Wednesday, April 2nd, 2014

Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette ($60.00 for 0.21 oz.) consists of five shades ranging from pale gray to navy blue–four of the shades are cool-toned, lean bluish, while one is a warm-toned gold. The palette is part of the Saks-exclusive Transatlantique collection and is available online and in-store. At this point, I feel like I should know better than to buy Dior’s more “vibrant” palettes, because I usually find them disappointing, and true to form, this one is a miss as well. (Unless they bring back last year’s Mystic Metallics formula.) The application is difficult due to the powdery, almost chalky, base of the majority of the shades, so it looks dry, powdery, and gets muddied quickly on the lid. It’s a palette that desperately needs to be paired with a slightly tacky, creamy base (it needs more than a regular, invisible primer), and I highly recommend applying it prior to your base products as there is a lot of excess fall out (and yes, I tap excess off my brush prior to applying). The shades started off more faded applied than they looked in the pan, but it had noticeably faded even more after six hours of wear.

Rivage #1 is a muted, periwinkle blue with a silvered, frosted finish. It had decent color payoff, and the texture was slightly powdery but soft to the touch. Sleek MakeUP Acid #5 (P, $9.99), Tarina Tarantino Violet Storm #3 (LE), Sephora Collection My Boyfriend’s Jeans (19) (P, $13.00), and NARS Rated R #2 (P, $24.00) are all significantly darker. MAC Moon’s Reflection (P, $15.00) is lighter, warmer in a way. MAC Wintersky (LE, $32.50) is darker, more frosted. Chanel Destination (LE, $36.00) is grayer, cream. Inglot #429 (P, $6.00) is lighter with a more metallic sheen. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Rivage #2 is a pale, gray-ish white with a soft, pearly finish. This shade was dry, chalky, powdery, and ultimately, semi-sheer at best in regards to coverage. Tom Ford Beauty Ice Queen #1 (P) is more frosted, brighter. Tarina Tarantino Glinda’s Kiss (LE) is yellower. MAC A Waft of Grey #1 (P, $21.00) is similar. Dior Golden Snow #1 (LE) is brighter. theBalm A3 (LE, $16.00) is grayer. NARS Vent Glace #1 (P, $24.00) is similar. Dior Night Golds #1 (LE) is similar. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Rivage #3 is a light-medium, sky blue with a metallic sheen. It had so-so color payoff, but at least the texture wasn’t powdery. Sleek MakeUP Acid #6 (P, $9.99) is slightly darker. NARS South Pacific #2 (P, $24.00) is darker, less metallic. MAC Dimensional Blue (LE, $19.50) is cooler-toned, more muted. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Rivage #4 is a medium gold with warm, yellow-orange undertones and a sparkling, metallic finish. It had fairly good pigmentation, and the texture had an almost wet feel to it, but it had some chunkier glitter, so there was some fall out during wear along with the shorter wear-time of the color in general. bareMinerals Stay Golden (LE, $14.00) is darker, less sparkly. Dior Golden Snow #2 (LE) is chunkier. MAC Until Dawn #2 (LE, $21.00) is more muted. Sleek MakeUP Meet in Madrid (LE, $9.99) is less sparkly. Milani Drenched in Gold (P, $6.99) is warmer. MAC Retrospeck (P, $15.00) is similar. L’Oreal Eternal Sunshine (P, $7.99) is yellower. Lancome Eternal Gold (P, $24.50) is yellower. Dior Night Golds #4 (LE) is less metallic.Dior Fairy Golds #2 (LE) is less warm-toned. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

Rivage #5 is a rich, deep blue with a frosted finish. It seemed to have excellent color payoff, but the texture was noticeably powdery, and when I worked with it on the eyelid, it looked incredibly faded and muted. I tried to layer and build the color up in the crease to no avail. The one shade that seemed promising ended up disappointing as well. Sleek MakeUP Acid #5 (P, $9.99) is lighter. Wet ‘n’ Wild I’m His Breezey #5 (P, $2.29) is less shimmery. Tarina Tarantino Violet Storm #3 (LE) is brighter. Wet ‘n’ Wild I Don’t Do Camouflage #3 (LE, $2.29) is less frosted, more muted. Sephora Collection My Boyfriend’s Jeans (19) (P, $13.00) is darker. See comparison swatches / view dupes.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Rivage (264)

D+

Product

6.5/10

Pigmentation

7.5/10

Texture

6.5/10

Longevity

6.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Rivage #1

C+

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

7.5/10

Longevity

7/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Rivage #2

F

Product

4/10

Pigmentation

4.5/10

Texture

4/10

Longevity

5/10

Application

3.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Rivage #1 Eyeshadow
Dior Rivage #1 Eyeshadow

Dior Rivage #1 Eyeshadow
Dior Rivage #1 Eyeshadow

Dior Rivage #2 Eyeshadow
Dior Rivage #2 Eyeshadow

Dior Rivage #2 Eyeshadow
Dior Rivage #2 Eyeshadow

Dior Rivage #3 Eyeshadow
Dior Rivage #3 Eyeshadow

Dior Rivage #3 Eyeshadow
Dior Rivage #3 Eyeshadow

Dior Rivage #4 Eyeshadow
Dior Rivage #4 Eyeshadow

Dior Rivage #4 Eyeshadow
Dior Rivage #4 Eyeshadow

Dior Rivage #5 Eyeshadow
Dior Rivage #5 Eyeshadow

Dior Rivage #5 Eyeshadow
Dior Rivage #5 Eyeshadow

Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Rivage (264) Eyeshadow Palette

The Dupe List: Rivage #1

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Rivage #2

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Rivage #3

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

Leave a Reply

Share your latest blog post when you comment by Registering or Logging In!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of new posts by E-Mail.

74 thoughts on “Dior Rivage (264) Transatlantique Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. The ratings make me so sad. I am absolutely in love with these colours.
    Rikki Recently Posted: Rainbow Carnival Makeup – Carnival|Music Festival Collab w/ PrettyAndPrimped

  2. Haley

    Such a shame! I love all shades of blue but will be passing on this! I honestly expect more from this company!

  3. Avatar of Angie Angie

    For the price they charge, you’d think it would be better quality.

  4. Well, that’s disappointing… Such a beautiful palette. Glad I waited for the review before throwing my money away.

  5. yikes those grades lol I feel like they always fail too

  6. Ugh this broke my heart a little, because the color combination is so pretty in pan! Kinda reminds me of the blue quad they did a couple of years back. It was also not the most impressive :(

  7. Eliz

    Dior is my very favorite prestige brand, but I have found their powder eyeshadow palettes to be less than stellar, which is perplexing. And, to make things worse, their presentation is so gorgeous that I can’t help myself from trying a palette here and there, hoping that the performance will match the packaging. With brands like Clinique mastering buttery, pigmented powder shadows, I just don’t understand why Dior keeps putting out underperforming shadows. They are usually masters of luxury. Is there anyone out there that prefers dry, chalky, sparsely-pigmented shadows? All that said, these colors do look beautiful on you, but if there are dupes that are easier to work with and less expensive, it’s very difficult to justify the $60 price tag. I love to ooohhh and aaahhh over presentation, but, at the end of the day, a product has to perform. Thanks for the honest review!

    • No problem, Eliz! I love a lot of things Dior does, but their eyeshadow palettes are SO hit or miss. They’ve put out some fantastic palettes over the years, but there have been so many utter disasters. Their strength seems to be in more neutral palettes.

  8. I am a sucker for blues and was eyeing this. You just saved me a lot of $$$. While I might have ignored a C+ a D+ is hard to argue (“but I like semi-sheer glittery shades”). The eye look you did is lovely but I must say that I can see what you mean. There is just something missing in the pigmentation or maybe formula.
    See what a public service you provide!
    meganlisa Recently Posted: My Favorite Beauty Products March 2014

  9. It looks like a wreck of a palette. I wouldn’t wear this so no disappointment here.

  10. Avatar of Zoe Zoe

    wow what a miss! :( too bad, it looked pretty in the pan!

  11. Dior always has the prettiest palettes but they never seem to perform that well. It’s a shame because the colors are very pretty
    fancie Recently Posted: Fancie Faves

  12. Jess

    Wow, the colours in this are so vibrant and pretty, and I’m not even usually drawn to blues! What a shame that the quality just isn’t there!

  13. That’s too bad, I love some of the Dior eyeshadow palettes.

  14. Melissa

    Pretty disappointing at that price, at any price for that matter.

  15. Blues like these, all together in a palette, just aren’t for me (too late Fifties looking). But I seriously don’t understand how it is that Dior can put out some amazing 5 pans (Golden Savannah, Bonne Etoile and I’m sure many others) but also put out so many that are pure cr*p. AND charge a hefty price for the “privilege”.

    • I’m pretty much going to try to commit to only bothering if they re-release the Mystics Metallics formula or more neutral palettes… I give up on the brighter ones.

  16. It’s sad that these are often times a miss since the colors are normally pretty. At that price point I really would expect better.
    Christine Recently Posted: Smashbox X Santigold – Apocolypse Now Palette Eye Look

  17. I have stopped collecting these too! mostly a miss than not! :-(
    Vineetha Recently Posted: Giorgio Armani Maestro Foundation Review, Swatches

  18. Bummer. I really liked this palette, but the low ratings means I’m going to give it a pass. At that price point, I’d expect nothing less than an A rating, so this was very disappointing.

  19. shelley

    I’m so glad I didn’t purchase this. I was so on the fence about it and now I know why?

  20. Ouch! I’m so tired of all palettes coming with a sparkly white!
    Judith Recently Posted: Paula’s choice The nude matte eyeshadow palette worth the hype?

  21. Ok, even though we don’t have Saks here, as a blue eyeshadow lover..

    *crash of lightning, rumble of thunder, torrential rain, etc*

    * falls to knees, raises hands to the sky*

    *throws head back*

    WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY?!?!?!?!?

    (What? I really feel strongly about blue eyeshadow :-P)
    Sylirael Recently Posted: The Bees! OMG, The Bees! – Burt’s Bees Lip Gloss in #233 Rosy Dawn and Tinted Lip Balm in Hibiscus

  22. Denise

    Ouch! Tsk tsk Dior – must do better next time. Fortunately for me, blue eyeshadows ain’t ma thang so this palette would never have been a must have for me. That said, if you are forking out that much money for this type of product by a high end company, you’d expect to get some bang for your buck.Thanks again Christine for all your hard work and for your honest reviews. I never get anything these days without checking what you have to say on the matter.

  23. Loved the colors at first glance but sadly they failed to deliver.. :(

  24. Christina

    Hi Christine
    Do you have a review on the Dior Grege eyeshadow palette? I searched but couldn’t find anything so I wanted to double check. Thanks :)

    • Nope! I haven’t reviewed that one! In my experience, the more neutral Dior palettes seem to be better (they can do a very nice bronze, for instance!), and most of the duds are the “colorful” palettes.

  25. Sad it is not a quality product. I wish it was. Looks such a pretty combination of colors. :-(
    Eesha Recently Posted: Review: Soleil de Tan Chanel Bronzing Base

  26. Avatar of Helene Helene

    I wasn’t interested in this, a sblue isn’t my thing, that said I find it actually scandalous that a brand like Dior can continue making such badly performing quads. I think I must swatch all of my old ones, but I think you are right when you say that they are better at neutrals.’
    I have been really disappointed many times by the Dior quads. Have almost given up on the brand.
    I do however have some very pigmented lovely shadows from them, but they are all quite old.
    I also think that the new palette from YSL is quite awful, it looks so nice, really lovely spring colours but when I swatched it in the store I found it very underperforming and with very poor pigmentation. Would be fun to hear if anyone else have tried that one.
    Thanks for an excellent review, Christina!

    • I wish Dior would stop abusing blue! I feel like they usually flop on blue and should just stick to a softer color palette if that’s what they want to do! :(

  27. Donna

    Oh, thank you for the review. It takes all of my willpower to stay away from the Dior Palettes. I made a decision about six years ago to stop buying Dior shadows because too many of them were just like your review of this one. If I feel the need to spend too much on a shadow palette, I purchase Chanel instead :) But the way the prices of the Chanel palettes are going up and the amount of shadow is going down, haven’t purchased any in a few years. I really appreciate your reviews, they are so detailed and informative, thank you!

    • My pleasure, Donna! Congrats on making that decision and sticking to it! Dior CAN make a beautiful eyeshadow palette, but so many aren’t just underwhelming but flops :( I NEED to learn my lesson!

  28. Adhishree

    It’s so disappointing to see high end/luxury brands doing such a beautiful job with packaging and shades, but bad pigmentation and quality. With the heavy price tag, you’d atleast expect something close to a B+.
    Boo :/

  29. Avatar of divinem1 (Melissa) divinem1 (Melissa)

    You are so moderate and understanding in your reviews. That’s why I LOVE IT when you give D’s and F’s! ROFLMAO! LOVE your candor!

    Thanks for saving me the money. Those shadows are WAY too frosty. I’ve fallen in love with Guerlain, thanks to you. <3

  30. Wow I can’t believe the rating. This isn’t a palette I would go for because of the blue shades, but I still expected the quality to be better.

  31. Iris

    They actually swatched really pretty! But agreed – hot, faded mess when applied.

  32. Why does Chanel and Dior always release such poor quality eyeshadows? And yet, a lot of people buy them still. The colors are always so pretty though :/ Maybe theyre intending to make them sheer?

  33. ak

    It seems like both Dior and YSL made better eyeshadow palettes 10 years ago and that their paletts were even better quality the many years before that also because both brands had very pigmented colors of eyeshadow and they put out palettes that had rich, bright and deep colors that showed up well on everybody thereby appearing to be more universal for everyone to use while today of all things most of Dior’s eyeshadow palettes are washed-out pastel colors that look like sugared almonds or like small chocolate easter eggs that have that same pastel-colored crunchy and sugary shell. The kind of unflattering colors a lot people can’t wear without looking stupid. What the heck happened when back in the day Dior’s shadow palettes were nothing like this?

    Mean while YSL eyeshadow palettes still look pleasing to the eye, diverse in color combinations and universla but now they barely show up on the skin for a lot of people and again they never used to be like that either a long time ago. Quite ridiculous for their prices but oh well there are always Nars and certain others….