Friday, July 25th, 2014

MAC All About Beige Look in a Box
MAC All About Beige Look in a Box

MAC All About Beige Look in a Box ($49.50 for 0.43 oz.) is described as “shades of soft tan, copper, and pewtered bronze.” The palette contains two blushes, six eyeshadows, two lipsticks, and a double-ended brush (275SE/316SE). Each eyeshadow is 0.0176 oz. each (0.106 oz. total), blush is 0.14 oz. each (0.28 oz. total), and lipstick is 0.02 oz. each (0.04 oz. total). Based on price per ounce, the kit contains $31.68 worth of eyeshadow, $28 worth of blush, and $6.40 worth of lipstick, which adds up to $66.08. There is also a dual-ended brush, so I guess that’s valued at $34.92 in order to add up to the $101 value listed. I was underwhelmed by the palette; it’s not the worst I’ve tried from MAC, but it’s still a far cry from when MAC does their best. The quality is all over the map, but several shades suffered from drier, stiffer textures that made them harder to apply and use. As a heads up, the blush pans are on the smaller side, so you’ll need to use a smaller-than-average-sized blush brush for application.

Love & Laughter (Blush) is a medium, orange-coral with a gold shimmer and a satiny sheen. It had good color payoff, but it was drier in texture, and it seemed to be a lot less pigmented on the skin. On me, it lasted for seven and a half hours. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Light Study (Eyeshadow) is a light beige with a matte finish and subtle, warm undertones. It had semi-sheer color payoff, and the texture was somewhat stiff. It wore well for seven hours before fading. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Honesty (Eyeshadow) is a coppery brown with flecks of copper sparkle and finer copper shimmer. This is a permanent shade. It had decent pigmentation, though it had fall out when worn. The color itself didn’t start fading until after seven and a half hours of wear. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Sable Riche (Eyeshadow) is a medium-dark, warm-toned brown with golden shimmer. It had good color payoff, and the texture was soft and smooth, while it lasted for eight hours on me. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

What’s Haute? (Lipstick) is a peachy-pink with a satin-matte finish. It had mostly opaque color coverage, was slightly drying, and lasted for three hours on me but settled into lip lines towards the last hour of wear. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Liberating (Blush) is a medium-dark, muted brown with subtle, warm undertones and a semi-matte finish. The texture was dry, slightly stiff, which made it harder to get color payoff out of the shade. It lasted for seven hours before fading on my skin. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Rocket Girl (Eyeshadow) is a medium-dark gold with hints of brown and a soft, frosted finish. It had nice pigmentation, and it applied easily due to its soft, finely-milled texture. On me, the color stayed true for eight hours before fading. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Plum Ember (Eyeshadow) is a medium-dark brown with reddish undertones and a satin finish. It had such a dry, stiff texture that resulted in sheer color payoff. It was difficult to use on the lid, as it didn’t want to blend. The color wore well for seven hours on me. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Cocktail Black (Eyeshadow) is a burgundy-brown with warm undertones and a satin finish. The texture was drier, so it was difficult to blend, and it didn’t have great color payoff. The color stayed on for seven hours before creasing. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Modern Wow! (Lipstick) is a brightened, almost-neon coral-pink with a soft sheen. It had opaque color coverage, and while the consistency was very creamy, it was slightly thick so that “lines” were created when I pressed my lips together (whether on purpose or inadvertently while talking). The color lasted for four hours on me and was neither drying nor hydrating. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

LE
palette

All About Beige

C+

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

8/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Love & Laughter

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Light Study

C-

Product

6.5/10

Pigmentation

6.5/10

Texture

7/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC All About Beige Look in a Box
MAC All About Beige Look in a Box

MAC All About Beige Look in a Box
MAC All About Beige Look in a Box

MAC All About Beige Look in a Box
MAC All About Beige Look in a Box

MAC All About Beige Look in a Box
MAC All About Beige Look in a Box

MAC All About Beige Look in a Box
MAC All About Beige Look in a Box

MAC All About Beige Look in a Box
MAC All About Beige Look in a Box

MAC Love & Laughter Blush
MAC Love & Laughter Blush

MAC Love & Laughter Blush
MAC Love & Laughter Blush

MAC Love & Laughter Blush
MAC Love & Laughter Blush

MAC Light Study Eyeshadow
MAC Light Study Eyeshadow

MAC Light Study Eyeshadow
MAC Light Study Eyeshadow

MAC Honesty Eyeshadow
MAC Honesty Eyeshadow

MAC Honesty Eyeshadow
MAC Honesty Eyeshadow

MAC Sable Riche Eyeshadow
MAC Sable Riche Eyeshadow

MAC Sable Riche Eyeshadow
MAC Sable Riche Eyeshadow

MAC What's Haute? Lipstick
MAC What’s Haute? Lipstick

MAC What's Haute? Lipstick
MAC What’s Haute? Lipstick

MAC What's Haute? Lipstick
MAC What’s Haute? Lipstick

MAC What's Haute? Lipstick
MAC What’s Haute? Lipstick

MAC What's Haute? Lipstick
MAC What’s Haute? Lipstick

MAC Liberating Blush
MAC Liberating Blush

MAC Liberating Blush
MAC Liberating Blush

MAC Liberating Blush
MAC Liberating Blush

MAC Rocket Girl Eyeshadow
MAC Rocket Girl Eyeshadow

MAC Rocket Girl Eyeshadow
MAC Rocket Girl Eyeshadow

MAC Plum Ember Eyeshadow
MAC Plum Ember Eyeshadow

MAC Plum Ember Eyeshadow
MAC Plum Ember Eyeshadow

MAC Cocktail Black Eyeshadow
MAC Cocktail Black Eyeshadow

MAC Cocktail Black Eyeshadow
MAC Cocktail Black Eyeshadow

MAC Modern Wow! Lipstick
MAC Modern Wow! Lipstick

MAC Modern Wow! Lipstick
MAC Modern Wow! Lipstick

MAC Modern Wow! Lipstick
MAC Modern Wow! Lipstick

MAC Modern Wow! Lipstick
MAC Modern Wow! Lipstick

MAC Modern Wow! Lipstick
MAC Modern Wow! Lipstick

MAC All About Beige Look in a Box
MAC Eyeshadows: Rocket Girl (inner tear duct/crease), Honesty (inner two-thirds of lid),
Sable Riche (outer lid), Plum Ember (crease), Cocktail Black (crease), Light Study (brow bone)

MAC All About Beige Look in a Box
MAC Eyeshadows: Rocket Girl (inner tear duct/crease), Honesty (inner two-thirds of lid),
Sable Riche (outer lid), Plum Ember (crease), Cocktail Black (crease), Light Study (brow bone)

The Makeup Look

On face: Giorgio Armani Maestro Foundation, Urban Decay Naked Loose Finishing Powder. On lips: MAC Feeling Fine Lipglass.

The Dupe List: Love & Laughter

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Light Study

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Honesty

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Leave a Reply

Share your latest blog post when you comment by Registering or Logging In!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of new posts by E-Mail.

45 thoughts on “MAC All About Beige Look in a Box Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Booo, but it looks so pretty in the packaging.
    Rikki Recently Posted: My Makeup Story.

  2. Avatar of Kelsey Kelsey

    Modern Wow is such a gorgeous colour! It should be added to the permanent line.

  3. I think they would have made a LOT more money by releasing actual lipsticks instead of ones in pans…I would have bought it just for them. Those lipstick colors are right up my alley.

  4. That’s so disappointing! I was tempted to buy it as a birthday treat to myself, but it looks like I won’t then. =( Thank goodness for your makeup reviews!

  5. I strongly dislike palettes with lipstick/lipgloss AND eyeshadows in the same section. It becomes so messy over time!
    Modernaires Recently Posted: BITE Matte Crème Lip Crayons

    • There’s a little plastic cover that sits over the lipsticks :)

      • I think the protective “door” is a great idea. I hope more companies adopt something similar when they have cream and powder products together. Personally, I also liked the way TheBalm handled this in several of their palettes – part of the cardboard case folds up and over the lip products to protect them.

  6. Pretty “ho-hum” for me (and I’m the neutrals addict!). The blush and lipstick just don’t look like colours that suit me and the eye shadows just look like ones that everyone has in their collection – just nothing special and, dare I say it, boring (and, again, I’m the staunch supporter of all things neutral in eyeshadows!)

    • I feel like if they were all really, really good, then maybe it would be more interesting, but the idea of so-so neutrals that have been done before… not so much.

  7. I really love the colour combination of this palette! Warm tones like this suit me so well. It’s a really great value for money type of deal but what’s the point if your not getting great quality.

  8. It’s a good concept that you can have a whole look from just one palette, but the packaging gives it a thumbs down from me. I guess I just have high hopes when it comes to new MAC releases.

  9. Well, it sure looked pretty. But I guess this is a box to pass on then, good to know.

  10. Avatar of Joy Joy

    Modern Wow is gorgeous!

  11. Emiloutre

    Hi Christine,
    That mascara really suits you, it makes your lashes thick and bushy (in a good way!), what is it?
    Yet again disappointed by a MAC palette, but I was positively surprised by the look you created, it really makes the gold in your eyes stand out! It’s also exactly my kind of shimmer, especially with such neutral colours, it’s just enough to brighten your eyes, but definitely on the safe and natural side of shimmery.
    Liberating blush looks super natural, I love that kind of muted bricky-rosy-browny colour. Might look nice as a shadow too…
    But I’ll definitely pass, I don’t need A) more palettes and B) more neutrals in my life (and probably never will)!
    Cheers from Switzerland,

  12. Avatar of Cat Cat

    I hope people don’t waste their money on this one. Beyond disappointing, though the Modern Wow lip color is nice.

  13. It’s too bad that this didn’t perform better as all the shades look so pretty, both swatched and on you!!
    Carolyn Recently Posted: Bobbi Brown Sheer Lip Color in Pink Taffy and Peach Sorbet Review & Swatches

  14. It’s times like these that I really appreciate your dupe finder. That blush is pretty, but looks like buying the whole box would be a waste.
    Izzie Recently Posted: Review: Bobbi Brown Brightening Blush in Pink and Bronze

  15. It would be nice if the quality was better. This palette would really be a steal if it was more like the perm line
    fancie Recently Posted: Feeling Blue? Line It Up!

  16. Stacey

    I don’t like lipstick n eyeshadow together

  17. I bought this palette a week ago and so disappointed almost everythind seem dry than normal eyeshadows/lipstick from MAC,only good thing from this palette is good pigmented but bad at formula. Dose that make sense? LOL

  18. Rashmi11

    the feeling that you are a sales representative Mac, already 100,000 posts about this cosmetics lately (diversity need (

    • Hi Rashmi,

      I appreciate that not everyone is a fan of MAC, but I have already mentioned to you on a few occasions now that MAC is a brand that many readers enjoy seeing. If you don’t like MAC, just skip the posts :) There are typically over 30 brands featured on Temptalia every month, with over 100 reviews done per month. I am most emphatically not a sales representative of MAC.

      If there are brands you like seeing on Temptalia, I urge you to start participating on those posts, because comments are a major indicator of whether something is resonating with readers or not.

  19. Avatar of Helene Helene

    I have, much like you, Christine and others here learnt the hard and costly way, not to have high expectations when it comes to MAC palettes. Pity this wasn’t an exception. I really liked the look of it, and one of the first things I noticed was the little plastic lid over the lipsticks.
    I have Honesty, have had it for years, the one I have isn’t really stiff, but theres a significant amount of fall down from it. A fun, or strnage thing is, when I’m browsing the MAC eyeshadows I always, every time take Honesty to see what that lovely colour is. I fall for it again and again. :)

  20. monibackincali

    Christine, Love and Laughter blush looks AMAZING on you! This is one of does blushes I wish they would pleeeeassse release in a compact!


  21. Well, this one is closer to its description, but has, amusingly, a shadow in it with ‘plum’ in the name, LOL! :-D It still swatches kind of brown, but it gave me a chuckle (since I read the review for the plum box first).

    This box is actually ‘pinker’ than I was expecting for a ‘beige’ box – not something I would personally complain about in the sense that I look better in pink/peach than beige, but I feel like whichever committee at MAC designed these boxes wasn’t really talking to each other when they did it…
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Tales of Adventure from the Beauty Spotlight Team! Epic Polishes, Epic Potions and Epic Giveaways!

    • Haha ;) I hear what you’re saying. It is interesting that they don’t lean drastically beige/plum.

      • Karin Phua

        I bought the “All about Pink” after looking at all these sets. All About Pink is USD 52 in Malaysia, while All About Beige is USD 82.50! I would have also bought all about Coral if the lipstick is like Modern Wow here.

        I think All About Coral’s nude lipstick should be in this set and Moden Wow in Coral.