Saturday, July 20th, 2013

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag ($39.50) contains a full-sized Lipstick, Lipglass, and Lip Pencil, plus a medium-sized makeup bag. The value of the color products is $45, while the bag is very similar in size and material to the recently released Illustrated bags that retailed for $36, so the total (maximum) value is $81.  The gloss merely lightens Girl About Town, but it’s very subtle, so I don’t know if it’s really the best pairing, especially as the thickness of Picture Pink gives the finished look a very thick, almost goopy, finish.

Girl About Town is described as a “bright blue-fuchsia [with an Amplified finish].” It’s a bold, fuchsia pink with blue undertones and a satiny finish. It has rich, opaque color coverage, and it wore six hours well on me and left behind a stain. MAC Pink Poodle is lighter. MAC Rare Exotic is similar. Buxom Exhibitionist is brighter/lighter. See comparison swatches. (This is part of the permanent range.)

Picture Pink is described as a “clear pink.” It’s a light, milky pink with a creamy consistency and finish. It had semi-opaque color coverage, but it settled into lines and looked uneven. It’s the type of gloss that is best applied over another lip product (like a lipstick or lip pencil), because on its own, it’s a mess. It wore for four hours on me. MAC likes their milky pinks, so there is no shortage of dupes. MAC Infinitely Likeable is more neutral. MAC The Wee Coquette is lighter. MAC Stay Sweet is very similar. MAC Pink Fade is cooler-toned. MAC Fashion Scoop is sheerer. See comparison swatches.

Embrace Me is described as a “vivid fuchsia.” It’s a vibrant, nearly neon, fuchsia with a matte finish. It had rich, full color coverage. I reviewed this in March here. Its strength is longevity and color payoff, but it’s a bit dry and is drying when worn alone. Urban Decay Anarchy is cooler-toned. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

P
product

Girl About Town

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

10/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Picture Pink

C

Product

6.5/10

Pigmentation

7/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

3/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Embrace Me

B

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

10/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Girl About Town Lipstick

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Girl About Town Lipstick

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Girl About Town Lipstick

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Girl About Town Lipstick

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Girl About Town Lipstick

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Girl About Town Lipstick

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Picture Pink Lipglass

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Picture Pink Lipglass

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Picture Pink Lipglass

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Picture Pink Lipglass

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Picture Pink Lipglass

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Picture Pink Lipglass

MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil
MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil

MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil
MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil

MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil
MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil

MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil
MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil

MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil
MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil

MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil
MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil, Girl About Town, Picture Pink

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil, Girl About Town, Picture Pink

MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag
MAC Embrace Me Lip Pencil, Girl About Town, Picture Pink

The Dupe List: Girl About Town

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Picture Pink

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Embrace Me

See More Dupes

Product & Review FAQ

What makeup are you wearing?

On eyes: Fyrinnae Otherworldly, Feisty Fennec Fox, Laura Mercier Slate Eyeliner.

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

18 thoughts on “MAC Illustrated Pink Lip Bag Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Traci

    What eyeshadow are you wearing in first two lip pics? Love it!

  2. Man, you were right about that lipgloss being a mess on it’s own!. It makes your lips look almost like plastic. I find it weird though that it doesn’t really do much to the color of Girl About Town when applied on top. It’s barely even noticeable to me.

  3. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!!

  4. Your makeup looks amazing in that first picture and I absolutely LOVE how well it goes with your earrings!

  5. Man, I was so excited when I saw Embrace Me. I was really hoping that the lipstick would be Embrace Me too. I missed out when it came in the sets. Maybe they will re-release it sometime soon.

  6. Lip pencil is gorgeous! Love it!

  7. Love this! Girl About Town is in my mental wishlist haha. And Embrace Me is probably my most used MAC lip liner.

  8. Ahlem

    When does this collection come out internationally?
    i really want this lip bag.

  9. Your eye makeup is beautiful! I really need to place that long-awaited Fyrinnae order when I get a hold of some money,

    I don’t really understand why MAC put that gloss in this bag. Milky pinks are kind of…gross.

  10. stacey

    That bag felt cheap. No way I would paid for that price were I to buy it by itself. Embrace Me should be a permanent item…MAC has so many new lipsticks that can pair with Embrace Me. But the lipstick is not creamy like Heroine. Wish I got Heroine lipliner…and that one should also be permanent as well.

  11. Wow! I’m not crazy about these shades on their own (is it just me, or has MAC really been pushing Girl About Town recently?), but I LOVE them together. Your layered lip swatch looks absolutely electric, Christine! What a beautiful, dimensional statement lip.