Sunday, December 22nd, 2013

MAC Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Huggable Lipcolours

These are the last four shades of the new MAC Huggable Lipcolour ($20.00 for 0.11 oz.) formula! It feels good to be done. :)  There is a lot of consistency across the shades, particularly in terms of texture, wear, and feel, though there was more variance in level of color coverage–some where semi-sheer while others were semi-opaque. I found the formula was a mix of MAC’s Cremesheen lipsticks and Mineralize Rich lipsticks. The new formula is somewhat hydrating with semi-sheer to semi-opaque color, lasts between two and five hours (lighter colors are quicker to disappear, deeper shades last longest), and have a consistency that’s a bit stiff.  The texture will tug and pull at the lip if you immediately try to glide it across lips; instead, I recommend pressing and holding for about five seconds, than gliding the bullet across lips as the warmth of your lip will help melt the color.  It does feel clingy–huggable–when worn, which is noticeable throughout the wear, but it is not drying.  Please see part one for a more in-depth review on the formula overall (and part two for four more shades).

These are supposed to launch online on December 26th. The press release lists an in-store release date of January 2nd, though I would suggest checking with local counters/stores to ensure it’s not also releasing alongside Magnetic Nude (on December 26th). There are twelve shades available, with two shades being released everywhere but Asia (Rich Marron and Rusty), and two shades released exclusive to Asia (Extra Sweet and Sweet Creation).

Red Necessity is described as a “deep warm wine.” It’s a cool-toned, medium-dark raspberry red. It had semi-opaque color coverage–more color than most of the other shades in the line-up–and wore well for five hours and left behind a soft, pinky-red stain. Dior Minuit (LE, $36.00) is mor ematte, brighter. MAC Prepare for Pleasure (LE, $16.00) is more matte, less pink. NARS Luxembourg (P, $25.00) is more matte. MAC Love Goddess (LE, $16.00) is deeper. MAC Scan-delicious (LE, $19.00) is pinker. See comparison swatches.

Rich Marron is described as a “mid-tone nude.” It’s a medium-dark, warm, rose-tinged brown with a light shine. It was semi-sheer, and it didn’t apply as evenly as I would have liked. It lasted two and a half hours on me. MAC Fresh and Frisky (LE, $20.00) is lighter. Too Faced Sweet Maple (P, $21.00) is more opaque, so it appears a bit darker. MAC Bad Girl RiRi (LE, $16.00) is more matte. MAC Glamour Era (P, $22.00) is warmer. MAC Mocha (LE, $16.00) is also warmer, more matte. MAC Spice (LE, $16.00) is slightly pinker. See comparison swatches.

Rusty is described as a “deep auburn.” It’s a darkened, warm red with a slight hint of brown and soft shine. It had mostly opaque color coverage, and the color applied evenly overall. It lasted well for four and a half hours on me. Fyrinnae Winter Romance (P, $7.00) is similar, deeper. Chanel Enigmatique (135) (P, $34.00) is more frosted. NARS Golshan (P, $25.00) is more matte, slightly lighter. NARS Majella (P, $25.00) is redder, more matte. Guerlain Habit Rouge (P, $35.00) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Touche! is described as a “light beige.” It’s a light peach with a luminous shine. It had semi-opaque color coverage, but this one slipped around a bit more and didn’t apply evenly. I also noticed that the color settled into lip lines noticeably after an hour and a half. It lasted just over two hours on me. Givenchy Beige Plume (102) (P, $36.00) is lighter, more opaque, more matte. MAC Antonio’s Girls (LE, $16.00) is lighter. Chanel Secret (85) (LE, $34.00) is sheerer. Chanel Gourmandise (76) (P, $34.00) looks similar on. Guerlain Sous Le Vent (P, $35.00) is more shimmery. Bobbi Brown Uber Beige (P, $24.00) is slightly pinker and less warm-toned. See comparison swatches.

P.S. — Fixed the labeling error and fixed Glossover not showing!

The Glossover

LE
product

Red Necessity

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Rich Marron

C+

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Rusty

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Red Necessity Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Red Necessity Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Red Necessity Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Red Necessity Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Red Necessity Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Red Necessity Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Red Necessity Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Red Necessity Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Red Necessity Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Red Necessity Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Red Necessity Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Red Necessity Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Rich Marron Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Rich Marron Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Rich Marron Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Rich Marron Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Rich Marron Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Rich Marron Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Rich Marron Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Rich Marron Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Rich Marron Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Rich Marron Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Rich Marron Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Rich Marron Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Rusty Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Rusty Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Rustyy Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Rusty Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Rusty Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Rusty Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Rusty Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Rusty Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Rusty Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Rusty Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Rusty Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Rusty Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Touche! Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Touche! Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Touche! Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Touche! Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Touche! Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Touche! Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Touche! Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Touche! Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Touche! Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Touche! Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Touche! Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Touche! Huggable Lipcolour

The Dupe List: Red Necessity

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Rich Marron

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Rusty

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

18 thoughts on “MAC Huggable Lipcolour Reviews, Photos, Swatches (Part 3)

  1. The colors in this collection are so amazing. And, thanks to you, I now know what the formula is like. But anytime I see this many colors released all at once (think back to Urban Decay Revolution lipstick) I am absolutely overwhelmed. Anyone better than me at sorting out such decisions? How do you do it? I’m likely to skip these all together because there are too many amazing choices….

  2. You look beautiful in all Christine. I think I’ll skip this one. I’m a matte girl.

  3. Only one I really like out of these is the first one!
    Rikki Recently Posted: “PERFECT” Red Lip Tutorial – 3 Ways | closed captioned

  4. Love touche and red necessity! Touche seems great for everyday wear and smokey eyes!
    Lisha Recently Posted: L’Oreal Paris Glam Shine Lip Crayon Pomegranate Punch : Review, Swatches & Pictures

  5. Rich Marron looks great, a nice nude-ish shade!

  6. i was waiting fr the swatches of red necessity. i know though not a unique one, this is the only shade i was thinking of picking up :-)
    Vineetha Recently Posted: Top Makeup Value Sets & Palettes – Holiday 2013

  7. Loving these posts! I can’t wait for these to launch in the UK. I hope they are as long lasting as they sound – although the application sounds intriguing… Love MAC products so will be keen to try them.

  8. Touche and Red Necessity look particularly pretty on you, Christine!

    Touche seems like a nice nude but since I have minimal natural lipcolour I think it might look too pale on me… still, I’ll be interested to swatch it if I get the chance!
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Getting to the Pointe of Keeping on Your Toes – Bloch Aspiration Pointe Shoe

    • I like the looks of Red Necessity, but since I already have Illamasqua Salacious, Atomic, Magnetism, and Shard, I think I’m okay in the “raspberry red” department.

  9. All of them look great on you! They are very appealing shades. I was sort of surprised that your ratings on the various shades differed somewhat from shade to shade especially on lastingness since they are from the same brand and product line.
    Allison Recently Posted: What’s in My December 2013 Celebration ipsy Bag?

  10. verladesh Gilles

    They remind me too much of UD lipsticks

  11. Hi Christine,

    Is the Huggable lipsticks part of the permanent range or are they limeted edition?

    :)

  12. I picked up Red Necessity yesterday and I am totally IN LOVE and plan to pick up a back up while these are still available. I love the formulation and love the colour. MAC would be smart to make at least a few of these permanent.

  13. Lucy

    Hi! How does touche compare to nars biscayne park lip pencil? :)

  14. Again, not true to their color and i dont dig that! I love your hair down though it looks lovely
    Elana Recently Posted: Pin Up Girl Look