Wednesday, May 15th, 2013

Aveda Papyrus Eyeshadow
Aveda Papyrus Eyeshadow

For spring/summer, Aveda Eyeshadow ($14.00 for 0.04 oz.) released several shades, and I’m reviewing four of them in this post. The Petal Essence eyeshadow formula is supposed to be “non-fading,” “flower wax-infused,” “silky,” and “both color-true and crease-resistant.”  Two of the shades I tried were powdery, while the other two were soft and smooth.  The color payoff varied between good and great, but I noticed that these had a tendency to fade after seven hours of wear (without a primer), with Cinnamon Bark being the lone shade that lasted for a full eight hours without fading or creasing.  All four shades were blendable during application.

Papyrus is described as a “satiny, budding green.” It’s a warm, chartreuse green with a satiny sheen. It had decent color payoff, but the color looked slightly faded applied. The texture was soft and a bit powdery. Dior Peacock #1 is lighter and more shimmery. Buxom Shish Tzu is darker and a cream product. Dior Garden Pastels #1 is darker and more frosted. MAC Juxt is lighter.

Bare Bellis is described as a “satiny, baby pink.” It’s a rosy beige with subtle, warm undertones and a satiny sheen. It had good color payoff, but the texture was so soft that it was also powdery. Cinderella Midnight Hour is more beige and frosty. Urban Decay Laced is matte and slightly more beige. MAC Love Spice is more frosted.

Lantana is described as a “satiny, fresh coral.” It’s a softened, peachy brown with a pearly sheen. It had good color payoff and wasn’t powdery. Chanel Eclosion is more frosted.

Cinnamon Bark is described as a “satiny, rich mahogany.” It’s a rich, burgundy red with a satiny finish and strong, warm undertones.  The texture was soft and smooth but not powdery, and the pigmentation was rich and intense. Chanel Eclosion #4 is purpler, less warm-toned. Maybelline Pomegranate Punk is more burgundy and frosted. MAC Festive Delight #4 is similar. MAC Cranberry is more frosted. Inglot #452 is more frosted as well.

The Glossover

P
product

Papyrus

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Login or Register to be able to add this to your Vanity or Wishlist! Plus rate and review!
P
product

Bare Bellis

B

Product

8.5/10

Pigmentation

9/10

Texture

8.5/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
P
product

Lantana

B+

Product

9/10

Pigmentation

9.5/10

Texture

9/10

Longevity

7.5/10

Application

4.5/5

Results
Loading ... Loading ...
Dupes
Click to Reveal More Glossovers!

See more photos & swatches!

Aveda Papyrus Eyeshadow
Aveda Papyrus Eyeshadow

Aveda Papyrus Eyeshadow
Aveda Papyrus Eyeshadow

Aveda Papyrus Eyeshadow
Aveda Papyrus Eyeshadow

Aveda Bare Bellis Eyeshadow
Aveda Bare Bellis Eyeshadow

Aveda Bare Bellis Eyeshadow
Aveda Bare Bellis Eyeshadow

Aveda Bare Bellis Eyeshadow
Aveda Bare Bellis Eyeshadow

Aveda Lantana Eyeshadow
Aveda Lantana Eyeshadow

Aveda Lantana Eyeshadow
Aveda Lantana Eyeshadow

Aveda Lantana Eyeshadow
Aveda Lantana Eyeshadow

Aveda Cinnamon Bark Eyeshadow
Aveda Cinnamon Bark Eyeshadow

Aveda Cinnamon Bark Eyeshadow
Aveda Cinnamon Bark Eyeshadow

Aveda Cinnamon Bark Eyeshadow
Aveda Cinnamon Bark Eyeshadow

Aveda Cinnamon Bark Eyeshadow
Aveda Eyeshadows: Papyrus (inner lid), Bare Bellis (center),
Lantana (outer lid), Cinnamon Bark (crease)

Discussion and debate are highly encouraged, and we expect community members to participate respectfully. When asking a question, please check the FAQ section (above) for information about purchasing, price, dupes, and the like. If you have general feedback or need technical support, please contact us.

Comments that include advertisements, self-promotion, insults, etc. may be in violation of our comment policy and subject to deletion. Please see our comment policy for more information.

10 thoughts on “AVEDA Petal Essence Eyeshadows (Papyrus, Bare Bellis, Lantana, Cinnamon Bark) Reviews, Photos, Swatches

  1. Wow I really like Lantana! Great shade for this time of year.

  2. Avatar of hazel Hazel

    I’m sad it only got a B because I really like Papyrus and Lantana.

  3. I am in love with your eye look! And I need Papyrus.

  4. Haha! I’ve had these silly things for well over a month now and just this weekend I finally ended up taking photos of them for a review… you beat me to it! ;)

  5. I am really pleased that companies like Aveda are trying to make makeup more healthy and natural; It would be nice if they had a refillable palette for these eyeshadow singles though

  6. I think all these shades are quite pretty and most aren’t even tones I’m usually drawn to

  7. Heather pagone

    Hi guys. I am a student at aveda institute. We recently did free makeup applications and I got to work with these colors. The key is to pat the color on, then blend. :).

  8. Amberly

    Hi Christine, what product is the green on your water line/ lower lash line? It is beautiful.