Sunday, September 1st, 2013

MAC Retro Matte Lipsticks
MAC Retro Matte Lipsticks

Here are the remaining three new shades from the MAC Retro Matte Collection, which will launch online the week of September 3rd and in-stores on September 12th (North America), and September 2013 for international locations.

Relentlessly Red is described as a “bright pinkish coral matte.”  It’s a brightened, medium-dark coral-red that almost looks cool-toned on me.  It had opaque color payoff, and the consistency was slightly dry with some drag when applied but with firm pressure, it will slide across lips well enough.  It lasted seven hours and left a stained behind.  It was somewhat drying.  MAC All Fired Up is definitely similar at a glance, and I think their undertones are slightly different, so it’s going to be a shade that may look more or less similar depending on your coloring and natural color of your lips.  All Fired Up is slightly pinker, less red/warm-toned but just barely. MAC Party Parrot is pinker. MAC Love Goddess is less matte. Guerlain Gigi is pinker, less matte. Guerlain Gourmandise is less red.  See comparison swatches.

Runway Hit is described as a “light nude matte.”  It’s a light-medium coral with a hint of pink, warm undertones, and a matte finish. It had mostly opaque color, and I always find the lighter shades to be less forgiving on lips–somehow they’re a little drier.  This shade wore well for four and a half hours and did not stain.  It was slightly drying when worn for me and faded unevenly.  MAC Flavour is slightly lighter. NARS Bolero is lighter. NARS Montego Bay is not quite as matte. See comparison swatches.

Steady Going is described as a “light pink matte.”  It’s a cool-toned, blue-based, cotton candy pink with a matte finish.  It had opaque color coverage, but like Runway Hit it felt drier and was less forgiving on the lips.  It wore for four and a half hours but was slightly drying during that time.  I noticed that both shades faded somewhat unevenly and left more color on the outer edge of the lip. MAC Raspberry Swirl is lighter, less matte. Maybelline Pink Pop is less matte. MAC Asian Flower is purpler, less matte. MAC Divine Choice is less blue-based, less matte.  MAC Pink Nouveau is less matte, cooler-toned. MAC Naughty Saute is less matte, slightly more blue-based. See comparison swatches.

Repeated from part one:

The MAC Retro Matte Collection brings back MAC’s Retro Matte with a vengeance, as it includes seven new shades in the finish. The collection will launch online the week of September 3rd and in-stores on September 12th (North America), and September 2013 for international locations. There is some uncertainty whether all shades are permanent or only some; the answer I received from MAC’s PR was some, which is what I’ve gone with, but the nearest counter/store are both saying all are permanent. Each lipstick retails for $15.00 and contains 0.10 oz.

If you love the Retro Matte formula, then enjoy and purchase these–I felt like these four were consistent with the formula in general, though creamier than a Retro Matte from five years ago (or older), and are similar to the consistencies of the Retro Matte finishes released with RiRi Loves MAC. The real downside to the Retro Matte formula (in my experience, of course) is that they are drying. I’ve worn nothing but these since getting them on the 29th, and if it weren’t for catching up on hydration while I was sleeping (thank you, Jack Black!), it would be difficult to keep wearing this formula back-to-back. They have great pigmentation and wear exceptionally long, but for me, I would rather wear a more hydrating formula, or if I was aiming for matte, a formula that isn’t drying (Burberry Lip Velvets come to mind).

The always lovely xSparkage has a fantastic tutorial on making your lip color last that uses loose powder (and lip pencil) to really set and lock down the lip color, which also makes it appear matte, that can pretty much turn most of your favorite lipsticks into a long-wearing, mostly matte version. This is the same thing I do when I need all-day color and want to touch up very, very minimally (like at a conference).

The Glossover

P
product

Relentlessly Red

A-

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

10/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Runway Hit

B-

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Steady Going

B

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Relentlessly Red Lipstick
MAC Relentlessly Red Lipstick

MAC Relentlessly Red Lipstick
MAC Relentlessly Red Lipstick

MAC Relentlessly Red Lipstick
MAC Relentlessly Red Lipstick

MAC Relentlessly Red Lipstick
MAC Relentlessly Red Lipstick

MAC Relentlessly Red Lipstick
MAC Relentlessly Red Lipstick

MAC Relentlessly Red Lipstick
MAC Relentlessly Red Lipstick

MAC Runway Hit Lipstick
MAC Runway Hit Lipstick

MAC Runway Hit Lipstick
MAC Runway Hit Lipstick

MAC Runway Hit Lipstick
MAC Runway Hit Lipstick

MAC Runway Hit Lipstick
MAC Runway Hit Lipstick

MAC Runway Hit Lipstick
MAC Runway Hit Lipstick

MAC Runway Hit Lipstick
MAC Runway Hit Lipstick

MAC Steady Going Lipstick
MAC Steady Going Lipstick

MAC Steady Going Lipstick
MAC Steady Going Lipstick

MAC Steady Going Lipstick
MAC Steady Going Lipstick

MAC Steady Going Lipstick
MAC Steady Going Lipstick

MAC Steady Going Lipstick
MAC Steady Going Lipstick

MAC Steady Going Lipstick
MAC Steady Going Lipstick

The Dupe List: Relentlessly Red

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Runway Hit

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Steady Going

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

87 thoughts on “MAC Retro Matte Lipsticks Reviews, Photos, Swatches (Part 2)

  1. Barbie

    no me gusta.

  2. Jaune

    Is Relentlessly Red similar to Party Parrot? It looks a little darker, but it could still be a nice alternative for those of us who couldn’t get a hold of Party Parrot.

    • abigailod

      Exactly my thoughts! Love, love, love Party Parrot! I kind of feel a little guilty still wanting this despite of having Party Parrot(s) already. =/

      • J

        i had the same thought.. it looks JUST like party parrot to me.. i’m a sucker for these things so I’ll prob end up swatching it in the store.. but i wonder if its REALLY worth another lippie if its that close in color.. i love party parrot, but ive barely worn it.

  3. Is Runway Hit similar to Kinda Sexy?

    • Noelia

      I think it does! Almost the same

    • Araceli

      That’s exactly what I said! Lol

    • abigailod

      If it really is, that makes me a little sad. Kinda Sexy washed me out, and this shade was on my top three to get. I hope it will wear better on me.

    • Karla

      Very different when you have it on. Kinda Sexy has more blue in it, Runway Hit has a slightly peachy tone to it.

    • gabis

      To me it reminded me of Honeylove. Anyways, honestly, unless you’re c-r-a-z-y about the super matte formula, Runway hit is the worst one to purchase in my opinion. MAC has several similar shades of nude pinkish coral.

  4. I love mattes but none of these 7 shades appeal to me. lol

  5. Christine do you think Runway Hit looks a bit like Illamasqua – Fable???
    I already have Fable not sure whether I should purchase Runway Hit, do you think it will dry my lips out? :D
    thanks for ur awesome blog beautiful x

  6. Clio

    Relentlessly Red doesn’t look red to me at all! It looks neon pink. Maybe it’s my monitor.

  7. britt

    “Relentlessly Red” sure isn’t as strong of a red as the name.

  8. Rebecca

    Too bad there was a lipstick casualty. Something is very different between these and Ruby Woo, at least to me. Some of them are almost powdery looking.

  9. I am so excited! I love MAC lipsticks and these colors are amazing I cannot wait to get my hands on them! Great post (:

  10. shelley

    None of the shades are screaming out at me. I will be taking a pass on these. I’ll wait for Rupauls collection to be released.

  11. Not liking this group particularly..with the sole exception of Relentlessly Red..wooooooooo!!!

  12. Runway Hit looks like a punchier MLBB colour. Like it! Wonder if these feel drying though…

  13. Araceli

    Steady Going reminds me a lot like Please Me.

  14. VickyM

    Wow Relentlessly Red is really pretty, thankfully I don´t like the other two :D .

  15. Quinctia

    I hope they’re all permanent–I like Relentlessly Red, but I’ll be damned if I waste any time trying to buy anything LE Mac puts out.

  16. I am in love with the pink one!

  17. Runway hit is so simple and I love it. I might have to get it, it looks like a perfect color to wear for someone who doesn’t wear that much bright lipstick (coughmecough). :D

  18. relentlessly red is gorgeous!

  19. Mara

    Thank you for the information but is just me or relentlessly red and all fired up looks like the same lipstick???

  20. Emme

    Love Relentless Red…but these remind me of the WnW Mega Last Lip Colors though, which I can get for like two bucks.

  21. I really dislike the matte barbie pink color, it makes a pretty girl like you looked washed out. You look great with the two other ones.

  22. Esme

    My lips hurt just looking at these. I find MAC’s new matte formula (e.g. Candy Yum-Yum) comfortable even on my usually dry lips, but the retro matte formula just looks…painful. Which is a shame, since I love some of these colors.

  23. I think I prefer the colors in Part 1 of your swatches.

  24. abigailod

    What foundation do you have on here, Christine? =D Such a beautiful finish, would you share details?

  25. kachix

    its already available here in Singapore. i just bought runway hit and relentlessly red =)

  26. Sneha roy

    I want relentlessly red lipstic

  27. Sabina_S

    Is Relentlessly Red similar to Ablaze? Thanks :)

  28. abigailod

    Christine, how does Runway Hit compare to Cozy Up? Thanks in advance! =)

  29. I want relentlessly red (which isn’t red at all) but I am not sure if it will work from my newly tanned skin tone…darn you sun!

  30. Relentlessy Red looks ravishing on you :-) That’s definitely my favorite out of the three. Despite the matte finish it still looks very even and smooth. The other two have a slighty less than perfect finish imo.

  31. Carla N.

    Of these, only Relentlessly Red appeals to me, and if it turns out to be permanent, I *may* eventually get it through Back to MAC.
    Or not; I think I own similar shades. However, I do like the newer MAC matte formula very much.

  32. Aelita

    omg, heading to the nearest mac to check our relentlessly red asap

  33. pockykami

    I’m definitely getting relentlessly red eventually. The other two I have no interest in. I still can’t get over the fact that they made two permanent lipsticks so similar.

  34. Julia

    What time will the collection launch online on September 3rd? :)

  35. The colour of that Runway hit lipstick looks gorgeous on you – it matches your earrings!

  36. Hann

    Is Mac To the future comparable to Runway hit? Gosh I want that shade but retro mattes are too drying on me!

  37. Astrild

    Relentlessly Red is to die for!!! Sadly, my dry lips cannot wear this kind of lipsticks.

  38. Which is the one that is fourth from the left in the “group” photo – the one that looks kind of pinky-purple?

  39. Diabolically, the more I look at Relentlessly Red, the more I think I might want it, even though it doesn’t really look “relentlessly red” – it looks more like a very deep pink, and I already own shades like that.
    AS IF that ever stopped me! :)

  40. My poor wallet will need rehab after this!

  41. Amy

    Steady Going looks similar to NARS Schiap and/or Viva Glam Gaga I. Any truth to that?

  42. Nikki

    I wonder if Runway Hit looks like Kat Von D’s Celebutard?

  43. Katherine

    I don’t know if I should get all fired up or relentlessly red, which is more comfortable on the lips?

  44. Jenifer

    How is Steady Going comparable to St Germain and Snob? Are they similar? Thanks in advance.

  45. I’m loving these colors! How does the formula for these compare to MAC Ronnie Red?

  46. Neha

    Is Relentlessly red similar to Mac Moxie? Thank you

  47. Daniela Forrest

    I loveeee all of these, but I wanted to know if the steady going is similar to saint germain?

  48. Karen

    Love relentless Rex: has 8+ hour wear time especially with a lip primer. All fired up is simply gorgeous! Not excited about flat out fab, but it depends on skin tone to determine color outcome. Christine how would you compare Taupe or Twig with Runway? And how do you compare Viva glam red to ruby woo? Is it more if a fall color?

    • I don’t think I would compare Taupe or Twig. Runway Hit is too warm/peach, I’d say.

      Viva Glam Red is darker and not as blue-based – it’s almost neutral-warm on me.

  49. Sarah

    I dunno if I’m just being blind but please, please could you link part 1 somewhere in this post, it took me forever to find!

  50. laretta

    Hi Cristine! I’m a girl with grey-green eyes, dark brown hair and i’m very pale with neutral undertone, do you think it’s best for me relentlessly red or all fired up? Thanks and kisses

  51. Don’t you think that the relentlessly red looks like impassioned? And all fired up is kinda a similar with girl about town? thank you very much, i’ll travel soon and don’t know if i buy these ones or not.

  52. Hi Christine,

    I bought Relentlessly Red out of impulse since it is such a beautiful color but now I’m unsure about how to pair my eye makeup with it. Can you please suggest some tips? I am an NC44. It would be ever so kind of you. Thanks in advance.

  53. marianne

    Hi christine can you add a picture full face and not smiling?so that we can see the full effect/color of the lipstick:)in all you swatches just a suggestion;p.. Its nice to see the color with the camera zoom in on your lips but its nicer to see it in full face to..and if you smile it lessen the impact of the lipstick:) thanks
    Ps:but pls dont remove the smiling photo cause its nice to see the impact of a liptick when smiling;)