Thursday, August 29th, 2013

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette ($43.50 for 0.19 oz.) is a new and limited edition palette that launches in-stores on September 12th. It contains six eyeshadows. Like the other eyeshadow palettes, it’s more of a miss than a hit, because the eyeshadows are not consistent and I didn’t feel like any of the eyeshadows in this palette were even great. A couple were decent to good, but it feels like a situation where you’re just impressed when one isn’t horrible. Carbon is the worst performer, and how dry and stiff it is makes you want to tear your hair out. Both Carbon and Envisioning Pink were significantly faded after six hours of wear.

Lithe Spirit is described as a “cool cream [with a Satin finish].” It’s a cool-toned, pale beige with a mostly matte finish. It had fairly good color payoff, was slightly dry/powdery, but it was workable. This is a repromote. Urban Decay Kinky is more beige. MAC Creamy Bisque is shimmery. MAC All Races is darker, purpler. See comparison swatches.

Envisioning Pink is described as a “mid-tone blue pink [with a Satin finish].” It is a cool-toned, blue-based, medum pink with a mostly matte finish. It was very powdery, so it was somewhat sheer but very prone to sheering out and fading during wear. MAC Feather Pink is lighter. MAC Pin-up Purple is darker. Bobbi Brown Ultra Violet is darker. See comparison swatches.

Violet Impact is described as a “vibrant violet [with a Veluxe Pearl finish].” It’s a pink-tinted violet purple with a soft, pearly sheen. It had so-so pigmentation, but the texture was a bit dry, so it was stiffer and more difficult to apply and blend on the lid. MAC Power Boosted is similar, slightly pinker. MAC Spoiled Rich is purpler, less shimmery. MAC Push the Edge is purpler, darker. Inglot #439 is much purpler. See comparison swatches.

Showgirl is described as a “dark blue grey [with a Veluxe Pearl finish].” It’s a medium, blue-based gray with a frosted finish. The texture was somewhat dry, almost flaky, so it didn’t apply as smoothly as I expected for a VP. The color payoff was fairly good, though. This is a repromote. theBalm Matt McDonald is darker. MAC Frozen Blue is lighter. MAC Cyber is lighter, cream. See comparison swatches.

Graphic Style is described as a “deep silver [with a Veluxe Pearl finish].” It’s a cool-toned, brown-tinged taupe with a soft, pearly finish. It had good color payoff, and the texture was fairly smooth. Urban Decay Armor is slightly warmer. Urban Decay Mushroom is warmer, lighter. MAC Dynamic Duo 3 #1 is less shimmery, darker. MAC Dangerously Cuvee is lighter, cream. MAC Moth Brown is less shimmery. MAC Electroplate is lighter. Inglot #434 is grayer, darker. See comparison swatches.

Carbon is described as an intense black [with a Matte finish].” It’s supposed to be a medium-dark black with a matte finish, but because the color payoff and texture are so poor, it’s really just a splotchy black. The texture is so stiff and dry that it is a total pain in the behind to apply and blend. There are plenty of black eyeshadows to choose from. See a few comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet

C

Product

7/10

Pigmentation

7.5/10

Texture

7/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Lithe Spirit

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Envisioning Pink

D+

Product

6.5/10

Pigmentation

7/10

Texture

7/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Lithe Spirit Eyeshadow

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Lithe Spirit Eyeshadow

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Envisioning Pink Eyeshadow

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Envisioning Pink Eyeshadow

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Violet Impact Eyeshadow

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Violet Impact Eyeshadow

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Showgirl Eyeshadow

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Showgirl Eyeshadow

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Graphic Style Eyeshadow

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Graphic Style Eyeshadow

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Carbon Eyeshadow

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
MAC Carbon Eyeshadow

MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette
Envisioning Pink (inner lid), Violet Impact (middle of lid), Graphic Style (outer lid), Carbon (crease)

The Dupe List: Lithe Spirit

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Envisioning Pink

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Violet Impact

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

24 thoughts on “MAC Antonio Lopez 6 Eyes/Violet Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of liz liz

    W H Y do they keep putting carbon in palettes? it always ends up looking patchy and dry like this. I like the looks of the rest but that carbon really puts me off of this. :(

  2. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of KaseyCannuck KaseyCannuck

    Oh, carbon :( *shakes head in disgust*

  3. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Farjana Farjana

    Why carbon??? Not interested. Thanks for the swatches, I thought I was going to get something for this collection but boo hoo.

  4. AGAIN with Carbon! Looking just as patchy and dry as ever. I like the look of Graphic Style very much but it looks a lot like the grey in the other palette (the one I thought looked like Smoke and Diamonds).

  5. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Jacee Jacee

    Graphic Style and Showgirl look awesome. Don’t know how impressed I am with any of the other shadows in this palette. The color selection had potential, but the quality doesn’t appear to be there, judging by the swatches.

    Thanks for the swatches, Christine! It’s always nice how you seem to pump out photos so quickly.

  6. KT

    Ugh carbon! It has become a complete joke, MAC puts it in all their palettes and it is always just terrible.

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

      With the joke being on us, the consumer. They know this (and all the others) will still sell out… As much I still like some MAC products, I just can’t bring myself to even stop at a counter because of crap like this.

  7. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Denise S. Denise S.

    I like the look you did with this palette. The purple and pink look pretty!

  8. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of katie Katie

    Meh, this color combo seems so… Dated.

  9. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy Amy

    Ooof, this doesn’t look like a winner. :(

  10. faerieevenstar

    Man, if they could sort out the formulation of Carbon and make it how it used to be, I’d be all over this, but as it stands, that dud in the mix annoys me :(

  11. This palette looks so pretty, but I always hate purples on myself.

  12. I really like the way this palette looks! I can’t wait for the review so I can know how everything applies. The pink and purple shadows look a bit dry in the swatch. But still super pretty!

  13. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Kim Kim

    I guess MAC has a whole bunch of leftover Carbon and they keep including it in various LE releases to get rid of it. What a crappy color. I am suprised how nice all the other palette and lip palettes seem to be, I guess this one is the stinker.

  14. Amalia

    How many tons of bad batch -stock(before they re-formulate it) of Carbon have Mac? Never ends? Graphic Style is nice.

  15. shudder… This is not me. I dislike everything about this palette including Carbon.

  16. Carbon in this “outing” looks even worse than the regular one from the permanent line – in the swatch, it looks even drier and patchier, if that is possible. Instead of just “Leaving It”, Christine, you need a button that says “Running away screaming after running it over several times with my car”

  17. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rachael pockykami

    Oh carbon. How we love to hate it. At least this post reminded me how much I want to try sugarpill bulletproof. Maybe with my next order.

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Carla Carla N.

      I had Carbon as a single several years ago, and tried to convince myself that I liked it, but ultimately discarded it and got a much superior Stila matte black shadow (Onyx?).
      A good matte black shadow can be surprisingly tricky to find.

  18. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Carla Carla N.

    My first reaction was, “Oooh – these colors would be great for my green eyes!”
    After closer inspection, though, this is not enough to even sort of tempt me; the shades seem to be fairly readily dupe-able, and I think I may even already own similar shades from Inglot, and their quality is superb.
    So, I’ll be leaving this one. I can imagine it being worthwhile to check out, though, especially if you have brown, green, or hazel eyes.

  19. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Brenda Brenda

    gah – Carbon, Carbon, Carbon…I can’t tell you the last time I used a black eyeshadow and they are everywhere…how about coming up with something new? Maybe instead of just giving up and sticking black in, use a dark colour in the same family as the rest of the palette???

  20. A friend from overseas was visiting last week, so we went on a spree at the MAC counter because it’s terribly expensive where she lives. The gal did a fantastic look on me with this palette, so I bought it. However, I took it back before using it, as it was pretty dupable using Vice, Noise, Armor and Black Market from my Urban Decay Vice palette.

  21. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Annette Annette

    I bought this palette and I LOVE it. The texture of the shadows are a bit stiff but does layer very nicely and I had NO problem with fading on my oily eyelids. I really love the color selection In this palette and have used it exclusively for 5 days. The carbon is stiff but does layer nicely. I am tempted to buy a spare because I like it so much despite the less than stellar reviews.