Monday, March 10th, 2014

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette ($46.50 for 0.20 oz.) includes four shades of warmer, shimmery colors that include copper, berry, purple, and taupe. The color scheme really works well together, and there are various combinations one can create with just the four shades included. There’s a good mix of shades that can contrast against each other. For those who prefer more satin or matte finishes, this palette may feel like frost-overload. It’s a good palette, but two shades could have been more pigmented.

Bronx is described as a “bronzed gold.” It’s a light-medium, warm-toned coppery ornage with a frosted, slightly metallic, finish. It had rich, opaque color payoff, and the texture was soft, smooth, and blendable. It wore well for eight hours before fading. This is a shade that we’ve seen a lot, so there’s no shortage of dupes, but it’s a nice color to have in your arsenal if you don’t have it already. Makeup Geek Glamorous (P, $5.99) is darker, less shimery. Guerlain Crazy Paris #1 (LE) is more metallic, yellower. Sleek MakeUP Sunset #10 (P, $9.99) is more metallic. LORAC Gold (P) is very similar. Marc Jacobs Beauty The Starlet #4 (P) is slightly darker. MAC Amber Lights (P, $15.00) is brighter. Guerlain Calligraphy #2 (LE) is similar. bareMinerals Bragging Rights (LE) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Ensnare is described as a “sultry berry shimmer.” It’s a brightened, pinky-berry with warm, orange undertones and a frosted finish. It had fairly good pigmentation, but it was a little dry and didn’t apply as smoothly as Bronx. This shade started to show signs of fading just after seven and a half hours of wear. MAC Pink Pepper (LE, $21.00) is glittery, lighter. MAC Caribbean (LE, $21.00) is warmer. MAC Daydreaming (LE, $15.00) is warmer, lighter. See comparison swatches.

Charm is described as a “seductive violet shimmer.” It’s a cool-toned, light-medium pink-violet with a soft, frosted sheen. It had decent color payoff, but it wasn’t quite as pigmented as you’d expect from Illamasqua’s formula. It wore well though and lasted a full eight hours. Tarina Tarantino Fantastical #2 (P) is darker. NARS Rage (LE, $24.00) is darker. Kat Von D Babe (LE) is darker, cooler-toned. theBalm A2 (LE, $16.00) is darker, cooler-toned. Urban Decay Flash (P, $18.00) is darker, cooler-toned. See comparison swatches.

Mystify is described as a “chestnut brown.” It’s a medium-dark, cool-toned taupe brown with a frosted, slightly metallic, finish. It had rich, opaque color payoff, and the texture was incredibly soft and silky-smooth. This shade wore well for eight hours before starting to show signs of fading. Maybelline Sleek & Spice (95) (LE, $6.99) is a cream product. Sleek MakeUP Paradise on Earth (P, $9.99) is lighter. Urban Decay Mugshot (P, $18.00) is very similar. Urban Decay Stray Dog (LE, $18.00) is darker. Giorgio Armani Fatal #1 (P) is less shimmery, lighter. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

palette

Fatale

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Bronx

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Ensnare

B-

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Bronx Eyeshadow

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Bronx Eyeshadow

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Ensnare Eyeshadow

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Ensnare Eyeshadow

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Charm Eyeshadow

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Charm Eyeshadow

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Mystify Eyeshadow

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Mystify Eyeshadow

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Eyeshadows: Bronx (inner lid), Ensnare (middle of lid), Charm (outer lid), Mystify (crease)

Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette
Illamasqua Eyeshadows: Bronx (inner lid), Ensnare (middle of lid), Charm (outer lid), Mystify (crease)

The Dupe List: Bronx

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Ensnare

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Charm

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

45 thoughts on “Illamasqua Fatale Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. I love the variety of colors in this quad! Perfect for night out!
    Lisha Recently Posted: All Revlon Colorstay ShadowLinks Eyeshadow Swatches!

  2. Very pretty. It looks more fall than spring to me. But I guess I just love so many other new releases now getting me to bite isn’t easy.
    So pretty on you with your brown eyes. Really lovely.

  3. What an interesting combination of pretty shades! I like the look you came up with, Christine. :)

  4. All the colors are nice, but I don’t feel I could create a complete eye look without needing to add one or two other eyeshadows. All the colors are midtone. They all look like good stand alone color though.
    Judith Recently Posted: Skin care: buzz words and what ingredients to avoid for acne prone and sensitive skin

    • They’re so different though that I think they work well together, even if they aren’t super light or super dark – though Mystify is quite dark and is perfect for darkening any shade in the palette!

  5. Love the shimmery purple ( of course, heh) and the overall colour combo is great – very autumnal, somehow, which is nice, cos that’s where we’re headed at the moment! :-D
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Rogue Tricks: A Simple Eyebrow Tutorial to Boost your Charisma Stat!

  6. Where can this be purchased at?

    I actually squealed when I saw the review was up. After I saw the eye look in post on the lipsticks, I’ve been compulsively finding every review on the internet for this quad. This is kind of spendy for a quad but I love the color combo so I’m gong for it.
    Audrey Recently Posted: Shade Suggestions?! Help me complete my MAC palette!

  7. I loved the quad. Copper,berry,purple and taupe! Yes, Please!
    Vineetha Recently Posted: MAC Eyeshadow X15 Warm Neutral Palette Review, Swatches

  8. I’m not sure about the colors to be honest. I don’t know if they’re ‘my’ kind of shades. And I’m also not too sure about the frost finish.

  9. I love the purple one! I don’t think I would use these all together, I would use them on their own or with other eyeshadows.

  10. Avatar of Wwendy Wwendalynne

    I totally adore this colour combo and picked this up this morning and can see myself getting a ton of use from this palette in the form of simple eye washes . Thanks for the review :D

  11. I feel like all around I want this to be more pigmented, nice combo of shades though!

  12. Avatar of Helene Helene

    I have this one, and I love it.It is one of my most used counting both singles and palettes.

    • Very nice! What’s your favorite combo?

      • Avatar of Helene Helene

        I love Ensnare, i just swipe it all across the lid and dab a smal amount of Bronx, in the inner 1/3 of the lid or in the middle part of the eye. I use Mystify in the crease. Sometimes I use Charm instead of Ensnare, but I really prefere Ensnare. I really thought, when I ordered it that Charm would be my favourite, as a vibrant redish pink wasn’t something I generally liked.
        I find that they can be applied quite sheer and are buildable so I can get real impact, if and when I want to.
        All the shadows wear well on my lids, They start fading a little after some 8 hours, they are quite noticable after 12-14 hours, though.
        Of all the eyeshadows I’ve bought the last 4 months or so, this is my absolute favourite one, the one I keep getting back to.
        Oh, this got on a bit long, sorry :)

  13. Oh love the look off this palette! Would like to try Bronx. Charm also looks a bit like UD Betrayal which I love using.

  14. Love this! And I love the look you did with it, Christine.

  15. Janelle

    omgeesy! I love this and must have it!! It is hard for me to buy Illamasqua though as about 6 years ago I was able to buy one of their quads at Walgreens for $9.99. I have no idea why they were in Walgreens, but I remember at the time thinking what a wonderful formula it was at such a kick butt price.

  16. The colours are BEAUTIFUL. I’d like this palette a lot.
    Rikki Recently Posted: Khloe Kardashian @ RuPaul’s Drag Race Makeup Tutorial

  17. Avatar of Terri Terri

    I feel ridiculous asking this but, I am in love with the eye look you did. The thing is, I am a blue-eyed, cool skinned blonde. I mean, I know makeup rules are made to be broken but I don’t want to look ridiculous either. Thanks for any help anyone can give me!!!

  18. ZG

    1 word… perfect

  19. Lynne

    Just fyi, Bronx is part of the permanent range for anyone who only wants that one color,