Tuesday, April 1st, 2014

MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil

Here are the next three shades from the new MAC Patentpolish Lip Pencil ($20.00 for 0.08 oz.) range that I’ve finished testing! You can check out part one for an overview of the formula (and in-depth reviews of Go for Girlie, Innocent, Revved Up) and part two (Fearless, Kittenish, Patentpink). To summarize: the formula is lightly hydrating, short-wearing (two to three hours), moderately tacky, and have light to moderate shine. The color coverage varies from semi-sheer to semi-opaque. I’ve also had some issues with even application with some shades.

MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil ($20.00 for 0.08 oz.) is described as an “orange-red.” It’s a brightened, medium-dark orange-red with warm undertones and a shiny finish. There’s nothing “Berry” about this shade at all (and even the official description agrees). It had semi-opaque color coverage that applied mostly evenly. This shade wore well for three and a half hours. Shiseido Lust (RD305) (P, $25.00) is more orange, glossier. Illamasqua Touch (P, $22.00) is darker, more shimmery. MAC Cherry Glaze (LE, $20.00) is darker, redder. Too Faced Red Stiletto (P, $21.00) is darker. Givenchy Carmin Escarpin (306) (P, $36.00) is more orange, less red. NARS Wonder (LE, $25.00) is darker, glossier. Chanel Exces (P, $32.00) is redder, glossier. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil ($20.00 for 0.08 oz.) is described as a “bright clean fuchsia.” It’s a cool-toned, fuchsia pink with blue undertones and a glossier finish. It had semi-opaque pigmentation, and the color applied fairly evenly. This shade was also glossier than the others. It lasted for three hours on me. Guerlain Rose Grenat (864) (LE, $49.50) is more opaque, darker. YSL Rose Asarine (34) (P, $34.00) is warmer, more opaque. Revlon Adorned (P, $7.49) is more shimmery, more opaque. Revlon Whimsical (115) (P, $8.99) is very similar. MAC Lickable (P, $16.00) is less glossy, cooler-toned. MAC Girl About Town (P, $16.00) is cooler-toned, more matte. Guerlain Gigi (P, $49.50) is brighter, redder. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil ($20.00 for 0.08 oz.) is described as a “rosy pink.” It’s a medium-dark, pinky-red with subtle cool undertones and a soft shine. It had semi-opaque pigmentation but it applied somewhat unevenly. This shade wore well for three and a half hours and left a very slight stain. Guerlain Rose Grenat (864) (LE, $49.50) is cooler-toned, more opaque. YSL Rose Asarine (34) (P, $34.00) is warmer. MAC Feeling Amorous? (LE, $20.00) is cooler-toned. Revlon Whimsical (115) (P, $8.99) is cooler-toned. Giorgio Armani #523 (P, $29.00) is glossier. Chanel Suspense (P, $34.00) is less glossy. Guerlain Gigi (P, $49.50) is brighter, cooler-toned. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

LE
product

Berry Bold

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Hopelessly Devoted

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Pleasant

B-

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Berry Bold Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Hopelessly Devoted Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil

MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil
MAC Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil

The Makeup Look

3/28/14

On face: Guerlain Parure de Lumiere Foundation, Guerlain Les Voilettes Loose Powder. On eyes: Marc Jacobs Intro(vert).

The Dupe List: Berry Bold

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Hopelessly Devoted

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Pleasant

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

24 thoughts on “MAC Berry Bold, Hopelessly Devoted, Pleasant Patentpolish Lip Pencil Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. The problem with balmy like products is that the bold shades often look very uneven!
    Judith Recently Posted: Guerlain Terracotta four seasons bronzer in natural brunette

  2. All 3 are gorgeous! Berry Bold is surprisingly warm going by what the name suggests! I was wondering if Revlon Lacquer Balm ‘Vivacious’ is similar to Hopelessly Devoted or Pleasant?
    Ankita Recently Posted: FOTD : Smoked Purple + Tea Rose

  3. Oh that’s gorgeous! I love the Hopelessly Devoted most. And Adorned… And Whimsical! They are all beautiful! Love your smile. :)

  4. Berry Bold is pretty, but nothing here is really calling to me. I think MAC was pretty late on the bandwagon when it came to these crayon-like balms,

  5. This grouping looks better than many of the others. Still, I’m only picking up Kittenish because it’s a MLBB shade and a weird shade I do not see very often. I got sidetracked by the By Request during checkout and they jumped into my basket too. Is there such thing as too many lipsticks? This spring is killah

  6. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Jessica Jessica Brown

    I love the colors of this entire line! I really wish the quality was better though. The lack of hydration and uneven application makes me hesitate. Plus I’m tired of falling in love with limited edition MAC stuff! My heart is always broken in the end :(

  7. Would you say Berry Bold looks similar to Dreaming Dahlia? It is the ONLY one I am eyeing but I have Dreaming Dahlia! :)
    Shipra Recently Posted: SmartFX SmartBrow Eyebrow Filler in Brunette Photos/Review

  8. Pleasant is a nice shade! I am not so sold on the range though! :-(
    Vineetha Recently Posted: Giorgio Armani Maestro Foundation Review, Swatches

  9. Meh. I was so excited for these pencils but I’m just sad.
    Rikki Recently Posted: BORNPRETTYSTORE 10 Pan Blush Palette

  10. These look like nice colours, but I think the formula would need to be a bit more even! One of the nice things about sherr-ish crayon lip products that I like is the ability to be able to toss it on quickly without a mirror :-D
    Sylirael Recently Posted: They’ll never see her coming: A forest-style mani that’ll have you green with… well… something.

  11. I really like Berry Bold on you!
    Erin Recently Posted: House Wine 2010 Mountain Merlot Review