Wednesday, July 17th, 2013

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette ($61.00 for 0.21 oz.) consists of five eyeshadows with star patterns on four of the five shades. It’s part of the fall collection, Mystic Metallics, and is limited edition. Right now, Nordstrom still has it available, but it is on backorder (I bought mine at Nordstrom). It’s a very nice palette overall with good color payoff across all five shades, and those that seemed good (but not perfect) were buildable on the lid. I really had no trouble applying this, and over bare skin (no primer), they lasted a full eight hours. I saw minor fading after nine hours, and if you normally wear your eyeshadow with a primer, I think you’d be fine for truly all-day wear.

Bonne Etoile (384) #1 is a warm-toned, olive green with gold, copper, and emerald green micro-shimmer. It had a pearly finish–not quite frosted. The color payoff was excellent, and the texture was and smooth. Urban Decay Zodiac is greener, more metallic. MAC Vintage Coin is similar but a cream product. MAC Humid is greener. MAC Greensmoke is slightly less warm-toned. L’oreal Golden Emerlad is much greener. Lancome Designer is less warm-toned. See comparison swatches.

Bonne Etoile (384) #2 is a silvered pewter with a metallic, sparkling finish. It had nice color payoff, and though it seemed almost glittery, the sparkles are finer and smoothed together well. Tom Ford Emerald Lust #1 is lighter. MAC Palladium is slightly darker and a cream product. Dior Garden Rosese #4 is darker. Sugarpill Tiara is darker. See comparison swatches.

Bonne Etoile (384) #3 is a warm-toned, olive brown with a satin finish. It had very nice pigmentation and applied evenly and smoothly. Disney Abu is darker. Urbn Decay Snakebite is less golden. NARS Paramaribo #2 is more golden. Giorgio Armani #6 is similar. Dior Golden Savannah #4 is darker. bareMinerals Elitist is lighter. Inglot #409 is warmer. See comparison swatches.

Bonne Etoile (384) #4 is a muted, darkened blue-teal with a metallic finish. It had fairly good pigmentation, and it was buildable–the texture is just slightly dry, but not dry in a stiff, difficult-to-work-with kind of way, just the type of dry that you might find with very metallic finishes. Urban Decay Shattered is much lighter. Urban Decay Hijack is very similar. MAC Emerald Dusk is bluer, more muted. Guerlain Les Aquas #1 is much darker and matte. Sugarpill Magpie is brighter, bluer. See comparison swatches.

Bonne Etoile (384) #5 is a soft, meadowy green with a strong, golden metallic sheen. It had good color payoff and a smooth, even application. Disney Cinderelly is warmer, less shimmery. MAC Sweet & Sour is darker. Guerlain Coup de Foudre #3 is warmer. See comparison swatches.

The Glossover

LE
palette

Bonne Etoile (384)

A

It's a very nice palette overall with good color payoff across all five shades, and those that seemed good (but not perfect) were buildable on the lid. It's one of the better Dior palettes I've come across, because it's very fuss-free and just does well on texture, pigmentation, and even presents a solid, workable color combination. The only thing is that all the finishes have shimmer, so if you prefer mattes, this isn't a palette for you.

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
LE
product

Bonne Etoile (384) #1

A

It had a pearly finish--not quite frosted. The color payoff was excellent, and the texture was and smooth.

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Bonne Etoile (384) #2

A-

It had nice color payoff, and though it seemed almost glittery, the sparkles are finer and smoothed together well.

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) #1 Eyeshadow

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) #1 Eyeshadow

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) #2 Eyeshadow

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) #2 Eyeshadow

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) #3 Eyeshadow

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) #3 Eyeshadow

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) #4 Eyeshadow

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) #4 Eyeshadow

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) #5 Eyeshadow

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) #5 Eyeshadow

Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette
Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette

The Dupe List: Bonne Etoile (384) #1

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Bonne Etoile (384) #2

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Bonne Etoile (384) #3

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

60 thoughts on “Dior Bonne Etoile (384) Eyeshadow Palette REview, Photos, Swatches

  1. SWOON! That sound you heard was me hitting the floor in a faint. I know these colours aren’t exciting to a lot of people but they are SO MUCH my sort of thing (which might explain why I have so many of the comparison colours listed). I can so easily pass up blush, lipstick, mascara, highlighter….EVERYTHING except eye shadow. This, to me, is stunning. I sort of wish the quality had been crap!

  2. Yay! I was waiting for your review. :) Definitely getting this palette, the shades are right up my alley.

    By the way, is the last photo supposed to be a look you created with the palette, Christine? I think you may have uploaded the wrong photo, because it also shows the first shade (olive green).

  3. Wow. for me this would be a smokey palette. Love the jewel tone greys in this.

  4. Arlene

    I need this!

  5. AmyD

    hmmmm…this is very, very pretty! i’ve not been buying much makeup over the past year or so, other than some new bases, but i really like the look you created with this palette, christine – it’s not over-the-top, and yet it’s colorful. i may pick this one up!

  6. Dominique

    This palette is to die for, I’ll definitely pick up Bonne Etoile ( and the other one too even if Bonne Etoile looks more unique )

  7. Oh man..I’ve been busy talking myself out of this palette since I first saw it. It’s really lovely.. you are not helping my case

  8. Brittbby

    This is beautiful! I’m hoping you got the other palette too so I can decide which one i NEED more hehehe

    • Mary

      The beauty look book has the other palette swatched. It’s just a bunch of frosty purples so for me, it’s a pass. This, on the other hand, I have been drooling over for weeks!

      • Brittbby

        The Beauty Look Book’s swatches look wayyyyy different than all the other swatches I’ve seen now of the Constellation palette! Glad I didn’t go based on that alone!

        • divinem1 (Melissa)

          As a customer who owns this quint, I must say that Christine’s swatches are far more accurate.

          The green & green/teal look positively garish on the Look Book site. I would have never ordered this based on those swatches.

          It’s a beautiful quint. I’m so glad I snapped it up before it went on backorder.

  9. Denise

    Really really like this!!! Lots of different possibilities with this palette!

  10. Purpemonkey

    I’m so excited you did this! Thank you so much!!! Will you be swatching Constellation? I can’t decide from the both and I trust your swatches.

  11. Karla

    These colors remind me a lot of the wet n wild comfort Zone palette.. Would you say the same?

  12. ZG

    Although I love the stars, I will pass, as I already have these colors in my eye shadow arsenal of goodies.

  13. doroffee

    This year’s “sobbing over the fact that I can’t afford this, but I want it so baaaaaad” award winner for me,. So beautiful.

  14. Liz

    What a wonderful look you created, Christine. I only want the teal color, so I’ll probably just pick up Urban Decay Hijack.

  15. JRM

    Sigh……..the stuff brokeness is made of

  16. Kortni

    These colors are so pretty but I still don’t want it! I haven’t been all that impressed with many of the new fall collections this year. The polishes are pretty though, will you be reviewing those?

  17. Deanna

    This had better make its way to Australia! No doubt it will be AUD100 but it is so pretty! I’ve been waiting for your swatches Christine to see if it is as amazing as I’d hoped. It is! Yay!! *Swoon*

  18. Grace Tan

    OMG !! I have been trying not to buy any more makeup… but this is MUST buy item !! thanks for the review

  19. VickyM

    The colors are gorgeous and I love Dior, however I never wear eye makeup other than mascara and I´m just trying to get used to eyeliner right now, so I don´t know if I truly need this. Also from getting a rouge G, from the fall collection, a Chanel cream blush, and a lipstick or the blush from the Lancôme fall collection I might not have any beauty budget left…maybe a nail polish just maybe. I must be the only one that doesn´t like the star pattern it just looks a bit childish to me…

  20. This should be very versatile! I normally don’t like Dior but this seems lovely.

  21. Gemma W

    I can see the color payoff is pigmented and smooth.
    but… I really don’t like the pattern on the palette..not my taste.
    i don’t like #5 shade.I think it doesn’t suit me. I am pale and black hair.
    but others are awesome! #1 seems like the khaki in Chanel fall palette which I have bought it already.
    So I think I wont buy dior :D..maybe someday I would have my first Dior palette !!

  22. Vi

    Ooh, how did you apply the shadows to your lid? I always like how you do your eyeshadows but I don’t have enough practice to do so. xD

  23. oh my gosh…. i told myself not to buy anything (except the ariel palette when it finally was available!) and now i just might need to make this exception… wowzers!!

    • Same here. I for weeks, I’ve been eagerly waiting for the Bare Minerals Power of Neutrals palette and told myself there’s nothing else I want or need. Then I got tempted into buying Stila’s In the Garden palette (fabulous!) and now this one from Dior. It’s an illness, I tell you!

  24. divinem1 (Melissa)

    I chose to depart from my normal cool palette and purchased this.

    Christine, I can’t tell where you’ve placed the colors, but here’s my guess:

    Inner Lid: e/s# 2 (silvered pewter)
    Middle Lid: e/s# 5 (light green)
    Outer Lid: e/s# 4 (blue/teal)
    Above Crease: e/s# 3 (warn olive brown)
    Outer Crease: e/s# 1 (warm olive green/copper/emerald)

    Do I have that right?

    I have no idea how to place Numbers 1, 3 & 4 and my quint didn’t come with a “suggestion pamphlet” like they normally do.

    Can you help a girl out?

  25. Thank you for listing the dupes! It’s nice to know that the colors I liked the best I already have in my collection, which is probably why I was drawn to them in the first place! Love your look!

  26. Sarah021

    WOW, that is mine! SOLD!

  27. the shades are pretty and lovely patterns :) :P

  28. THIS IS SO NICE! I can’t even…

  29. Maya

    Great review, as usual. So thorough and precise… and always on the mark! Hence I always trust your reviews more than anyone else. Ive read other reviews for this palette but ive been waiting for your A cause that’s what makes it OK to buy at the end of it all. Thank you for all the hard work you put in Christine <3

  30. Susan Dowman Nevling

    I have 3 of the Dior 5 color palettes and love them all. I don’t knnow if I would buy this one because the colors may not fo with my coloring. I have loved the quality of the sets I own.

  31. That’s really awesome, I would like to have one for myself.

  32. Lily

    When listed as unavailable online, I contacted Nordstrom’s directly and they said it was sold out. Will this item be released through any other retailers or is it simply gone now? If it will be launched in other stores, could you let me know when so I can watch for it? Many thanks!

    • Hi Lily,

      I’m not sure – from what I understand, it should be. Nordstrom only lists Constellation (the purple palette) as an exclusive, so you might see this pop up at other retailers any time between now and August.

  33. alisha

    Hi Christine, is this Nordstrom exclusive? I can’t find it anywhere else online…:-(

  34. Cat G

    Where can I find this!!

  35. Lauren

    Just wanted to let you guys know that this palette is available on the bloomingdales website! I just ordered mine :)

  36. Miranda C

    This is one of those palettes where I think “I would wear every shade in this product.” Therefore if I see this I will snatch it up :)

  37. Deanna

    For anyone in Australia (who can’t get their hands on it cheaper in the US) Dior at Myer has them hidden away, they don’t have testers but they can be purchased. I bought mine yesterday… YAY!!

  38. Andy

    Macy*s now has it!

  39. Caroline

    OMG I love these colours!! I don’t even have anything similar in my collection, so methinks I shall be treating myself :)

  40. Sylvia60

    I took advantage of Sephora’s 25% discount to buy this wonderful palette.
    I’ve seen nothing to compare with these colours and textures.
    On to the holidays!