Sunday, February 2nd, 2014

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow ($21.00 for 0.06 oz.) is a single eyeshadow with four quadrants–like a pinwheel. Long-time readers will know that I’m not a huge fan of the Mineralize Eyeshadow formula, and this iteration doesn’t do much to sway me otherwise. The texture was on the dry side across the board, and it’s a product that doesn’t wear well–I get six hours of wear in total, but I noticed some fading after five hours. If I don’t use an eyeshadow base or apply these with a damp brush, the colors instantly look faded when I’ve applied them. They’re just so prone to fading away!

In the Meadow #1 is described as an “ice shimmering white.” It’s a pale, silvery white with a frosted sheen. It had sheer color payoff when applied dry (and was quite powdery and difficult to apply to the lid), and then semi-opaque color payoff when applied with a dampened brush. The texture was somewhat powdery and chunky, so this was my least favorite texture in the “quad.” See comparison swatches.

In the Meadow #2 is described as a “pale yellow.” It’s a pale, yellow gold with a frosted finish. Applied dry, it was nearly opaque, and applied with a dampened brush, it was as pigmented but smoother and less powdery. See comparison swatches.

In the Meadow #3 is described as a “golden mint.” It’s a pastel, light-medium green with warm undertones and a frosted finish. It applied semi-sheer dry, and then more semi-opaque when applied with a dampened brush. The consistency was on the drier side, so it needs to be applied over a base if used dry or else with a dampened brush. See comparison swatches.

In the Meadow #4 is described as a “dirty olive green.” It’s a murky, dirty green-tinged brown with a bronze shimmer-sheen. The texture was on the drier side, so the color payoff when applied dry was sheer and powdery. It was smoother and more pigmented when applied with a dampened brush. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

In the Meadow

C+

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

In the Meadow #1

C-

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

6.5/10

Longevity

6/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

In the Meadow #2

B-

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow #1 Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow #2 Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow #2 Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow #2 Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow #3 Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow #3 Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow #4 Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC in the Meadow #4 Mineralize Eyeshadow

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC In the Meadow: #1 (inner lid), #2 (middle of lid), #3 (outer lid),
#4 (crease), MAC Sassy Moss (lower lash line)

MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow
MAC In the Meadow: #1 (inner lid), #2 (middle of lid), #3 (outer lid),
#4 (crease), MAC Sassy Moss (lower lash line)

The Dupe List: In the Meadow #1

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: In the Meadow #2

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: In the Meadow #3

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

28 thoughts on “MAC in the Meadow Mineralize Eyeshadow Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Avatar of Jo Jo

    Yeah, I don’t like baked eyeshadows either. There’s something about them that reminds me of chalk on a chalkboard- all dry and yuck!

  2. I like the darkest color in the quad, but that’s it. This is one to skip then, thanks.

  3. I like the shades here, but I don’t really go for the mineralized eye shadows.

  4. Ehhh. Oh, MAC, why haven’t you improved your mineralized shadows yet?
    Rikki Recently Posted: beautyblender demonstration and review | closed captioned

  5. Even though you know you don’t like the formula, it’s still disappointing when it doesn’t work out. I always hope that next time they’ll “get it right.”
    Jenn Recently Posted: YSL Pivoine Crush Eyeshadow Palette

  6. This is very underwhelming!

  7. The shades are pretty.Seems the mineralize eyeshadows still have a long way to go before getting there! ;-)
    Vineetha Recently Posted: Clinique Berry Pop Cheek Pop Blush Review, Swatches

  8. Hmm… :-S

    I’d be worried that if I used shadows this dry and in these colours (especially with my limited eyeshadow skills), my eyelid might end up looking kind of moldy… :-(

    I do really like the name though, especially with that ‘patchwork’ look in the greens. So there’s that!
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Cool and Stealthy – The Essence of a Rogue with Tarte’s MATTEnificence Eyeshadow Palette (and Dollface Blush)

  9. Looks so lovely in the pan but “in the pan” isn’t enough! Sad that they can’t make more mineralized shadows with the good quality of some of the MES from the past (Burning Ambition, Golden Gaze)

  10. Sophia B.

    Hmmm. I love mineral powder foundations but anything else that is “mineralized” like eyeshadow, blush, etc. I just don’t like. It is always hard, dry, and patchy. What exactly is supposed to be the appeal of a mineralized formula?

  11. I really like shade #4, but the quality of the palette doesn’t seem worth it.

  12. Kris

    These are always POORLY pigmented! Do people still buy them?

  13. Avatar of Helene Helene

    I bought a mineralized eyeshadow form MAC ages ago, I can’t even remeber now what colour rangen it was in. What I do remember is that it was just awful, so sheer and so dusty I felt like I had most of the product on my cheeks, and very little on the lids.
    I’ve not bought any mineralized “single-quads” after that, and I’ll not start now.
    Thanks for the excelent review!

  14. Avatar of SandraJT SandraJT

    Jeezuz, all of the quads in this collection stink to high hell….pardon me, REEK!

    WTF is MAC thinking putting out rubbish like this? Again and again & AGAIN.