Wednesday, June 13th, 2012

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette ($59.00 for 0.06 oz.) is a pastel-hued palette that contains four shades described as, “pearl violet,” “jade green,” “sheer gold,” and “greige.” The palette is designed to add luminosity to the eye.

The first shade is a light-medium lilac purple with a white frosted finish. It has good color payoff, and the texture is fairly soft, though a wee bit powdery. OCC Datura is lighter and more iridescent. theBalm Curtain Call is very similar. MAC Light Violet is also similar, but it has a very different finish.

Below, there is a very, very pale mint green with subtle golden shimmer-sheen–this shade looks more white than it does green on me. This shade was a little sheer and powdery. Lancome Fashion Forward is very, very similar, but it is a little more green and has a smoother, finer texture.

The third shade is a medium-dark gold with strong orange undertones and a frosted, metallic finish. It had good pigmentation and applied fairly smoothly. MAC Barefoot is less metallic and a smidgen darker. MAC Sweet & Sour is lighter, yellower. Dior Couture Gold is less orange. Inglot #404 is darker, more molten gold. Milani Drenched in Gold is a touch lighter.

The very last shade is a soft, taupe brown with a subtle golden sheen. It’s almost pewter-like, but I think it lacks some of the gold/warmth of pewter. MAC Modern Pewter is darker and more golden. Dior Garden Roses is darker. MAC Palladium is similar but more metallic. Wet ‘n’ Wild Dancing in the Clouds is darker, more golden.

On lighter complexions, I think this is a solid palette, but on my medium coloring, the colors seem to get lost.  I think nearly all the shades could stand to be a little softer, finer–Giorgio Armani typically has some incredibly soft eyeshadows, but these were a bit dry and powdery.  I’m always taken aback by how little each palette contains (only 0.06 oz.–and most full-sized single eyeshadows are 0.05 oz.!), even though the wells seem large. One of these days, I’m going to have to go digging so I can see how deep each pan goes.

The Glossover

palette

#1 Spring 2012

B
On lighter complexions, I think this is a solid palette, but on my medium coloring, the colors seem to get lost. If you like soft, subtle colors and have a lighter skin tone, you might enjoy the overall softness, but I think the texture is still somewhat problematic.

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!

See more photos & swatches!

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette
Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette

Product & Review FAQ

Where can I purchase it? How much is it?

Is it limited edition?

Yes.

Any dupes?

See individual shade reviews! :)

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

11 thoughts on “Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 Eye Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. I really wish I could just buy the “greige” on its own. The other shades don’t appeal to me that much.

  2. xamyx

    It seems as if there were at least one “deeper” shade in these quads, they would be more universal. I’m fairly light and very neutral, but I can’t pull off a quad of pastels, either. I don’t typically get excited for Spring (and sometimes Summer) collections, from*any* brand because this is what I’ve come to expect.

  3. Y

    sick of pastels for spring

  4. .06 oz for the whole package….that is like one eyeshadow….no thanks.

  5. Quinctia

    I don’t know if it’s your complexion…I’m pale enough for that not to be the case, but when you get too light, colors start to look too frosty and samey, especially if they’re all in a palette together.  I think that’s the case with these.  The only colors I’d probably wear are the purple and greige, and only as highlights, not as a full lid color.

  6. I would title this palette “How to completely wash out my face and go broke while doing so” by Giorgio Armani

  7. KimJorg

    I cant believe that people still continue to spend such an outrageous amount of $ on .06 ounces of product. Ridiculous! Some people have more money than sense

  8. yellowlantern

    Bleh. These colors me think of yogurt. Yogurt palette.  

  9. I agree with @wwendalynne ! I wouldn’t spend money on this in a million years. ;)

  10. gilded_lady

    I’m actually a fan of that lilac, but the quad as a whole and at that price? No thanks. Maybe I’ll try and hunt down a dupe.

  11. Oh my gosh, that lilac shade is to-die-for!!! As are all the colors in this palette. I still don’t own any Giorgio Armani quads, mainly because you get such a measly amount of product. I don’t mind paying more for good quality shadows–but 0.06 oz. is a bit ridiculous if you ask me. Hourglass duos are pricey but at least they make it worth your while