Friday, May 10th, 2013

L'Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L’Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow ($8.99 for 0.12 oz.) is a brightened, medium-dark coral-orange with a soft, frosted finish. Applied dry, it had semi-opaque color payoff–it had some color but looked softer, muted, and then applied with a damp brush, the color intensified and smoothed out better to deliver more opaque color payoff. The texture was soft, smooth, and finely-milled. MAC Daydreaming is similar but more reflective in finish. Jasmine Arabian Sunset is slightly more orange. Guerlain Coup de Foudre #2 is more orange. bareMinerals Smash Hit is less shimmery and muted.

L’Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow ($8.99 for 0.12 oz.) is an iridescent pale pink. It’s sheer whether applied dry or damp, but it’s almost worst when applied damp because it gets very, very clumpy. It gives my lids a very scaly, crinkled look. I’d actually recommend applying this with fingertips or a sponge-tipped applicator; something where you can really crush the powder. MAC Opalesse is similar but smoother, slightly cooler-toned. MAC Ready to Party is more lavender. Dior Aurora #3 is very similar. Tarina Tarantino Diamond Dusk #2 is also comparable.

L’Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow ($8.99 for 0.12 oz.) is a pink-toned lavender with a frosted, metallic finish. Applied dry, it had semi-opaque color payoff; enough punch to be noticeable but not as intense and rich-looking as when applied damp. It was a little clumpy, though, when dampened, so press firmly against the lid to minimize this transferring onto the lids. Make Up For Ever #54 is purpler, less pink (and a cream product). Guerlain Attrape-Coeur #4 is lighter. Urban Decay Grifter is slightly pinker. NARS Marie-Galante #1 is similar in color but is sheerer so it’s not quite a dupe. Benefit Fancy Pansy is cooler-toned.

Cherie Merie was the top performer from these three, while Strawberry Blonde was pretty in the pot, it was a pain to use and very unflattering on the lid.  With a Twist fell somewhere between the two as it was easier to apply and use than Strawberry Blonde but not as easy to apply as Cherie Merie.  I wore the three together, and they lasted twelve hours well, but I did see some very slight fading with Cherie Merie and fall out from Strawberry Blonde.

P.S. — These have been a pain to find locally, but I was able to obtain press samples for review–I’ve looked for weeks and haven’t spotted them at any of the drugstores near me.

The Glossover

LE
product

Cherie Merie

A-

Cherie Merie was the top performer from these three. The texture was soft, smooth, and finely-milled.

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Strawberry Blonde

C+

Strawberry Blonde was pretty in the pot, it was a pain to use and very unflattering on the lid.

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

8/10

Texture

7/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

With a Twist

A-

With a Twist fell somewhere between the two as it was easier to apply and use than Strawberry Blonde but not as easy to apply as Cherie Merie.

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

L'Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Strawberry Blonde Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow

L'Oreal Cherie Merie Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow
L’Oreal Infallible 24HR Eyeshadow: With a Twist (inner lid), Strawberry
Blonde (middle of lid), Cherie Merie (outer lid/crease)

Product & Review FAQ

Is it limited edition?

Yes.

Any dupes?

See individual shade review!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

41 thoughts on “L’Oreal Cherie Merie, Strawberry Blonde, With a Twist Infallible 24HR Eyeshadows Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of liz liz

    holy moly all of them together on your lid is so cool. *0* what a unique combination!

  2. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Tracey Tracey M

    This is why I love your site, I almost bought Cherie Merie because it’s was a very pretty color but also thought Daydreaming looked similar and I guess I was right ^_^ Though I guess I could always get Cherie Merie as a back up.

  3. Andrea

    Do you think Cherie Merie could work as a blush or is it too frosty? It’s not a color I love on my eyes but it’s so gorgeous I need to find a way to justify owning it…

  4. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Katherine Katherine

    My strawberry blonde has a duo-chrome of fuchsia glitter in it, which is weird considering that yours doesn’t. Hm.

    • Mine is a duo-chrome as well. It’s become one of my favorites!

    • Mine also has a duochrome–and is a lot smoother to apply on my wrist although I haven’t used it on my eyes yet. I thought it was really pretty, honestly.

      • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Jen Jen

        I once got a lovely matte mousse blush from L’Oreal… but all the reviews and swatches plainly showed it had glitter in it. I think they must make things in different factories or something – you can’t be sure you’re getting exactly what you saw online, unfortunately. :(

    • Andrea

      Mine too, how odd! Strawberry Blonde is probably my favorite from the three (I have those 3 as well). This one looks different from mine.

    • Julie

      Mine, too! I actually LOVE it, especially applied over a dark grey or black–great as a layering shade, but not as good alone.

    • Mine is duochrome as well and it looks much, MUCH better in the container than Christine’s container did in her pics.

      Christine, I suspect you may have received a dud.

    • That’s why I love it! :)

  5. Is it bad I want to use Cherie Merie as a blush?

  6. Cherie Merie is very pretty! But I don’t know if they are worth trying to hunt them down…

  7. Kellyn

    I wouldn’t have thought to wear those shades together, but they look really beautiful on your eye!

  8. I got Strawberry Blonde and With a Twist a couple weeks ago. They just started popping up at Walgreens by me (South Jersey) but I’ve been hearing about the collection for a while!

  9. Cherie Merie is such a special shade, I like it a lot! And all the shades combined look really pretty.

  10. Another 3 I want to be a hold of. Cherie Merie remind me of 034 Pepsy Coral but more orange. ;)

  11. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Jen Jen

    Huh – Strawberry Blond doesn’t really show anything but shimmer in the swatch. With a Twist may not be as easy to apply as Cherie Marie, but at least it can be made to look good. Actually somehow you got SB to look good on your lid, but it sounds like it’s just not worth the trouble.

  12. With A Twist looks just like this loose mineral eyeshadow I used to rock every day in high school! ;)

  13. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rebecca BeckBeck

    I got Strawberry Blonde because it was so pretty in the pot – it reads as a pretty sheer pink sparkle on my eyelids, but the fallout is like WHOA. My whole face was sparkly.

  14. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Sasha Sasha

    Definitely going to have to pick up With a Twist! It’s pretty but bold and not something I’d wear on a daily basis so I can justify paying the price of an infallible more than Urban Decay or MAC for something I won’t use as often.

  15. Pretty but these are not really shades I’d wear, except With a Twist, which I’m really loving! Too bad the texture was a bit clumpy but I still think I will check that one out! Hopefully I’ll have better luck with locating it in-stores though :/

  16. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Veronica Veronica

    I found these at my local Walgreens and grabbed the turquoise shade and Strawberry Blonde, though I bypassed With a Twist (I own so many purples…) and Cherie Merie (too warm for my skintone). Shame about the quality of Blonde, but I’ll keep it on hand and see if I can make it work. Maybe over a cream shadow base? UD has numbed me to the woes of fallout, so I might be able to put up with it.

  17. I have been looking for years for a dupe for Up at Dawn from the Balloonacy quad. With a Twist may be the closest thing yet. It is beautiful!! Is there anyone out there that has any other suggestions?

  18. amanda

    I purchased strawberry blonde and with a twist last week. Your with a twist looks the same. Your strawberry blonde does not. In comparison your’s is very light and looks incredibly crumbly. Mine has also has a very obvious duochrome to it that flashes from pale light pink to darker pink. I think you may have gotten a dud.

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Veronica Veronica

      I just opened mine up to check it and swatched it, and I have to agree that I think Christine got a (serious!) dud. Mine is very smooth with a very pretty duochrome effect. What a shame the press release she received was bad!

  19. Christine, how similar is With A Twist to Stars N Rockets from MAC? Thanks for the review!

  20. I’m not really interested in these, but the look you came up with is oh, so pretty! :)

  21. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

    I’ve been trying to track these down all week, but now I don’t think they’re worth the extra effort. If I stumble upon them, I may pick up With A Twist & Strawberry Blonde, but I won’t put in the effort to find them.

  22. Alice

    Good thing I looked at the swatches… I was definitely eyeballing Strawberry Blonde, but I think I’ll get a better color instead.

  23. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Malia Malia

    No chance of me ever finding it, but I love Cherie merie!

  24. Leianna

    Can Cherie Marie be used as a blush? Is it blendable enough for that?

  25. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Sally Sally

    I found them at my local CVS, they were put on top of a small soda fridge by the door! If I hadn’t looked up I would have missed them completely! They weren’t where they should have been, but considering the special products area of the beauty department at that CVS is exclusively nail polish I can understand that they had problems finding a place to put the display.

  26. ZG

    Cherie Merie With A Twist is calling out my name for real.. One for me one for my makeup kit.. YES!!!

  27. They’re all three pretty.

  28. I think may have gotten a bad jar of strawberry blonde. : (

    The texture of mine is not clumpy like that and mine swatches a lot more pigmented and gorgeously duochromed.

  29. Aimee L.

    In case you want to be able to use a product you don’t necessarily like as it’s supposed to be use, I’ve seen on YouTube a beauty guru who used Strawberry Blonde as a highlight on her cheekbones and loves it :)