Thursday, October 3rd, 2013

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette ($86.00 for 0.37 oz.) contains four eyeshadows and two powder liners (each containing about 0.06 oz., which is larger than the average full-sized eyeshadow–typically 0.05 oz.). It actually contains a lot more product than the permanent Ecrin 6 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palettes ($86.00 for 0.25 oz.). The powder liner shades can be used wet or dry.  This palette is best suited for someone who tends to like their eyeshadows to have very soft textures and somewhat soft color–only the copper and black shades are very pigmented, the rest are less so.  When I wore them together, the overall look was light and muted. The more pigmented shades lasted well for nearly nine hours, while the less pigmented ones were slightly faded by nine hours.

Crazy Paris #1 is a bright, golden copper with strong orange and yellow undertones and a frosted, metallic finish. It had a really soft, buttery texture that applied smoothly with excellent color payoff. This was the best eyeshadow in the palette. Sleek MakeUP Sunset #10 (P) is very similar. Maybelline Breaking Bronze (LE, $6.99) is less frosted. MAC Brownluxe #3 (P) is yellower. NARS Isolde #1 (P, $24.00) is darker. MAC Retrospeck #2 (LE) is browner. MAC Campfire (LE) is darker, browner. Guerlain Calligraphy #2 (LE) is a touch less metallic. bareMinerals Bragging Rights (LE) is more orange. See comparison swatches.

Crazy Paris #2 is a golden beige with a metallic sheen. It had so-so color payoff, though the texture was soft and finely-milled. Disney by Sephora Sea Shells (LE) is similar. MAC Vanilla (P, $15.00) is more matte. MAC Dazzlelight (P, $15.00) is less metallic. Benefit Bikini-tini (P, $20.00) is a cream product. See comparison swatches.

Crazy Paris #3 is a subtly cool-toned, silve-white with a frosted, metallic finish. It had good pigmentation, though it wasn’t not as opaque as the copper eyeshadow. The texture was very soft. Dior Lune (001) (P, $30.00) is a cream product. Disney by Sephora Midnight Hour #1 (LE) is less metallic. theBalm Sassy (P) is less metallic. theBalm Metal-ica (P) is less metallic. NARS Flowers 3 #1 (LE) is similar. MAC Crystal Avalanche (P, $15.00) is cooler-toned, less metallic. See comparison swatches.

Crazy Paris #4 is a medium-dark pink with silver and white sparkle. It had semi-sheer color payoff, and the texture was somewhat sparkly, so it wasn’t as smooth. This shade was prone to fall out both during application and later on during wear. Wet ‘n’ Wild Your 15 Minutes Aren’t Up #3 (LE) is more matte. CoverGirl Fired-up Pink (305) (P, $4.99) is more sparkly. Urban Decay Noise (LE) is less sparkly, cooler-toned. MAC Tease with Ease (P, $21) is more satiny. MAC Brash & Bold (LE, $21.00) is brighter, less sparkly. Guerlain Terra Azzurra #2 (LE) is more matte but very, very similar in color. Dior Bow (887) (P, $29.00) is darker, less sparkly. See comparison swatches.

Crazy Paris #5 is a medium-dark, neutral-warm gray with a mostly matte finish. Dry, it is fairly sheer and so soft that it does turn a bit powdery. Wet, it comes together better, but it is only semi-opaque. MAC Smokeluxe #4 (P) is more shimmery. Urban Decay Ace (LE) is darker, more shimmery. MAC Interior Life (LE) is lighter. MAC Moody (LE) is a touch darker. MAC Howzat (LE) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Crazy Paris #6 is a rich, deep black with a matte finish. It is very soft and finely-milled, so it can get somewhat powdery. Applied wet, it is less powdery and about the same in depth of color. Of course, this shade is easier to dupe than the others. LORAC Black (P), Sugarpill Bulletproof (P, $12.00), Urban Decay Blackout (P, $18.00) NARS Night Breed (LE, $24.00), Milani Pitch Black (P, $5.99), MAC Carbon (P, $15.00), Guerlain Les Ombres de Nuit #4 (LE), Make Up For Ever #04 (P, $20.00) are all similar. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Crazy Paris

B

This palette is best suited for someone who tends to like their eyeshadows to have very soft textures and somewhat soft color--only the copper and black shades are very pigmented, the rest are less so. When I wore them together, the overall look was light and muted.

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Crazy Paris #1

A

Product

10/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

10/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Crazy Paris #2

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris #1 Eyeshadow

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris #1 Eyeshadow

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris #2 Eyeshadow

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris #2 Eyeshadow

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris #3 Eyeshadow

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris #3 Eyeshadow

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris #4 Shadow Liner

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris #4 Shadow Liner

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris #5 Shadow Liner

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris #5 Shadow Liner

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris #6 Shadow Liner

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris #6 Shadow Liner

Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette

The Dupe List: Crazy Paris #1

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Crazy Paris #2

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Crazy Paris #3

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

42 thoughts on “Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. Alexandra

    Wayyy too sheer for my taste. I love the whole collection packaging, but at that price point, I’d expect something more pigmented from Guerlain.

  2. Ellen

    Thanks for the review! Did you put a liner in the crease?

  3. This eyeshadow is so pretty! I love the product reviews you did on all the new Guerlain products. Amazing!

  4. The colors in this palette are crazy gorgeous I want it! (:

  5. Terri

    I love Guerlain but this is just. Disappointing. Which is a GREAT thing for my wallet. The only thing that interests me would be the meteorite compact because I have never had the pressed version before.

  6. I can’t imagine why they’d have that wonderful, eye-catching pink in there and make it so weak in the pigmentation department. I guess I should be happy that I don’t really want this one, but I still feel bummed.

  7. zaynab

    That’s actually quite beautifully put together. Perfect with a red lip. :)

  8. Catherine

    The combination of these colours puzzles me. Seems a totally arbitrary selection.

    • It’s an interesting mix of colors – wouldn’t have really thought to use a gray with copper, but it actually worked better than I thought!

  9. Quinctia

    Not all that crazy in the end!

  10. Maya

    Holy cow!! $86 for that!! I don’t like anything about it, packaging, colors or quality. Thanks for doing the reviews early Christine, I can give this entire collection a miss, nothing has really been wow worthy(maybe the lipsticks, slightly).

  11. Phew… I’m so relieved lol. One bullet dodged from all the holiday items :).

  12. The colors are sheer but I liked that they included black in it..
    Lovely Eyessss.. <3

  13. For $86 dollars the colors should be “crazy” intense, lol!

  14. mimi

    I think Guerlain Terra Azura Palette is pretty similar but it has better colour payoff and much less sparkle wich in my cale is a good thing :)

  15. I like this palette a lot more than I thought I would. I don’t think the shades are unique and pigmented enough to justify the $86 price tag, though.

    • I know the price tag is steep, though it was surprisingly cheaper (or at least, more product for your money) than the regular eyeshadow palettes.

  16. Avatar of Ann Ann

    The colors in this palette look a little odd to me. For 90 dollars I don’t have trouble skipping this one.

  17. The weak pigmentation makes this palettew look very spring appropriate, much more so than wintery and festive looking.. so sad, since a hot bright pigmented pink could’ve made for a great christmasy twist on the usual reds and berries!

  18. Definitely not my cup of tea. I always tend to go for more drama on the eye and these pale sheer shadows do nothing for me. This collection is turning into a miss for me which isn’t necessarily a bad thing as this fall has held plenty of temptation and, oh yeah, Nars is coming…. ๏̯͡๏

  19. I really like the shades here, but I do wish it was a bit less sheer.