Monday, November 25th, 2013

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection ($49.98 today only, regularly $61.00) has a lot of good things going for it. The best product is definitely the eyeshadow quad, which is good across the board. The luminizer is nice but does somewhat emphasize pores and didn’t wear as well as I’d like it to. The blush wore well for eight hours, felt soft and blendable, and had good color payoff. The finishing powder was just so-so; didn’t knock it out of the park as far as smoothing prowess went. The lipgloss is sheer, non-sticky, and then disappeared before the two-hour mark. I was extremely disappointed in the two brushes, as they were very scratchy and rough against the skin.

The Main Event (0.17 oz.) is a full-sized eyeshadow palette that features four shades. bareMinerals’ Ready eyeshadow formula is one of my favorites, and this quad was no exception–nicely pigmented, buttery, soft and smooth textures, and long-wear–ten hours without fading or creasing (no primer!).

Celebrate is a pearly, light beige with soft, warm undertones. It had excellent color payoff, and the texture was so soft and buttery. Urban Decay Broken (LE, $18.00) is similar. MAC Sahara Dust (LE, $15.00) is a touch darker. MAC Shroom (P, $15.00) is more pearly. See comparison swatches.

Ball Gown is a warm peach with a frosted, champagne finish. The pigmentation was really rich and opaque, while the eyeshadow felt silky-smooth and blended easily. Too Faced Cheers! (LE) is similar. Disney by Sephora Splendid (LE) is lighter. MAC Summer Haze (LE, $21.00) is browner. bareMinerals Custom Made (LE) is pinker. See comparison swatches.

Cheers (V2) is a medum-dark, taupe with subtle warm undertones and a pale champagne shimmer. The texture was soft and smooth, while it had good color payoff. This shouldn’t be confused with Cheers found in The After Party, as the shades are very different (and I wish they hadn’t re-used the name). Anastasia Antique (LE) is darker. Urban Decay Nameless (LE, $18.00) is darker, less shimmery. Urban Decay Vaporize (LE, $18.00) is similar, more sparkly. Urban Decay Derailed (LE, $18.00) is slightly cooler-toned. Dior Millenium (381) (P, $30.00) is a cream product. Marc Jacobs Beauty The Starlet #7 (P) is similar. Disney by Sephora Kill Joy (LE) is also similar–cooler-toned. theBalm Selfish (P, $16.00) is similar. NARS Grand Palais #1 (LE, $24.00) is similar. MAC Hazy Day (LE, $15.00) is warmer. See comparison swatches.

Stiletto is a deepened, warm-toned burgundy with multi-colored micro-shimmer. It’s a shade that may have shimmer but predominantly looks and acts like a matte finish when applied. It’s very pigmented, but it has a very soft, almost powdery, texture, so it sheers out somewhat when applied in a sweeping motion. Makeup Geek Last Dance (P, $5.99) is slightly more shimmery. Too Faced Soiree (LE) is darker. Chanel Delicatesse #4 (LE) is lighter. See comparison swatches.

The Magic Moment (0.16 oz.) is a light-medium, peach with a hint of pink and a frosted finish. It had good pigmentation, and the texture was soft and finely-milled. On the skin, it blended well, but it did somewhat emphasize pores. On fair skin, it may work as a blush and highlighter, but on my medium complexion, it was mostly a highlighter. It wore well for seven and a half hours and looked somewhat faded after just over eight hours of wear. It’s about half the size of a full-sized Luminizer (which is 0.30 oz.). MAC Talk of the Town (LE, $25.00) is less warm-toned. MAC Amber Glow (LE, $25.00) is lighter, less shimmery. MAC Definitely Defined (LE, $30.00) is similar. See comparison swatches.

Brightening Pearl Perfect Light Mineral Veil (0.23 oz.) is a pale, pink-tinged beige with moderate sparkle. For reference, the swatch shows a very, very heavy application so you can get a visual of what it looks like. I wore the product dusted all over the face in the full face photo to see an actual application of the product. It slightly mattifies and noticeably smooths out the skin’s natural appearance. It seemed a wee bit powdery all over, though I did not notice the sparkle, and I was worried I would. It didn’t seem to affect the longevity of my foundation.

Glamour (0.03 oz.) is a light-medium, neutral-cool pink with a satin-matte finish. The texture was soft and very finely-milled. The blush applied with good color payoff and blended easily on the skin. This is full-sized. It lasted for eight hours when I tested it. MAC Formal (LE) is similar. theBalm Houndstooth (P, $22.00) is slightly darker. MAC Subtle Breeze (LE, $25.00) is also darker. Chanel Rose Initiale (P, $43.00) is brighter. Bobbi Brown Pink Rose (P, $26.00) is darker. See comparison swatches.

Dazzler (0.15 oz.) is a muted tangerine with gold sparkle. On lips, it’s sheer and adds warmth, glossiness, and sparkle. In all the full face photos showcasing the cheek products, I mixed this with Glamour blush for more color. This is full-sized. It wore for over an hour and a half but didn’t make it to two hours. It had a vanilla-mint scent and did tingle a bit (like mint often does) when applied–not painful but noticeable for the first few minutes. Chanel Envolee (427) (LE, $29.50) is less shimmery. Chanel Zephyr (377) (LE, $29.50) is lighter. Revlon Peach (P, $7.49) is more shimmery. MAC Sublime Shine (LE, $20.00) is similar. MAC Paper Lantern (LE, $20.00) is similar. MAC Double Happiness (LE, $20.00) is lighter. See comparison swatches.

Not included in the ratings are: Smoke & Define Eyeliner (kohl wore well for 8 hours, could have been creamier/smoother to apply; liquid eyeliner didn’t smudge, fade, or flake over 8 hours) and Lash Domination Mascara (some lengthening, thickening, didn’t flake or smudge). The brushes were awful–I wouldn’t recommend using them at all, and they’re something I would just throw away. The eye brush was horrific; so, so scratchy and rough against the skin, let alone the more delicate and sensitive eye area! The large face brush was also quite scratchy, but it also shed a lot when I was just brushing it against my arm. These were some of the more painfully scratchy brushes that I’ve come across recently!

The Glossover

LE
palette

Glamour Now

B+

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

8/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
palette

The Main Event

A

Product

9.5/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9.5/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
LE
product

Celebrate

A+

Product

10/10

Pigmentation

10/10

Texture

10/10

Longevity

9.5/10

Application

5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals The Main Event Eyeshadow Quad

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals The Main Event Eyeshadow Quad

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals The Main Event Eyeshadow Quad

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals The Main Event Eyeshadow Quad

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection

bareMinerals The Main Event Eyeshadow Quad

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Celebrate Eyeshadow

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Celebrate Eyeshadow

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Ball Gown Eyeshadow

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Ball Gown Eyeshadow

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Cheers Eyeshadow

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Cheers Eyeshadow

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Stiletto Eyeshadow

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Stiletto Eyeshadow

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
Ball Gown (inner lid), Cheers (outer lid), Stiletto (crease), Celebrate (brow bone)

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals The Magic Moment Luminizer

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals The Magic Moment Luminizer

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals The Magic Moment Luminizer

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals The Magic Moment Luminizer

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals The Magic Moment Luminizer

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals The Magic Moment Luminizer

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals The Magic Moment Luminizer

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Brightening Pearl Perfect Light Mineral Veil Finishing Powder

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Brightening Pearl Perfect Light Mineral Veil Finishing Powder

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Brightening Pearl Perfect Light Mineral Veil Finishing Powder

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Brightening Pearl Perfect Light Mineral Veil Finishing Powder

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Brightening Pearl Perfect Light Mineral Veil Finishing Powder

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Brightening Pearl Perfect Light Mineral Veil Finishing Powder

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Brightening Pearl Perfect Light Mineral Veil Finishing Powder

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Glamour Blush

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Glamour Blush

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Glamour Blush

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Glamour Blush

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Glamour Blush

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Glamour Blush

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Dazzler Marvelous Moxie Lipgloss

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Dazzler Marvelous Moxie Lipgloss

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Dazzler Marvelous Moxie Lipgloss

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Dazzler Marvelous Moxie Lipgloss

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Dazzler Marvelous Moxie Lipgloss

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Dazzler Marvelous Moxie Lipgloss

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Brushes

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Smoke & Define Eyeliner

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Smoke & Define Eyeliner

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Smoke & Define Eyeliner

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Smoke & Define Eyeliner

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Smoke & Define Eyeliner

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Smoke & Define Eyeliner

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Lash Domination Mascara

bareMinerals Glamour Now Holiday 2013 Collection
bareMinerals Lash Domination Mascara

The Dupe List: Celebrate

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Ball Gown

See More Dupes

The Dupe List: Cheers (V2)

See More Dupes
Click to Reveal More Dupes!

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

42 thoughts on “bareMinerals Glamour Now Collection Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Elle

    Your makeup make you look really good!

  2. I think this collection looks amazing! Definitely (from top to bottom) something that would compliment deeper skins particularly. I’m open to it!

  3. Liz

    Such a helpful review- as always! Thanks. I’m thinking the eye quad is too shimmery for the over 40 crowd?

    • I don’t think so, actually! I think the finishes look more pearly than super frosted applied! It depends on your aversion (personally) to shimmer – if you find you really don’t like it, then you may still find this is too shimmery.

  4. I am SO jealous of you Americans, I want this now!
    Judith Recently Posted: Mini review: MAC paint in bare canvas

  5. Stephanie

    I wish the gloss was more pigmented, if that were the case I’d be tempted to try it.

  6. Avatar of Christina Christina

    Very pretty look on you. It’s definitely a very natural look, though, just a little more glamorous. I’m very glad you reviewed this, as it’s sometimes really hard to purchase these QVC kits without seeming them first, and then having to pay for return shipping if it doesn’t work out. :)

  7. Grace

    Do u think the mineral veil would suit my nc42 skin? Also do u think the eyeshadows would show up on me?

  8. rachael

    Initially this looked like a very boring set but on you it truly does look glamorous!

  9. Christine: You look beautiful!

  10. This whole set looks really pretty. It’s perfect for the holidays.

  11. This isn’t very unique, but everyone can look good in those colors. :-)

  12. Avatar of beka beka

    i have a few brushes from bareMinerals and they are all super scratchy. this looks beautiful on you, but i would only want the eyeshadow.

  13. Avatar of Michelle MichelleChefNYC

    Why do Bare Minerals brushes SUCK so much? I have only two that aren’t completely horrid and they are the duo fiber “soft focus” brushes… This was tempting me on QVC, but I am going to pass now… Thanks for the awesome review Christine!

  14. Waaaah! No QVC here and the Canadian equivalent doesn’t carry Bare Minerals. I love the look of the eye shadow quad (like you, I really like the “Ready” shadows – I’ve got 2 duos and 2 8-pan palettes and love them all). Odd how the darkest shade looks PURPLE in the photo on the bottom of the case! Except for the disappointing brushes, this seems an awfully good value for all you get. Hope the quad becomes available at Sephora (who am I kidding???? I already HAVE dupes for all of these but, again, I’m falling into that trap of wanting to buy the same shades over and over again)

  15. The reason for the brushes being scratchy: ANIMAL HAIR! Specifically I believe it’s goat hair. If your brushes REEK of wet animal smell, that’s why! I have a mini kabuki that I got from a sample set, scratchy scratchy scratchy! >_<

    The **BEST SOLUTION** to soften that scratchy brush: USE CONDITIONER AFTER YOU WASH IT WITH YOUR CHOICE OF SOAP! Just apply and then rinse well! I let it sit while I was another brush personally. I use it all the time on any scratchy brushes/animal hair brushes I have, softens them up without affecting their performance!

    • Most of my brushes are really soft that use animal hair – particularly goat, actually! Very interesting.

      • I notice the scratchiness with cheaper brushes and some of the bareMineral’s in particular >_< It's unpleasant but never give up on a brush, it can be fixed with a little conditioner! Unless it's just a truly terrible brush.XD

  16. Evelyn

    I love how you wrote “hi” with the eyeliner. You are adorable! :D

  17. This set looks beautiful! The quad and illuminator look especially nice! I want the set for those two alone lol. Definitely disappointed about the brushes though. The packaging is so pretty and it’s such a cohesive set so it sucks they’re such terrible quality. But for the price it’s not much of a setback lol
    fancie Recently Posted: MAC Stroke of Midnight Mineralize Brush Set Review

  18. Love the eyeshadow quad! I think the color combinations are fantastic and so many looks can be created! Wish it was available across the world :)

  19. Loved the kit..esp the eye shadow quad!

  20. This collection looks great!

  21. Avatar of Kristie Kristie

    Thanks to your review I put this kit on my Christmas list! Thanks Christine!

  22. Karin

    Is it just me, or does this collection scream “summer” and not “holiday”? Basically the only holiday-seeming component is bottom half of the quad, and maybe Glamour Blush =/ However, the shades are very pretty!! I would really want this in the summer. Maybe its just the coral thats throwing me off!

  23. Avatar of Corliss Corliss

    I purchased this last night I’m very excited to try it. I really had high hopes for the brushes what a shame.

  24. Avatar of Andrea Andrea

    Your brows are looking fantastic!