Wednesday, March 26th, 2014

MAC By Request (Spring 2014) Eyeshadows
MAC By Request (Spring 2014) Eyeshadows

MAC Butterscotch Eyeshadow ($15.00 for 0.05 oz.) is described as a “matte warm beige [with a Matte finish].” It’s a light-medium, muted yellow with warm, orange undertones and a matte finish. It had a soft, finely-milled texture that was just a smidgen powdery. It wore well for eight hours before starting to fade. Bobbi Brown Banana (LE, $22.00) is yellower. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Diesel Eyeshadow ($15.00 for 0.05 oz.) is described as a “cool grey frost [with a Frost finish].” It’s a medium-dark, neutral-to-cool-toned gray with a frosted finish. It had decent color payoff, but it felt a little dry and could have been more pigmented. Applied, it wore well for eight hours. Kat Von D Santeria (LE) is cooler-toned. Tarina Tarantino Silver Shoes (LE) is slightly darker. Makeup Geek Galaxy (P, $5.99) is similar. NARS Bad Behaviour (LE, $24.00) is more frosted. Urban Decay Redemption (LE, $18.00) is darker. MAC Deep Cravings (LE, $15.00) is cooler-toned. Urban Decay Asphalt (LE, $18.00) is similar. MAC Nighttrain (LE, $15.00) is also similar. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Fiction Eyeshadow ($15.00 for 0.05 oz.) is described as a “muted green with shimmer [with a Frost finish].” It’s a medium-dark, muted, olive green with warm undertones and a frosted finish. It had fairly good pigmentation, but the texture was a little dry–it is better than the original I had, though. This shade wore well for almost eight hours before fading. theBalm #30 (P, $6.50) is darker. MAC In the Meadow #4 (LE, $21.00) is similar. Urban Decay Stash (LE, $18.00) is darker, greener. Dior Bonne Etoile (384) #1 (LE) is greener. Clinique Whopping Willow (P, $17.00) is a cream product. Urban Decay Mildew (P, $18.00) is brighter. Guerlain Coup de Foudre #1 (LE) is brighter. bareMinerals Eureka (P) is darker. bareMinerals Speaker Box (LE) is slightly darker. Make Up For Ever #148 (P, $20.00) is less frosted. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

LE
product

Butterscotch

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Diesel

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
DC
product

Fiction

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Butterscotch Eyeshadow
MAC Butterscotch Eyeshadow

MAC Butterscotch Eyeshadow
MAC Butterscotch Eyeshadow

MAC Butterscotch Eyeshadow
MAC Butterscotch Eyeshadow

MAC Butterscotch Eyeshadow
MAC Butterscotch Eyeshadow

MAC Butterscotch Eyeshadow
MAC Butterscotch Eyeshadow

MAC Diesel Eyeshadow
MAC Diesel Eyeshadow

MAC Diesel Eyeshadow
MAC Diesel Eyeshadow

MAC Diesel Eyeshadow
MAC Diesel Eyeshadow

MAC Diesel Eyeshadow
MAC Diesel Eyeshadow

MAC Diesel Eyeshadow
MAC Diesel Eyeshadow

MAC Fiction Eyeshadow
MAC Fiction Eyeshadow

MAC Fiction Eyeshadow
MAC Fiction Eyeshadow

MAC Fiction Eyeshadow
MAC Fiction Eyeshadow

MAC Fiction Eyeshadow
MAC Fiction Eyeshadow

MAC Fiction Eyeshadow
MAC Fiction Eyeshadow

The Dupe List: Butterscotch

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Diesel

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Fiction

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

68 thoughts on “MAC By Request (Spring 2014) Eyeshadows Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Janelle

    Fiction is my favorite eye shadow ever and I just opened my last back-up So happy that I will have the chance to get another one. I was only using it for special occasions and now every day can be a special occasion!

  2. Butterscotch makes me want candy.
    Rikki Recently Posted: BORNPRETTYSTORE BRUSHES: Sigma F86 Tapered Kabuki Dupe!

  3. Wow…these are some really tempting shades…:-) <3

  4. Sabrina

    I LOVE the look of Fiction- i can totally see it being used for a smoky eye. I’m also a sucker for browny-olive-green eyeshadows, can’t wait to buy this!

  5. OOO Fiction! I probably own a dozen similar shades (at least that’s what it feels like), but I think I might need it anyways!

  6. Love Diesel and Fiction. Butterscotch looks alright for a base eyeshadow. Shame to see Diesel and Butterscotch are rated a B+ :(.

  7. Avatar of A A

    I want them all :( Will these be available internationally as well or US only?

  8. Butterscotch and Fiction are really nice. Not what I would have expect from summer shades!
    Judith Recently Posted: L’Oreal Magic Nude liquid powder review

  9. I really like Diesel!

  10. Haley

    Definitely need Butterscotch and Diesel!

  11. I must get Fiction and maybe Butterscotch. I’m a sucker for green taupey shades.

  12. I was thinking about skipping these but I think I want Butterscotch now
    fancie Recently Posted: MAC 109 Small Contour Brush Review

  13. Once again, glad they released the top 3. I quite liked all of these shadows.

  14. While the other 2 don’t thrill me, FICTION has me already wandering when I can get to the counter to get it!!! Christine, it says “DC” beside the photo. Is it a repromote or is it actually discontinued and you’re taunting us? :)

  15. Avatar of Dana DonnaDixon

    Wondering how Fiction compares to my go-to color, Sumptuous Olive.

  16. Avatar of beka beka

    here i was thinking, “fiction looks pretty. i don’t have any colors like that.” then i looked at the dupes…and i have two of them. i guess that’s more money to spend on something else:)

  17. Oooh Fiction… how glad I am that you are real :-)

  18. Cool! I can buy a couple of Fiction backups! I’m using my backup right now, so a chance to stock up on an old favorite is always good.

  19. Oh GREAT – I see these are “online only”. Too bad/so sad – I resent that approach and so won’t be getting fiction (not the end of the world since I’ve got a few dupes). I don’t like these sorts of games that Mac plays with its customers, which is one reason I’ve been buying less and less from them.

  20. I love Urban Decay’s Stash so when I saw the Fiction swatch I fell in love immediately <3

  21. I like Diesel, and the name of Butterscotch ;-) my husband absolutely can’t stand butterscotch as a flavour though, so he’d be like ‘why would anyone name an eyeshadow after that stuff?!?’ :-D
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Interlude – Eyeballing the Loot! March 2014 Wishlist

  22. Mel Rose

    How does Butterscotch compare to Urban Decay’s Foxy?? Foxy is my favorite base shadow and it looks really similar! I’ve wanted to try a Mac Shadow so maybe when I run out of it in my Naked Basics I’ll pick it up. :)

  23. I always wondered why Fiction went away, it’s such a great color on so many different shades of eyes! It reminds me of Halston, Studio 54, and the 70′s. Very glam.

  24. Melissa

    These shades are not very springy.

  25. Avatar of Karla karla

    Hi Christine:
    Do you know, What time are they going to sell these products online?
    thanks

  26. Avatar of Corliss Corliss

    Why am I NOT feeling the love?

  27. Are these going to be available in pan form as well? Or just like this. I need all of them. Thank for the review!

  28. Fiction is such a prettyy shade, diesel is nice too.. So good to see these shades back in action! :)

  29. None of these excite me :\

  30. Jenny

    I think I need Butterscotch most of all! I don’t have anything like it.
    Christine, I was wondering how Diesel compares to MAC Hocus Pocus? I’m thinking HP is probably browner-leaning, but I couldn’t get the swatch to pull up in your comparison gallery; it said “image coming soon”.

    • Hocus Pocus is browner, definitely – not really as gray as Diesel.

      The swatches aren’t in the gallery because they’re so old and the quality so poor :(

  31. Are these colors coming out in the MAC Stores as well?

  32. Lindsay

    Weren’t these also the MAC By request shades from last year?