Monday, March 31st, 2014

MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil

Here are the next three shades from the new MAC Patentpolish Lip Pencil ($20.00 for 0.08 oz.) range that I’ve finished testing! You can check out part one for an overview of the formula (and in-depth reviews of Go for Girlie, Innocent, Revved Up). To summarize: the formula is lightly hydrating, short-wearing (two to three hours), moderately tacky, and have light to moderate shine. The color coverage varies from semi-sheer to semi-opaque. I’ve also had some issues with even application with some shades.

MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil ($20.00 for 0.08 oz.) is described as a “deep blue-pink.” It’s a medium-dark, cool-toned pink with blue undertones and a luminous shine. It had semi-opaque color coverage, but it did not apply as evenly as I would like–luckily, with this particular shade, it wasn’t as noticeable from afar. It wore well for three hours. Milani Pink Lady (07) (P, $5.49) is lighter, glossier. L’Oreal Florid Pink (LE, $7.99) is very similar. Edward Bess First Kiss (P, $30.00) is warmer, lighter. Urban Decay Lovechild (P, $19.00) is warmer, lighter. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil ($20.00 for 0.08 oz.) is described as a “mauvey pink.” It’s a softened, muted light-medium pink with neutral-to-cool undertones and a creamy, lightly glossed finish. It had mostly opaque color coverage, and it applied fairly evenly–this is one of the best I’ve reviewed so far. The color lasted for almost three hours. Bobbi Brown Pink Flush (LE, $25.00) is lighter, less glossy. Too Faced Razzle Dazzle Rose (P, $21.00) iis slightly cooler-toned, less shiny. Urban Decay Lovechild (P, $19.00) is warmer, brighter, less glossy. NYX Paparazzi (P, $4.00) is less glossy, slightly warmer. NARS Roman Holiday (P, $26.00) is cooler-toned, lighter, less glossy. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil ($20.00 for 0.08 oz.) is described as a “washed-out lilac.” It’s a cool-toned, light pink with bluish-gray undertones and a light shine. It had semi-opaque pigmentation, which applied somewhat evenly–more evenly than anticipated for this type of color–but could use improvement in that area. It wore well for just over two hours. MAC Rose Lily (LE, $16.00) is lighter, less glossy. MAC Long Love Love (P, $19.50) is glossier, lighter. MAC Divine Choice (P, $22.00) is darker, warmer, less glossy. MAC Saint Germain (LE, $15.00) is glossier, brighter. MAC Enchantee (LE, $18.00) is lighter. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

LE
product

Fearless

B-

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Kittenish

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Patentpink

C

Product

6.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

3.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Fearless Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Kittenish Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencil

The Makeup Look

On face: Guerlain Parure de Lumiere Foundation, Guerlain Les Voilettes Loose Powder. On eyes: Marc Jacobs Intro(vert).

The Dupe List: Fearless

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Kittenish

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Patentpink

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Leave a Reply

Share your latest blog post when you comment by Registering or Logging In!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of new posts by E-Mail.

45 thoughts on “MAC Fearless, Kittenish, Patentpink Patentpolish Lip Pencils Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Kittenish is so pretty and my usual go-to color family, but I don’t own anything like Patentpink. Worth swatting for sure
    Allison Recently Posted: Peach & Green Spring Fantasy

  2. These look so sheer on your arm but give pretty good coverage
    Loving the look of these and its been so lon (atleast in India) since mac launched a lip product that got me excited.! Kittenish is way cute!
    Peachesandblush Recently Posted: Mac Galaxy Rose Cremesheen Lipglass (Fantasy of Flowers): Review & Swatches

  3. Ammara

    Kittenish is a pretty colour, but these are definitely things I’d pass on easily. I get the feeling that MAC is testing the waters with these two new products (huggables and patentpolishes) and will either develop these more to resemble the huggables in terms of formula or just introduce the huggables as permanent. I dunno, just a feeling. That’s why they’re in more basic colours too.
    Personally, I love the huggable formula. I hope MAC makes that permanent; whether it’s in lipstick form or crayon form, I don’t care.

  4. Avatar of A A

    I think these are a skip for me. Given their apparent lack of quality and the odd applicator end (it seems really imprecise) I think I’ll save my money for Alluring Aqua.

  5. Yes! Called it! :-D I’m glad Kittenish performed better – I think it actually looks really nice on you, Christine! A decent, MLBB shade. Hopefully there will be more in this collection that do well.

    I’m still not quite sure they’ve captured ‘patent’ shine, but I might be splitting hairs here… ;-)
    Sylirael Recently Posted: They’ll never see her coming: A forest-style mani that’ll have you green with… well… something.

  6. Avatar of Alla Alla

    I’m kind of disappointed in the patentpolishes. They’re nice enough, but the colours look too similar, and Mac really needed to do something special to make it worthwhile to purchase the patentpolishes instead of, say, the Revlon balm stains, which are cheaper and have a better range of colours. Really, I think Mac should stick to what it does best, which is to put out gorgeous lipsticks.

  7. This is definitely better than the first ones you reviewed!
    Judith Recently Posted: Guerlain Terracotta four seasons bronzer in natural brunette

  8. Fearless and Kittenish are cute on you!
    Phyrra Recently Posted: Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette Tutorial

  9. Eeep.. double take.. I LIKE kittenish.. looks so similar to an old Sephora brand lipstick of mine that I have had and loved for years. That slight mauvey’ness without going to the level of coolness that doesn’t work on me.

  10. I love the way Fearless looks on you! So pretty!
    fancie Recently Posted: Manicure Monday!

  11. Kittenish is the only one I wanted, but was trying to not buy…until I just saw on you. It looks so good on you and we’re similar in color so now I have to have it. I’m telling The Man it’s your fault when the black box arrives!

  12. So far, I don´t see anything special about this new MAC product that justifies a $20 price tag……maybe the next ones will be better, but with Clinique Chubby Sticks and Revlon Lip Balms out there, I’d think twice about getting one of these.

    • There are so many jumbo-sized lip pencils available now, twist-up or not, and these seem a bit late to market compared to the many others (that are great) available.

  13. Well, Kittenish is kiiiiinda pretty. Wish it was a bit more pigmented.
    Rikki Recently Posted: REVIEW: Sigma E55 – Eye Shading Brush

  14. Lauren

    Fearless and Kittenish aren’t BAD, but for my money, I’d rather buy Laura Gellar’s Love Me Dew lip crayons. Surprisingly pigmented, shinier than most lip crayons that I’ve tried, and they smell great!

  15. Kittenish looks gorgeous and something I would wear everyday. Hmm! Rethinking my stance on these pencils, lol :) Would you recommend these over the NARS Satin Lip Pencils, C?
    Shari Recently Posted: Tom Ford Eyeshadow Quad in Golden Mink

  16. Kittenish is a gorgeous shade and perfect for soft lip looks..
    The color looks way better on lips than arms.. so I am assuming they may look a little deeper on pigmented lips.. :)

  17. tempted to pick up kittenish when these launch in India :D
    Ritu Recently Posted: Faces Glam On powder blush- Crimson: Review, swatch, FOTD

  18. What will it tke for MAC to realize that a lot of us really want an amplified cream collection of lipstick? All these retro mattes and sheer colors are bumming me out.

  19. Ok, Kittenish looks nice on you and yeah, it looks best from this lot. Fearless is also nice. <3
    Eesha Recently Posted: Video: Fresh Spring Make-up – Soft Eyes and Berry Lips

  20. Fearless is very cute – and more pigmented than I expected.

  21. I really like Kittenish and thik it would be the best for me out of the set.
    Erin Recently Posted: House Wine 2010 Mountain Merlot Review

  22. Jennife

    Wow…I (respectfully) couldn’t disagree with you more on this product, Christine. I love this product way more than the Huggable lip color (I threw mine into recycling). This one just grabs on the lips beautifully and I love the finish, color pay off and longevity of them. Faveorite color is Patent Pink! Sorry to hear you didn’t find the love on these! M