Saturday, January 18th, 2014

Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

As I mentioned in my review for Nocturne and Rosee, Dior released four shades under the Fusion Mono Matte formula for spring. According to Dior, the new formula is “soft” (presumably sheer) when applied with fingertips and then “bold” (presumably pigmented) when using an applicator “to reveal pure matte color.” It’s an interesting formula; it has a much drier feel once applied, but it’s not actually dry. The consistency isn’t quite as emollient as the regular range, but it’s not stiff or difficult to work with. They do not sheer out as readily as the more shimmery shades, though. It almost seems like putty in the jar–you could just shape it however you’d like. If you have any natural dryness on your lid or around your eye area, the texture can be unforgiving and will catch onto some of that dryness. All three wore well for nine hours and had minor fading after ten hours of wear.

Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow ($30.00 for 0.22 oz.) is a cool-toned, lavender-pink with a matte finish. It had mostly opaque color coverage, and it could be sheered out to semi-sheer color if desired. This shade seemed to be the least forgiving if you have any dryness on the lid (I have a little). bareMinerals Velvet Lavender (LE, $14.00) is cooler-toned. MAC Digit (P, $15.00) is lighter. Inglot #346 (P, $6.00) is darker. See comparison swatches.

Fantasie (641) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow ($30.00 for 0.22 oz.) is a soft, light-medium pinky-peach with a matte finish. It had mostly opaque color coverage. Of the three, this one didn’t sheer out as easily, though I didn’t have any trouble blending the edges out. Disney by Sephora Sebastian (LE) is very similar but is a powder. MAC Perky (LE, $18.00) is warmer, less pink. MAC Frisco (LE, $15.00) is slightly more beige and a powder. MAC Dear Cupcake (LE, $15.00) is darker, pinker, powder. Inglot #341 (P, $6.00) is more beige, powder. See comparison swatches.

Mirage (761) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow ($30.00 for 0.22 oz.) is a neutral-to-warm-toned taupe brown with a matte finish. It had nice, opaque pigmentation and applied evenly. It was able to be sheered out to semi-opaque color coverage. If you’re looking for a cooler-toned version, might I suggest MAC Tailor Grey? (not a dupe!) bareMinerals Head Over Heels (LE) is darker, powder. MAC Smoked Cocoa #2 (LE, $15.00) is slightly grayer, powder. Urban Decay Naked 2 (P, $18.00) is similar, powder. MAC Brains & Brawn (LE, $15.00) is a touch cooler-toned, powder. Bobbi Brown Pale Rose (LE, $29.00) has a pink tinge to it, powder. Bobbi Brown Slate (P, $29.00) is powder. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
product

Celeste (121)

A-

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Fantasie (641)

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Mirage (761)

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadows: Celeste, Fantasie, Mirage

Dior Celeste (121) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadows: Celeste, Fantasie, Mirage

Dior Fantasie (641) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Fantasie (641) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

Dior Fantasie (641) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Fantasie (641) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

Dior Fantasie (641) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Fantasie (641) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

Dior Fantasie (641) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Fantasie (641) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

Dior Mirage (761) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Mirage (761) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

Dior Mirage (761) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Mirage (761) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

Dior Mirage (761) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Mirage (761) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

Dior Mirage (761) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow
Dior Mirage (761) Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadow

The Dupe List: Celeste (121)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Fantasie (641)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Mirage (761)

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

46 thoughts on “Dior Celeste, Fantasie, Mirage Fusion Mono Matte Eyeshadows Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Oh man I’m a sucker for a taupe shadow and this is a really lovely subtle one. Mirage reminds me a bit of Bobbi Brown Slate.

  2. I got Rosee and Fantasie. I adore Rosee, especially when layered over Fantasie. May I ask, are you going to review the YSL spring collection? I would love to know your opinion on the eyeshadow palette.

  3. Avatar of Jennifer Jen

    Ooh, love that there are matte versions available now! The original line was stunning, but not so much work-appropriate. These look great! xo

  4. Fantasie and Mirage look amazing!! They are such unique shades :)
    Stephanie | theFantasia Recently Posted: Haul | CHANEL Beauty.

  5. All of these look great, but Fantasie is my favorite!

  6. I like the colour of the last one.
    Rikki Recently Posted: REVIEW: Urban Decay NAKED3

  7. I like the colors but I don’t know how I feel about the swatches. They look meh. Mirage would make a nice crease color though
    fancie Recently Posted: MAC Autoerotique Blush Review

  8. These aren’t colors eye would wear. Although maybe I’d try Mirage. Maybe.

  9. Anyone know how the last shade, Songe, compares to any of the Mac paint pots? Haven’t got Mac available here to compare, myself.

  10. Kat Neal

    I’m in love with the color of the second one… do you happen to know of any blushes with a similar color?

  11. Mirage looks so soft and beautiful! It looks like a very forgiving (and useful) shade for the crease – something even I couldn’t screw up, hah! :-D
    Sylirael Recently Posted: Quiz! Consider Your Reputation…Which Dungeon-Dweller are You?

  12. I was just swatching these this week. They are so soft! It’s nice to see them on the eye though, they are very pretty.

  13. Jane

    Celeste reminds me so much of a color in an old (old!) Estée Lauder set from Spring 2001. It was the first year I worked for Lauder and I was so excited to get that set, which I believe was a trio. I will definitely go see it in person.

  14. I would really like to use Mirage for an everyday smokey eye!
    Kiara Recently Posted: Spring 2014 Makeup Trends

  15. Susan

    Thanks for the great review! Just wondering, do you know if these colors are permanent or limited edition?

  16. Avatar of kellly kellly

    wow, those look pretty on you! i’m not sure how they wold look on me, tho. pale colors tend to look chalky on me.

  17. Avatar of Amy xamyx

    It seems Maybelline Color Tattoo in Tough As Taupe may be a more budget-friendly alternative to Mirage… Still, I’m such a sucker for matte taupe shades to contour the eye, so I am very tempted!

    • Tough as Taupe is soooo much darker and cooler-toned, I wouldn’t call them dupes other than they’re both “taupe.”

      • Avatar of Amy xamyx

        It’s been a couple of months since I wore it, but it was the first thing that came to mind. I don’t remember it being very dark, though. Now I want ! Irage, LOL!

        • Avatar of Amy xamyx

          I just swatched TAT, and it’s also much grayer. Matte Brown is much closer, but that was LE, so not an alternative at this point.

  18. Avatar of Malia Malia

    Kinda surprised me.. I love these! I’m a big fan of the originals though… But I’d love to have non-budging pastels!

    • I’m on the fence! I don’t know if I love them personally, lol! I love the sparkly ones but not so sure about these. I think the colors just aren’t up my alley, other than Mirage.

  19. That lilac colour is BEAUTIFUL. Will definitely have to go check that out in store to see if it suits my super pale skin, hopefully it doesn’t wash me out

  20. Thanks, Christine, you have successfully separated me from $60 (Nocturne and Celeste)! :-)

  21. Avatar of Elísabet Elísabet

    Oooooh, these look super exciting!