Tuesday, April 1st, 2014

MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil

Here are the last three shades from the new MAC Patentpolish Lip Pencil ($20.00 for 0.08 oz.) range that I’ve finished testing! You can check out part one for an overview of the formula (and in-depth reviews of Go for Girlie, Innocent, Revved Up), part two (Fearless, Kittenish, Patentpink), and part three (round-up coming up next!). To summarize: the formula is lightly hydrating, short-wearing (two to three hours), moderately tacky, and have light to moderate shine. The color coverage varies from semi-sheer to semi-opaque. I’ve also had some issues with even application with some shades.

MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil ($20.00 for 0.08 oz.) is described as a “soft plum with pearl.” It’s a muted, pinky-mauve with fine, champagne shimmer. This shade had semi-sheer to almost semi-opaque color coverage, but it seemed to be one of the sheerer shades in the range. It wore well for two and a half hours on me. MAC Kittenish (LE, $20.00) is lighter, less shimmery. L’Oreal I Pink You’re Cute (175) (P, $8.95) is less glossy. Maybelline Blush Essence (095) (P, $8.99) is lighter. Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) (P, $8.99) is less shimmery. Buxom Centerfold (LE, $21.00) is less glossy, less shimmery. Chanel Rendez-vous (87) (P, $34.00) is less glossy, cooler-toned. Urban Decay Rush (P, $22.00) is warmer, less shimmery, less glossy. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil ($20.00 for 0.08 oz.) is described as a “dark grape.” It’s a neutral-to-warm-toned, reddish-berry with a soft shine. It had semi-opaque color coverage, but it applied extremely unevenly and settled into lip lines. It only wore for three hours, which is quite short for such a deep shade. Revlon Embellished (P, $7.49) is lighter. Chanel Controversy (72) (P, $32.00) is browner. MAC Sweet Succulence (LE, $16.00) is similar, less glossy. Laura Mercier Merlot (P, $26.00) is cooler-toned. Giorgio Armani #408 (P, $32.00) is redder. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil ($20.00 for 0.08 oz.) is described as a “bright coral orange.” It’s a brightened pop of light-medium orange with a creamy, lightly glossy finish. It had opaque color coverage that applied very evenly overall. This shade even lasted for a full four hours, which was quite long compared to many other shades in the range. Tom Ford Beauty Sweet Spot (05) (LE, $49.00) is lighter. Givenchy Mandarine Bolero (304) (P, $36.00) is darker. MAC Saigon Summer (LE, $16.00) is darker, more shimmery. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

LE
product

Spontaneous

C+

Product

7/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Sultana

C

Product

6.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

3.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Teen Dream

A-

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Spontaneous Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Sultana Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil

The Makeup Look

3/28/14

On face: Guerlain Parure de Lumiere Foundation, Guerlain Les Voilettes Loose Powder. On eyes: Marc Jacobs Intro(vert).

The Dupe List: Spontaneous

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Sultana

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Teen Dream

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

36 thoughts on “MAC Spontaneous, Sultana, Teen Dream Patentpolish Lip Pencil Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. faerieevenstar

    I’m still unsure about this formula. I think I’m going to have to try it in person. I have a feeling I’ll have to miss out on them, especially from your review. Thanks again Christine for saving my wallet!! <3

  2. Adhishree

    They all seem to perform pretty poorly except Teen Dream. I’d rather buy the drugstore versions of these. Who would say this is Mac?

  3. These are basically a total miss for me… Teen Dream is the only one I’m remotely interested in, but I’m sure it’s super dupable. Sigh. Maybe next time, MAC.

  4. Wasn’t planning on getting any of these but now….Teen Dream may have to be mine.

  5. I’m so pleased Teen Dream performed better than the others. I was getting worried, but I had my eye on that one!
    Miki Recently Posted: Urban Decay’s Electric Nail Polish Trio Review+Swatches

  6. Suitana is a very nice shade, but it looks really bad!
    Judith Recently Posted: Guerlain Terracotta four seasons bronzer in natural brunette

  7. This makes me want to return my hopelessly devoted for teen dream

  8. Ammara

    Ohh, I like Teen Dream. I don’t like the uneven look of Sultana, and doesn’t Spontaneous apply much lighter than it looks?

  9. Teen Dream is very pretty, but I’m not blown away by these.

  10. Janelle

    Christine–I know that you test things without a base etc so you get a “true” analysis of the product. I was wondering your thoughts on this in regards to “slip” I love the color of Teen Dream (and have a MAC G/C from my bday), but want it to be true color but am thinking it may be too slippery to wear with a lip base? I think it will still probably be mine….it is so pretty.

  11. Teen Dream is absolutely gorgeous! I’ll have to check out Saigon Summer since it looks like a close dupe.
    fancie Recently Posted: Manicure Monday!

  12. Teen Dream looks really nice, but…
    Rikki Recently Posted: BORNPRETTYSTORE 10 Pan Blush Palette

  13. I really thought that one of the odd one out (meaning good from the batch) was going to be a deep shade but dream came out to be the nice one!!!!! :-)
    Vineetha Recently Posted: Giorgio Armani Maestro Foundation Review, Swatches

  14. That’s interesting – Teen Dream is actually much more sort of ‘creamy’ and melon-y than it looked in the swatch! I thought it was going to be more definitely orange, but whatever the expectation, it has nice overage and looks pretty on you Christine! :-D
    Sylirael Recently Posted: They’ll never see her coming: A forest-style mani that’ll have you green with… well… something.

  15. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Heather Heather

    Teen Dream is so pretty. Too bad that color looks really bad on me.

  16. Teen dream looks fab but sultana is a dud.. :)

  17. WOW! Teen Dream looks like it was made for you!
    Erin Recently Posted: House Wine 2010 Mountain Merlot Review

  18. Paula

    I got Sultana on my last trip and it works quite well for me, applied lightly turns my lips a sheer maroon and applied deeply looks very glossy.
    It stains my lips a bit but I’m not sure that’s a down side.