Friday, August 9th, 2013

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box

Here’s a little peek and a quick overview of Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box. My box contained Nouvelle Vague Kaleidoscope ($95), Noir Precision Liquid Liner ($42), and unreleased red lipstick in a new formula ($32); and then as a one-time sign-up bonus, their Kabuki Brush ($85). I wanted to separate out the brush, so I could get a better idea of the monthly box value, which came in at $169, and then with the brush, it brought the total value of the subscription (thus far) to $254. If Le Metier de Beaute kept up with the value of their initial box (excluding the sign-up gift), it will be very, very impressive subscription service. I hope that they do, and my plan is to keep you posted as I receive my boxes so we can get a final tally.

I am not a fan of subscription boxes, and the only one I’ve ever subscribed to is BarkBox, which is Mellan. I’ve received several to consider for reviews (probably half a dozen or so various boxes), and I haven’t found them to be compelling. I think it was when I received a box that was very clearly filled with full-sized products that were getting discontinued (because they weren’t selling) and then packets of $300 skin care (good for one use!) that I was just completely turned off. When Le Metier de Beaute revealed their 12-month subscription box ($349 upfront cost, includes shipping for twelve months with one box shipped per month, which works out to be $29 a month), I was tempted, and I caved. Right now, they’re not taking on new subscribers; subscription was open for about a month, and now they’re fulfilling those subscribers. I imagine if it does well enough, generates plenty of buzz, and the like, perhaps they’ll reopen or move forward with the program.

I really liked the concept of subscribing to a brand-specific box, because if you really love a brand, it could be interesting. You already were experienced with the quality of the brand, get access to pre-release and perhaps products or shades you hadn’t considered before, but all from a brand you already loved. What I didn’t think about was if you’re actually a huge fan of the brand already, you may actually find that what you receive… is what you already have, which did happen in my case — I had purchased Nouvelle Vague (reviewed here) back in October, which is the Kaleidoscope I received, though Kaleidoscopes have varied from box to box with many seeming to receive Chauvet Pont d’Arc (jealous, I don’t have that one!) as well as Face and Lip Kaleidoscopes (all valued at $95). On the upside, Le Metier de Beaute included a yet-to-be-released lipstick formula, so you’re getting something that gives you a very inner circle feel–indeed, VIP.  Lastly, Le Metier de Beaute is a luxury brand with a price point to match, and the majority of their range costs at least $30 a pop, so I figured there was a good shot at getting your money’s worth here.

The Unreleased Red Lipstick is a deepened, cool-toned red with a matte finish. I don’t know anything about the formula, so I don’t know what claims it makes, so I’ll hold off until it’s formally released and know more about it. For now, here are comparison swatches.  As I test and work through the products, full reviews may be posted later on (I’m just rolling them into my normal procedure/schedule of testing and reviewing, so I don’t make any promises or guarantees as to when or if at all!).

One thing I wish they included: a card that highlights or features the included products — I desperately wish there was a name on the red lipstick, even if it was a working or temporary name! I also think it’s a great way to keep customers informed if they aren’t familiar with each product or formula.

See more photos & swatches!

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Kabuki Brush

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Kabuki Brush

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Kabuki Brush

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Kabuki Brush

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Noir Liquid Eyeliner

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Noir Liquid Eyeliner

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Noir Liquid Eyeliner

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Noir Liquid Eyeliner

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Noir Liquid Eyeliner

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Red Lipstick

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Red Lipstick

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Red Lipstick

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Red Lipstick

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Red Lipstick

Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box
Le Metier de Beaute Red Lipstick

Product & Review FAQ

What makeup are you wearing?

On eyes: Dior Lune, Etoile, Meteorte, Chimiere Eyeshadows, Marc Jacobs Jazz(berry) Eyeliner.

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

51 thoughts on “Le Metier de Beaute August 2013 Beauty Vault VIP Subscription Box Review & Photos

  1. kate

    Wow what a deal on that.
    sorry I missed that one

  2. That red lipstick is gorgeous on you, Christine! ;)

  3. Kim Lee

    Now I really regret not signing up!

  4. Kate

    Wow! Amazing value, even without the brush. Just getting a Kaleidoscope alone would be a great deal (it’s a shame you got one you already had though, a feature where you could list all the LMdB products you already own so you don’t double up would be a good idea). I read somewhere that they won’t be accepting new subscriptions until July next year, I really hope they make it available worldwide then as I’d love to sign up then.

  5. Diana

    I subscribed to this one as well. I was happy to receive a Kaleidoscope I didn’t already have–I received Sterling Beauty, which had a pink lip color and white, silver, and charcoal eyeshadow colors. I’m very excited about it, and if they keep this up, it will be well worth the money.

  6. Germs

    That red!! Gorgeous

  7. That red looks fantastic on you!!! I have seen it referred to as “Signature” by other bloggers — I don’t know where they are getting it from.

    • No idea – mine didn’t have a label, and I only knew it was a pre-release shade based on LMdB’s Facebook!

      • Mine only had a number on the bottom. I don’t think they are going to skimp on the other boxes at all. It’s a great promotional tool. I am personally loving the new single (luxury) brand boxes I am seeing. I got Mugler Addict as well and am REALLY happy with it! I am hoping we see more subscriptions like these!

  8. AmyD

    jealous. dangnabbit. i received the invite but didn’t sign up – i’ve been turned off of the beautybox trend in the past, and i wasn’t sure if LMdB’s box would be worth it. aaaargh so mad at myself for not signing up!! hopefully if/when it’s relaunched for sign-up, the quality will remain as high and the price as reasonable!

  9. this looks like a really impressive box, if they do sign ups again (apparently it’s not till July 2014!) I may have to take the spurge. I love sub boxes though :)

  10. What a lovely box! That caleidoscope looks so beautiful. And I really like how pigmented and black the liner is.

  11. caitlin

    I caved too! My box is supposed to arrive today, I can’t wait to see what kaleidoscope I get!!!

  12. I subscribed and received the Red Rapture lip kaleidoscope, so I’m now well prepared to wear red lips this fall. I’ve worn Noir everyday this week, and I’m not even a black eyeliner person. Loving everything so far!

  13. I was surprised to see this review because I know you’re not a fan of subscriptions! The first box definitely seems worth the price point! I didn’t sign up because the one-year subscription is such a big commitment with no previous boxes to see, but I’m definitely considering it the next time the subscription window opens.

    You always look so lovely in red lipstick, haha. I’m obsessed, I want all the reds.

    • I caved because I am 1) actually a big fan of LMdB (so that was the personal reason) and 2) I really wanted to know if it was going to be worth it. The model made me VERY curious, so now it’s like a science project for me, LOL! Research and development?

  14. Wow! I’m like you – subscription boxes/programs never appealed to me before, but I’d be really interested in this one if they were to re-establish it again. It would be a good way for me to try out their products, which I am anxious to do. Thanks for the info and I look forward to your updates on this!

    • I hope it continues to impress, they open up subscriptions again, and perhaps consider doing 6-month subscriptions as well as 12-months. Even if 6-months was pricier (by the month) than 12-months, I think it would be good – $200 for 6 months might be easier than $349 for 12, but at least if they do it again, people can research and see what the last 12 months looked like and feel more confident about the value.

  15. What a great way to try out the line for $29 box.

  16. Stephanie

    I’d love to buy the eye shadows if you are interested… Looks pretty.. I got the face one

  17. That lipstick is amazing!!!

  18. Tori

    Hi Christine! I recently started getting into liquid liners and I’m tossing up between LMDB’s and Marc Jacobs’s. Which one would you say is more pigmented and/or easier to work with? Thanks! :)

  19. Avatar of Lauren Lauren

    Looks like a great box, though I don’t like the idea of committing to so many months. I recently started Ipsy and Birchbox. I like both of those so far and it’s fun to get a surprise in the mail I also tried Glossybox but I was not very impressed. I think both Ipsy and Birchbox are worth $10/month but Glossybox is NOT worth $21/month. There isn’t much personalization with that service and the products aren’t any better than Ipsy specifically.

  20. Hey Christine, the makeup brush addicts in this club would like to know about that kabuki brush….how effective is the brush?

    • Hi Erica,

      As I mentioned in the review, I haven’t tried the products yet, so I’m not prepared to review any of them and can’t say that I will. They’re just being put into my queue of products to consider for review. :)

  21. Hi Christine,

    LMdB Red looks gorgeous on you! I’m intrigued by the idea of a high end subscription box, though like you I don’t typically subscribe to beauty boxes.

  22. Avatar of Barbie Barbie

    30 dollars? what a great deal!!

  23. Avatar of Hana Hana

    Wow!!! I’m so sad that I missed out on this deal. Will be keeping my eye out for another opportunity to sign up.

  24. Oh, wow. This box looks amazing, Christine! I was really tempted by the subscription, but I ended up passing — even though $29 a month (plus forwarding shipping to Canada) is a great price, $349 is a lot to pay upfront for something like this.

    Here’s to hoping the boxes continue to be great for the next 11 months! :)

    (PS: I love your loopy, calligraphic cursive. So pretty! :))

  25. I seriously regret not signing up now. Not that I could afford it at the moment, but OMG ALL THE PRETTIES.

  26. stacey

    I am so jealous. That lipstick is so gorgeous. Is there a MAC dupe? And I want a kaleidoscope shadow set. It’s just that I would not be happy if I get something that I have no use for and have to give it away even if it is worth the price….and I definitely would not be happy if I received a lip set rather than a eyeshadow set.

  27. mimi

    Hi Christine! I love your blog, the detailed info you always post, and your tutorials are the best.
    By the way, I heard that Urban Decay is coming out with a new palette… is that true?

    • I have no idea! If/when I get information about new Urban Decay products, I post about them on the blog, but I really don’t have any other info otherwise – sorry! :(

  28. LMdB keeps offering surprising steals…for a high-end brand to offer such great deals is really unprecedented. I still don’t have $250, though!

  29. Jeremy

    That red looks STUNNING on you!

  30. I got Chauvet Pont d’Arc in mine! It’s my first Kaleidoscope and eyeshadows from LMdB and I’m super impressed. I really don’t think I’m ever going to use up all of the eyeshadow (the pans are HUGE, oh my gosh), but the texture is awesome and I love swinging the pans out and closing them all again. Hahaha. The lipstick pulls more brown on me than it does on you, but it’s a very interesting formula and it’s still a good color for night looks. Hope they keep it up with all of the boxes this year!

  31. Avatar of Michelle ChefMichelleNYC

    I’m massively bummed that nobody seemed to be talking about this when the subscription was still available for purchase, and based on what I have seen on LMDB’s website this will not be open for subscribing again until July, 2014! Waaaaah! This looks amazing! So much better than many of the other beaty subscriptions out there, and with a brand like LMDB I can only imagine the awesome things to come… I think I need to subscribe to their e-mails, several people mentioned getting invites and I don’t want to miss out if the option to sign up becomes available again sooner!

  32. Avatar of Rosemary Rosemary

    I signed up, even though I really can’t afford it.
    I am blown away with what we received!
    Just got the September box, and it contained two “True Colour Creme” eye-shadows: “Champagne Shimmer” & “Starry Night”.
    This is the most luxurious brand I own. LOVE!!!