Sunday, October 20th, 2013

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag ($39.50 for 0.198 oz.) features a full-size lipstick and Cremesheen Glass, plus a miniature-sized lip pencil.  Each lip bag contains $15.00 worth of Lipstick, $20.00 worth of Cremesheen Glass, and $5 worth of Lip Pencil, bringing the total value of the set to $40–plus there is a zippered bag that comes with the products.

Art of Seduction is described as a “cool nude with gold frost.” It’s a light, beige-brown with light green micro-shimmer. Applied, it seems to lighten lips and added a milkiness to them. It had semi-sheer to semi-opaque color coverage.  This shade was completely gone after a mere two hours of wear. If you purchased You’ve Got It from the holiday color collection, run and skip right ahead, because Art of Seduction is the exact same color–in the tube, swatched, and applied. If I really want to play make-believe, the gold shimmer in Art of Seduction caught the light of the camera better and looked more golden than white but I had them side-by-side in various rooms in my house, and they’re the same. MAC Boundless Beige (P, $19.50) is more beige. MAC Glitter & Ice (LE, $20.00) doesn’t have green shimmer. See comparison swatches.

Dark Deed is described as a “darkened blood red [with an Amplified finish].” It’s a deepened, muted red with berry and brown tones. It had semi-opaque color coverage, but there was some settling into lip lines. It wore well for five and a half hours and was neither drying nor hydrating while worn. This is a repromote. Urban Decay Shame (P, $22.00) is browner, darker. Giorgio Armani #408 (P, $32.00) is similar. MAC Endless Drama is darker. MAC What Joy is cooler-toned. See comparison swatches.

Vino is described as an “intense violet purple.” It’s a blackened burgundy with strong, cool red undertones. The consistency was dry and a little stiff; I found that this left crumbles of color all over my lips so that they looked like they were covered in black specks, which I tried to remove the best I could prior to photographing. This is part of the permanent range. It wears eight hours or longer, though it’s terribly uncomfortable and fairly drying. MAC Talk That Talk (LE, $19.50) is a bit darker (seems to be more pigmented/smoother, which gives it a better payoff). Urban Decay Venom (P, $19.00) is lighter. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Stroke of Midnight/Violet

B-

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Art of Seduction

C+

Product

7/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

5.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Dark Deed

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Art of Seduction Cremesheen Glass

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Art of Seduction Cremesheen Glass

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Art of Seduction Cremesheen Glass

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
<MAC Art of Seduction Cremesheen Glass

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Art of Seduction Cremesheen Glass

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Art of Seduction Cremesheen Glass

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Dark Deed Lipstick

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Dark Deed Lipstick

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Dark Deed Lipstick

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Dark Deed Lipstick

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Dark Deed Lipstick

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Dark Deed Lipstick

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Vino Lip Pencil

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Vino Lip Pencil

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Vino Lip Pencil

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Vino Lip Pencil

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Vino Lip Pencil

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Art of Seduction over Dark Deed over Vino

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Art of Seduction over Dark Deed over Vino

MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag
MAC Art of Seduction over Dark Deed over Vino

The Dupe List: Art of Seduction

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Dark Deed

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Vino

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

25 thoughts on “MAC Stroke of Midnight/Violet Lip Bag Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Amy

    You look amazing in these colors–especially Dark Deed. So gorgeous, T!

  2. It’s amazing how you look so good in every possible lip color. Nude, bright or dark, it always looks fantastic on you!

  3. Neetz

    Is this a close dupe of rebel (rebel might be more purple) or diva? I generally don’t like wet look vampy colors but the gloss on top adds a beautiful dimension to the look.

  4. Wow I love Dark Deed!!

  5. I popped into MAC the other week & had a browse at the counter, there was so much I wanted to get hands on! Dark Deed is now going to be my next purchase!!

  6. Cecile

    What foundation are you wearing here? You look gorg!

  7. Iliana

    If I already have diva and just a bite. Would this lipstick be worth the purchase?

  8. Avatar of Elizabeth Lizzi

    YAY!!! They repromoted Dark Deed!!! However it does look different than the Venomous Villains version. May just be my monitor. Is there any difference from that one? It’s a shame that it’s only being put in this set. I want to repurchase a back up to mine, but I only want that part of the set.

  9. jackie

    Man am I happy I bought this online! I get it tomorrow:-) . It looks soooo gorgeous on Christine.

  10. Woaaaah wait a minute – is this Dark Deed the same as the one in Venomous Villans? The one that I missed out on? ^o^ So getting this!!!!

  11. thank you for the swatch! im going to buy this kit!!!! xoxo

  12. Stephanie G

    Is Dark Deed similar to Odyssey?
    And you look gorgeous, BTW!

  13. Hannah

    That’s strange about Vino. I have Vino (bought individually, in the normal collection) and I find it to be super creamy and soft. It’s almost too creamy to be an effective/long lasting lipliner, so I usually just wear a stain application of it over some lipbalm. I wonder if the version here has a different formula!

  14. I am absolutely in love with Dark Deed (and Vino too, except apparently the finish isn’t that good)..! And I’ve never purchased a MAC lipglass before, but I have to say, the three look amazing layered together. I hope they would look good on me as much as they look great on you! :)

  15. Apollonie

    Could you recommend a nail polish that would go with this lipstick?