Thursday, August 21st, 2014

MAC x The Simpsions Lipglasses
MAC x The Simpsions Lipglasses

There are four new, limited edition shades of MAC Lipglass ($16.00 for 0.17 fl. oz.) featured in the upcoming collaboration with The Simpsons, which releases online on August 28th and in-stores on September 4th.  I think seeing these made me long for lipsticks, too, as MAC often does lipgloss and lipstick pairing.  Over the years, it’s often their limited edition lipstick shades that sell out the quickest, and I kept thinking, “What would they have created to pair with yellow lipgloss?”

MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass ($16.00 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is described as a “bright creamy orange.” It’s a slightly muted, medium orange with warm undertones and a creamy, glossy finish. It had mostly opaque color coverage that just slightly settled into lip lines (but it wasn’t too noticeable). It lasted for four hours on me when I tested it. NYX Cherry Cheesecake (P, $5.00) is slightly brighter. NARS Wonder (P, $26.00) is darker, brighter. MAC Live It Up (LE, $15.00) is lighter. MAC Cheerful (P, $22.00) is redder. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass ($16.00 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is described as an “electric blue violet.” It’s a brightened, fuchsia magenta with cool, blue undertones and violet shimmer. It had mostly opaque color coverage, and it applied evenly and smoothly. The color wore well for five hours. MAC Unlimited Style (LE, $15.00) is lighter. MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) (LE, $15.00) is brighter. Urban Decay Crush (P, $19.00) is purpler. MAC Style Packed (LE, $15.00) is less shimmery. MAC Heroine (LE, $15.00) is less shimmery. MAC Embrace Me (LE, $15.00) is pinker. MAC Narcissus (LE, $20.00) is less shimmery, purpler. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass ($16.00 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is described as a “bright neon lime yellow.” It’s a bright, green-tinged yellow–like highlighter yellow–with faint yellow pearl. Applied, it turns my lips more of a yellow-orange kind of color, as it had semi-sheer color coverage. This applied horribly; it settled into lip lines, was impossible to even out, and in general, a very fussy lip color. If you apply a very small amount (less than one pull of gloss), you might get semi-decent evenness in the application. On me, it wore for three hours. I could only think of one other yellow gloss: MAC Bright Side (LE, $15.00), which is lighter. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Red Blazer Lipglass ($16.00 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is described as a “bright fuchsia.” It’s a bright, fuchsia-red with pink pearl and subtle, cool undertones. It had fairly opaque pigmentation, and it applied evenly and smoothly. It lasted for five hours on me. MAC Glam (LE, $15.00) is redder. Revlon Adorned (P, $7.49) is more opaque. Giorgio Armani #523 (P, $29.00) is redder. Milani Flashy (DC, $6.49) is cooler-toned, more shimmery. MAC Embrace Me (LE, $15.00) is lighter. Giorgio Armani #505 (P, $29.00) is redder. Burberry Pink Sweet Pea (LE, $27.00) is slightly cooler-toned. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

LE
product

Grand Pumpkin

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Nacho Cheese Explosion

C-

Product

6.5/10

Pigmentation

8/10

Texture

7/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

2.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass
MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass

MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass
MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass

MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass
MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass

MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass
MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass

MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass
MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass

MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass
MAC Grand Pumpkin Lipglass

MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass
MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass

MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass
MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass

MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass
MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass

MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass
MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass

MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass
MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass

MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass
MAC Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy Lipglass

MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass
MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass

MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass
MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass

MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass
MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass

MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass
MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass

MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass
MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass

MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass
MAC Nacho Cheese Explosion Lipglass

MAC Red Blazer Lipglass
MAC Red Blazer Lipglass

MAC Red Blazer Lipglass
MAC Red Blazer Lipglass

MAC Red Blazer Lipglass
MAC Red Blazer Lipglass

MAC Red Blazer Lipglass
MAC Red Blazer Lipglass

MAC Red Blazer Lipglass
MAC Red Blazer Lipglass

MAC Red Blazer Lipglass
MAC Red Blazer Lipglass

The Makeup Look

On face: Giorgio Armani Maestro Foundation, Urban Decay Naked Loose Finishing Powder.

The Dupe List: Grand Pumpkin

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Nacho Cheese Explosion

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Leave a Reply

Share your latest blog post when you comment by Registering or Logging In!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of new posts by E-Mail.

132 thoughts on “MAC x The Simpsons Lipglasses Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Oh, Grand Pumpkin looks pretty.
    Rikki Recently Posted: Dramatic Eyeliner for Hooded Lids

  2. I’m actually kind of digging that Grand Pumpkin.
    Miki Recently Posted: NC and Tokyo do NYC

  3. Gina

    I am surprised at how much I like 3 out of the 4 (NOT the yellow!) on you!

  4. Avatar of Tamika Tamika

    I really love Grand Pumpkin, Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy and Red Blazer, but I don’t use lipglasses often enough to justify buying them. I’ll probably get Red Blazer alone.

  5. love grand pumpkin! I would have enjoyed seeing that colour as a lipstick

  6. Avatar of Jackie Garcia Jaclyn

    I wanted to see if Itchy and Scratchy was a dupe for my Mac Wonder Woman Athena’s Kiss lipgloss but it didn’t have a comparison swatch picture. Would you call these two dupes? Thanks!

  7. Ooooh. Grand Pumpkin is lovely!

  8. I want all but the cray-cray yellow color! So pretty :)

    • Not a surprise that the yellow isn’t popular, lol! It is a funky color, but the application just makes it awful. I could see it working over some lipsticks, though.

  9. I actually cringed when I read the shade descriptor for Nacho Cheese Explosion awhile back. Should have gone with a gold shade instead. lol

    I love the Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy one though.
    Ani_BEE Recently Posted: Stila In the Light Palette and Smudge Stick in Damsel : Swatches & Review.

  10. Avatar of Veronica Veronica

    What the heck kind of name is Itchy and Scratchy and Sexy?? Like, they just had to throw in that last adjective to, I don’t know, assure women they’d look hot in it? It’s a pretty color, but I’m not sure I want wear something that sounds like it warrants a trip to the VD clinic. (God help you if you own Guerlains Browny Clap, too!)

    Nacho Cheese was an expected miss (go big or go home, MAC), and I really like Red Blazer.
    Not extensively fond of the packaging but glad to see some decent glosses from them.

  11. anne

    Oh wow i really like grand pumpkin!! that’s the one that i didn’t think i would like, aside from the yellow lol. but i think it would make a nice nude lipstick topper.

  12. Red Blazer is beautiful!
    Agata Recently Posted: My Makeup Story

  13. Nacho Cheese Explosion? Seriously? Hate the color but the name is cute :-) Red Blazer looks really pretty though.

  14. Rocelle

    Wow, are you wearing the Pink Sprinkles blush on that picture of Nacho Cheese Explosion? You look gorgeous!

  15. For some reason, I find the Nacho Cheese very interesting! haha But I doubt it will suit my natural lip tone. I love the Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy on you! Thanks for the swatches!!!
    Laarni Recently Posted: Dovie Sunnies by Sunnies Studio

  16. Ginny

    I do like the purple one. Why the heck didn’t they do any lipsticks??

  17. I planned on skipping this collection but I do like the way Grand Pumpkin and Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy looks. I wanted to like Nacho Cheese Explosion but after Playland and Brightside I knew it wouldn’t turn out too great. It’s too bad because it’s a really unique and pretty color
    fancie Recently Posted: Look What’s Coming to Milani this Fall!

  18. I am surprised at the Grand pumpkin. .really pretty on u! i am even more excited about the 2 pink glossed with your lip swatches. Beautiful! !

  19. Avatar of Lisa Lisa

    I really thought I was going to need Red Blazer, but now that I’ve seen it, I’m not blown away. Definitely need Revlon Adorned instead.

  20. Was hoping more of these would be more opaque. I know they’re a gloss but I’m sure a lot of people will have fun with these!

  21. Ooh, I love Grand Pumpkin! Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy is pretty too, just not something I’d wear. As for Nacho Cheese Exposion.. NOPE! The name really turns me off too lol
    Jade Recently Posted: Sephora 2014 MAKE UP FOR EVER Birthday Set Review & Swatches

  22. Avatar of Joanna Joanna

    Maybe I’m crazy, but I don’t like Marge’s expression on the packaging. Like she is displeased or has a furrowed brow.

  23. Omg I’m gonna need Grand Pumpkin and Itchy and Scratchy!

  24. I don’t think we are getting the Simpsons Collection and honestly I’m not too sad about it. I was in MAC the other day and was told we will be getting Moody Blooms and A Novel Romance. (we get the collections later than everyone else). Anyway, they didn’t say anything about this collection. Based on what I’ve seen I think Grand Pumpkin was the surprise star of the lip glosses as well. :-)
    Kimmy Recently Posted: My MAC Eyeshadow Collection Palette & Swatches

  25. Itchy and scratchy and sexy looks really pretty.

  26. Al

    I’ve never been a fan of MAC Lipglass (I hate the way they settle in liplines) but I’m shocked to find that I actually really like the way these look, except the yellow, of course. Too bad that yellow was so unimpressive. I would have been all over it if the application had been better. I love lip colors that are different!

  27. Avatar of Rachel R. Rachel R.

    I like Red Blazer and Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy best. Grand Pumpkin is nice. Nacho Cheese Explosion would have to be worn over a lipstick to work at all.

  28. I’m pleasantly surprised how cute all except the yellow are! That yellow though…ugh.

  29. I like all of them but the yellow!

  30. I really wish they had lipsticks with this collection but I’m actually surprised at Grand Pumpkin. Very pretty. I have Heroine and Embrace Me lipglasses but I still want I&S&S and Red Blazer. I feel like such an addict. LOL

  31. Avatar of Renee ReneeP

    Red Blazer, please!

  32. Avatar of Lori Ginger Neko

    MAC also had a sheer lipglass years ago called Dreamstate that was yellow…

  33. Itchy & scratchy & sexy its beautiful! I need to get this! Red blazer looks pretty also! I don’t understand the concept behind yellow gloss but you never know!

  34. Avatar of Cat Cat

    Not surprising the yellow is terrible but the two pinks (or purple and pink?) are gorgeous!

  35. Yup, I figured Red Blazer would be nice! I like being right!
    Erin Recently Posted: La Finca 2013 Tempranillo Review

  36. P. Greenberg

    How does Red Blazer compare to Girl About Town and True Babe lipglosses?

  37. Avatar of Pamela Pamela

    I want everything!!!!

  38. Red Blazer is super pretty! Even though the Nonindicative Name confuses me because it’s not… red?
    Lucia Recently Posted: Review: Juice Beauty Refining Finishing Powder in Sand

  39. ugh i saw this collection at work and i wasn’t impressed when i looked. i wasn’t planning on buying anything anyways though. but that nacho cheese explosion… when i first saw it, my mind went to “liquid baby diarrhea”. i mean, really? but ISS and red blazer are really gorgeous though.

  40. Avatar of shelby shelby

    I’m so surprised with Grand Pumpkin, it looks beautiful.

  41. Grand pumpkin and Red blazer are beautiful shades.. lime green was kind of interesting but formula seems to be unforgiving on lips.. :-/

  42. Chyanne

    Do you not post YT videos anymore? Forgive me if it’s a silly question , but I’m a newbie to the makeup world:)

  43. I love Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy, I can imagine it would be nice pairing with a very deep vampy lip colour like Rebel or Cyber to add a little something extra :)

  44. julia

    Quite nice. MAC lipglasses have a formula I’m not fond of, but I might have to pick one up.

  45. Janelle

    Christine you look great in everything even that ridiculous Nacho Cheese! I think we are going to have to start dressing you in garbage bags or something, but then you could even pull that off :)

  46. Avatar of Helene Helene

    I hope this collection makes here because I really, really want I&S&S and Red Blazer. Both absoloutely well within my comfort zone. I should really try Grand Pumpkin as it’s so not in my zone, a very nice colour, though.
    I actually love MAC lipglasses a lot, I might be very nostalgic, but they feel right to me :)
    Love how you rock all kinds of lipcolours, even the NCE looke OK on you. I love the name of that one, I must say.

  47. Between liquid candy yum yum and a better version of radiant orchid.. The yellow totally warms up the golden in your face, giving you a peaches n cream glow! I love the look on you, you otherworldly creature! ;)

  48. Not gonna lie, I love the Itchy & Scratchy one, and if it weren’t MAC, I would buy it in a second to add to my stash of purples!

    The Nacho Cheese ons is just disappointing. I know it’s a Simpsons collection, but that’s all the more reason to go big or go home on the yellow, right? I think that if they couldn’t formulate an opaque, vinyl yellow (OCC lip tar style), they shoulnd’t have bothered. It would have been so awesome if there had been a bright yellow and a bright blue lipgloss to go with two more ‘wearable’ shades…
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Night of 1001 Rogues: The Sleek Arabian Nights Smoke and Shadows Eyeshadow Palette!

  49. All of these look better than I expected. That is, except the yellow one. It actually really does look like you ate Nacho Cheese and had some leftover grease smeared on your lips!

  50. Avatar of Alana Alana

    How does Red Blazer compare to Girl About Town lipglass?

  51. Avatar of Andie auroragyps

    I wonder how Nacho Cheese Explosion would look over certain shades of orange lipsticks & glosses. Most orange lippes are too dark for me, so I keep looking for a lighter orange shade of gloss that’s opaque, but can be sheered out. This might be what I need to get the shade of tangerine I’m looking for. What do you think, that maybe this would make a better layering gloss?

  52. Luisafer

    Wanted them for fun, but thanks to your review want them!!! They are good and pretty!!!

  53. I needs Red Blazer and Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy

  54. I&S&S is a gorgeous shade, almost looks like a holographic finish – those sparkles, I am hypnotized!!

  55. Avatar of Deb Deb

    Itchy & Scratchy & Sexy is really pretty! That name, though…

  56. I just ordered the Itchy & scratchy! Ugh can’t wait til it comes.

  57. Grand Pumpkin looks very pretty but I’m not sure how it would show up on my “dark” lips.

    I just purchased “itchy and scratchy sexy” and “red blazer”. I hope that I like them. Thank your for the review!

  58. All of the colors look great on you! I love anything coral or orange, so had to have Grand Pumpkin. I grew up watching The Simpsons and still do lol, so there was no way I could leave without grabbing ISS. Red Blazer is pretty but I have so many colors like it. Thanks for the swatches, I always come here to see the colors first. I have no worries ordering online :).