Wednesday, May 1st, 2013

MAC Altered Beige Lipstick
MAC Altered Beige Lipstick

MAC Temperature Rising Lipsticks ($16.50 for 0.10 oz.) will be available in four new and limited edition shades: Altered Beige (creamy yellow beige, lustre), Caliente (super dazzle violet, dazzle), Feel My Pulse (vivid magenta violet, cremesheen), and Sheer Seduction (super dazzle bronze, dazzle).

Altered Beige is a warm-toned, pinky beige with a frosted finish and semi-sheer to semi-opaque color. I felt like the frost made it appear more opaque, but a lot of the natural lip color will come through, given that it’s a lustre (which is a sheerer formula). It lasted two and a half hours on me. Giorgio Armani Moonlight Beige #4 is similar. MAC Pure Zen is pinker. Giorgio Armani #111 is similar, slightly warmer. MAC Tropical Mist is very sheer on me but the two have a similar effect. MAC Japanese Maple is similar. MAC Marquise d’ is pinker. Revlon Creme Brulee is also similar.

Caliente is a brown-toned burgundy with red, copper, and burgundy sparkle. Dazzle finish isn’t one that pops up often, but it is a very sparkle-packed lipstick; the grit is less than glitter, but it’s more than shimmer. I find that these are moderately gritty about halfway through wear, and some of the sparkle travels outside of the natural lip. The effect can be very interesting and fun, but there are some downsides that you’ll have to weigh. Because of the sparkle, it can feel a little rough (not painful, not horrible, but not as creamy or as smooth) when applied. The other thing that I’m not crazy about with the Dazzle finishes is that they tend to have splotchy base colors. Caliente is true to form; slightly gritty after two hours, a definite grit you can feel in the bullet itself, some sparkle goes on a voyage across the plains of your face, and the color isn’t totally even. It lasted three hours on me. MAC Infused with Glam is warmer, more coppery. MAC Snazzy Dazzle is more plum, pinker. MAC Oh, Oh, Oh is more plum, less brown. MAC Subverted is browner, redder, deeper.

Feel My Pulse is a magenta purple with a soft, almost frosted sheen. It has mostly opaque color payoff with a little bit of translucency. It looks a bit purpler in the tube than on, which I imagine is the natural pink tones pulling out the pink on the lip. It lasted four and a half hours on me. MAC Heroine is purpler. Maybelline Brazen Berry is similar but glossier in finish. MAC Seductive Intent is purpler. MAC Style Curve is close in color but has a slight pearl in its finish. MAC Love Forever is pinker. MAC Spitfire is a bit pinker.

Sheer Seduction is a warm, orange-copper with copper sparkle. This shade also has a Dazzle finish, so it does feel a little gritty when initially applied, and as it wears away, the texture of the sparkle becomes more noticeable on the lips. The color payoff is more semi-opaque and even compared to Caliente. There were a few stray sparkles that abandoned lips while I wore it. It lasted three hours on me. OCC Authentic is darker and more metallic (rather than sparkly). LUSH Vibrance is brighter with more of a golden shimmer. Chanel Sari d’Eau is redder in tone. MAC Hot Sass is more subdued.

When it comes to Caliente and Sheer Seduction, they’re going to be love-it-or-hate-it products, because of the finish. If you love the sparkle, you might not care about the texture. But if you’re really concerned about texture, creaminess, and comfort, you’ll probably dislike this finish on the whole. It’s just one of those formulas that leaves something to be desired but the finish may be unique or fun enough to put up with (for some).  Altered Beige and Feel My Pulse both feel like shades we’ve seen from MAC quite often and recently.

The Glossover

LE
product

Altered Beige

C+
These were gorgeous in their tubes and fun to photograph, but I wasn't loving the wear and feel of the Dazzle finishes. The other two were better but less interesting given recent releases.

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

6/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Caliente

B-

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Feel My Pulse

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Altered Beige Lipstick
MAC Altered Beige Lipstick

MAC Altered Beige Lipstick
MAC Altered Beige Lipstick

MAC Altered Beige Lipstick
MAC Altered Beige Lipstick

MAC Altered Beige Lipstick
MAC Altered Beige Lipstick

MAC Altered Beige Lipstick
MAC Altered Beige Lipstick

MAC Altered Beige Lipstick
MAC Altered Beige Lipstick

MAC Caliente Lipstick
MAC Caliente Lipstick

MAC Caliente Lipstick
MAC Caliente Lipstick

MAC Caliente Lipstick
MAC Caliente Lipstick

MAC Caliente Lipstick
MAC Caliente Lipstick

MAC Caliente Lipstick
MAC Caliente Lipstick

MAC Caliente Lipstick
MAC Caliente Lipstick

MAC Feel My Pulse Lipstick
MAC Feel My Pulse Lipstick

MAC Feel My Pulse Lipstick
MAC Feel My Pulse Lipstick

MAC Feel My Pulse Lipstick
MAC Feel My Pulse Lipstick

MAC Feel My Pulse Lipstick
MAC Feel My Pulse Lipstick

MAC Feel My Pulse Lipstick
MAC Feel My Pulse Lipstick

MAC Feel My Pulse Lipstick
MAC Feel My Pulse Lipstick

MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick
MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick

MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick
MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick

MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick
MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick

MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick
MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick

MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick
MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick

MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick
MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick

Product & Review FAQ

Where can I purchase it? How much is it?

MAC, May 16th online (approximately), May 23rd in-stores; $16.50.

Is it limited edition?

Yes.

Any dupes?

See individual shade review! :)

What makeup are you wearing?

On face: Giorgio Armani Maestro Foundation. On lips: MAC Sheer Seduction Lipstick.

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

82 thoughts on “MAC Temperature Rising Lipsticks Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Tahlia

    How does Feel My Pulse compare to Daddy’s Little Girl from the Archie collection?

  2. diana

    how does FMP compare to outrageously fun?

  3. Hannah

    Does Daddy’s little girl comparable to Feel my pulse?

  4. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Precious Precious

    I’m a little disappointed. I was loving Sheer Seduction on you, Christine- until I read your review. Still picking up Feel My Pulse though.

  5. Neither of these are shades that look good on me. I am wearing a lipstick that is very similar to the first one you showed today because I am reviewing it, but I don’t like the color at all. It’s just too pale for me.

  6. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of fabiola fabiola

    So pretty on you Christine. You can wear all of them so good. Thsks for the review.

  7. Dominique

    Quite sheer on the whole but interesting. I needed the 4, maybe I’ll just take only 2, depends on my mood.
    Thank you for the swatches Christine, it helps a lot !

  8. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Carla Carla N.

    I’m no longer buying MAC, but if I were, Feel My Pulse is the only lipstick from this collection that would tempt me.
    I don’t wear brownish lips well, and I abhor beige-y nudes on me.
    In fact, right now I’m wearing Illamasqua “Atomic,” and I LOVEE it!

  9. I am for sure getting two Altered Beige. Looks like a perfect lip stick for me! So might as well get a back of it too :D

  10. While they look good, it doesn’t seem to be worth the discomfort. You may as well layer a lipgloss (Bobbi Brown’s High Shimmer Lipglosses anyone?) over the lipstick to get a similar effect.

  11. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Karine FiaSpice

    Caliente is close enough for me to Snazzy, I’ll pass!

  12. Michelle

    Sheer Seduction kind of reminds me of MAC Thrills lipstick. Do you think they’re similar?

  13. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rad Rad

    I ordered Feel my pulse which arrived today. I have to say that I also bought Embrace Me and Heroine from the fashion sets collection and am disappointed that Feel My Pulse is a shade inbetween both colours. Its a little more sheer than Embrace Me and Heroine but I feel a little ripped off.

    BTW Embrace Me is such an amazing colour! Its almost a replica of my HG pink/purple limited edition Estee Lauder lipstick Violet crush.

    • It’s available already? Or is it only available to some right now?

    • Sorry to ask if it is obvious, but how did you order this already??

      • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rad Rad

        It launched on the MAC UK website but most the stuff sold out quickly. I was lucky to get the feel my pulse shade but I personally don’t think it was worth it. I also bought a bronzer and both blushes – they are amazing!

  14. I like Feel My Pulse, but I feel like I have some that are similar.

  15. I really like when you put the reviews of pieces in a single collection all in one post. I think most of us look at a collection as a whole and try to decide if we want anything (particularly LE collections with a limited purchasing timeframe), and being able to see the different elements of the collection swatched side by side is really useful. Thanks!

    • Hi Lisa!

      Individually allows me to get it up faster, because testing out four lipsticks is about 1.5 days worth of time – so that’s why I sometimes do it individually. With this collection, it hasn’t been released (in some parts of the world, at least), so I have a little more time. Thanks!

      All swatches are always available to see side-by-side in the sneak peek post as well as any time in the Swatch Gallery!

  16. beck

    i really don’t like these little guys :( sad because i love the packaging.

  17. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Kathryn KEG

    The only one I’m not diggin is altered beige

  18. Carrie

    Christine is feel my paulse similar to outrageously fun ?

  19. Emily

    Ohh I actually really like Altered Beige. I’m not usually a fan of nude lip colours because they tend to look patchy and gross on me, but as this one is on the sheer side, it looks like it would be ok. Might have to pick it up.

  20. These are gorgeous! I want them all except the purple pulse one!

  21. Hi Christine.. if I have Spitfire, do I “need” feel my pulse? On your lips FMP looks totally different from Spitfire (I mean,spitfire applied on my lips).. so I’m a bit confused and don’t know what to do. I don’t have any other color which may be similar anyway.

    • I would say it’s better to compare how it looks on me for both because then I would expect whatever difference between say Spitfire on you and Spitfire on me will be about the same for Feel My Pulse on me and on you!

  22. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

    Altered Beige is the only one that appeals to me, but I’m quite certain I have something very similar (or can at least layer) that won’t take as much effort for me to wear.

  23. Lolly

    I really like the look of sheer seduction!

  24. Sheer seduction reminds me of MAC Ramblin Rose!

  25. Oh wow, so many great pics! I love seeing products this way! How long does it take you to put together an extensive post like this one? Kudos for all your hard work! That’s why I keep coming back :)

  26. Zainab

    Sad about these- I really loved the classy packaging but the actual lipsticks don’t look so appealing.

  27. Ginger

    I LOVE dazzle lipsticks….but these are two colors I just don’t think I’d ever wear :( I wish they’d do another set with some pinks or reds or peach colors.

  28. MERI

    Love them all! ordered a full set!

  29. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Grace Grace

    Basically, this post sold me on Revlon creme brulee. Sheer seduction reminds me of the blessedly rich gloss from last year, and oh oh oh is a favorite of mine, so you just saved me a bunch of money :)

  30. Jessica

    OMG. I can’t believe MAC keeps making the SAME COLOR — light purplish pink — over and over! SMH. Even if the lipsticks only have an 80% identity to each other, they are still the same type of color.

    • I’m sure it’s frustrating for those that have been fans for a long time or have extensive MAC lipstick collections, but for those newbies out there some of these colors are probably new for them. Besides, at some point realistically MAC has to really run out of real color options. I’ll be honest, I can’t recall a single truly unique lip color that MAC has had in years. There is almost always something that is close to something they already did. Unless they start doing mood lipstick or something completely out of the box then some one will always be disappointed about some of their colors looking like others. I’m not a newbie so I do feel like they come out with a lot of the same thing over and over BUT right now I’m in a purple phase so despite them doing these in the past they grab my attention now (when once upon a time I wouldn’t have looked at them at all).

  31. Ana

    How does Altered Beige compare to Sinfully Chic’s Out to Please?

  32. Kat

    I actually like them all. The first one wouldn’t really show up on me though.

  33. Sheer seduction is such a pretty shade!! Any idea when would this collection launch in India?

  34. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Ivana Ivana

    Caliente looks fabolous, but with that poor quality I will have to stay away. What a shame!

  35. Hannah

    I might buy FMP for the sake of the packaging. (I get crazy over LE) Anyway, I hope the lipglasses woul be appealing.

  36. wanikkic

    love the dazzle finishes!

  37. I’m typically not a fan of browns but the more I look at the Caliente the more i like it haha plus I’m ALWAYS a fan of glitter!

  38. Tanesha

    Dupeable, pass

  39. Caroline

    I have fair skin with pink undertones, can someone tell me what bronzed color would best suit me out of these if any at all?

  40. Hi Christine :)

    I’m new to your website. To better understand what I’m seeing, I have a few questions about your pictures.
    1) What’s the difference between diffused flash and studio lighting?
    2) If “diffused flash” and “studio lighting” are not labeled on the close-up lip swatches, how can I tell which picture was taken with diffused flash and which picture was taken with studio lighting?
    3) Was diffused flash or studio lighting used for the arm swatch picture?
    4) Was diffused flash or studio lighting used for the picture of you wearing the lipstick?

    Thanks for all your awesome pics, and I hope I’m not being a pain-in-the-butt for asking so many questions!

    • Hi Joanna,

      All photos are taken with studio lighting, which is designed to mimic natural light (but obviously, in consistent conditions and well-lit, so if you’re in the shade, it will not be the same as the light I use ). Swatches and the first lip swatch have additional lighting for crispness. Thank you!

      • Thanks for the info!

        I’m still wondering what diffused flash is. I see pictures of other lipstick swatches (not in this group of lipsticks here) labeled with “diffused flash”. Is that what the lipstick would look like indoors rather than outdoors?

  41. Melissa

    How does feel my pulse compare to MAC up the amp?

  42. Eva

    Why all color look so good on you??? I’m so jealous!!! Is kidding

  43. Luck

    Is Dazzle a new finish for the lipsticks?

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Carla Carla_N.

      I think the Dazzle formula was introduced with the Digipops collection, a few years back.
      The best way I can describe it is a very sheer frost, with a very metallic finish.
      I use the Dazzles as kind of a solid lip gloss, to add shine over other [more opaque] lipsticks.
      I don’t care for them as wear-alone lipsticks because of their sheerness.

  44. Carolyn Platt

    I am trying to find out about Twig. Can you tell me what to do?

  45. Lori

    Hi is Altered Beige Similar to Freckletone ??

  46. beck

    picked up the beige one yesterday, it looked really subtle and natural on

  47. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Ellen Ellen

    Sheer Seduction is the first MAC lipastick to tempt me in a long time. I look best in warm browns and peaches, and they don’t do many of those. They seem to love brights and very pale nudes, neither of which look good on my [ale, redhead complexion. I think Nordstrom may still have one left, MAC sold out before I even knew they existed. I hate ot buy without trying, but that is the only way I’ll get my hands on it. The only dupe I could think of was my old beloved Bronze Leaf from Clinique. That’s a coppey reddish brown that comes out more red than brown on my very pigmented lips, but still picks up my coloring very well. I also have a few Estee Lauder bronzes that have been long discontinued. I haven’t bought a lipstick in a long time, I guess my faves haven’t been popular in new releases. If Nordstrom still has it on thier website I may go for it. Wish me luck!