Monday, October 7th, 2013

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

This is part two of our review of the Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette ($55.00 for 1.20 oz.). Please see part one for an overview of the palette.

Instaglam is a pale pink with a frosted, metallic finish. It had fairly good color payoff and went on smoothly. Dior Constellation (864) #3 (LE) is pinker. MAC Dare to Bare (LE, $21.00) is similar. Disney by Sephora Treasures Untold (LE) is warmer. Tom Ford Beauty Enchanted #1 (LE) is pinker. MAC Fresh & Mint #2 (P, $21.00) is cooler-toned. MAC Invincible Light (LE, $21.00) is similar. bareMinerals Muse (P) is less shimmery. See comparison swatches.

Stupid Autocorrect is a warm, coppery red with a frosted sheen. It had good pigmentation and a smooth, even texture. MAC Quartz Fusion (LE, $21.00) is less metallic. MAC Crimson Tryst (LE, $15.00) is darker. L’Oreal Glistening Garnet (P, $7.99) is pinker. See comparison swatches.

Galore is a warm, golden beige with a frosted finish. It had excellent color payoff and a really soft, buttery feel. Guerlain Crazy Paris #2 (LE) is more metallic. Disney by Sephora Sea Shells (LE) is less golden. Inglot #395 (P, $6.00) is more beige. See comparison swatches.

Hexagram is an olive brown with warm, brown undertones and a green-ish tint. It had a frosted finish with a soft, buttery texture. It had nice pigmentation. Urban Decay Chase (P, $18.00) is lighter. NARS Paramaribo #2 (LE, $24.00) is darker. Giorgio Armani #6 (P, $33.00) is browner. See comparison swatches.

Smile Now is a soft, light-medium yellow-peach with a pink-peach iridescent sheen. It had decent pigmentation, but the texture was a little dry. Guerlain Turandot #1 (LE) doesn’t have the pink sheen. bareMinerals Tres Chic (LE) is more muted. bareMinerals Nirvana (P) is darker. See comparison swatches.

Cry Later is a medium-dark, warm-toned brown with a pearly sheen. It had decent color payoff, but it was a smidgen dry. Disney by Sephora Abu (LE) is darker. Le Metier de Beaute Autumn Rust (LE, $30.00) is lighter. Urban Decay Nevermind (LE, $18.00) is less warm-toned. Dior Fairy Golds #5 (LE) is redder. See comparison swatches.

Arcadia is a lavender purple with a frosted, metallic finish. It had good pigmentation and wasn’t dry or powdery. MAC Tropica (LE, $21.00) is darker. Make Up For Ever #54 (LE, $23.00) is a cream product. MAC Light Violet (LE, $32.50) is more sparkly. Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 #1 (LE) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Wonderland is a deep burgundy with subtle warm undertones and a sparkly finish. It had great color payoff and applied smoothly. Marc Jacobs Beauty The Tease #7 (P) is more matte. Urban Decay Uncut (P, $18.00) is less warm-toned. MAC Rich Core (LE, $21.00) is similar. Chanel Eclosion #4 (P) is warmer. Make Up For Ever #311 (P, $20.00) is a cream product. Bobbi Brown Berry Noir (P, $24.00) is a cream product. See comparison swatches.

Queen is a warm brown with a bluish-teal sheen. It had good color payoff and applied smoothly and evenly. MAC Woodsmoke (LE, $15.00) is darker. MAC I’ve Got a Crush on You (LE, $32.50) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Bukowski is a medium blue with subtle cool undertones and a soft, frosted finish. It had excellent pigmentation and applied nicely and wasn’t powdery. Sleek MakeUP Sunset #6 (P, $9.99) is lighter. Disney by Sephora Diamond Sky (LE) is darker. Disney by Sephora Blue Lagoon (LE) is more matte. MAC Blue Calm (P, $15.00) is brighter. Urban Decay Peace (P, $18.00) is similar. MAC Freshwater (P, $15.00) is similar.See comparison swatches.

Countess is a light beige with warm undertones and a matte finish. It was very pigmented, but it was somewhat powdery as the texture was very, very soft. theBalm B1 (LE, $16.00) is similar. Urban Decay Bleach (LE, $18.00) is similar. Disney by Sephora Ali Ababwa (LE) is darker. MAC Blanc Type (P, $15.00) is more neutral-toned. L’Oreal Endless Pearl (P, $7.99) is less warm-toned. See comparison swatches.

WTF is a muted, orange-red with a satin finish. It had fairly good color payoff, though the texture was slightly dry. Sleek MakeUP Sunset #8 (P, $9.99) is more frosted. Urban Decay Gash (DC, $18.00) is darker. MAC Raving Mad (LE, $15.00) is similar. MAC Saffron (LE, $15.00) is similar. Sugarpill Asylum (P, $12.00) is warmer, redder. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Spellbinding

B+

Overall, this palette is a good choice for a new holiday palette for yourself (or your wish list) or someone else. It has a good mix of colors and neutrals as well as a variety of finishes, so there are plenty of looks to be created. The texture of the palette was generally soft and smooth, with the only downside being occasional powderiness because of how soft the eyeshadows were. The color payoff was quite good with a few exceptions.

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Instaglam

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Stupid Autocorrect

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Instaglam Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Instaglam Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Stupid Autocorrect Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Stupid Autocorrect Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Galore Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Galore Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Hexagram Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Hexagram Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Smile Now Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Smile Now Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Cry Later Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Cry Later Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Arcadia Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Arcadia Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Wonderland Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Wonderland Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Queen Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Queen Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Bukowski Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Bukowski Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Countess Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Countess Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D WTF Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D WTF Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Eyeshadows: Holy Bible (inner lid), 8 Bit (middle of lid), Bukowski (outer lid), Dark Throne (crease), Birdcage (lower lash line)

Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Eyeshadows: Countess (inner lid), Stupid Autocorrect (middle of lid), WTF (outer lid), Wonderland (crease), Fallen(lower lash line)

The Dupe List: Instaglam

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Stupid Autocorrect

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Galore

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

40 thoughts on “Kat Von D Spellbinding Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches (Part 2)

  1. Bella

    Love this!!! Well definitely buy. Her shadows are amazing quality.

  2. I actually like how different all the shades are! I’d purchase it but I don’t think all of the shades would work with my skintone. It’s so pretty though! Sigh

  3. Again, liking it a lot! And it’s so BIG :-D

  4. “Stupid Autocorrect” – I’m on the verge of buying this palette just for the name of this shadow!

  5. Beautiful palette!

    Monica.

  6. Avatar of Brenda Brenda

    Cry Later looks nice – reminds me of MAC Patina – what do you think?? I like Hexagram, wonder what older shadows would be similar..

  7. Neetz

    I love the Kat von D palettes!! This looks great too, but the colors all look very similar to ones released in the 3 volumes of the Disney palettes. Christine, would you still recommend this for someone w. a lot of Sephora eye shadow already?

  8. i really love this palette… although i love all of her palettes because i own each of them. i’m SO glad she got rid of the cream shadows and i love having 24 in a palette! although i might transfer these into a z palette sooner or later. when i swatched these on my hand i was scared but i’ve been wearing each “pair” of shadows lately and i’m really happy with them! i have to say though, queen is almost exactly like 2 other shadows she has, one single and one in a palette… and those also seem like blue brown from mac. i swear i have 6-7 various shadows and pigments in that color!

    • Yeah – it seems like every brand has to do their version of the bluish-teal duochrome brown (MAC Blue Brown, Too Faced Label Whore, etc. etc.!). It’s cool since every brand should have it… except when you have all of them ;)

  9. I have been wearing Stupid Autocorrect in my crease, Countess on my browbone, and Arcadia on my lid a lot lately. It suits my coloring so well!

  10. Avatar of Elizabeth Lizzi

    I ordered this last week. It was supposed to be delivered today but I was at work, so I got to come home to the “we missed you” notice from UPS. I love Kat V D’s eye palettes. I’ve got all of them that have been released since the brand started, even Gypsy! And the Gypsy palette always sells for over $400 on eBay, in fact one recently sold for $510 in the completed listing. Kinda makes we wish I hadn’t touched mine. LOL! Anyways, can’t wait to have this in my hand. Her eyeshadows are a great value and quality.

    • WHAT! That’s crazy! I mean, if you want it and you have the bucks, no judgment, but I can’t believe any makeup palette going for that much ;)

      • Avatar of Elizabeth Lizzi

        No kidding! I’m glad I bought it when it was in Sephora for $34.

      • Avatar of Malia Malia

        Agree that is crazy and what the hell comes to mind! Maybe it’s being bought internationally since its only available in the US…but still.

    • Avatar of Terri Terri

      I just don’t think I could charge a fellow beauty lover that much for a palette, seriously. I am far from perfect but that just seems like stealing to me. I mean, I like money as much as the next gal but I also like to be fair and balanced…and this just doesn’t feel that way to me.

  11. Avatar of Karen Karen

    The other day I wore Galore on my lid, Bukowski in my outer v, I used Countess as my high light, it looked so pretty together! I have never liked the look of blue eyeshadow on me ever before, and this look just took my breath away!

  12. The palette looks so nice.. the shades are so verstile but wish the powderinesss hadnt been there….
    Love ur crystal clear picturess.. beautiful Eyes.. <3

  13. Candy

    I call BS on not seeing “Queen” before. It totally looks like her “On the Road” shade. Dupes?

  14. Avatar of Malia Malia

    I thought the shadows were soft intentionally, since the angle was they were to be mixed…. I love it and I haven’t bought a huge palette in a long time. I have several of her 8 color palettes and liked them a lot :)

  15. Avatar of Kait kat

    Totally unrelated question..
    Will you be reviewing MAC divine night the color collection?

  16. Avatar of Makoto Makoto

    How does ‘Queen’ compare to Too Faced Pretty Rebel ‘Girly’? :)

  17. This is a really eye-catching palette, it includes such an array of colors. A few of the swatches seem less than super pigmented though

  18. I wish I was more creative with my eye colors! I love it when I see it on others, but never feel like I can pull it off lol

  19. Jennifer

    Hey..aren’t these eyeshadows paired so that you can layer them for a different color effect? If so can you show some swatches. They don’t have the pallet where I live and I’m still undecided.