Wednesday, January 22nd, 2014

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette ($36.00 for 0.28 oz.) is a new and limited edition palette for spring. It’s supposed to contain “eight long-wear, full coverage shadows that deliver matte, pearl, and high-glitter finishes, plus one transformative color veil.” There are three more sparkly shades in the palette, and they had varying degrees of fall out (see below). The matte aqua green, Archangel, was powdery and, at times, chalky so it was difficult to work with; it’s a shade that would highly benefit from being applied over a primer or even a slightly tacky, white base, to maximize color payoff and minimize the powderiness and tendency to fade/sheer out. Shades like Placebo and Dog Roses were richly pigmented and easy to apply and blend. With the exception of Archangel which faded faster than the rest, the others didn’t show signs of fading until eight hours.

Selena is described as a “glitter purple.” It’s a lavender purple with subtle cool, pink undertones and a silver glitter/sparkle. The sparkle tended to separate from the underlying color, so some of the sparkles get trapped in the brush, some fall out during application, and the remaining ones are visible on the lid but do eventually migrate below the lid during wear. It had really nice color payoff when swatched, and on the lid, it was fairly good, but it had a tendency to look slightly faded. Tarina Tarantino Fantastical #2 (P) is lighter, more iridescent. Guerlain Two VIP #1 (LE) is warmer, more glittery. NARS Rage (LE, $24.00) is more fuchsia. Kat Von D Babe (LE) is purpler, less glittery. theBalm A2 (LE, $16.00) is cooler-toned. MAC Violet Impact (LE, $15.00) is less glittery. MAC Power Boosted (LE, $15.00) is darker, more fuchsia, less glittery. See comparison swatches.

Dayglo is described as a “transformer shade, iridescent white.” It’s a green-tinged white with a green-gold iridescent sheen. It had good color payoff and was mostly opaque. The texture was soft, a smidgen powdery, but smooth and blendable. Dior Dulcinee #2 (LE) is very similar. Dior Peacock (434) Eyeshadow #3 (LE) is slightly warmer. MAC Zestful is greener. See comparison swatches.

Galore #2 is described as a “pearl peach.” It’s a yellowed peach with a frosted, metallic sheen. It had good pigmentation, and it applied smoothly and evenly. bareMinerals Ball Gown (LE) is more frosted. LORAC Light Bronze (P) is warmer. Disney by Sephora Splendid (LE) is similar. MAC Hey (P, $15.00) is less yellow-toned. Buxom Collie (P, $18.00) is a cream product. See comparison swatches. You might wonder why it’s called “Galore #2,” and that’s because there’s also a shade called “Galore” in the Spellbinding palette–except they’re not the same. I did swatch them side-by-side to be sure (in the pan, they look more alike), but sure enough, this is a definite peach, whereas the previously released Galore is more of a peach-tinged beige–but much, much lighter. It’s really frustrating when brands do this, especially when it was just released a little over a month ago.

Placebo is described as a “matte peony pink.” It’s a medium coral-pink with a matte finish. It had fantastic color payoff, and it applied smoothly and evenly. This was a dream matte to work with. MAC Full of Flavour (LE, $15.00) is similar. MAC Free to Be (P, $15.00) is also similar. MAC Early Bird (LE, $15.00) just a smidgen pinker. MAC Dear Cupcake (LE, $15.00) is pinker, lighter. See comparison swatches.

Santeria is described as a “glitter greenish grey.” It’s a cool-toned, charcoal gray with teal shimmer and larger silver sparkle. It had really nice pigmentation, and the texture was fairly soft and smooth. Urban Decay Redemption (LE, $18.00) is similar. LORAC Slate (P) is less frosted. Disney by Sephora Jetsam (LE) is similar. Urban Decay Asphalt (LE, $18.00) is less cool-toned. MAC Jade’s Fortune (LE, $21.00) is less frosted. Make Up For Ever #1 (P, $23.00) is a cream product. See comparison swatches.

Archangel is described as a “sparkle seafoam green.” It’s a light-medium aqua green with a satiny sheen. It seemed like it had amazing color payoff when I swatched it, but the texture was also noticeably powdery–a little chalky. On the lid, it was prone to sheering away, so it’s a color that really performs better over a primer, as on bare lids, it just doesn’t stick well, nor does it last (showed signs of fading after six hours, much earlier than the other shades). Dior Dulcinee #5 (LE) is slightly bluer. theBalm B2 (LE, $16.00) is very similar. Sugarpill Mochi (P, $12.00) is darker. MAC Lucky in Love (LE, $21.00) is more frosted, bluer. See comparison swatches.

South is described as a “matte beige.” It’s a light beige with neutral undertones and a matte finish. It was soft, easy to blend, nicely pigmented, and not powdery. It’s a very basic shade, so there are a lot of similar shades from other brands — see comparison swatches.

Dog Roses is described as a “sparkle bronze.” It’s a coppery brown with golden sparkle and a frosted sheen. There is some loose sparkle in this, but it is less sparkly than Selena, so a lot of the sparkle seems to disappear between the pan, brush, and lid, so I didn’t notice a lot of fall out over time, just a stray sparkle or two. It was intensely pigmented, and it applied very smoothly. Tarina Tarantino Wonderful #3 (P) is lighter. Makeup Geek Glamorous (P, $5.99) is less frosted. Anastasia Rum Cake (LE) is browner. Clarins The Essentials #6 (LE) is similar. MAC Exquisite Ego #2 (LE, $21.00) is warmer, lighter. LORAC Gold (P) is similar. Marc Jacobs Beauty The Starlet #4 (P) is more copper-hued. NARS Isolde #1 (P, $24.00) is similar. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Esperanza

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Selena

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Dayglo

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Selena Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Selena Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Dayglo Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Dayglo Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Galore #2 Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Galore #2 Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Placebo Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Placebo Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Santeria Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Santeria Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Archangel Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Archangel Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D South Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D South Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Dog Roses Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Dog Roses Eyeshadow

Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette
Kat Von D Eyeshadows: Dayglo (inner lid), Archangel (middle of lid),
Selena (outer lid), Santeria (crease), South (brow bone)

The Dupe List: Selena

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Dayglo

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Galore #2

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

79 thoughts on “Kat Von D Esperanza Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Yay, finally this is out!

  2. Not a palette for me, but I think Placebo is a really beautiful shadow!

  3. Avatar of Luz Ma mari

    It seriously sucks when there is an eyeshadow that under performs in a palette xD It just ruins it for me D; they must all be A’s damnit

  4. Overall, I really like this palette! Even though there are a couple of colors in there, this palette still seems pretty versatile.

  5. OMG every shades are unique and pretty :D

  6. I really love the shades they chose for this palette, it’s ideal for spring. I don’t have any eyeshadows by Kat Von D, I think I’ll have to pick this one up. Thanks for the great review, as always! :)
    alisa Recently Posted: Cinnamon and Chocolate

  7. What a fun palette for spring! I think they are taking a page from their Spellbinding Palette and going with a simpler box style case for the LE ones now.
    Ani_BEE Recently Posted: Sally Hansen Sugar Shimmer coat in Sugar Plum & Work of Tart: Swatches & Review

  8. That shade “Placebo” makes me think it would make a great blush!
    Kayvid Recently Posted: Marc Jacobs Beauty

  9. It looks pretty, but I need more matte shadows before I get another mostly shimmery one.

  10. Oooh, loving the design on the palette :-) I am not sure about the colors in it though. I definitely want to try Kat Von D make-up, but I don’t think this would be my first choice.

  11. Really pretty. So glad to see these reviews before buying. It’s been super hot (80s) in So Ca where I am so I’m too much into the spring collections…which seem more suited to my current weather than the winter ones. Still not sure about this one…but it’s so very pretty. And I like Kat Von D Shadows….Thanks!
    meganlisa Recently Posted: Masks A YouTube Novel Chapter 2

  12. Avatar of Lauren Lauren Schroer

    The packaging is what’s really getting me with this palette, so pretty! Some pretty colours but I don’t think it’s something I’ll be getting.

  13. Archangel reminds me of an Innoxa shadow single I got about a thousand years ago! ^_^ Nostalgia trip!

    I like the overall colour scheme of this palette, it’s very ‘spring’. I’m not sure I’d personally get much use out of it, though. I’d just look at the pretty colours!
    Sylirael Recently Posted: An Ode to Pink: Chanel Rose Insolent, OPI Pink Yet Lavender and Iambic Pentameter

  14. Vanessa

    So far this is my favorite Spring palette.

  15. Avatar of Alyssa alyssa897

    South, Santeria, and Placebo are gorgeous! I’m gonna pass on this palette though as I know I would never use it.

  16. I’ve been eyeing this for a week or so online. Thanks for the review! I think it’s a great little palette. I’ll definitely be picking this one up!

  17. i would use all those colors!!! i was gonna get the new Dior Dulcine palette but after the review no thanks. maybe this instead!

  18. I don’t really care for the packaging but I love the colors and the swatches look really nice. It’s definitely very unique!
    fancie Recently Posted: Milani Black Cherry Color Statement Lipstick Review

  19. Loved Placebo and selena. But overall I will pass this one I guess! Thanks christine for the review :-)
    Vineetha Recently Posted: MAC Huggable Lipcolor Red Necessity Review, Swatches

  20. The shade Archangel is really pretty.

  21. Avatar of liz liz

    OH LAWD I NEED DIS

  22. Well, now I kinda want this palette…. There are some colours I don’t have!
    Rikki Recently Posted: REVIEW: em michelle phan Lash Gallery Dramatic Volume Waterproof Mascara

  23. This palette is nice but isn’t catching my eye ~which is great for my wallet =]

  24. I just bought this palette because of your review :) I can’t wait for it to get here so I can play with it! Thank you, as always for the color comparisons <3
    Phyrra Recently Posted: Makeup Wars Best Lip Savers

  25. Avatar of Amy xamyx

    The colors are pretty, just not me, which is why I skipped Angeles & Mi Vida Loca. I do appreciate the fact that the palettes she does are consistent in tone, and while there may be one or two shades I’d wear, there are enough in them to not push me to buy them, LOL!

    Also, the packaging would seriously annoy me, as it wouldn’t fit neatly with the rest of my 8-pan palettes. I do love the artwork, though.

  26. Marina

    Yay! Glad to see your review and swatches–I was already planning on snapping this up tomorrow.

  27. This one is amazing!! I love the art and the colors!! I’m currently trying lighter colors, like Archangel, Placebo, and Selena, as I tend to use darker colors for my eyes. HOWEVER, I just bought Spellbinding this holiday, together with Pretty Rebel (both arrive on November/December to my country) so I think I’m gonna pass :(
    Daniel Recently Posted: shadyhomo:

    redplebeian:

    kirkwa:

    And This Is Why You Shouldn’t…

  28. ZG

    No way Jose… No way..

  29. Morena

    Im loving the pastels bjtythe shades are too similar to my Mac call me bubbles quad

  30. Avatar of Chelsea Chelsea

    I’m glad this reviewed so well. I’m a big fan of Kat Von D makeup, so I odered this as soon as I saw it come online on Sephora without seeing any reviews or swatches. It’s been about ten days and I’m still waiting for it to arrive. I wish Sephora’s shipping to Canada didn’t take so long!

  31. I have been so excited for this palette. I ordered it from Sephora about a week ago, and it just arrived yesterday. I haven’t had much time to experiment with it, but I do think the colors are gorgeous and so great for spring.

  32. Avatar of Nada Nadoda

    it reminds me of the Ammo pallet from Urban Decay , colors are different but the packaging is a bit close to it

  33. Harriet

    I would layer archangel over a base of Nars Larger Than Life Eyeliner pencil in Barrow street or the mint green smudge stick from Stila.

  34. Oooh this is so pretty! I want it but I worry it’s got too many overlapping shades with my Urban Decay Ammo Palette for having only 8 colors (Selena=Grifter, Dayglo=Polyester Bride, Dog Roses=Smog)? Anyone else think these shades are too similar to warrant owning both palettes? It’s hard to tell without owning it or seeing it in person :/
    Emilie Recently Posted: beautybyhbelle:

    Sephora I love you!

    • There are some similarities for sure, Emilie! I would say that Urban Decay’s is going to be frostier/more glittery. Grifter I remember being kind of annoying to work with. Smog is browner/darker.

      • Oh, absolutely. I love Ammo (by the way, I use the looks you did with it all the time, they’re so lovely!) but I can never find a single use for Grifter. I’ve tried finding things to pair it with but it’s so sheer with such awful fallout that it’s more of a pain than it’s worth, sadly. It’s on sale on the Urban Decay website so perhaps they’re discontinuing it. Thanks for all of your great reviews, infinitely helpful! :)
        Emilie Recently Posted: Photo

  35. Amanda

    I just got this palette in the mail.. must admit that I bought it for the packaging and for Placebo! But as a neutral gal, I’m having so much fun trying the colors!

    Question for you – I don’t understand the concept of the “transformer” shade. What does “transformer” mean? How is it use unique/different from any other color? I’m a makeup noob!

    • Hi Amanda!

      It is and isn’t any different. It’s just an eyeshadow, but the way it can be used is really layered over another eyeshadow – so apply one shade, then pat over the “transformer” shade and you’ll see it change a little, particularly because of the way the shimmer in the transformer looks! :)

  36. Nancy

    I like the Selena color,it’s too glittery used dry,but I sprayed my brush to dampen it,the payoff was much better! I would suggest that for the more chunky glitter shadows in this, :) oh and use a color base,paint pot,color tattoos etc. I used Dog Roses with Mac Eclair paint pot underneath for a base,it is gorgeous for a simple brown smokey eye! Don’t wet the Archangel one it’s too matte/satin.