Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box Review & Photos

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box

Here’s a little peek and a quick overview of Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box. My box contained Nouvelle Vague Kaleidoscope ($95), Noir Precision Liquid Liner ($42), and unreleased red lipstick in a new formula ($32); and then as a one-time sign-up bonus, their Kabuki Brush ($85). I wanted to separate out the brush, so I could get a better idea of the monthly box value, which came in at $169, and then with the brush, it brought the total value of the subscription (thus far) to $254. If Le Metier de Beaute kept up with the value of their initial box (excluding the sign-up gift), it will be very, very impressive subscription service. I hope that they do, and my plan is to keep you posted as I receive my boxes so we can get a final tally.

I am not a fan of subscription boxes, and the only one I’ve ever subscribed to is BarkBox, which is Mellan. I’ve received several to consider for reviews (probably half a dozen or so various boxes), and I haven’t found them to be compelling. I think it was when I received a box that was very clearly filled with full-sized products that were getting discontinued (because they weren’t selling) and then packets of $300 skin care (good for one use!) that I was just completely turned off. When Le Metier de Beaute revealed their 12-month subscription box ($349 upfront cost, includes shipping for twelve months with one box shipped per month, which works out to be $29 a month), I was tempted, and I caved. Right now, they’re not taking on new subscribers; subscription was open for about a month, and now they’re fulfilling those subscribers. I imagine if it does well enough, generates plenty of buzz, and the like, perhaps they’ll reopen or move forward with the program.

I really liked the concept of subscribing to a brand-specific box, because if you really love a brand, it could be interesting. You already were experienced with the quality of the brand, get access to pre-release and perhaps products or shades you hadn’t considered before, but all from a brand you already loved. What I didn’t think about was if you’re actually a huge fan of the brand already, you may actually find that what you receive… is what you already have, which did happen in my case — I had purchased Nouvelle Vague (reviewed here) back in October, which is the Kaleidoscope I received, though Kaleidoscopes have varied from box to box with many seeming to receive Chauvet Pont d’Arc (jealous, I don’t have that one!) as well as Face and Lip Kaleidoscopes (all valued at $95). On the upside, Le Metier de Beaute included a yet-to-be-released lipstick formula, so you’re getting something that gives you a very inner circle feel–indeed, VIP.  Lastly, Le Metier de Beaute is a luxury brand with a price point to match, and the majority of their range costs at least $30 a pop, so I figured there was a good shot at getting your money’s worth here.

The Unreleased Red Lipstick is a deepened, cool-toned red with a matte finish. I don’t know anything about the formula, so I don’t know what claims it makes, so I’ll hold off until it’s formally released and know more about it. For now, here are comparison swatches.  As I test and work through the products, full reviews may be posted later on (I’m just rolling them into my normal procedure/schedule of testing and reviewing, so I don’t make any promises or guarantees as to when or if at all!).

One thing I wish they included: a card that highlights or features the included products — I desperately wish there was a name on the red lipstick, even if it was a working or temporary name! I also think it’s a great way to keep customers informed if they aren’t familiar with each product or formula.

See more photos & swatches!

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Kabuki Brush

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Kabuki Brush

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Kabuki Brush

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Kabuki Brush

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Noir Liquid Eyeliner

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Noir Liquid Eyeliner

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Noir Liquid Eyeliner

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Noir Liquid Eyeliner

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Noir Liquid Eyeliner

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Red Lipstick

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Red Lipstick

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Red Lipstick

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Red Lipstick

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Red Lipstick

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Red Lipstick