Monday, March 31st, 2014

MAC By Request Lipglasses
MAC By Request Lipglasses

Surprise! We’ll be seeing matching MAC Lipglass ($15.00 for 0.17 fl. oz.) shades to the By Request Lipsticks I reviewed last week. They’ll be launching online April 1st (along with the lipsticks), and they are limited edition. Note, Pink Poodle (By Request) is different from the Pink Poodle shade available in the permanent range.

MAC Glam Lipglass ($15.00 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is brightened, medium red with cool, blue undertones and a glossy finish. It had rich, opaque color coverage, and the gloss wore well for five hours on me. Revlon Adorned (P, $7.49) is shimmery. Giorgio Armani #523 (P, $29.00) is similar. Milani Photo Flash (DC, $6.49) is darker. MAC Impassioned (LE, $15.00) is pinker. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Hoop Lipglass ($15.00 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is a muted, medium rose-pink with a creamy, glossy finish. It seemed to have more neutral undertones than cool or warm ones. It had semi-opaque color coverage, applied mostly evenly, and lasted for four hours on me while being neither hydrating nor drying. MAC Go for Girlie (LE, $20.00) is less glossy. Maybelline Caramel Infused (065) (P, $8.99) is warmer. Maybelline Mauve Mystique (025) (P, $8.99) is cooler-toned, darker. Edward Bess First Kiss (P, $30.00) is brighter. Urban Decay Lovechild (P, $19.00) is less glossy. MAC Viva Glam Nicki (LE, $15.00) is brighter. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass ($15.00 for 0.17 fl. oz.) is a cool-toned, iridescent-shimmered fuchsia-magenta with blue undertones. It had semi-opaque pigmentation, applied mostly evenly, and wore well for four and a half hours on me. Urban Decay Crush (P, $19.00) has no shimmer, more muted. Milani Flashy (P, $7.49) is lighter, more shimmery, less glossy. MAC Style Packed (LE, $15.00) is lighter, less shimmery. MAC Embrace Me (LE, $15.00) is darker, less cool-toned. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

LE
product

Glam

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Hoop

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Pink Poodle (By Request)

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Glam Lipglass
MAC Glam Lipglass

MAC Glam Lipglass
MAC Glam Lipglass

MAC Glam Lipglass
MAC Glam Lipglass

MAC Glam Lipglass
MAC Glam Lipglass

MAC Glam Lipglass
MAC Glam Lipglass

MAC Glam Lipglass
MAC Glam Lipglass

MAC Glam Lipglass over Glam Lipstick
MAC Glam Lipglass over Glam Lipstick

MAC Glam Lipglass over Glam Lipstick
MAC Glam Lipglass over Glam Lipstick

MAC Glam Lipglass over Glam Lipstick
MAC Glam Lipglass over Glam Lipstick

MAC Hoop Lipglass
MAC Hoop Lipglass

MAC Hoop Lipglass
MAC Hoop Lipglass

MAC Hoop Lipglass
MAC Hoop Lipglass

MAC Hoop Lipglass
MAC Hoop Lipglass

MAC Hoop Lipglass
MAC Hoop Lipglass

MAC Hoop Lipglass
MAC Hoop Lipglass

MAC Hoop Lipglass over Hoop Lipstick
MAC Hoop Lipglass over Hoop Lipstick

MAC Hoop Lipglass over Hoop Lipstick
MAC Hoop Lipglass over Hoop Lipstick

MAC Hoop Lipglass over Hoop Lipstick
MAC Hoop Lipglass over Hoop Lipstick

MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass
MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass

MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass
MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass

MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass
MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass

MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass
MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass

MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass
MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass

MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass
MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass

MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass over Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipstick
MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass over Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipstick

MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass over Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipstick
MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass over Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipstick

MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass over Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipstick
MAC Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipglass over Pink Poodle (By Request) Lipstick

The Makeup Look

On face: Guerlain Parure de Lumiere Foundation, Guerlain Les Voilettes Pressed Powder, Revlon Mauvelous Blush. On eyes: Givenchy Beige Mousseline, Taupe Velours, Kaki Brocart Ombre Couture Eyeshadows, Urban Decay Scorch Eyeliner.

The Dupe List: Glam

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Hoop

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Pink Poodle (By Request)

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

78 thoughts on “MAC By Request (2014) Lipglasses Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. I loved all the lipsticks, but I’m not crazy about Hoop Lipglass. The other two are gorgeous though!

  2. Let

    Hoop looks nice! And Pink Poodle lipglass looks unexpectedly nice to me, especially over the lipstick.

  3. Oooh. Hoop looks like a pale pink I could actually pull off.

  4. Jenny Cupcakes

    I was gonna say… Pink Poodle looks exactly like Adorned. And you can get 2x Adorned for the same price as 1x PP!

    • Adorned is more like Glam, since it is a darker, more reddish-pink (not as light or as fuchsia as Pink Poodle) – Adorned is almost like Glam + Pink Poodle!

  5. I love all of them! Very girly and great colors for spring and summer!
    Judith Recently Posted: Guerlain Terracotta four seasons bronzer in natural brunette

  6. Mo

    All of these are beautiful! But Hoop is officially on my list!! Thanks Christine:)

  7. Nice! Especially after looking at the previous post }:-)

  8. Hoop looks so thick and pretty with the matching lipstick. Also, I bought Pink Poodle a few days ago and I love it

  9. I like Hoop in both lipstick and lipglass form!
    Rikki Recently Posted: REVIEW: Sigma E55 – Eye Shading Brush

  10. Glam looks gorgeous and I have always wanted to try Style Packed so maybe I will give Pink Poodle a try!

  11. I had Pink Poodle gloss years ago but Phaedra liked it more than me >.< I'd forgotten that I caught her gnawing on the tube and had to toss it. It looks amazing on its own as well as with the lipstick. I think Pink Poodle gloss is similar to Dose of Colors Wild Child.
    Phyrra Recently Posted: Makeup Wars Favorite Travel Beauty Products

  12. These by requests are mostly so bright! Christine I remember an earlier debate on your blog about who wears these colors. They seem to sell but I rarely see people wearing them. They are obviously popular if they’re being brought back “by request”. Do we buy many colors we don’t end up wearing? I certainly seem to and would love to know I’m not alone…

  13. I think I will like these paired with the by request lippies! :-)
    Vineetha Recently Posted: Giorgio Armani Maestro Foundation Review, Swatches

  14. Jules

    From the photos, the Glam lipglass looks a lot pinker than the lipstick. Is that just the effect of gloss being semi-transparent and less saturated with pigment than lipstick, or is the color itself actually different?

    • It’s very similar in color, but the finish and opacity do make it a little brighter and not quite as dense (and subsequently, not as dark) as the lipstick.

  15. Veronica

    Are this collection online only or they’ll have these at mac counters??? Someone knows???

  16. I barely wear lip gloss anymore but Glam and Pink Poodle look beautiful! I’m not even into glossy red lips but I don’t know if I can skip Glam lol
    fancie Recently Posted: Chanel Pinceau Poudre Powder Brush #1 Review

  17. Oh My Christine….They all look gorgeous on you but my favorite is “Lipglass over glam! I wish, I could pull off bolder/brighter colors but I always feel so self conscious :( But Hoop will be mine!!!!! Lately, I’ve been so unhappy with MAC but these lipglasses might help turn things around.

  18. All three of these are beautiful!

  19. They all look great over their respective lipsticks! The effect is super, uh…juicy. Or ‘glassy’ I suppose!
    Sylirael Recently Posted: They’ll never see her coming: A forest-style mani that’ll have you green with… well… something.

  20. Man, I’m so mad….I haven’t got my check yet so I won’t have my money by tomorrow. How quick does this stuff usually sell out?

  21. I love how Hoop looks so glossy but with no shimmery flecks!
    On a side note, your eyes look gorgeous with the shades you´re wearing, very subtle and sophisticated :) !

  22. All these colors are GORGEOUS on you! I’m not a big fan of red but I love the glam lipglass. I am 50/50 on pink poodle because I do not like purple/pinks of this form. I planned on not getting any but seeing these colors on you make me reconsider. I may stalk the website and get all three!

  23. Avatar of Faida Fai

    I’m lost. Why is Pink Poodle by request when they already sell it? Or was it discontinued and I missed the memo?

  24. Avatar of Angela angie

    Hey Christine!

    Do you think Hoop is similar to “Please Me” Lipglass??

  25. Chrissie

    I WANT THEM ALL!!! I’m so in love. Not so much with hoop. Thinking of getting 2 of Pink Poodle. Looks great on you Christine!

  26. Hoop is a beautiful shade and looks flattering over the lipstick.. Glossy pink lips are unbeatable! :)

  27. Avatar of Jennifer Jennifer

    Hi Christine,

    I don’t know if I missed it or not but what is the difference between LE Pink Poodle with this collection and the Perm Pink Poodle? The glitter??

  28. Christina

    Is there a specific time of day the new collections usually go up on the website? I don’t want to miss out lol

  29. Avatar of Nikki nikki p

    Any word on what time these will launch today? Gotta get Hoop in my life :D

  30. Adhishree

    STUNNINNNGG! Pink Poodle on you is perfection. I need to own it! Sadly, LE collections launch around 6-8 months later in India, as compared to US/Canada. Bummer. There’s always Nordstrom.com though :P

  31. Lea

    Is this available in the store?

  32. Avatar of Mallory mallet

    Is there a difference between this Pink Poodle glass and the regular one on the permanent line?

  33. I’m not a fan of any lipsticks with shimmer, so I don’t like the Pink Poodle lipstick, but I LOVE the Pink Poodle Lipglass! A little shimmer is okay in a gloss. For me, at least.

  34. Jenny

    Oh, Christine, you have made me want these, and I didn’t buy a single one when I picked up the lipsticks! I’m regretting it big time, haha!

  35. The shopaholic in me made me buy them all.

    I’m concerned Hoop won’t work for my skin tone..How can I make the lipstick work better for my deep skin

  36. If *a friend* already bought Girl about Town lipglass a couple of years ago, would her life change dramatically by getting Pink Poodle(BR) lipglass? Do you think they’re at all similar? Thank you! :)

    • Dramatically change? Nah. Pink Poodle is a bit brighter, cooler-toned, and has a more iridescent shimmer, but it is less opaque than Girl About Town.

  37. I love that Pink Poodle lipglass! I’ve been looking for a kind of purply pink kind of like Show Orchid but I wanted something slightly more wearable, this looks absolutely lovely :)
    Emilie Recently Posted: Photo

  38. Monica!

    Pink poodle is limited edition?? since when? I got mine at one of my local stores, very randomly! lol

    • This is a different version! There’s the permanent Pink Poodle, and then there’s this one, which is “Pink Poodle By Request.”