE, $28.00) is warmer. MAC Sun Dipped (LE, $30.00) is redder in tone. Illamasqua Disobey (P, $26.00) is more matte, warmer. See comparison swatches.

For your reference, I also included swatches of the two brown shades blended together as well as all three shades together! The similarities in color with the two brown shades made them look almost like the same color, depending on the lighting, and the sizing of each component doesn’t lend itself to really individualized use.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Close-Up (302)

C+
I wore the lightest shade as more of a highlighter with the less shimmery, more brown-ish shades as a blush and contour, respectively, and the highlighter seemed to fade faster than the others--at around seven hours--while the other two lasted a bit longer but not for a full eight hours. The powder is quite generously-sized, though, at 0.38 oz., but the performance could be better across the board.

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Close-Up #1

C+

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

8/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

7/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Close-Up #2

B

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder
Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder
Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder
Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder
Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder
Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder
Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder
Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder
Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder
Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder – Browns blended

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder
Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder – All blended

Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder
Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder

The Dupe List: Close-Up #1

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Close-Up #2

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Close-Up #3

See More Dupes

Product & Review FAQ

What makeup are you wearing?

On face: Guerlain Tenue de Perfection foundation + Guerlain Les Violettes Pressed Powder. On lips: Tom Ford Rouge Fatal.

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

11 thoughts on “Marc Jacobs Beauty Close-Up (302) Lightshow Luminizing Powder Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Avatar of jess Jess Scull

    You just saved me a ton of money – Thank you!

  2. hopes

    can you please recommend which is the best illuminator..watts up, high beam, etc? thanks love your work btw

    • Are you looking for the best Benefit highlighter?

      • hopes

        sorry for the late reply, for some reason i kept posting and wouldn’t go through..as for the highlighter or illuminator i want something easy, and quick to use..not necessarily professional level..im a mom and love my makeup fast, fresh and easy to look natural…while on that topic, what is your opinion on too faced natural face palette..and also, if i were to pick only one urban decay naked palette, which one should i buy, one two or three? thanks i adore your blog your so good, sweet and talented! keep up the good work

        • Hi Hopes!

          I don’t think I’ve tried the Natural Face palette by TF… From urban Decay, if you want something “fresh,” my guess would be N3 as it is lighter overall (the other two are more dramatic).

  3. For that price, I want it to make me look great AND come and clean my shower or rake up the leaves in my garden!

  4. Avatar of Elena PianoGirl1985

    Yick, for THAT kind of money this looks to be a crappy product. How dissapointing. I’ll buy Hourglass instead!

  5. What a bummer! It looks so pretty too :-/

  6. It’s a shame the formula isn’t better because it’s so beautiful in the pan and on you. The glow is just gorgeous! I wish Close Up looked this nice on me. I swatched it at Sephora and it was a chalky mess on me with like no shimmer. I was so disappointed!

  7. Avatar of Malia Malia

    I just spotted the brand yesterday and I was going t o buy it… Whew That was a close one lol! I did get an eye palette but I’m kinda disappointed in the flimsy packaging.