Saturday, January 25th, 2014

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette ($61.00 for 0.17 oz.) is another new and limited spring offering from Dior. I wish I could say it was more impressive than Dulcinee, but I was still disappointed.  The palette suffered from poorer color payoff and wear that lasted just over seven and a half hours (for most shades, though the blue was significantly faded by the seventh hour).  Like Dulcinee, the colors tend to look all the same once applied to the lid, so it loses a lot of versatility and usefulness as a result.

Pastel Fontanges #1 is a bright, metallic silver with cool undertones. It had so-so color payoff, and the texture was soft and smooth. Tarina Tarantino Lovely #1 (P) is darker. MAC A Party of Pastels #1 (P, $21.00) is similar. Sleek MakeUP Pretty in Paris (LE, $9.99) is more metallic. Guerlain Crazy Paris #3 (LE) is lighter. NARS Flowers 3 #1 (LE, $24.00) is similar. Guerlain Les Aquas #4 (P) is also similar. See comparison swatches

Pastel Fontanges #2 is a pale, pastel blue with a white base and a frosted finish. It had sheer color payoff, though the texture was soft to the touch. It faded faster than the other shades did when worn. Guerlain Les Tendres #2 (LE) is less blue. Too Faced Joy (LE) is less blue. Sephora Collection Sweet Dreams (17) (P, $13.00) is slightly darker. Maybelline Icy Mint (LE, $6.99) is a cream product. See comparison swatches.

Pastel Fontanges #3 is a sparkling, yellow gold with a frosted, metallic finish. It was semi-sheer, and the texture was fairly soft and smooth. I didn’t have any fall out with this shade that I could see when I wore it. bareMinerals Presto (LE) is darker. Clarins The Essentials #2 (LE) is similar. theBalm C1 (LE, $16.00) is less sparkly. Bobbi Brown Sunlight Gold (P, $28.00) is a cream product. Chanel Convoitise (90) (LE, $36.00) is a cream product. MAC Greenluxe #2 (P) is more glittery. Disney by Sephora Charming (LE) is less glittery. Disney by Sephora Sand in the Glass (LE) is less glittery. Make Up For Ever #101 (P, $20.00) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Pastel Fontanges #4 is a medium-dark taupe with subtle warm undertones and a pearly sheen. It had so-so pigmentation, though it was easy to blend on the lid and applied smoothly for the most part. Wet ‘n’ Wild Naked Truth #4 (P, $2.29) is similar. MAC A Glimmer of Gold #4 (P, $21.00) is also similar. MAC Just Before Dawn (LE, $21.00) is darker. See comparison swatches.

Pastel Fontanges #5 is a pink-tinged, light peach with a frosted finish. It had good color payoff, and the texture was soft and easy to apply. It was the best performing shade in the palette. Laura Mercier Sparkling Dew (LE, $23.00) is less frosted. theBalm D2 (LE, $16.00) is lighter, warmer. MAC A Natural Flirt (LE, $19.50) is more golden, warmer. Le Metier de Beaute Nouvelle (LE, $30.00) is more metallic. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Pastel Fontanges (234)

B-

Product

7.5/10

Pigmentation

7.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Pastel Fontanges #1

B

Product

8/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Pastel Fontanges #2

C-

Product

6.5/10

Pigmentation

6.5/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

7/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges #1 Eyeshadow

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges #1 Eyeshadow

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges #2 Eyeshadow

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges #2 Eyeshadow

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges #3 Eyeshadow

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges #3 Eyeshadow

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges #4 Eyeshadow

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges #4 Eyeshadow

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges #5 Eyeshadow

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Pastel Fontanges #5 Eyeshadow

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Eyeshadows: #3 (inner lid), #5 (middle of lid), #4 (outer lid/crease)

Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Eyeshadows: #3 (inner lid), #5 (middle of lid), #4 (outer lid/crease)

The Dupe List: Pastel Fontanges #1

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Pastel Fontanges #2

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Pastel Fontanges #3

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

48 thoughts on “Dior Pastel Fontanges (234) Eyeshadow Palette Review, Photos, Swatches

  1. I love Dior eyeshadow!..but I think I’ll pass on this one.

  2. Nice for a pastel fan, but I like my eyeshadow bolder and darker :-)

  3. Fina

    After so much print/online advertising of this collection, the eye shadow palettes have performed not too well (including the ones that did not make it to the US). Though I do like #4 in this particular palette.

    After talking with a sales rep, supposedly the trend is sheer washes on the eyes and more focus on the lips. Though my curiosity wants to see how some of these perform with the eye shadow primer that Dior released.

    The mono matte eyeshadows, lip sticks, and blush have been the favorites so far.

    • It wouldn’t surprise me if that was the trend, though I wish brands would work a little harder at conveying that for their products!

    • Well, sounds like a nice story but “trend/shmend” – with a bit of skill and the right brushes and a light hand, most of us can turn anything into a “light wash of colour”. Personally, at these prices, I expect a whole lot more in terms of pigmentation and I’ll adjust the density myself. I dunno – this sounds like an excuse to justify a less than good product.

  4. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Celine Celine

    Too bad this fell short, cause I’ve never yet had a Dior palette and would like my first one. These shades really appeal to me, would they work better with a primer? Is there a particular Dior palette you could recommend for me for a first one?

    • I’m not super familiar with the permanent quints, so there’s nothing that stands out to me as a must-have/must-try. My favorites were their fall palettes from last year.

  5. I don’t dislike it nearly as much as I thought I would. I also really like that this quint doesn’t have that packed glitter section in the middle, like many do.
    Audrey Recently Posted: My Top 8 Lip Colors For the Perilously Pale (or anyone who has lips!).

  6. I like the design on the shadows but other than that… not caring too much.
    Rikki Recently Posted: WHICH NAKED PALETTE? NAKED vs. NAKED2 vs. NAKED3!

  7. Pastels dont really work as eyeshadow shades on me. Pretty shades though! I prefer pastels as nail colors mostly! ;-)
    Vineetha Recently Posted: MAC Viva Glam Rihanna Review, Swatches

  8. This palette is a nice idea – pretty pastels for spring – but it’s poorly executed. Yikes! Dior really missed the mark.
    Amanda Recently Posted: My January Favourites

  9. Pastel baby blue has never done anything for me as an eye shadow! The only shade that really “grabs” me is the dark one (#4) but I’ve so many similar shadows that this is an easy pass for me which is good since I’m planning to pick up that new Too Faced palette (Chocolate Bar? Chocolate Box?) and also Naked 3.

    • LOL! I think my favorite is a Buxom cream one, but cream seems to be the only way to get at least some color, otherwise the powder versions turn sooo white.

  10. This palette just seems okay, but I love the bow design!

  11. grlnxdor

    I’ve grown weary of the 2 pale white shades that seem to be included in every Dior Spring and Holiday Collection eye palettes.

  12. Hmm.. this collection doesn’t impress me, apart from the bright pink lipstick, nothing special :/ The palettes look so sheer that it hardly looks as anything on eyes o.o The design is pretty tho.

  13. For the price this is a complete disappointment. The lack of pigmentation makes my wallet happy.

  14. Dammit Dior! We know you can make awesome eyeshadows – what’s your sticking point with these pastel compacts?!

    I realise that sheer can be intentional, but I tend to feel its a waste, as if the formula is good you can always sheer a pigmented thing out. If it starts off hopelessly sheer, then you’re kind of already really limited… :-(
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Rogue of the Jungle – AmazON…AmazOFF from the new OPI Brazil Collection

    • It totally wouldn’t surprise me if these were meant to be sheerer, because it’s spring and pastel, and that can be an obvious choice. I just wish they’d put it somewhere in their spiel when someone purchases it, “Hey! These aren’t quite like our regular eyeshadows…”

      But as far as I go personally, @Sylirael, I’m with you – most eyeshadows can easily be sheered out, but if it’s sheer, it’s hard to build the color up. I’d rather a more pigmented eyeshadow that can be used either way!

  15. I’m so disappointed! I totally fell for this online and in the ads. Guess I just saved a lot of money….

  16. amy

    Hi Christine, I come here occasionally to check your beautiful macro photography.

    Is there any chance you could discuss and describe what camera/lens you use to take these amazing photographs? I remember a while ago, in your old blog, you had put a description there, but I am sure by now you are using different cameras. I would appreciate your response.

  17. disappointing indeed! both of the palettes are a let down, but with all the new things out and coming out makes saving money easier

  18. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Mary Mary

    Eechhh. I wanted this so badly and just wanted to hold off until I saw your review – so glad I did! Lol thanks for saving me a pretty penny.

  19. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Ayesha Ayesha

    Aww, totally not what I expected from this palette! Such a shame, it looked really pretty!

  20. Alia

    Just bought this the other day st Sephora and I am planning to return it. I am in complete agreement with you on this one Christine and very disappointed that it performs so poorly. I slso bought the Dior eyeshadow primer and it apploes cakey and does not prevent creasing or fading at all!

  21. Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Rebecca BeckBeck

    It’s kind of an unpleasant surprise to see this from Dior when their shadows have such a cult following. (I myself have a mixed relationship with them – my undying love for Grege is tempered by my inability to wear their “iridescent” quads at all.) It’s a shame the pigmentation was so lackluster when the design of the palette (bows!) is so charming.

  22. Jennifer

    So disappointing! It looks pretty in the pan but that’s about it.

  23. Rose Red

    I have to disagree about this palette! I’ve done a few looks with it, and I really like it. It’s a lot more subtle than the Autumn palettes for example, but It the first blue eyeshadow I’ve actually enjoyed wearing as it’s more of a hint of blue than an 80s nightmare :)

    • If Dior said everything was supposed to be really sheer, that would be one thing, but they didn’t so that’s why I judged it based on previous palettes :)

  24. zg

    No comment on this palette..