Thursday, July 31st, 2014

MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad
MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad

MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad ($40.00 for 0.19 oz.) contains a mix of smoky shades from teal to brown to black. Two of the four shades are part of the permanent range, and one is a repromote (so check your stash if you’re a long-time collector!). I was pleased to find that the quality was fairly good overall. It also reminded me a bit of the color combination from YSL’s Fetiche palette, though they aren’t dupes (just similar “at a glance”)

Sable is described as a “gold plum with bronze pearl [with a Frost finish].” It’s a medium brown with warm, orange undertones and a frosted finish. It had excellent color payoff, and the texture was soft, smooth, and blendable. The color lasted for eight and a half hours on me before fading. LORAC Mocha (P) is cooler-toned. Too Faced Cote d’Azur (P, $16.00) is slightly lighter. Tom Ford Beauty Orchid Haze #2 (P) is lighter. MAC Pink Sensibilities #1 (LE, $21.00) is m ore shimmery, lighter. Makeup Geek Brown Sugar (P, $5.99) is less shimmery. Anastasia Truffle (LE) is less shimmery. Clarins The Essentials #9 (LE) is similar. CoverGirl Scorching Cocoa (355) (P, $4.99) is less shimmery. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Sex & the Oyster is described as a “mid-tone seafoam green [with a Veluxe Pearl].” It’s a muted, medium-dark green-leaning teal with a soft, frosted finish. It had a drier, thinner texture that resulted in semi-opaque color payoff. It was buildable on the lid, so it was more workable than it looked initially. The color started to fade after eight hours of wear. This is a repromote. Marc Jacobs Beauty The Siren #7 (LE) is brighter. bareMinerals Deep Sea (LE, $14.00) is brighter. Sephora Collection Midnight Swim (16) (P, $13.00) is darker. Urban Decay Hijack (LE, $18.00) is bluer. bareMinerals Editor’s Pick (LE) is slightly brighter. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Brawn is described as a “mid-tone plum brown [with a Satin finish].” It’s a muted, medium-dark taupe brown with subtle warm undertones and a satin sheen. It had good pigmentation, and the texture was soft, silky, and very easy to blend. I could see this being a real workhorse crease shade for some. It wore well for just over eight hours on me. MAC Cocktail Black (LE, $15.00) is darker. Chanel Tisse Rivoli #4 (P) is darker. Urban Decay Vengeance (LE, $18.00) is darker. YSL Saharienne #3 (P) is more shimmery, darker. Tom Ford Beauty Unabashed Eyeshadow #2 (LE) is lighter, cooler-toned. Givenchy Taupe Velours (5) (P, $23.00) is more matte, warmer. Too Faced Woolen Mittens (LE, $16.00) is more shimmery. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Black Tied is described as a “black with silver sparkle [with a Velvet finish].” It’s a dark black with silver sparkles over a matte finish. This might be one of the best versions I’ve ever tried of this shade (it’s part of the permanent range)–it was intensely pigmented and very soft and silky. It started to show signs of fading after eight hours of wear. Chanel Tisse Riviera #4 (P) is less shimmery. Tarina Tarantino Lovely #5 (P) is less sparkly. bareMinerals Black Leather (LE, $14.00) is less sparkly. Urban Decay Lovesick (LE, $18.00) Illamasqua Zeitgeist (P, $25.50) bareMinerals Penthouse (LE) See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

LE
palette

An Amorous Adventure

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Sable

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Sex & the Oyster

C+

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

7/10

Texture

7/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad
MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad

MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad
MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad

MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad
MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad

MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad
MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad

MAC Sable Eyeshadow
MAC Sable Eyeshadow

MAC Sable Eyeshadow
MAC Sable Eyeshadow

MAC Sex & the Oyster Eyeshadow
MAC Sex & the Oyster Eyeshadow

MAC Sex & the Oyster Eyeshadow
MAC Sex & the Oyster Eyeshadow

MAC Brawn Eyeshadow
MAC Brawn Eyeshadow

MAC Brawn Eyeshadow
MAC Brawn Eyeshadow

MAC Black Tied Eyeshadow
MAC Black Tied Eyeshadow

MAC Black Tied Eyeshadow
MAC Black Tied Eyeshadow

MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad
Sex & the Oyster (inner lid), SaBle (middle of lid), Brawn (outer lid/crease),
Black Tied (crease), Earth Sign Eyeliner

MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad
Sex & the Oyster (inner lid), SaBle (middle of lid), Brawn (outer lid/crease),
Black Tied (crease), Earth Sign Eyeliner

The Dupe List: Sable

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Sex & the Oyster

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Brawn

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Leave a Reply

Share your latest blog post when you comment by Registering or Logging In!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of new posts by E-Mail.

59 thoughts on “MAC An Amorous Adventure Eyeshadow Quad Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Even though I already have Sable and Sex and the Oyster, I find that I really want this quad. I love the colors and they look gorgeous for fall!

  2. I didn’t realize it’s Sex and the Oyster and Sable, I actually own both of them so as pretty as these shades look all together, I am happy I can skip this palette and get more unique pieces from this collection.
    Agata Recently Posted: Lorac Pro2 Palette- review and look.

  3. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Michelle Michelle

    Well you saved me on this one Christine! I have Black Tied, and I have the Siren palette which looks like it has a pretty good dupe! BTW I’m really impressed with how fast these reviews are coming out. YAY!!!! You rock!!

  4. A B+, an actual good grade, on a LE MAC eyeshadow quad. Someone call the local news. MAC didn’t fail on one.
    Rikki Recently Posted: July Favourites: MAC, Urban Decay, Makeup Geek, etc.

  5. There are some really nice colors in there! Brawn reminds me also of Quite Natural paint pot.. if you sheered it out they would be pretty similar except of course that their textures are different! :-) It would never occur to me to put the grey in the inner corner but it looks so great on you with that whole look! :D
    Divya Recently Posted: Bobbi Brown 6 Pan Palette

  6. Seeing as I already have Sable and a dupe for Black Tied (never liked the texture/pigmentation of BT), this isn’t a must have for me. Nice shades for fall, taken one on one, but the palette looks so flat and murky and there’s not a highlight shade. Christine, is Sex and the Oyster a repromote? The name sounds familiar.

  7. Shelley

    Well, Christine you cease to amaze me. I don’t know how you manage to keep everything rolling with testing all these products so with that I commend you for all that you do to keep us beauty junkies happy. Thank you.

  8. Very pretty quad, actually. I have Sable and Black Tied already, plus a Rouge Bunny Rouge shade that looks fairly close to Sex and the Oyster. I hope that they bring back Brawn on its own at some point, because it’s a very nice colour and I can certainly see using it a lot. (Although, I have Saharienne, so I could substitute that.) One of the nice things about a well done palette, even if I don’t feel like I need it, is that it can give me ideas for combining colours I might not have thought of otherwise.
    Kate Recently Posted: making faces :: guerlain’s new dream girl

  9. Let

    I love Brawn! It’s kind of difficult to find non reddish-browns. I already have Sex and the Oyster though, and some dupes of Black Tied…

  10. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Cat Cat

    I like the color selection of this one!

  11. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of beka Beka

    I’m so ready for fall! I love this look! I can’t believe Mac has finally made a quad I want!

  12. This is a gorgeous palette. I haven’t tried the quads, but this one is on my list. Takes the guess work out of buying them in singles.

  13. I’m not keen on this quad for me but I like how great they go together color wise.
    Erin Recently Posted: Maroon 2010 Heritage Collection Cabernet Sauvignon Review

  14. I really only like the Sex and the Oyster colour as all the others are really dupable. It is a beautiful colour. However I think this palette is a miss for me.

  15. The colours are amazing – love how earthy and warm and inviting they look! And the combination is just – wow!
    Stephanie | theFantasia Recently Posted: Sephora VIB Rouge Reception Event – Canada (2-4x Points Event).

  16. i think i can skip this quad as i have some of the dupes but i’m really excited for this collection!!!! so many beautiful colors

  17. Astrild

    Gorgeous quad but since I already have Sable and Sex & the oyster (loooove this shade), I’ll skip it.

  18. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Helene Helene

    I’ve been eyeing Sable a lot of times, have yet to buy it and as Brawn seems such a versatile colour I think this palette makes a lot of sense.
    Very good use of the shadows in the look you did. Sometimes it is easy using all colours from a palette is so easy, here Sex & The Oyster is a bit of a strange bird in the palette. Your look is very inspiering.

  19. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rae Rae

    Ooh, what a wonderfully unique quad! These totally aren’t my colours, but props to MAC for finally doing something different! :P
    Rae Recently Posted: Soft neutrals: a daytime, bridal, or evening eye look ft. Esqido, Clinique, and Annabelle

  20. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Jane janechemi

    i love sex and the oyster but nothing else is a must have. its not worth buying the whole palette for one shade

  21. Christine, you should change the name of the blog to “Christine Made Me Buy It” :P

    I will definitely be buying this beauty! I think the gray-teal and browns are so chic in the fall…

  22. This baby shall be mine today! Enough drooling over Christine’s tempting pictures!