Friday, July 5th, 2013

CoverGirl Gold Flame (330) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil
CoverGirl Gold Flame (330) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil

CoverGirl Gold Flame (330) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil ($7.99 for 0.08 oz.) is a warm, yellow gold with a pearly sheen. It’s not too frosted, but it’s more shimmery than a satin finish. It had fairly good color payoff in a single stroke and was buildable to mostly opaque color; it did need some light blending (with a finger tip or a fluffy brush) to even out some of the color on the lid, but overall it was nice. It wore well for seven and a half hours and was lightly creased after eight hours of wear. CoverGirl Melted Gold is similar but a powder. Disney Triton is similar, slightly warmer, powder. Chanel Cool Gold is darker. Sephora French Riviera is lighter, powder. MAC Goldmine is warmer. Giorgio Armani #1 Spring 2012 #3 is similar. Chanel Pearl River #3 is similar. OCC Acacia is cooler-toned. bareMinerals Remix is similar. Make Up For Ever #10 is similar but a powder. See comparison swatches.

Ice Flame (345) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil ($7.99 for 0.08 oz.) is a cool-toned, silvery blue with a pearly sheen. It had sheer color payoff in a single stroke and was buildable to about semi-opaque; there was some sheerness overall. Like the first shade, a little blending with the fingertip or a fluffy brush was necessary to even out the color since it wasn’t fully opaque. This shade wore well for eight hours and was somewhat faded after nine hours but had no creasing. Maybelline Seashore Frosts is bluer, has a golden shimmer. Clinique Big Blue is darker. Bobbi Brown Iced Blue is lighter. MAC Linger Softly is darker, powder. Chanel Destination is similar–a touch bluer. See comparison swatches.

The consistency is soft, and these both had a cooling sensation when they touched the skin. The pencil glides on well, as it had a good deal of slip, so I didn’t have any issues with either shade tugging or dragging on the lid. They set within thirty seconds, but they’re blendable and movable before then. It didn’t feel like they set too quickly or too slowly. These are the last of the CoverGirl Flamed Out Shadow Pencils I bought, and I don’t plan on buying any more right now (fall is coming!), but there are several other shades that exist. Based on my experience, the ones with chunkier sparkle seem to be the ones that are more problematic. The wear is inconsistent, but none of the four I tried creased instantly or had issues setting, so they’re manageable on my normal-to-dry lids (not super dry, but they’re not super oily!).

The Glossover

P
product

Gold Flame (330)

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Ice Flame (345)

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

8.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

9/10

Application

4/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes

See more photos & swatches!

CoverGirl Gold Flame (330) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil
CoverGirl Gold Flame (330) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil

CoverGirl Gold Flame (330) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil
CoverGirl Gold Flame (330) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil

CoverGirl Gold Flame (330) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil
CoverGirl Gold Flame (330) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil

CoverGirl Gold Flame (330) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil
CoverGirl Gold Flame (330) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil

CoverGirl Ice Flame (345) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil
CoverGirl Ice Flame (345) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil

CoverGirl Ice Flame (345) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil
CoverGirl Ice Flame (345) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil

CoverGirl Ice Flame (345) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil
CoverGirl Ice Flame (345) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil

CoverGirl Ice Flame (345) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil
CoverGirl Ice Flame (345) Flamed Out Shadow Pencil

The Dupe List: Gold Flame (330)

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Ice Flame (345)

See More Dupes

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

5 thoughts on “CoverGirl Gold Flame (330) & Ice Flame (345) Flamed Out Shadow Pencils Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. i would love to like these pencils, but the color payoff is not up-to-par for me. thanks for reviewing!

  2. This is an interesting product to see coming from Covergirl. I always think of it as a brand that’s sort of not on the cutting edge of trends, but this is a product type a lot of high end brands have versions of

    • Profile wp-user-avatar wp-user-avatar-60 alignnone photo of Amy xamyx

      CoverGirl used to be more “cutting-edge”, and had products that no other DS brand had at the time, like lip powders, stick foundations, & liquid lipcolor. These pencils are actually a formula CG did about 10 years ago. Their eyeshadows were amazing, and were buttery & pigmented, so hopefully we’ll see them go back to those.

      • I had a champagne shade in the original pencil when I was a kid. Christine mentioning that the pencil felt cool on the skin definitely brought back memories…

  3. I sort of like Gold Flame, but these just seem okay. I feel like a lot of other brands do better shadow pencils.