Thursday, April 10th, 2014

MAC Rich Experience Pro Longwear Eyeliner
MAC Rich Experience Pro Longwear Eyeliner

MAC x Proenza Schouler Collection includes Pro Longwear Eyeliners ($21.00 for 0.04 oz.) in two, permanent shades and Pro Longwear Lip Pencils ($21.00 for 0.04 oz.) in two, permanent shades. I’ve reviewed all four of these previously, so you can read about the full reviews for: Pro Longwear Eyeliners and Pro Longwear Lip Pencils. This post only features photos of the pencils in the limited edition packaging, but the colors, textures, etc. are all the same. (I did re-test them, just in case!)

The Pro Longwear Eyeliner formula was disappointing to me, as they appear noticeably faded by the eight-hour mark–not the twelve hours as claimed–and they aren’t waterproof. They have a lightly creamy consistency that is fairly waxy but needs to be built up for opaque color.

Rich Experience is described as a “true brown.” It’s a dark brown with subtle warm undertones and a satin finish. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Black Ice is described as a “rich black.” It’s a medium-dark black with a satin finish and neutral undertones. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Pro Longwear Lip Pencil formula wears long and hard, though they’re pretty uncomfortable to wear by themselves as they cling and feel more like shrink-wrap on the lips. Underneath lipstick, they definitely add anywhere from an hour to three hours of additional wear, depending on the shade, and they don’t seem to interfere with the way the lipstick itself feels/hydrates, so they’re a lot more comfortable to wear with lipstick or lipgloss on top. They have good color payoff and apply quite evenly.

Dynamo is described as a “bright peony.” It’s a brightened, medium-dark pink-coral with a matte finish. MAC Dynamo (P, $19.50) Urban Decay Streak (P, $19.00) is the closest that I could think of, but it is warmer and more orange. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

High Energy is described as a “bright orange-red cream.” It’s a medium-dark, orange-red with warm undertones and a matte finish. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

P
product

Rich Experience

C+

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Black Ice

D+

Product

6/10

Pigmentation

6.5/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Dynamo

A-

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

10/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Rich Experience Pro Longwear Eyeliner
MAC Rich Experience Pro Longwear Eyeliner

MAC Rich Experience Pro Longwear Eyeliner
MAC Rich Experience Pro Longwear Eyeliner

MAC Rich Experience Pro Longwear Eyeliner
MAC Rich Experience Pro Longwear Eyeliner

MAC Black Ice Pro Longwear Eyeliner
MAC Black Ice Pro Longwear Eyeliner

MAC Black Ice Pro Longwear Eyeliner
MAC Black Ice Pro Longwear Eyeliner

MAC Black Ice Pro Longwear Eyeliner
MAC Black Ice Pro Longwear Eyeliner

MAC Dynamo Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
MAC Dynamo Pro Longwear Lip Pencil

MAC Dynamo Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
MAC Dynamo Pro Longwear Lip Pencil

MAC Dynamo Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
MAC Dynamo Pro Longwear Lip Pencil

MAC High Energy Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
MAC High Energy Pro Longwear Lip Pencil

MAC High Energy Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
MAC High Energy Pro Longwear Lip Pencil

MAC High Energy Pro Longwear Lip Pencil
MAC High Energy Pro Longwear Lip Pencil

The Dupe List: Rich Experience

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Black Ice

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: High Energy

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

45 thoughts on “MAC x Proenza Schouler Pro Longwear Eyeliners & Lip Pencils Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Kayvid Kayvid

    Pheeewwww!!! Money saved…

  2. Chanel

    Black ice looks terrible, what was MAC thinking?

  3. The eye pencils are so disappointing but I love those lip pencils! I’ve never owned a good lip pencil but I might have to pick up Dynamo!

  4. I love the Pro Longwear lip liner formula and Dynamo is super pretty! I can’t believe I haven’t picked it up by now lol. I’d rather have it in the regular packaging though since it’s already pretty pricey
    fancie Recently Posted: Revlon Legacy Super Lustrous Lipstick Collection Swatches

  5. Ouch! Guess I’m skipping those eye pencils!!!! What did we do before online reviews and swatches…
    Thanks for getting these up. The collection looked pretty but ….now…more mixed. You saved me some money!

  6. Carrie

    Ohhhh looking at the Black Ice swatch made me cringe, it looks awful.

  7. I was actually looking forward to this collaboration, but I will not be picking up anything from this collection.

  8. Jenny Cupcakes

    Oh dear. The packaging of these liners looks a lot like a few #2 pencils I had in grammar school.

    Also – Black Ice… yipes.

  9. Wow, that black is dismal. If they’re gonna charge me $21 they better be waterproof and pigmented as hell. The packaging reminds me of my pencils in elementary school.

  10. Dynamo is nice! but nothing really calls out from the collection so far. Maybe the blush ombres ;-)
    Vineetha Recently Posted: Sephora Collection 10 Shades Of Samba Waterproof Eyeliner Set Review, Swatches

  11. Adrienne

    You must have received a dud Black Ice as it is usually much darker and creamier!

  12. Dynamo is a pretty colour! Not sure what they were thinking releasing Black Ice like that though…especially after BlackBlack recently was so good!
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Answer Me These Questions Three! – A Suitably Geeky Makeup Poll

  13. MizLottie

    What is MAC thinking of, re-releasing stuff in new packaging but with sub-par quality? I’m fast becoming disappointed and wary of their products and new releases, don’t they test their products or is it just repackaging, hoopla and advertising, screw the customer and quality? I’m saving my $$ and bypassing this set.

    • I’m never in love with permanent products that released in limited edition packaging, because then you KNOW you’re just paying for packaging.

  14. When i first saw the mark on black ice i was like how could a black liner have such a devestating review? And then i saw it and i wanted to cry lol! It truly is disastrous
    Elana Recently Posted: My No-Nail Rant

  15. No real hits for me here :(
    Erin Recently Posted: Edna Valley 2011 Cabernet Sauvignon Review

  16. This collection isn’t really calling my name. The lip liners look lovely though!
    Lupe Recently Posted: My Blush, Bronzer, & Highlighter Collection

  17. The formula looks streaky and uneven. Not impressed.
    Jyoti Recently Posted: Lakme 9 to 5 Black Impact Liquid Liner Review, Swatch And EOTD

  18. Black Ice is horrible.. but I love Dynamo aND High Energy.. lovely shades.. :)

  19. The packaging here is really nice, but otherwise these don’t spark my interest. The lip liners do look great, but they aren’t something I need at the moment.

  20. Kacee

    Hi Christine – I was wondering if you had tried the blush ombres for this collection