Tuesday, April 8th, 2014

MAC Lipglass -- Bright Side, Lots of Laughs, Live It Up, Carousel, Pure Silliness
MAC Lipglass — Bright Side, Lots of Laughs, Live It Up, Carousel, Pure Silliness

The MAC Playland Collection includes five new and limited edition shades of MAC LipglassApril 10th April 15th (MAC corporate confirmed as of 4/10 8:26AM PST) and in-stores and at counter on April 17th.

Bright Side is described as a “creamy yellow.” It’s a medium, warm-toned yellow with white pearl. It’s semi-sheer, so when applied to my lips, my natural lip color makes it so it ends up looking like a yellow-peach. It didn’t apply evenly, though, and it tended to settle into lip lines. It wore well for three hours and was neither drying nor hydrating. I wasn’t able to think of any dupes for this one!

Carousel is described as a “creamy pink.” It’s a light-medium, cool-toned pink with a creamy, milky finish. It had semi-opaque pigmentation, but I really wished it had applied evenly! The thickness of Lipglass seems to make these creamy, milky shades a total pain in the behind to apply. It lasted for four hours on me and was neither drying nor hydrating. MAC Patentpink (LE, $20.00) is less glossy. MAC Long Love Love (P, $19.50) is cooler-toned. MAC Saint Germain (LE, $15.00) is purpler. MAC Going Casual (LE, $20.00) is sheerer. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Live It Up is described as a “creamy orange.” It’s a light-medium, milky orange with a creamy, glossy finish. It had semi-opaque color coverage, and this shade actually applied fairly evenly, though it wasn’t perfect. It wore well for four hours and was neither drying nor hydrating. Maybelline Glistening Amber (055) (P, $8.99) is more shimmery, sheerer, lighter. Chanel Envolee (427) (LE, $29.50) is lighter, sheerer. MAC Imperial Light (LE, $20.00) is more shimmery, less pigmented. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Lots of Laughs is described as a “creamy peach.” It’s a light-medium, neutral-to-cool-toned pink with a creamy finish. It had semi-opaque pigmentation, and it applied so-so–a little unevenly, some settling into lip lines. It lasted for four hours on me, though, and it was neither drying nor hydrating. Urban Decay Lovechild (P, $20.00) is sheerer, darker.Revlon Bejeweled (P, $7.49) is sheerer. Maybelline Petal Plush (100) (P, $8.99) is more shimmery, lighter. MAC Picture Pink (LE, $15.00) is slightly lighter, cooler-toned. Urban Decay Obsessed (P, $19.00) is sheerer. MAC Infinitely Likeable (P, $19.50) is cooler-toned. MAC Stay Sweet (LE, $15.00) is cooler-toned. MAC Angel (LE, $15.00) is darker. MAC Pagoda (LE, $20.00) is slightly lighter. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Pure Silliness is described as a “creamy lilac.” It’s a cool-toned, light-medium pink-purple with a creamy, glossy finish. It applied terribly unevenly, though it had semi-opaque color coverage. The color wore well for four hours and was neither drying nor hydrating. MAC Patentpink (LE, $20.00) is lighter. NARS Coeur Sucre (P, $26.00) is more shimmery. MAC Saint Germain (LE, $15.00) is a touch lighter.MAC Pink Nouveau (LE, $15.00) is similar. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

LE
product

Bright Side

C

Product

7/10

Pigmentation

8/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Carousel

B-

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Live It Up

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Bright Side Lipglass
MAC Bright Side Lipglass

MAC Bright Side Lipglass
MAC Bright Side Lipglass

MAC Bright Side Lipglass
MAC Bright Side Lipglass

MAC Bright Side Lipglass
MAC Bright Side Lipglass

MAC Bright Side Lipglass
MAC Bright Side Lipglass

MAC Bright Side Lipglass
MAC Bright Side Lipglass

MAC Carousel Lipglass
MAC Carousel Lipglass

MAC Carousel Lipglass
MAC Carousel Lipglass

MAC Carousel Lipglass
MAC Carousel Lipglass

MAC Carousel Lipglass
MAC Carousel Lipglass

MAC Carousel Lipglass
MAC Carousel Lipglass

MAC Carousel Lipglass
MAC Carousel Lipglass

MAC Live It Up Lipglass
MAC Live It Up Lipglass

MAC Live It Up Lipglass
MAC Live It Up Lipglass

MAC Live It Up Lipglass
MAC Live It Up Lipglass

MAC Live It Up Lipglass
MAC Live It Up Lipglass

MAC Live It Up Lipglass
MAC Live It Up Lipglass

MAC Live It Up Lipglass
MAC Live It Up Lipglass

MAC Lots of Laughs Lipglass
MAC Lots of Laughs Lipglass

MAC Lots of Laughs Lipglass
MAC Lots of Laughs Lipglass

MAC Lots of Laughs Lipglass
MAC Lots of Laughs Lipglass

MAC Lots of Laughs Lipglass
MAC Lots of Laughs Lipglass

MAC Lots of Laughs Lipglass
MAC Lots of Laughs Lipglass

MAC Lots of Laughs Lipglass
MAC Lots of Laughs Lipglass

MAC Pure Silliness Lipglass
MAC Pure Silliness Lipglass

MAC Pure Silliness Lipglass
MAC Pure Silliness Lipglass

MAC Pure Silliness Lipglass
MAC Pure Silliness Lipglass

MAC Pure Silliness Lipglass
MAC Pure Silliness Lipglass

MAC Pure Silliness Lipglass
MAC Pure Silliness Lipglass

MAC Pure Silliness Lipglass
MAC Pure Silliness Lipglass

The Makeup Look

On face: Guerlain Parure de Lumiere Foundation, Guerlain Les Voilettes Loose Powder, NARS Hot Sand Illuminator. On eyes: NARS Baalbek Eye Paint.

The Dupe List: Carousel

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Live It Up

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Lots of Laughs

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

55 thoughts on “MAC Playland Lipglasses Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Cinthia Cinthia

    Live it up lipglass!!! so pretty! What lipstick would you layer this over?

  2. I love the array of colours – so bright and pretty for spring/summer. They remind me of popsicles! The uneven application is disappointing though, as is the fact that the creamier colours set into lip lines. I’ll probably pass on them because of that. And the gold shades are really perplexing!
    Amanda Recently Posted: L’Oréal Sublime Radiance Sensational Cleansing Oil

  3. This collection makes me happy like children and candy. :)

  4. Pure Silliness is so pretty! It kind of reminds me of Viva Glam Nicki. I think I’ll have to check this one out too!
    fancie Recently Posted: Manicure Monday!

  5. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Kaitlyn Katy

    That yellow lip gloss is really unique!

  6. None of these are calling my name..

  7. OMG! Live it up looks gorgeous. i just wish it applied a little more evenly on lips. Still its better than rest i think. The tubes look really cute. ^_^ BTW does the yellow mellows down bright shades if used on top? can’t really think of any other use out of that one. :P
    Jyoti Recently Posted: Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm Vivacious Swatch, Review And LOTD

  8. Pass on these, they all look like they pool and your lips are younger than mine

  9. Elizabeth

    Live It Up reminds me of Sock Hop!

  10. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Alla Alla

    Oh, I was so hoping that Bright Side would be opaque; it would have been such an interesting and unique gloss! Is it just me, or has Mac really played it safe with these glosses?

    • My guess is they were designed more for layering with the lipsticks than to be worn on their own (but I think they should be more versatile and wearable either way!).

  11. Chanel

    Do you think that pure silliness would be a dupe for viva glam Nicki 1 lipglass, I lost mines recently and i’ve been heart broken ever since :( and I would love a similar one. Thank you Christine

  12. Live it up is pretty! I like lipglasses over lipsticks though not on its own!
    Vineetha Recently Posted: Giorgio Armani Maestro Foundation Review, Swatches

  13. Live it up looks so nice on you! Great for a warm smokey eye or a bright one with blues and blue based purples!
    Erin Recently Posted: Lavera Natural Liquid Foundation Review

  14. Oh dear – given the result on lips, Pure Silliness has a rather appropriate name :-P (but then I am terribly biased against chalky-based things that settle in lip lines, so take me with a grain of salt).

    Bright Side is very interesting, but I wish they’d actually pulled the trigger and made it a bit more opaque…
    Sylirael Recently Posted: The Ultimate Arsenal: Bloom Lipsticks in Ragtime, Charleston, Tint, Petal and Tangerine – Reviews and Swatch Hoard

  15. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Sarah Sarah S.

    Live It Up is awesome! I never thought I would like an orange lip color but it’s beautiful.

  16. Noah

    Hi Christine!
    I would like to ask how Carousel compares to VG Gaga 1? And since your collection has grown so much since your review, can you also please tell me any other duoes for it? Thank you! Just found my old tube of VG Gaga and OMG I love it.

  17. Ohhh if only I could bear the Lipglass formula! Live it up looks so gorgeous!!

  18. Pass this collection looks so unwearable :(

  19. Live it up and Slight Silliness.. lovely names and shades.. <3
    Beautiful lip swatches too.. :)

  20. some great colours!

  21. I’m not usually into MAC gloss, but all of these look so cute! Live It Up is definitely my favorite, though.

  22. Oh man! i love it Live it up !!! *_*

  23. Kenna

    I love both Carousel and Pure Silliness! Just out of curiosity, do you think they are different enough to justify buying both, or similar enough to just buy one?

  24. Jenn

    pure silliness <3 i think im in love