Friday, December 20th, 2013

MAC Magnetic Nude Huggable Lipcolour
MAC  Huggable Lipcolours (Cherry Glaze, Commotion, Fashion Force,
Feeling Amorous, Fresh & Frisky, Love Beam)

MAC Huggable Lipcolour ($20.00 for 0.11 oz.) are supposed to be long-wearing for as long as six hours, pigmented, hug lips while providing a glossy finish that gives lips a “smooth and sculpted” appearance and “immediate moisture.” If you’re familiar with MAC’s lipstick formulas, I would describe this as a cross between the Cremesheen finish and Mineralize Rich Lipsticks. They wear a little longer than Mineralize Rich Lipsticks and Sheen Supremes, but they have a thinner, clingier consistency that is much more like the Cremesheen finished lipsticks; I don’t think they’re very similar to Sheen Supremes, as they have a lot more slip, creaminess, and a glossier shine. The consistency isn’t lightweight, because it’s noticeably there, as it does feel a bit gel-like, slightly glossy, but mostly… clingy–maybe I mean huggable. It’s a little tacky, too. I wouldn’t describe the consistency was creamy, as the bullet does skip and tug at the lips. The best way to apply is to rest the bullet against your lip for about five seconds, and then slowly pull to glide the color across the lips–this seemed to give me the best glide and smoothest results. I’ve only worn four so far, and I have eight to go, but these four were somewhat hydrating.  They did not feel immediately hydrating to me; there was some hydration over time, though.

I think someone who likes a glossier shine to their lipstick formula, fair amount of color payoff (but not fully opaque), likes their lipstick to hug (or cling) to their lips and not slip around at all, and doesn’t mind a little tackiness may like this formula. Some people will definitely find it uncomfortable to wear. As I wore these, I found they were unforgiving on flakes, dryness, and did not reapply well. They were best applied over freshly exfoliated, hydrated lips, and to reapply, you really need to remove whatever may be left. It’s also a product that takes about five minutes to smooth out on the lips; I suspect as the warmth of your lips heat the color, the color becomes more blendable, so it smooths and evens out just so. If you like Giorgio Armani’s Rouge Ecstasy formula, you’ll probably like these.  Their biggest downside is really that they about average for wear–not long-wearing.

It is a new (and limited edition) formula that launches online on December 26th. The press release lists an in-store release date of January 2nd, though I would suggest checking with local counters/stores to ensure it’s not also releasing alongside Magnetic Nude (on December 26th). There are twelve shades available, with two shades being released everywhere but Asia (Rich Marron and Rusty), and two shades released exclusive to Asia (Extra Sweet and Sweet Creation).

Cherry Glaze is described as an “orange red.” It’s a warm, orange-toned, medium red that’s brightened but not quite neon red. It had semi-opaque color coverage, a light sheen, and applied evenly for the most part. It wore well for five hours and did leave a slight stain behind. Too Faced Red Stiletto (P, $21.00) is shinier but very similar. Revlon Provocateur (135) (P, $8.99) is also similar but not quite as warm-toned. Anna Sui Minnie Mouse (01) (LE) is similar. Chanel Dialogue (P, $34.00) is darker. MAC Must Be Red (LE, $16.00) is a bit darker. See comparison swatches.

Fashion Force is described as a “cool coral.” It’s a light-medium, slightly muted, pink-tinged coral with a luminous shine. It had semi-opaque pigmentation applied to the lips. It lasted three and a half hours on me. Givenchy Brun Createur (103) (P, $36.00) is more matte. Too Faced Coral Fire (P, $21.00) is brighter. Urban Decay Streak (P, $22.00) is pinker. Urban Decay Liar (P, $22.00) is a touch browner. NARS Dolce Vita (P, $25.00) is more matte. See comparison swatches.

Fresh and Frisky is described as a “soft neutral peach.” It’s a light-medium, orange-peach wih a luminous shine. It had semi-sheer to semi-opaque color payoff. It applied mostly evenly and wore well for three hours on me. MAC Sweet Grenadine (LE, $16.00) is more orange. MAC Gotta Dash! (P, $16.00) is lighter. MAC Ravishing (P, $16.00) is darker, less glossy. MAC In a Heartbeat (LE, $16.00) is lighter. Burberry Pink Apricot (301) (P, $30.00) is more matte, lighter. Bobbi Brown Peach Sorbet (LE, $23.00) is sheerer, lighter. See comparison swatches.

Out for Passion is described as a “soft warm rose.” It’s a muted, medium pink with subtle, warm undertones and a luminous shine. It had semi-sheer to semi-opaque pigmentation when applied to the lips. It appeared mostly even when I applied it and lasted three and a half hours. Too Faced Bon Bon (P, $21.00) is brighter, glossier. Tarte Tulip (P, $16.00) is similar. Marc Jacobs Beauty Have We Met? (108) (P, $30.00) is lighter, shimmery. Urban Decay Streak (P, $22.00) is warmer, lighter. Urban Decay Fiend (P, $22.00) is slightly pinker. Revlon Lover’s Coral (P, $7.99) is brighter. NYX Haute Melon (P, $4.00) is less pink. MAC Grande Dame (P, $22.00) is pinker, a touch warmer. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
product

Cherry Glaze

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Fashion Force

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Fresh and Frisky

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Cherry Glaze Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Cherry Glaze Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Cherry Glaze Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Cherry Glaze Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Cherry Glaze Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Cherry Glaze Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Cherry Glaze Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Cherry Glaze Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Cherry Glaze Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Cherry Glaze Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Cherry Glaze Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Cherry Glaze Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Fashion Force Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Fashion Force Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Fashion Force Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Fashion Force Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Fashion Force Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Fashion Force Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Fashion Force Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Fashion Force Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Fashion Force Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Fashion Force Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Fashion Force Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Fashion Force Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Out for Passion Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Out for Passion Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Out for Passion Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Out for Passion Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Out for Passion Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Out for Passion Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Out for Passion Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Out for Passion Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Out for Passion Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Out for Passion Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Out for Passion Huggable Lipcolour
MAC Out for Passion Huggable Lipcolour

MAC Magnetic Nude Huggable Lipcolour
MAC  Huggable Lipcolours

MAC Magnetic Nude Huggable Lipcolour
MAC  Huggable Lipcolour

The Dupe List: Cherry Glaze

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Fashion Force

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Fresh and Frisky

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

43 thoughts on “MAC Huggable Lipcolour Reviews, Photos, Swatches (Part 1)

  1. Avatar of Charm Ann

    Cool! Bet these will look good for Korean Gradient lips. Cristine, how about you try the Gradient lips trend. Conceal the outer edges of the lips then the clip color will go in the inner lip. Then pop a gloss on the middle.

  2. grlnxdor

    Wow! I’m LOVING the look of all of them! I don’t think that’s ever happened before.

  3. MAC Fresh & Frisky Huggable Lipcolour is absolutely fantastic! I tried it on me and I loved it!

  4. zainab

    I think I can skip these, they seem to combine just about everything I hate about lip gloss and lipstick.

  5. Avatar of Adrienne Adrienne

    Aside from how excited I am for swatches of these, you should DEFINITELY wear your hair down in more swatch photos! I can’t really explain what it is, but seeing your hair on the sides of your face and neck instead of the white background make it easier for me to visualize the colors on myself. And it’s so pretty!

  6. Anything cherryor jelly … and my eyes roll

    cherry glaze is as wonderful as the name is :)

    and I repeat again n again
    love clean face lightly applied kohl n pop of color on lips
    n 1000 watts smile

  7. I’m so excited about this launch! Sheer, balmy lipsticks are right up my alley!
    Audrey Recently Posted: College Makeup Collection/Setup

  8. Chery Glaze looks pretty! It looks like it might be similar to Revlon Lip Butter in Candy Apple, though.

    On another note, can I just say that I hate it when brands release limited edition formulas for anything? LE or seasonal shades, sure, but formula? (cue flashback on the amazing one hit wonder that is Mega Metal eyeshadows)

    • LOL, I don’t like these myself, so I’m not too fussed that they’re LE, but I’m with you on Mega Metals :) I don’t mind LE formulas if I felt like the brand would BRING IT BACK if it did well (like why Mega Metals has never been repeated… what?!).

      • I agree! You’d think they’d prioritize bringing back shades and formulas that are ACTUALLY good, instead of coming up with yet ANOTHER new formula of products that will probably never be seen again. :/

        I’d like to add, though, that I don’t get AT ALL is LE skincare. What. Why.

    • I don´t get either the idea of releasing LE formulas and I´m with both you and Christine about Mega Metals!

  9. wowzers! those are some super gorgeous and yummy shades! I want them ALLLLLLLL
    Lisha Recently Posted: The Body Shop Vitamin E Body Butter Review & Swatch

  10. First one swatched is GORGEOUS.
    Rikki Recently Posted: REVIEW: Benefit Sun Beam

  11. Cherry Glaze was the shade I was most excited about, but it doesn’t do much for me. Out for Passion is probably my favorite here.

  12. I really like the finish of these LS on you, Christine! I especially like Out for Passion and Fashion Force. Why does EVERYTHING look so good on you :D?!

  13. Linda

    In the promo pics for these… Which one do you think the model on the right is wearing?

  14. Mariam

    Christine, thank you for the review, for some unknown reason i started to fall out of love with MAC, the prices are going up in the UAE while the quality is going down.. Many are complaining , hope MAC takes that in consideration :)

  15. Hi Christine! Would you be able to compare this formula to that of the Chantecaille Lip Chic and/or Guerlain Rouge Automatique formulas? Thank you! :)

  16. These look so pretty on you, Christine! Especially the last 3 :-)

    I’m biased though – I’m always on the lookout for that ‘MLBB’/pink nude lipstick!

  17. So far the swatches look really nice but I’m not too sure about that review. My lips aren’t always flake free and I don’t want to draw too much attention to that lol
    fancie Recently Posted: Black Box Day!

  18. Cherry claze looks hot on you honey <3 <3

  19. Kat

    Temptalia- do you know if this collection and the Nude Collection are eligible for the MacPro discount?

  20. Avatar of Georgiana Georgiana

    I really love all of these colours (they’d be really pretty in the spring and summer, I imagine), but I feel like that formula – which seems like a real acquired taste – renders them just not worth it. I would even put up with the troublesome application if they were actually long-wearing. What’s the point in having your lips hugged so fervently if the hug doesn’t keep the colour on?

  21. Oooo fresh and frisky will be mine!

  22. Leslie

    Do these have the vanilla scent like all other MAC lip products? I think I read somewhere else they don’t but I wanted to clarify it with you. I would be disappointed if they didn’t have the scent!

  23. Beautiful colours!! Want them all! Do you have a top 3 out of all these?

  24. Avatar of divinem1 (Melissa) divinem1 (Melissa)

    Cherry Glaze and Out for Passion look stunning on you, Christine. Thanks for the swatches! I’m looking forward to seeing swatches of Bobbi Brown’s new Shimmer Finish Lip Color. :D