Monday, March 3rd, 2014

MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass
MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass

MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass ($22.00 for 0.20 fl. oz.) is described as a “nude.” It’s a medium-dark, orange with brown undertones and gold shimmer. It had semi-sheer color coverage, which applied somehwat unevenly but was not too noticeable from afar. It wore well for three and a half hours on me. MAC Cheerful (P, $22.00) is less shimmery. Urban Decay Freestyle (P, $20.00) is lighter, more shimmery. Revlon Peach (P, $7.49) is more shimmery. MAC Sublime Shine (LE, $20.00) is lighter, more shimmery. MAC Rising Sun (LE, $20.00) is very similar. MAC Imperial Light (LE, $20.00) is lighter. See comparison swatches.

MAC Tender Mineralize Glass ($22.00 for 0.20 fl. oz.) is described as a “light cool pink.” It’s a light, cool-toned pink with a cream finish. It settled into lip lines and applied unevenly, though it had semi-sheer pigmentation. It wore well for three hours on me. Urban Decay Lovechild (P, $20.00) is similar. Urban Decay Obsessed (P, $19.00) is similar. NARS International Velvet (LE, $26.00) is similar. MAC Long Love Love (P, $19.50) is more pigmented. MAC Viva Glam Nicki 2 (LE, $15.00) is more pigmented, cooler-toned. MAC Stay Sweet (LE, $15.00) is similar. MAC Pink Fade (LE, $15.00) is more pigmented. MAC Going Casual (LE, $20.00) is similar. See comparison swatches.

MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass ($22.00 for 0.20 fl. oz.) is described as a “bright fuchsia.” It’s a brightened, medium-dark fuchsia pink with blue undertones and an iridescent violet shimmer. It had semi-sheer pigmentation, and it applied so-so. The color wore well for four hours, though. Revlon Berry Allure (P, $7.99) is slightly darker. MAC Imperial Red (LE, $19.00) is less fuchsia. MAC Call Me Gorgeous (LE, $20.00) is more pigmented but close in color. Bobbi Brown Electric Violet (P, $24.00) is more shimmery, less pigmented. MAC New Love (P, $22.00) is lighter. MAC Fashion Perk (P, $22.00) is warmer. See comparison swatches.

MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass ($22.00 for 0.20 fl. oz.) is described as a “mid-tone red.” It’s a medium-dark, warm-toned red with slight shimmer. It settled just slightly into lip lines, and it looked even for the most part but wasn’t perfectly even. This shade wore well for four hours on me. MAC Viva Glam Rihanna (LE, $15.00) is less warm-toned, darker. Revlon Fatal Apple (P, $7.99) is less shimmery. NYX Sunrise (P, $4.99) is more shimmery, cooler-toned. NARS Hollywoodlawn (LE, $26.00) is darker, more orange. MAC Mango Sheen (LE, $19.00) is more shimmery. MAC Totally Fab (LE, $20.00) is more pigmented. Chanel Exces (P, $32.00) has less shimmer, warmer. Chanel Emoi (P, $32.00) has less shimmery. See comparison swatches.

MAC Mineralize Glass ($22.00 for 0.20 fl. oz.) is a new–and permanent!–lip gloss from MAC that heads to counters on March 6th but can be purchased online now. There are twelve shades in total, and this post features four that I tested. The formula is supposed to be hydrating and glossy, while there’s no real word on coverage, the shades are described as “pearlescent.” They feel like lighter-weight Lipglass with less tackiness, but they’re more of a medium-weight gloss with a moderately tacky texture that’s lightly hydrating and wears between two and four hours (depending on the shade). The applicator is a rounded rectangle and feels smoother than the typical doe foot, and it also has more give and flex, so it seems to apply the gloss more evenly. The color coverage seems to run semi-sheer; noticeable color but not fully opaque. I’m not keen on the packaging, as it is bulky and doesn’t store efficiently.

The Glossover

P
product

Ray of Sunshine

B-

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

7/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Tender

C

Product

6.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

3.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Vibrant Vibe

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass
MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass

MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass
MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass

MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass
MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass

MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass
MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass

MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass
MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass

MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass
MAC Ray of Sunshine Mineralize Glass

MAC Tender Mineralize Glass
MAC Tender Mineralize Glass

MAC Tender Mineralize Glass
MAC Tender Mineralize Glass

MAC Tender Mineralize Glass
MAC Tender Mineralize Glass

MAC Tender Mineralize Glass
MAC Tender Mineralize Glass

MAC Tender Mineralize Glass
MAC Tender Mineralize Glass

MAC Tender Mineralize Glass
MAC Tender Mineralize Glass

MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass
MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass

MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass
MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass

MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass
MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass

MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass
MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass

MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass
MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass

MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass
MAC Vibrant Vibe Mineralize Glass

MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass
MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass

MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass
MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass

MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass
MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass

MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass
MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass

MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass
MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass

MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass
MAC Wake Up! Mineralize Glass

The Makeup Look

On face: Guerlain Parure de Lumiere Foundation, Urban Decay Naked Loose Finishing Powder, Bobbi Brown Hibiscus Cream Blush. On eyes: Bobbi Brown Nectar & Nude Eye Palette, Sephora Fairytale Eyeliner.

The Dupe List: Ray of Sunshine

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Tender

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Vibrant Vibe

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

25 thoughts on “MAC Ray of Sunshine, Tender, Vibrant Vibe, Wake Up Mineralize Glasses Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. I like the first one most out of the four!
    Rikki Recently Posted: SHOW & TELL: Sugarpill Chromalust – Smitten

  2. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Lily Kelley Lily

    I am loving Ray of Sunshine even though I have Rising Sun. By the way all the colors look so good on you!

  3. Ray of Sunshine looks like a lovely nude gloss!
    fancie Recently Posted: Pops of Purple with Phlox Garden!

  4. Wake Up! looks great on you, and your skin is looking gorgeous! ;-)

  5. Love Wake Up! It’s a shade I wasn’t expecting to like, either.

  6. Yeah more pinks! I’m definitely a cool pink lover.

  7. I’m enjoying seeing these glosses because many of them are cool or not so warm as to make me look off. I wish the cool ones were preforming a bit better!
    Erin Recently Posted: Luxe Be A Lady Tonight: Luxe Sweatshirts For Women

  8. I actually really like the effect that the sheer red of Wake Up gives! Very pretty :-)
    Sylirael Recently Posted: The Lipstick Tag… Rogue-Style!

  9. As a long time MAC fan, I’m kind of disappointed because this new formula does not seem impressive or too different from Cremesheen Glasses (though at least, Mineralize Glasses have more product!), application is not even and the colors don´t look like something special that would make me want to spend $22…..my wallet is happy, but I miss seeing a MAC release that makes my heart flutter. I’m definitely more of a permanent product fan.
    However, all the Mineralize Glasses you have reviewed look very pretty on you – you make everything look better!

    • There’s something about these that just falls flat. They’re not innovative? MAC has a lot of glosses, so it just doesn’t seem like a necessary formula.

  10. Let

    I kinda like Ray of Sunshine. The swatch reminds me of Strictly Plutonic Cremesheen Glass, though I guess Ray of Sunshine is lighter. I might check it out when these glosses are officially released on counters to see if it’s a close enough replacement.

  11. I cant get over how pretty vibrant vibe looks! All are such pretty spring shades! Christine, i havent bought a single mac lipglass yet, because i havent been able to decide on one, Do you have a ny favorites of a good starter for medium-tan skin tone which i coudnt go wrong with? I love coral & pink shades.
    Chaitra Recently Posted: CRANBERRY SUNSET

    • These are all quite sheer and medium in color, so I don’t think any would really be wrong – something like Tender would be the hardest shade to wear, but something like New Love, Ray of Sunshine, etc. is easy to wear.

  12. If only tender was the slightest bit more opaque and i would be in love! But then again, it appears as though it would look lovely paired with st germain

  13. Tender seems gorgeous, i wish it was more pigmented!
    Elana Recently Posted: Pin Up Girl Look